03.31.2015
2
5
Natural Acne Solutions Clarifying Toner
Rating
5 fl. oz. for $10
Category:Skin Care > Toners
Last Updated:03.31.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

This anti-acne toner contains many natural ingredients, some good ones and some bad ones. Chief among the bad ingredients is alcohol. Alcohol shows up in many anti-acne products, and it’s never welcome because it causes a host of problems that keeps reddened, inflamed, breakout-prone skin from healing. In fact, the irritation alcohol causes can stimulate more oil production at the base of pore, making oily skin and blemishes worse.

Although this toner is medicated with anti-acne superstar salicylic acid, the pH of the product is too high for it to function as an exfoliant. Even if the pH were within the proper range, the amount of alcohol remains a problem, as does the needlessly high amount of fragrance. Please see More Info for further details on why irritation from fragrance is a problem.

Pros:
  • Contains anti-irritant willow bark.
Cons:
  • Alcohol is one of the main ingredients, and it is known to cause irritation that makes redness and breakouts worse.
  • High amount of fragrance puts skin at further risk of irritation while providing no skin-care benefits.

More Info:

Daily use of products that contain a high amount of fragrance, whether the fragrant ingredients are synthetic or natural, causes chronic irritation that can damage healthy collagen production, lead to or worsen dryness, and impair your skin’s ability to heal. Fragrance-free is the best way to go for all skin types. If fragrance in your skin-care products is important to you, it should be a very low amount to minimize the risk to your skin (Sources: Inflammation Research, December 2008, pages 558–563; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2008, pages 124–135, and November-December 2000, pages 358–371; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, April 2008, pages 15–19; Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, March 2008, pages 78–82; Mechanisms of Ageing and Development, January 2007, pages 92–105; and British Journal of Dermatology, December 2005, pages S13–S22).

Claims

This natural toner removes lingering traces of cleanser and residual dirt, oil and make-up. Salicylic Acid, sourced naturally from Willow Bark Extract, penetrates pores to help reduce acne, and Witch Hazel and Lemongrass Extracts to clarify and soothe troubled skin, naturally.

Ingredients

Active: Salicylic Acid (1.0%) Other: Water, Alcohol Denat., Glycerin, Salix Nigra (Willow) Bark Extract, Fragrance, Cymbopogon Schoenanthus Extract, Equisetum Hiemale Extract, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Leaf Extract, Humulus Lupulus (Hops) Extract, Hydrastis Canadensis (Goldenseal) Extract, Glucose, Sodium Chloride, Glucose Oxidase, Lactoperoxidase, Citral, Geraniol, Limonene, Linalool

Brand Overview

Strengths: Inexpensive.

Weaknesses: Many products have potent fragranced formulas; several formulas packaged in jars, which compromises their ingredients.

With humble beginnings in the town of Bangor, Maine, Burt's Bees is a brand focused on natural-themed, earth-friendly skincare. Unfortunately, in many cases, this also translates to less than beneficial formulas as not all of the natural ingredients used are helpful for skin.

Many of the plant extracts and oils used in these products, including orange oil, cinnamon oil, clove oil, lemon oil, eucalyptus oil, pine tar, alcohol, lime oil, and balsam peru, are problematic for skin and present a significant risk of irritation or a sensitizing reaction. Both the intriguing philosophy and inexpensive products are attractive, but it takes more than that to establish reliable products that are good for skin. It’s also important to consider the potential benefit (or potential harm) of the ingredients used.

There are some formulas to consider among the brand’s offerings, but some to be wary of—see our individual reviews on Burt’s Bees products for more details.

For more information about Burt's Bees, call 1-800-849-7112 or visit www.burtsbees.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
08.02.2014
Review

After reading some of the good reviews on the Burt's Bees site, I bought the toner. On my first use, it was very sticky (probably because I put a bit too much on). I tried putting less on, but it was STILL sticky on my face. I would always put it on twice a day after I cleanse or exfoliate my face. After using it for 6 days, it had made my acne worse AND made more breakouts on my face. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Jennifer W
01.21.2013
Tried this to help with my keratosis pilaris rubra faceii, but alas.

Probably one of the cheaper mistakes I made trying to manage my keratosis pilaris rubra faceii. This didn't really seem to make any difference for me, probably exactly for the reason Paula mentions in her review. I was still red. Booh. Now that I understand more about KP, I know something formulated like this won't really help.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Lauren C.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.405 8/1/2015 11:24:25 AM