Facial Moisturizing Lotion AM SPF 30

by CeraVe  
Price:
$13.99 - 3 fl. oz.
Good Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime) > Moisturizer with Sunscreen
Last Updated:
11/26/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

This daytime moisturizer with sunscreen includes an in-part zinc oxide sunscreen but the amount of it is on the lower side, which is why we suspect the packaging now states that this product only protects against sunburn, not early signs of skin aging or skin cancer. Because of this, we don't advise relying on this moisturizer for broad-spectrum protection, though it's fine to layer with other SPF-rated products that do provide a higher level of protection.

The formula has a lightweight lotion texture that feels elegant and wears well under makeup. Other than the sunscreen, the star ingredient in this daytime moisturizer is the cell-communicating ingredient niacinamide. This fragrance-free product also contains an impressive mix of skin-identical ingredients (ceramides and hyaluronic acid). The only other thing holding it back from a higher rating is the lack of antioxidants; it is well established that adding antioxidants to sunscreens not only boosts the effectiveness of the sunscreen but also boosts your skin’s ability to fight the free-radical damage sun exposure causes.

This is still worth strong consideration for its overall formula and affordability, but it doesn’t qualify as a great option. Facial Moisturizing Lotion AM SPF 30 is best for normal to slightly dry or slightly oily (combination) skin.

Helps repair damaged skin and maintain the skin’s natural protective function with ingredients not commonly found in other moisturizers. Its patented Multivesicular Emulsion technology releases these ingredients over time, penetrating deep into the skin to hydrate and nourish.

Active: Homosalate (12%), Octinoxate (7.5%), Octocrylene (2%), Zinc Oxide (3.5%), Other: Purified Water, Niacinamide, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone, Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6-II, Ceramide 1, Cholesterol, Hyaluronic Acid, Phytosphingosine, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Disodium EDTA, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum

This small collection of skin-care products keeps things gentle and effective with fragrance-free formulas that can be considered more state-of-the-art than any other product in its price range or pricier versions at the drugstore. CeraVe uses a delivery system the company refers to as Multivesicular Emulsion Technology, which releases key ingredients such as ceramides (they actually include three different ceramides: I, III, and VI, which is rather unique and great for skin) and hyaluronic acid over a period of several hours. Although this technology is undoubtedly helpful, such time-delayed delivery systems aren't unique to CeraVe, and the fact remains that most of the ingredients they use are very helpful on their own, no matter what delivery system you use. The important point is that ongoing, consistent use of this kind of moisturizer designed to repair the skin's barrier function will result in smoother, softer, healthier skin. An interesting element for this product is the inclusion of phytosphingosine. It is an ingredient that research shows is effective in regulating damaged or diseased epithelial cells. It seems this ingredient can be a cell-communicating ingredient, albeit one that is best for compromised skin. However, given CeraVe is positioned for those struggling with psoriasis, eczema, or rosacea, that's a great addition. (Source: Journal of Investigative Dermatology, October 2003, pages 1135–1137).

It is for these reasons that all the CeraVe products are definitely worth considering, especially at this price.

For more information about CeraVe, call 866-819-9007 or visit www.cerave.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
Page of 1
  1. Courtney
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 26, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Great for Acne Prone Sensitive Skin
    • I love this sunscreen. It really does wear well under makeup! It didn't break me out like other people claim, and I have break out prone skin, and hyper pigmentation. Its light weight but I wish it was more moisturizing. I use benzyol peroxide which has caused my brown skin to look dull and gray so I need good sun protection! I usually use this or the COTZ Face sunscreen (has really good reviews on Ulta.com) but that has a tint to it that leaves a gray cast on my skin so I use the CeraVe more.

  2. Amy
    Reviewed on Sunday, October 19, 2014
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Be careful
    • Read the sunscreen label carefully. This can be a very irritating sunscreen and had just that effect on me. I usually like the CeraVe products but this caused a good deal of reaction for me. (Stinging burning redness etc...) If you are sensitive, don't be fooled by the CeraVe label...stick with Paula's advice on the Clinique City Block sunscreens they are way more gentle!

  3. Andrew L.
    Reviewed on Friday, August 08, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    Very Good
    • I don't think this product is for everyone or all skin types, but its working for my combination acne prone skin. I started using it in conjunction with Paula's Choice products and others from CeraVe.

  4. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 03, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    severely clogged my pores
    • This product really clogged my pores and caused a lot of blackheads. I stopped using it after 3 days.

  5. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, April 25, 2014
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Allergic Reaction!!!
    • While I love the CeraVe PM moisture lotion, this AM version is NOT lovable. I have combination skin prone to breakouts but can tolerate most products. However, after using this for a week I was overcome with extreme redness and itchiness that I've never experienced before with a moisturizer. Not worth the horrible reaction. So beware! Keep your receipts/packaging in case you need to return...glad I did.

  6. THERESA L.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 18, 2014
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Suncreen caused allergic reaction
    • I love this line and use their other products, but the sunscreens in this daytime moisturizer caused my skin to react. I also found the sunscreens have that "day at the beach" smell. I have rosacea and should have checked the ingredient list, as only titanium and zinc work for me. I was able to return the product and contacted CeraVe to let them know about my issue. They were fantastic and recommended another of their products and even sent me a free lotion. Great company.

  7. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 22, 2014
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    Mixed feelings
    • This feels quite thick to me and a bit hard to ply. I do feel it's nourishing, and it's got decent SPF in it, but I have to wait a bit before putting on makeup. I wish it were as light as the PM version--which I love!--but I guess the sunscreen makes it thicker. Not sure if I'll buy again.

  8. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, December 16, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    very good
    • This is the only facial sunscreen I can consistently use. I have breakout prone skin that doesn't tolerate titanium dioxide and avobenzone makes my sensitive skin burn. I apply this liberally on my entire face including around the eye area and have never had a negative reaction to it. It has a nice texture that is moisturizing without feeling greasey.

  9. Kelly
    Reviewed on Monday, September 16, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    Have used for 6 months
    • I really like how this sunscreen feels, both going on, & for the rest of the day. It's also less likely to look greasy by late on a summer afternoon ~ it maintains more of a matte finish. The only negative is that the sunscreen ingredients do leave a slightly white cast, & since I'm pale to start, that's a mild drawback. But if you're careful not to be heavy-handed when applying it, it's not really a problem.

  10. Anne L
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 15, 2013
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Caused Redness and Itching
    • Tried this on someone's recommendation. Would put a dab on the back of my hand and then apply to my face from that. After using a month or so, I had severe redness and ITCHING on my hand although not on my face. Using Paula's ingredient list, I concluded the cause might be octocrylene, one of CeraVe 30's ingredients. Stopped using the product even though there seemed to be no effects on my face - didn't want to take the chance they would develop. Too bad because otherwise seemed a good product.

  11. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 13, 2013
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Caused breakouts for me
    • Great for people who are not prone to breakouts. It's been a long time since I have broken out and about a week after I started using it I started breaking out all over my face with acne. As soon as I stopped using it the breakouts stopped. I'm just going to use the rest on my hands from now on. I wish this would have worked for me because you get a lot in the bottle for the price and I like how it stays on my face.

  12. Cindi
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 04, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    Good for Sensitive Skin, Not "Sticky"
    • I have a hard time finding facial sunscreens with decent UVA protection I can tolerate, as avobenzone makes my face sting, and strictly mineral sunscreens make my face break out. I'm really liking this CeraVe product. It doesn't make me break out, doesn't give a "white-cast" and does not feel sticky - I can put this on and not feel I have to powder up my face. But I do not put this around my eyes - I use a Clarins 100% mineral suscreen for under my eyes.

  13. CATHY C.
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 31, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Very Good for Sensitive Skim
    • I have extremely sensitive skin and many things bother me that would probably not bother most. I find this product makes my skin feel good and does not bother my skin at all. No stinging, burning or redness ever. It was recommended to me by my Dermatologist and she was right. i can use it. It may not have as many antioxidants as some products but for me this stuff is great. It is easy to find and I don't have to order it to get something I can use. If you have sensitive skin, try this.

  14. bruno
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 25, 2012
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    stung my eyes.
    • I wish I could recommend this but on my own experience I just can't. I so wanted to like this but the problem for me with this one is the chemical sunscreen addiditives.I had to wash this off after an hour as my eyes were stinging , and just use my Paula's choice pure mineral sunscreen.The cerave one has spf 30, but it's no use for me. I'm not suggesting this is a bad product, it's not. But beware of this if you have any kind of intolerance to chemical sunscreen around eyes.If this suits you, lucky you .I wish I COULD use it.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.358 12/22/2014 9:40:53 AM
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off Retinol Products | FREE Shipping on Everything | FREE Eyeshadow Palette on $65+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.