Beautifully Matte Foundation SPF 15
Last Updated:04.06.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

This foundation with an in-part titanium dioxide sunscreen blends very smoothly and makes a good first impression, but once it dries, it loses much of its appeal. In less than a minute, the creamy liquid sets to an extremely drying powder finish that magnifies pores and wrinkles.

If you're thinking that an uber-matte finish may be a great match for your oily skin, think again. The finish and texture are due in-part to the high percentage of alcohol in the formula, which is irritating for all skin types (see More Info for details) and isn't recommended.

If the alcohol isn't enough to steer you away from this foundation, the shade selection may be. There are only a handful of shades, the lightest of which is medium-light so those with fair to light skin tones are left wanting more, though there are some attractive shades for darker skin tones (too bad the formula is a letdown).

  • True matte finish.
  • Medium to full coverage.
  • Provides broad-spectrum sun protection.
  • Irritating; high percentage of alcohol.
  • Limited shade range for light skin tones.
More Info:

Alcohol in skin-care products causes dryness and free-radical damage, and impairs the skin's ability to heal. The irritation it causes damages healthy collagen production and can stimulate oil production at the base of the pore, making oily skin worse (Sources: Biochimica et Biophysica Acta, May 2012, pages 1410–1419; Alcoholism, Clinical and Experimental Research, January 2011, pages 83–90; "Skin Care—From the Inside Out and Outside In," Tufts Daily, April 1, 2002; eMedicine Journal, May 8, 2002, volume 3, number 5, www.emedicine.com; Cutis, February 2001, pages 25–27; Contact Dermatitis, January 1996, pages 12–16; and http://pubs.niaaa.nih.gov/publications/arh27-4/277-284.htm).

Actives: Octinoxate (5%), Titanium Dioxide (1.6%) Other: Aqua (Water), Cyclopentasiloxane, Phenyl Trimethicone, Alcohol Denat., Nylon 6/12, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Glycerin, Cyclohexasiloxane, Zinc Oxide, Titanium Dioxide, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Magnesium Sulfate, PEG/PPG-19/19 Dimethicone, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Tocopheryl Acetate, Hexyl Laurate, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Propylene Carbonate, Lauryl Methacrylate/Glycol Dimethacrylate Crosspolymer, Salicylic Acid, Aluminum Hydroxide, Phenoxyethanol, Lens Esculenta Fruit Extract, Stearic Acid, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Retinyl Palmitate, Ascorbyl Glucoside, Potassium Hydroxide, Isopropyl Palmitate, Methylparaben, Lecithin, Ethylparaben, Tetrasodium EDTA, Phyllanthus Emblica Fruit Extract, Dimethylmethoxy Chromanol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Ginkgo Biloba Leaf Extract, BHT, Tocopherol, [+/- (May contain) CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492 (Iron Oxides), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides)]
Brand Overview

Boots At-A-Glance

Originating in England, Boots is named after founder John Boot, and it already had a worldwide presence before its 2004 pilot launch in the U.S. retail market through select Target and CVS drugstore. (Note: Boots is no longer available at CVS.) Its success in these stores led to a full-scale launch in spring 2007. Boots has been part of England's cosmetic history since 1839, and now over 1,500 freestanding Boots stores dot the British landscape. Of course, history has its place, but Boots, on the basis of their longevity, believes that it offers consumers the best products full of quality ingredients and also at a value price. Although it's true that Boots' price point is lower than many drugstore lines (at least those whose products make similar claims and have the same target audience), their line consists of some impressive options, but also contains some areas that left us wanting for more.

Boots’ sunscreens tend to be good, but be aware that some have SPF ratings below the benchmark SPF 30+. Although there are dozens of moisturizers available, you’ll find that many are indistinguishable from one another in terms of their formulas. While there are many great options for sensitive skin among the Boots’ line, there are much fewer choices for those seeking impressive anti-aging formulas due to the lack of beneficial ingredients.

Boots does feature antioxidants, peptides, and retinyl palmitate (a form of vitamin A not to be confused with pure retinol) in many of its products, but they tend to be present at less than impressive, or jar packaging compromises their benefits to skin due to light & air exposure.

You'll find some great options for cleansers, scrubs, sunless tanners, and treatments for dry, chapped lips, all at fair prices, and that's good news. (There are also quite a few impressive makeup products at surprisingly inexpensive prices.) Check our reviews for the products that shouldn’t be missed (as well as the less-than-impressive options).

For more information about Boots, call (866) 752-6687 or visit www.boots.com.

Note: Boots No7 and Botanics brands (only) are sold in Canada at Shoppers Drug Mart stores. In the U.S., most of the lines can be found at Target, Walgreens, and Ulta. As of August 2015, Boots has been acquired by Walgreens.

Strengths: Inexpensive; outstanding options for sensitive skin; good sunscreens; some impressive makeup products.

Weaknesses: Occasional use of jar packaging; some formulas with limited amounts of beneficial ingredients.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!

The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Sort by:
I like this foundation and I am a normal to dry skin

The colors are limited, but the cool ivory blends very well with my pale pink/neutral skin tone. What I like best about this product is a little goes a long way, it feels like you are wearing very light weight makeup, it has a natural finish and it lasts most of the day. I was skeptical due to the "alcohol" in the formula, but I haven't had any negative results or breakouts and irritation- which I am prone to. I actually have normal to dry skin as well. I like it.

Reviewed by
OK, but colors are bad

I don't really dislike this foundation. It's one of the few drugstore brands that I feel gives me a fuller coverage on my oily skin. It doesn't stay matte, however, and will need a dusting of powder before long. The worst part is the color. For medium tones it's OK, but the lighter ones are dreadful. It looked liked mud on my face. When I self-tanned, I thought the Deeply Beige worked well enough, but the Cool Ivory was a very gray tone. Not natural at all.

Reviewed by
Enter a title for your review
First Name, Last Initial
Email Address
How would you rate this product on the following:
500 characters left

Terms of Use

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.431 10/6/2015 11:40:05 PM