08.07.2015
21
776
Facial Moisturizing Lotion AM SPF 30
Rating
3 fl. oz. for $13.99
Last Updated:08.07.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

NOTE: As of summer 2015, we were informed by our readers that there has been a potential reformulation of this product. We appreciate your patience while we take the time to thoroughly update this review!

This daytime moisturizer with sunscreen includes an in-part zinc oxide sunscreen but the amount of it is on the lower side, which is why we suspect the packaging now states that this product only protects against sunburn, not early signs of skin aging or skin cancer. Because of this, we don't advise relying on this moisturizer for broad-spectrum protection, though it's fine to layer with other SPF-rated products that do provide a higher level of protection.

The formula has a lightweight lotion texture that feels elegant and wears well under makeup. Other than the sunscreen, the star ingredient in this daytime moisturizer is the cell-communicating ingredient niacinamide. This fragrance-free product also contains an impressive mix of skin-identical ingredients (ceramides and hyaluronic acid). The only other thing holding it back from a higher rating is the lack of antioxidants; it is well established that adding antioxidants to sunscreens not only boosts the effectiveness of the sunscreen but also boosts your skin’s ability to fight the free-radical damage sun exposure causes.

This is still worth strong consideration for its overall formula and affordability, but it doesn’t qualify as a great option. Facial Moisturizing Lotion AM SPF 30 is best for normal to slightly dry or slightly oily (combination) skin.

Claims

Helps repair damaged skin and maintain the skin’s natural protective function with ingredients not commonly found in other moisturizers. Its patented Multivesicular Emulsion technology releases these ingredients over time, penetrating deep into the skin to hydrate and nourish.

Ingredients

Active: Homosalate (12%), Octinoxate (7.5%), Octocrylene (2%), Zinc Oxide (3.5%), Other: Purified Water, Niacinamide, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone, Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6-II, Ceramide 1, Cholesterol, Hyaluronic Acid, Phytosphingosine, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Disodium EDTA, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum

Brand Overview

CeraVe At-A-Glance

Strengths: Affordable, gentle, and fragrance-free; some excellent moisturizers and facial cleansers; a well-formulated eye cream; products provide broad-spectrum sun protection; remarkably gentle baby care; good (but small) assortment of anti-aging products.

Weaknesses: SPF products would do better with the inclusion of antioxidants and more elegant textures; the Renewing SA products aren't as adept at treating keratosis pilaris as they could be.

This small-ish (but expanding( collection of skin-care products keeps things gentle and effective with fragrance-free formulas, many of which are more state-of-the-art than any other product in its price range or pricier versions at the drugstore. In short, this line is a real find!

CeraVe uses a delivery system the company refers to as Multivesicular Emulsion Technology, which releases key ingredients such as ceramides and hyaluronic acid over a period of several hours. Although this technology is undoubtedly helpful, such time-delayed delivery systems aren't unique to CeraVe, and the fact remains that most of the ingredients they use are very helpful on their own, no matter what delivery system you use.

The important point is that ongoing, consistent use of this kind of moisturizer designed to repair the skin's barrier function will result in smoother, softer, healthier skin. An interesting element for this product is the inclusion of phytosphingosine. It is an ingredient that research shows is effective in regulating damaged or diseased epithelial cells. It seems this ingredient can be a cell-communicating ingredient, albeit one that is best for compromised skin. However, given CeraVe is positioned for those struggling with psoriasis, eczema, or rosacea, that's a great addition. (Source: Journal of Investigative Dermatology, October 2003, pages 1135–1137).

It is for these reasons that all the CeraVe products are definitely worth considering, especially at this price. You'll find a options for moisturizing, cleansing, baby care,broad spectrum sun protection (though many of the SPF products don't feel or look so great on skin), and baby care.

For more information about CeraVe, call 866-819-9007 or visit www.cerave.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
08.24.2015
Scratchy & red

I don't usually have any problems with my skin. My face got red & itchy after I used this. I washed it off after a couple hours but my face was still itchy. I took a Benadryl to try to get relief.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Debra C.
08.19.2015
Basic Beauty

Good stuff for my travel emergency! Left my great moisturizer at home on vaca,was using some strong anti-aging serums that caused some dryness.Bought Cerave AM lotion and was pleased with how it made my skin feel.It was very comforting.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Nancy C
07.30.2015
Different Formula

I have been using this for a couple of years. I was worried to read Beautypedia does not endorse it, stating it does not protect skin against aging and damage. However, upon checking my ingredients on my Canadian product, it reads differently: homosalate 10%, menthyl anthranilate 5%, octinoxate 5%, octocrylene 2%, zinc oxide 6.3%. Would you be able to tell me if this is effective enough against UVA/UVB damage? Thanks for your help. Ali

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Ali
08.14.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hey there!  Thanks for reaching out to us.  Those are good sunscreen actives, but we'd encourage you to reach out to CeraVe in Canada for clarification since their requirements for broad-spectrum testing may vary from those in the U.S.  Please note that the original review for the US version is also under revision currently, as there have recently been some changes in the formula reported to us by readers and we are working on getting clarification from the brand as well =)

—Admin
04.24.2015
Shouldn't this be listed as broad spectrum?

So...maybe you can answer this for me. Kiss My Face Face & Neck Factor SPF 30 is rated as "broad spectrum" yet this is not.....and it has the same percentages of ingredients and has in fact MORE sunscreen than KMF (with the inclusion of Homosalate (12%))and a higher percentage of zinc (this has 3.5% vs KMF 3%. I LOVE this, but I stopped using BECAUSE you had stated it WASN'T broad spectrum but now I am confused.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Liz M
05.15.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  The simplest answer is that Kiss My Face passed the FDA's required testing to earn the broad spectrum claim but CeraVe's protection did not.  They share some similarities with active ingredients/percentages but the active ingredients alone do not tell the whole story when it comes to the final SPF rating and broad spectrum ability a given sunscreen will have. 

—Admin
02.28.2015
Correction (from "Irritating!")

I have just noticed that it was indeed Neostrata Canada's 10% Glycolic Renewal that was causing my skin irritation. I got desperate yesterday and had to use something with sunscreen so ended up using Cerave AM--my skin was fine (I didn`t use the Neostrata product before it). Last night, my face stung again when I used the Neostrata Glycolic Peel. I only used it on my neck tonight (repeated stinging). When I put put Resist Skin Revealing Lotion with 10% AHA on my face afterward, my skin was fine

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.27.2015
Irritating!

I usually don't have sensitive skin, but this product made my skin feel irritated. I thought since the Canadian sunscreen formulation was different it might be better, but boy, was I wrong. Knowing what Paula says about the bad affects of irritating products on the skin, I will definitely stay clear of Cerave AM.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
01.10.2015
doesn't gather my makeup into wrinkle creases!

I so wish that this sunscreen had a BEST rating (I remember that it used to?) Anyway, it's the only moisturizer with sunscreen that I've found that won't create wrinkles FULL of my makeup. A HUGE PLUS. I am hoping that the combination of this with my face makeup (has anti-oxidants) and my other products (additional sunscreen) have my bases covered! esp since I'm a blonde living in Southern California

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
kelly j.
10.26.2014
Great for Acne Prone Sensitive Skin

I love this sunscreen. It really does wear well under makeup! It didn't break me out like other people claim, and I have break out prone skin, and hyper pigmentation. Its light weight but I wish it was more moisturizing. I use benzyol peroxide which has caused my brown skin to look dull and gray so I need good sun protection! I usually use this or the COTZ Face sunscreen (has really good reviews on Ulta.com) but that has a tint to it that leaves a gray cast on my skin so I use the CeraVe more.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Courtney
10.19.2014
Be careful

Read the sunscreen label carefully. This can be a very irritating sunscreen and had just that effect on me. I usually like the CeraVe products but this caused a good deal of reaction for me. (Stinging burning redness etc...) If you are sensitive, don't be fooled by the CeraVe label...stick with Paula's advice on the Clinique City Block sunscreens they are way more gentle!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Amy
08.08.2014
Very Good

I don't think this product is for everyone or all skin types, but its working for my combination acne prone skin. I started using it in conjunction with Paula's Choice products and others from CeraVe.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Andrew L.
06.03.2014
severely clogged my pores

This product really clogged my pores and caused a lot of blackheads. I stopped using it after 3 days.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.25.2014
Allergic Reaction!!!

While I love the CeraVe PM moisture lotion, this AM version is NOT lovable. I have combination skin prone to breakouts but can tolerate most products. However, after using this for a week I was overcome with extreme redness and itchiness that I've never experienced before with a moisturizer. Not worth the horrible reaction. So beware! Keep your receipts/packaging in case you need to return...glad I did.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.18.2014
Suncreen caused allergic reaction

I love this line and use their other products, but the sunscreens in this daytime moisturizer caused my skin to react. I also found the sunscreens have that "day at the beach" smell. I have rosacea and should have checked the ingredient list, as only titanium and zinc work for me. I was able to return the product and contacted CeraVe to let them know about my issue. They were fantastic and recommended another of their products and even sent me a free lotion. Great company.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
THERESA L.
02.22.2014
Mixed feelings

This feels quite thick to me and a bit hard to ply. I do feel it's nourishing, and it's got decent SPF in it, but I have to wait a bit before putting on makeup. I wish it were as light as the PM version--which I love!--but I guess the sunscreen makes it thicker. Not sure if I'll buy again.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
12.16.2013
very good

This is the only facial sunscreen I can consistently use. I have breakout prone skin that doesn't tolerate titanium dioxide and avobenzone makes my sensitive skin burn. I apply this liberally on my entire face including around the eye area and have never had a negative reaction to it. It has a nice texture that is moisturizing without feeling greasey.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
09.16.2013
Have used for 6 months

I really like how this sunscreen feels, both going on, & for the rest of the day. It's also less likely to look greasy by late on a summer afternoon ~ it maintains more of a matte finish. The only negative is that the sunscreen ingredients do leave a slightly white cast, & since I'm pale to start, that's a mild drawback. But if you're careful not to be heavy-handed when applying it, it's not really a problem.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Kelly
09.15.2013
Caused Redness and Itching

Tried this on someone's recommendation. Would put a dab on the back of my hand and then apply to my face from that. After using a month or so, I had severe redness and ITCHING on my hand although not on my face. Using Paula's ingredient list, I concluded the cause might be octocrylene, one of CeraVe 30's ingredients. Stopped using the product even though there seemed to be no effects on my face - didn't want to take the chance they would develop. Too bad because otherwise seemed a good product.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anne L
04.13.2013
Caused breakouts for me

Great for people who are not prone to breakouts. It's been a long time since I have broken out and about a week after I started using it I started breaking out all over my face with acne. As soon as I stopped using it the breakouts stopped. I'm just going to use the rest on my hands from now on. I wish this would have worked for me because you get a lot in the bottle for the price and I like how it stays on my face.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.04.2013
Good for Sensitive Skin, Not "Sticky"

I have a hard time finding facial sunscreens with decent UVA protection I can tolerate, as avobenzone makes my face sting, and strictly mineral sunscreens make my face break out. I'm really liking this CeraVe product. It doesn't make me break out, doesn't give a "white-cast" and does not feel sticky - I can put this on and not feel I have to powder up my face. But I do not put this around my eyes - I use a Clarins 100% mineral suscreen for under my eyes.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Cindi
03.31.2013
Very Good for Sensitive Skim

I have extremely sensitive skin and many things bother me that would probably not bother most. I find this product makes my skin feel good and does not bother my skin at all. No stinging, burning or redness ever. It was recommended to me by my Dermatologist and she was right. i can use it. It may not have as many antioxidants as some products but for me this stuff is great. It is easy to find and I don't have to order it to get something I can use. If you have sensitive skin, try this.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
CATHY C.
12.25.2012
stung my eyes.

I wish I could recommend this but on my own experience I just can't. I so wanted to like this but the problem for me with this one is the chemical sunscreen addiditives.I had to wash this off after an hour as my eyes were stinging , and just use my Paula's choice pure mineral sunscreen.The cerave one has spf 30, but it's no use for me. I'm not suggesting this is a bad product, it's not. But beware of this if you have any kind of intolerance to chemical sunscreen around eyes.If this suits you, lucky you .I wish I COULD use it.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
bruno
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.411 9/1/2015 7:29:22 PM