Brightening Refining Tonic

by Burt's Bees  Brightening
Price:
$12 - 6 fl. oz.
Poor Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Toners > Toners
Last Updated:
5/21/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

If you've read our reviews for the other products in the Burt's Bees Brightening line, this one will sound like a broken record. Although there are some beneficial ingredients in this toner, they are simply overshadowed by extracts that will serve to hurt skin (and this one is really loaded with the latter), not help it!

Brightening Refining Tonic's "star" ingredient is daisy flower extract, which is supposed to fade dark spots. While there is some research showing this extract does have wound-healing properties, when tested on animals (Source: (Source: Pharmaceutical Biology, August 2012, pages 1031 - 1037), there is little independent research pointing to its effectiveness in treating hyperpigmentation. We do know that this plant extract can cause an allergic reaction in people sensitive to ragweed and marigold (Source: naturaldatabase.com).

When looking for a brightening product, you should be checking for proven lightening ingredients, such as forms of vitamin C, niacinamide, arbutin, licorice extract, and hydroquinone - none of which are present here.

The ingredients you really should be keeping an eye out for in this toner are the ones that will harm your skin. Check out the back of the container and you'll see a number of fragrant plant extracts listed, including peppermint, mint balm, lemon, and orange! These can cause inflammation, and the citrus extracts can also be phototoxic, meaning they cause a negative reaction when skin is exposed to sunlight. See More Info for details on why irritating ingredients and fragrant plant extracts are harmful and aging - especially in a leave-on product!

Absolutely walk away from this toner. Instead, take a look at those on our list of Best Toners. Your skin will thank you!

Pros:
  • Daisy flower extract has been shown to have some wound-healing properties.
Cons:
  • There is little research showing that daisy flower extract is effective in treating hyperpigmentation.
  • Contains high amounts of irritating fragrant plant extracts, which can impair skin's ability to heal and can cause collagen breakdown.
More Info:

Fragrance in Skin Care: Daily use of products that contain a high amount of fragrance, whether the fragrant ingredients are synthetic or natural, causes chronic irritation that can damage healthy collagen production, lead to or worsen dryness, and impair your skin's ability to heal. Fragrance-free is the best way to go for all skin types. If fragrance in your skin-care products is important to you, it should be a very low amount to minimize the risk to your skin (Sources: Inflammation Research, December 2008, pages 558–563; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2008, pages 124–135, and November-December 2000, pages 358–371; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, April 2008, pages 15–19; Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, March 2008, pages 78–82; Mechanisms of Ageing and Development, January 2007, pages 92–105; and British Journal of Dermatology, December 2005, pages S13–S22).

Our tonic is infused with Daisy Extract and effectively removes lingering traces of dirt oil and makeup.

Aqua (Water, Eau), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Glycerin, Bellis Perennis (Daisy) Flower Extract, Malva Sylvestris (Mallow) Leaf Extract, Mentha Piperita (Peppermint) Leaf Extract, Primula Veris Extract, Veronica Officinalis Extract, Melissa Officinalis Leaf Extract, Achillea Millefolium Extract, Vaccinium Myrtillus Fruit Extract, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Fruit Extract, Saccharum Officinarum (Sugar Cane, Extrait De Canne Á Sucre) Extract, Acer Saccharum (Sugar Maple) Extract, Quillaja Saponaria Bark Extract, Alchemilla Vulgaris Extract, Salix Nigra (Willow) Bark Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Caprylyl/Capryl Wheat Bran/Straw Glycosides, Fusel Wheat Bran/Straw Glycosides, Maltodextrin, Arginine, Alcohol Denat., Alcohol, Phenethyl Alcohol, Parfum (Fragrance), Polyglyceryl-5 Oleate, Sodium Cocoyl Glutamate, Glyceryl Caprylate, Sodium Benzoate, Potassium Sorbate, Phenoxyethanol, Citral, Geraniol, Limonene, Linalool

Almost all the skin-care lines in the world prefer to identify themselves as originating from companies established to create elegant, scientific formulations conceived with an in-depth understanding of the skin’s functions and needs. We say almost, because Burt's Bees makes no such claim. Quite the contrary; this line is about as unglamorous and as unscientific as it gets (the picture of Burt on the label made me think we were buying fishing gear, and press materials for the brand mention he used to live in a turkey coop). Talk about being an iconoclast!

This is how the company's founder Roxanne Quimby describes its history on its Web site: "I guess you could say it all started because there weren't many jobs up there north of Bangor. Though we found, grew, or traded for most of what we needed, I figure a person's got to have at least 3000 dollars a year in actual greenbacks to survive in this old world, especially if you've got kids. I'd been let go from my last three part-time waitressing jobs and had been buying low and selling high at yard sales and flea markets, which brought in about $150 a week during good weather. How we got started making lip balm and ended up in North Carolina is another story, and a long one at that, so I’ll save it for some other time." This is a skin-care line?

Aside from its humble, amorphous beginning, Burt's Bees is about natural, earth-friendly skin-care products, as well as overly fragranced products. Its philosophy in this respect is sincere: "To us, the word 'natural' means only one thing. It means, 'harvested from nature.' And we adhere to that definition like the strictest of school teachers."

For those seeking a line of skin-care products with truly natural ingredients, this is one of the few that steadfastly adheres to its commitment: there is no hypocrisy here. If the ingredient lists are accurate, and there is no reason to assume otherwise, then you will not find preservatives or synthetically derived ingredients of any kind. Just from the all-natural point of view, there will definitely be people who will be excited about these products, but I'm not one of them. Many of the plant extracts and oils used in these products, including orange oil, cinnamon oil, clove oil, lemon oil, eucalyptus oil, pine tar, alcohol, lime oil, and balsam peru, are problematic for skin and present a significant risk of irritation or a sensitizing reaction. Both the intriguing philosophy and inexpensive products are attractive, but it takes more than that to establish reliable products that are good for skin.

We know that most people are attracted by fragrance, and in this regard these products excel. They are also notable for the lack of preservatives, which can be beneficial for those who can’t tolerate preservatives. (That lack may be an issue for product stability, although we did not have these products tested for contamination.) But for any other skin-care need, we suggest you use your wisdom and recognize that while Mother Nature is assuredly wise about the Earth, She does not have everything the skin needs. In fact, Mother Nature offers up many problematic things for skin, including the sun and poison ivy.

For more information about Burt's Bees, call 1-800-849-7112 or visit www.burtsbees.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    4 / 4 Best
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    4 / 4 Best
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    4 / 4 Best
Page of 1
  1. Nadine Pearson
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 17, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Best toner EVER!
    • This is probably the best toner I've ever come across and I tried quite a few. I'm on my second bottle already, but even after my first use I could tell that this toner actually "did" something for my skin, in the best way possible. There are so many products out there right now with vitamin c and/or citrus extract, so they are all harmful for our skin? I've been a loyal reader of Paula's beautypedia product reviews, but I am doubting quite a few reviews I came across.

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, June 17, 2014

    Hello, and thanks for your comments! Vitamin C is indeed a wonderful ingredient for skin, with antioxidant properties and the ability to lighten dark spots - but what's critical is what form the Vitamin C is in. Unfortunately, while citrus extracts does possess all of the good qualities, they also come with components that can be potentially harmful to skin. One of the biggest risks with citrus extracts is that they can make your skin more sensitive to sunlight, which is the last thing you want from a product that is designed to treat sun damage! There are plenty of great products out there that contain the beneficial aspects of Vitamin C without the potential risks. We hope this clears up any confusion!

    —Paula's Choice Research Team

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.318
Skip to Top of Page
25% Off Cleansers & Toners | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.