Intense Hydration Day Lotion with Clary Sage

Price:
$18 - 1.8 fl. oz.
Poor Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime) > Moisturizer without Sunscreen
Last Updated:
5/24/2013
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

Although this emollient cream contains some noteworthy antioxidants and moisturizing ingredients, it is also overly fragrant and packed with potential skin irritants that trump the benefit of the good ingredients. As a matter of fact, the "Clary Sage" that Burt's Bees is so heavily promoting with this product is one of the main fragrant, irritating offenders on the list (see More Info).

By the way, there is no credible research showing that topical application of the "probiotic technology" being used in this formula has any sort of benefit. That is little more than a marketing gimmick probably meant to capitalize on the current health craze of consuming probiotic-rich foods, which is great for you but not likely for your face.

Pros:
  • Contains antioxidants and other skin-repairing ingredients.
  • Thick, moisturizing formula comforts normal to dry skin.
Cons:
  • Loaded with irritants that cancel out the beneficial ingredients.
  • "Probiotic technology" claim is a marketing gimmick not supported by research.
More Info:

Irritation, including from high amounts of fragrance, whether you see it on the surface of your skin or not, causes inflammation and as a result impairs healing, damages collagen, and depletes the vital substances your skin needs to stay young. For this reason, it is best to eliminate, or minimize as much as possible, your exposure to known skin irritants, especially when there are brilliant formulas available that do not include these types of problematic ingredients (Sources: Inflammation Research, December 2008, pages 558–563; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2008, pages 124–135 and November-December 2000, pages 358–371; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, April 2008, pages 15–19; Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, March 2008, pages 78–82; Mechanisms of Ageing and Development, January 2007, pages 92–105; and British Journal of Dermatology, December 2005, pages S13–S22).

Infused with Clary Sage, our fast-absorbing lotion leaves your dry skin feeling soft and supple while helping reduce the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles. Clinically proven to provide intense hydration and enhanced with probiotic technology, our carefully crafted, dermatologist tested formula also helps increase skin’s ability to retain moisture.

Aqua (Water, Eau), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Glycerin, Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, Parfum (Fragrance)*, Propanediol, Salvia Sclarea (Clary) Extract, Lactobacillus, Astrocaryum Tucuma Seed Butter, Trichilia Emetica Seed Butter, Cera Alba (Beeswax, Cire D'abeille), Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Powder, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Citrus Aurantium Amara (Bitter Orange) Peel, Polymnia Sonchifolia Root Juice, Lecithin, Alpha-Glucan Oligosaccharide, Maltodextrin, Tocopherol, Xanthan Gum, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Stearic Acid, Sodium PCA, Potassium Stearate, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate, Phenoxyethanol, Amyl Cinnamal, Eugenol, Hydroxycitronellal, Linalool

Almost all the skin-care lines in the world prefer to identify themselves as originating from companies established to create elegant, scientific formulations conceived with an in-depth understanding of the skin’s functions and needs. We say almost, because Burt's Bees makes no such claim. Quite the contrary; this line is about as unglamorous and as unscientific as it gets (the picture of Burt on the label made me think we were buying fishing gear, and press materials for the brand mention he used to live in a turkey coop). Talk about being an iconoclast!

This is how the company's founder Roxanne Quimby describes its history on its Web site: "I guess you could say it all started because there weren't many jobs up there north of Bangor. Though we found, grew, or traded for most of what we needed, I figure a person's got to have at least 3000 dollars a year in actual greenbacks to survive in this old world, especially if you've got kids. I'd been let go from my last three part-time waitressing jobs and had been buying low and selling high at yard sales and flea markets, which brought in about $150 a week during good weather. How we got started making lip balm and ended up in North Carolina is another story, and a long one at that, so I’ll save it for some other time." This is a skin-care line?

Aside from its humble, amorphous beginning, Burt's Bees is about natural, earth-friendly skin-care products, as well as overly fragranced products. Its philosophy in this respect is sincere: "To us, the word 'natural' means only one thing. It means, 'harvested from nature.' And we adhere to that definition like the strictest of school teachers."

For those seeking a line of skin-care products with truly natural ingredients, this is one of the few that steadfastly adheres to its commitment: there is no hypocrisy here. If the ingredient lists are accurate, and there is no reason to assume otherwise, then you will not find preservatives or synthetically derived ingredients of any kind. Just from the all-natural point of view, there will definitely be people who will be excited about these products, but I'm not one of them. Many of the plant extracts and oils used in these products, including orange oil, cinnamon oil, clove oil, lemon oil, eucalyptus oil, pine tar, alcohol, lime oil, and balsam peru, are problematic for skin and present a significant risk of irritation or a sensitizing reaction. Both the intriguing philosophy and inexpensive products are attractive, but it takes more than that to establish reliable products that are good for skin.

We know that most people are attracted by fragrance, and in this regard these products excel. They are also notable for the lack of preservatives, which can be beneficial for those who can’t tolerate preservatives. (That lack may be an issue for product stability, although we did not have these products tested for contamination.) But for any other skin-care need, we suggest you use your wisdom and recognize that while Mother Nature is assuredly wise about the Earth, She does not have everything the skin needs. In fact, Mother Nature offers up many problematic things for skin, including the sun and poison ivy.

For more information about Burt's Bees, call 1-800-849-7112 or visit www.burtsbees.com.

Member Comments

Write A Review»

No members have written a review yet. Be the first!

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.344 10/20/2014 8:00:51 PM
Skip to Top of Page

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.