Natural Acne Solutions Clarifying Toner

by Burt's Bees  Natural Acne Solutions
Price:
$10 - 5 fl. oz.
Poor Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Toners > Toners
Last Updated:
5/24/2013
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

This anti-acne toner contains many natural ingredients, some good ones and some bad ones. Chief among the bad ingredients is alcohol. Alcohol shows up in many anti-acne products, and it’s never welcome because it causes a host of problems that keeps reddened, inflamed, breakout-prone skin from healing. In fact, the irritation alcohol causes can stimulate more oil production at the base of pore, making oily skin and blemishes worse.

Although this toner is medicated with anti-acne superstar salicylic acid, the pH of the product is too high for it to function as an exfoliant. Even if the pH were within the proper range, the amount of alcohol remains a problem, as does the needlessly high amount of fragrance. Please see More Info for further details on why irritation from fragrance is a problem.

Pros:
  • Contains anti-irritant willow bark.
Cons:
  • Alcohol is one of the main ingredients, and it is known to cause irritation that makes redness and breakouts worse.
  • High amount of fragrance puts skin at further risk of irritation while providing no skin-care benefits.

More Info:

Daily use of products that contain a high amount of fragrance, whether the fragrant ingredients are synthetic or natural, causes chronic irritation that can damage healthy collagen production, lead to or worsen dryness, and impair your skin’s ability to heal. Fragrance-free is the best way to go for all skin types. If fragrance in your skin-care products is important to you, it should be a very low amount to minimize the risk to your skin (Sources: Inflammation Research, December 2008, pages 558–563; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2008, pages 124–135, and November-December 2000, pages 358–371; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, April 2008, pages 15–19; Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, March 2008, pages 78–82; Mechanisms of Ageing and Development, January 2007, pages 92–105; and British Journal of Dermatology, December 2005, pages S13–S22).

This natural toner removes lingering traces of cleanser and residual dirt, oil and make-up. Salicylic Acid, sourced naturally from Willow Bark Extract, penetrates pores to help reduce acne, and Witch Hazel and Lemongrass Extracts to clarify and soothe troubled skin, naturally.

Active: Salicylic Acid (1.0%) Other: Water, Alcohol Denat., Glycerin, Salix Nigra (Willow) Bark Extract, Fragrance, Cymbopogon Schoenanthus Extract, Equisetum Hiemale Extract, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Leaf Extract, Humulus Lupulus (Hops) Extract, Hydrastis Canadensis (Goldenseal) Extract, Glucose, Sodium Chloride, Glucose Oxidase, Lactoperoxidase, Citral, Geraniol, Limonene, Linalool

Almost all the skin-care lines in the world prefer to identify themselves as originating from companies established to create elegant, scientific formulations conceived with an in-depth understanding of the skin’s functions and needs. We say almost, because Burt's Bees makes no such claim. Quite the contrary; this line is about as unglamorous and as unscientific as it gets (the picture of Burt on the label made me think we were buying fishing gear, and press materials for the brand mention he used to live in a turkey coop). Talk about being an iconoclast!

This is how the company's founder Roxanne Quimby describes its history on its Web site: "I guess you could say it all started because there weren't many jobs up there north of Bangor. Though we found, grew, or traded for most of what we needed, I figure a person's got to have at least 3000 dollars a year in actual greenbacks to survive in this old world, especially if you've got kids. I'd been let go from my last three part-time waitressing jobs and had been buying low and selling high at yard sales and flea markets, which brought in about $150 a week during good weather. How we got started making lip balm and ended up in North Carolina is another story, and a long one at that, so I’ll save it for some other time." This is a skin-care line?

Aside from its humble, amorphous beginning, Burt's Bees is about natural, earth-friendly skin-care products, as well as overly fragranced products. Its philosophy in this respect is sincere: "To us, the word 'natural' means only one thing. It means, 'harvested from nature.' And we adhere to that definition like the strictest of school teachers."

For those seeking a line of skin-care products with truly natural ingredients, this is one of the few that steadfastly adheres to its commitment: there is no hypocrisy here. If the ingredient lists are accurate, and there is no reason to assume otherwise, then you will not find preservatives or synthetically derived ingredients of any kind. Just from the all-natural point of view, there will definitely be people who will be excited about these products, but I'm not one of them. Many of the plant extracts and oils used in these products, including orange oil, cinnamon oil, clove oil, lemon oil, eucalyptus oil, pine tar, alcohol, lime oil, and balsam peru, are problematic for skin and present a significant risk of irritation or a sensitizing reaction. Both the intriguing philosophy and inexpensive products are attractive, but it takes more than that to establish reliable products that are good for skin.

We know that most people are attracted by fragrance, and in this regard these products excel. They are also notable for the lack of preservatives, which can be beneficial for those who can’t tolerate preservatives. (That lack may be an issue for product stability, although we did not have these products tested for contamination.) But for any other skin-care need, we suggest you use your wisdom and recognize that while Mother Nature is assuredly wise about the Earth, She does not have everything the skin needs. In fact, Mother Nature offers up many problematic things for skin, including the sun and poison ivy.

For more information about Burt's Bees, call 1-800-849-7112 or visit www.burtsbees.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    1 / 4 Poor
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    1 / 4 Poor
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    1 / 4 Poor
Page of 1
  1. Jennifer W
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 02, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Review
    • After reading some of the good reviews on the Burt's Bees site, I bought the toner. On my first use, it was very sticky (probably because I put a bit too much on). I tried putting less on, but it was STILL sticky on my face. I would always put it on twice a day after I cleanse or exfoliate my face. After using it for 6 days, it had made my acne worse AND made more breakouts on my face. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT.

  2. Lauren C.
    Reviewed on Monday, January 21, 2013
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    Tried this to help with my keratosis pilaris rubra faceii, but alas.
    • Probably one of the cheaper mistakes I made trying to manage my keratosis pilaris rubra faceii. This didn't really seem to make any difference for me, probably exactly for the reason Paula mentions in her review. I was still red. Booh. Now that I understand more about KP, I know something formulated like this won't really help.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.347 10/30/2014 10:31:28 AM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.