11.26.2014
18
2065
Eye Repair Cream
Rating
0.5 fl. oz. for $12.99
Category:
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

CeraVe 's Eye Repair Cream is the brand's first foray into the eye-area treatment market—and it's an impressive debut! This is an excellent fragrance-free moisturizer for the eye area (or anywhere on the face). CeraVe's Eye Repair Cream easily rivals many high-end targeted eye treatments with its mix of ingredients such as niacinamide, ceramides, hyaluronic acid and multiple skin-repairing ingredients—an array that helps skin look and act healthier as well as minimizing signs of aging.

In terms of moisture, the Eye Repair Cream has a thick-lotion consistency, which is standard for eye creams, and most will find it sufficiently emollient for the eye area without being "greasy". Bonus: Unlike many eye creams from other brands, CeraVe packaged this in a squeeze tube to protect the light and air-sensitive ingredients.

However, we should note that despite the fact that products like this are marketed specifically for the eye area, a well-formulated facial serum or moisturizer would share the same types of anti-aging benefits for skin—i.e. cell communicating, skin-reparative and antioxidant ingredients. Before you invest is a separate eye-area treatment, try your facial serum or moisturizer around your eye area—you may find it's a perfect solution. However, some just want a separate product for their eye area (and if that's you), then Eye Repair Cream is certainly a good option to consider.

What you find most eye creams lacking (this one included) is sunscreen ingredients—without sunscreen to protect your eye area (and, of course, the rest of your face) you won't see improvement in signs of aging like wrinkles or discolorations (which will continue to worsen with continued unprotected exposure to UV light). See More Info for additional details on why you may not need a separate eye cream. The lack of SPF means this eye cream should only be applied at night, unless you're willing to apply an SPF-rated product on top of it.

Bottom line: This is a well-priced (and wonderfully formulated) moisturizer for the eye area and face.

Pros:
  • Contains a beneficial array of anti-aging ingredients.
  • Fragrance free.
  • Works well to moisturize skin around the eye (or the face).
  • Packaged to keep key ingredients stable during use.
  • Inexpensive for such a powerhouse formula.
Cons:
  • If you use this during the AM, you'll still need to use it under a sunscreen rated SPF 15 or greater.
More Info:

Why You May Not Need an Eye Cream: Most eye creams aren't necessary. That's either because they are poorly formulated, contain nothing special for the eye area, or come in packaging that won't keep key ingredients stable. Just because the product is labeled as an eye cream doesn't mean it's good for your eye area; in fact, many can actually make matters worse.

There is much you can do to improve signs of aging around your eyes. Any product loaded with antioxidants, skin-repairing ingredients, skin-lightening ingredients, anti-inflammatory ingredients, and effective emollients will work wonders and those ingredients don't have to come from a product labeled as an eye cream. You would be shocked how many eye creams lack even the most basic ingredients to help skin. For example, most eye creams (like this one) don't contain sunscreen. During the day that is a serious problem because it leaves the skin around your eyes vulnerable to sun damage and this absolutely will make dark circles, puffiness, and wrinkles worse!

Whatever product you put around your eye area, regardless of what it is labeled, must be well formulated and appropriate for the skin type around your eyes! That may mean you need an eye cream, but you may also do just as well applying your regular facial moisturizer around your eyes.

Dark Circles: Dark circles are caused by several factors, and unfortunately, there aren't any skin-care products in the world that can tackle all or even most of the causes of them. While there are definitely things you can do to improve dark circles as well as keep them from getting worse, your solution won't be found in a specialty product labeled with miraculous claims or a miracle ingredient.

The most common causes of dark circles include sun damage, irritation, allergies, genetics, and veins/capillaries showing through the surface layer of skin. For genetic causes, dark circles aren't going to respond to topical treatment, but those caused by sun damage can be treated, as can

those stemming from irritation or allergies.

See our article, Shed Some Light on Dark Circles, for the hype-free facts about this concern, and possible solutions for some forms of undereye discolorations.

Claims

Developed with dermatologists, it's designed not only to visibly reduce dark circles and puffiness, but also to help repair and restore the delciate skin barrier around your eyes-leaving you with brighter, smoother, healthier looking eyes. Non-greasy and fast absorbing formula.

Ingredients

Purified Water, Niacinamide, Cetyl Alcohol, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Glycerin, Propanediol, Isononyl Isononanoate, Jojoba Esters, PEG-20 Methyl Glucose Sesquistearate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Dimethicone, Methyl Glucose Sesquistearate, Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6-11, Ceramide 1, Hyaluronic Acid, Zinc Citrate, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Almond) Oil, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Chrysanthellum Indicum Extract, Tocopherol, Equisetum Arvense Extract, Asparagopsis Armata Extract, Ascophyllum Nodosum Extract, Phenoxyethanol, Carbomer, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Sorbitol, Triethanolamine, Laureth-4, Butylene Glycol, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil, Tetrasodium EDTA, Ethylhexylglycerin, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Sodium Hydroxide, Phytosphingosine, Cholesterol, Xanthan Gum.

Brand Overview

CeraVe At-A-Glance

Strengths: Affordable, gentle, and fragrance-free; some excellent moisturizers and facial cleansers; a well-formulated eye cream; products provide broad-spectrum sun protection; remarkably gentle baby care; good (but small) assortment of anti-aging products.

Weaknesses: SPF products would do better with the inclusion of antioxidants and more elegant textures; the Renewing SA products aren't as adept at treating keratosis pilaris as they could be.

This small-ish (but expanding( collection of skin-care products keeps things gentle and effective with fragrance-free formulas, many of which are more state-of-the-art than any other product in its price range or pricier versions at the drugstore. In short, this line is a real find!

CeraVe uses a delivery system the company refers to as Multivesicular Emulsion Technology, which releases key ingredients such as ceramides and hyaluronic acid over a period of several hours. Although this technology is undoubtedly helpful, such time-delayed delivery systems aren't unique to CeraVe, and the fact remains that most of the ingredients they use are very helpful on their own, no matter what delivery system you use.

The important point is that ongoing, consistent use of this kind of moisturizer designed to repair the skin's barrier function will result in smoother, softer, healthier skin. An interesting element for this product is the inclusion of phytosphingosine. It is an ingredient that research shows is effective in regulating damaged or diseased epithelial cells. It seems this ingredient can be a cell-communicating ingredient, albeit one that is best for compromised skin. However, given CeraVe is positioned for those struggling with psoriasis, eczema, or rosacea, that's a great addition. (Source: Journal of Investigative Dermatology, October 2003, pages 1135–1137).

It is for these reasons that all the CeraVe products are definitely worth considering, especially at this price. You'll find a options for moisturizing, cleansing, baby care,broad spectrum sun protection (though many of the SPF products don't feel or look so great on skin), and baby care.

For more information about CeraVe, call 866-819-9007 or visit www.cerave.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
05.18.2015
Equisetum Arvense Extract

I have sensitive skin so always check ingredients lists. Equisetum Arvense Extract is in this eyecream and is an ingredient in the beautypedia cosmetic ingredient dictionary with a 'poor' rating. Please can you confirm if this is an irritant or not? Thank you.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.20.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  Because the ingredient is so low on the list, it is likely present in small quantities that would not be a concern for most people, as most studies that suggest it may irritate use higher amounts of the it.  Remember to patch test and save your receipt, though, so if it does cause an issue you can return it for something that works better :)

—Admin
04.27.2015
Question

I haven't used this product yet but have used a lot of other Cerave products and am interested in this one. But I had a question: Is this product acnegenic? I'm at that awkward 'I'm still breaking out but feel like I should start worrying about anti aging' time.... And I have dark circles!!! (P.S. I like the fact that it doesn't have spf in it- I'd rather just use an eye cream at night and I don't want spf then!!! plus I'd rather just put my spf on all over in the morning!) Thank you!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Rita
04.28.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  Rich, emollient formulas (such as this one) may be problematic for those with acne but there are no "red flag" ingredients to look out for.  Give it a try - spot test it and keep your receipt so you can return it if it causes a negative reaction!

—Admin
04.27.2015
Irritated me too

The only reason I use a special moisturizer around my eyes is that most moisturizers, sunscreens and foundations cause my eyes to burn and water even if I keep them off my lash line. This cream was no exception. I'm going back to "CeraVe Facial Moisturizing Lotion PM" which I can use safely day and night around my eye orbits without irritation. It's not remarkable but it "does no harm." Vaseline and coconut oil are my other "safe" products.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Karen H.
03.24.2015
Irritating

Made my eyes water and my lids swell. Returned it.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Marilyn
03.06.2015
Irritating

My eyes watered, the skin around my eyes burned and became red and irritated from using this product.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Pattieccake
02.13.2015
Horrible

If you like irritated,itchy watery eyes this product is for you.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Adriana
02.12.2015
Irritating!

This product, though labeled for sensitive skin, contains phenoxyethanol which is extremely irritating to eyes and skin. It causes my eyes to water horribly. Anyone using products with this synthetic preservative should be aware that you may become sensitized and will have issues of some kind from it.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.11.2015
Wonderful

This cream is superb, thanks to Paulas choice I bought this! Love your new site!!! Thanks Paulas choice!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
L O.
02.04.2015
I honestly don't know

I have only been using this product for less then a week and I'm sure if i could continue. Each time after I'm done washing my face and leting my toner dry I put the cream around my eyes then rub them in. Then around my eyes begin to burn. They hurt to touch . After a while it goes away. But the next day while I'm washing my face it begins to burn again. Is there any explanation for this problem ?i feel like this might be $12.99 wasted.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.01.2015
Impressed!

I usually check this sites reviews for best or good products before trying and I was surprised to find this inexpensive eyes cream on the list. I work for a beauty store and have tried, without exaggeration, probably close too 100 creams. My eye area always looks dry under makeup or sometimes easily become irritated by some creams. The first day I tired this one, I loved it! My eye area stays hydrated and the skin doesn't looked crepy by the end of the day. Definitely would reccomend it.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
joelle P
01.09.2015
Good but not moisturizing enough

I use PC Resist and Resist x moisturizing but still NEED eye cream beyond any PC product recommended. Have successfully used DHC and Bobby Brown. Cereve facial moisturizers are great but not moisturizing enough so I use them under Resist and the eye cream is no different for me. I still absolutely need an additional eye cream am/pm to keep my lower lids hydrated and plump. I used without exra in the beginning but quickly saw the need for adding my normal eye cream.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Rebecca
12.20.2014
Eyes worse

Since I've been using CeraV I've started getting dark circles under my eyes and the skin at the corners is getting loose. I'm stopping it immediately and going back to Olay. Sure it is inexpensive but that isn't everything.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
TRUDY T.
11.15.2014
Glad I tried this based on your recommendation

Some of your product recommendations I have not agreed with after trying for myself, but here I feel you are spot on. This eye cream does what it says and lives up to your scrutiny / favorable review. I am 50 with fine lines, deep set eyes and undereye darkness. I've tried many eye creams (hi & low end) and prefer them to facial creams, as they are less irritating to my eyes. Within 3 weeks this cream has softened lines, plumped and eased darkness. Concealer works well over it. Great Product!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
SELINA S.
11.11.2014
Moisturizing, But...

This white cream may be moisturizing, but after using it at night for a few days I noticed in the morning that the corners of my eyes were drooping downward. I haven't noticed this with any other cream I've tried. I think the cream is too heavy for my eyelids, even though I patted on only a small amount.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
georgia
07.19.2014
A little concern

I've just bought this eye cream recently and though it feels lovely on (it's been too short a while to notice any visible difference) I do have a little question. A lot of Paula's choice reviews state how harmful alcohol is to the skin. Why has that not been mentioned in this review? There seems to be a lot of alcohol on the ingredients list. Is it in a safe form? Am I worrying over nothing? Please help!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Mariya p
07.21.2014
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi, and thanks for your question! There are alcohols in this cream, but they are what are considered "good" alcohols, or fatty alcohols. They're not drying and are perfectly safe to use. We hope this information is helpful!

—Paula's Choice Research Team
06.24.2014
The skin around my eyes has never looked better

I've tried many eye creams (including a very expensive Guerlain product) and this is the best yet. It moisturizes beautifully and works very well under makeup. I had a couple of fine lines under my eyes, but this product has dramatically reduced their appearance. Not only that, I've had a few people tell me that my dark under eye circles have noticeably improved. I wasn't expecting this result since I know they're genetic and very little helps, but my eyes have never looked better.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Stephanie K.
04.24.2014
Not for me, caused little bumps all around my eyes

I have used every single one of Cera Ve's products, and I think they make really great, affordable, gentle products. I've tried this eye cream twice, however, and both times I woke up the next day with little skin colored bumps in the areas I applied the cream. Not itchy or bothersome, and they went away 2-3 days later. Maybe it is too thick for my skin; however this never happened with the regular cream, which is my favorite. I'll stick to the facial lotion pm and the body cream.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Marie
04.19.2014
Love it!

Very nice, love the way it feels around my eye area. It's very hydrating and gentle!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Ash
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.394 5/29/2015 3:36:48 AM