Facial Moisturizing Lotion PM

by CeraVe  
Price:
$12.99 - 3 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Skin Care > Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime) > Moisturizer without Sunscreen
Last Updated:
8/7/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

CeraVe’s first official facial moisturizer isn’t too far removed from their well-formulated body moisturizers. That’s great because their formulas contain outstanding blends of emollients and skin-identical ingredients. This facial moisturizer is a very good option for normal to dry skin. In addition to numerous skin-identical ingredients, it contains a generous amount of the cell-communicating ingredient niacinamide, which offers multiple benefits. Its lightweight cream texture provides substantial moisture. This fragrance-free moisturizer is highly recommended for sensitive or rosacea-affected skin, hence the high rating. The only formulary drawback is the lack of antioxidants, but you can remedy that by applying an antioxidant-rich serum under or over Facial Moisturizing Lotion PM.

Helps repair damaged skin and maintain the skin’s natural protective function with ingredients not commonly found in other moisturizers. Its patented Multivesicular Emulsion technology releases these ingredients over time, penetrating deep into the skin to hydrate and nourish.

Purified Water, Glycerin, Caprylic/Capric Triglycerides, Niacinamide, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth-20, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6-II, Ceramide 1, Phytosphingosine, Hyaluronic Acid, Cholesterol, Dimethicone, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Dipotassium Phosphate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Disodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum

This small collection of skin-care products keeps things gentle and effective with fragrance-free formulas that can be considered more state-of-the-art than any other product in its price range or pricier versions at the drugstore. CeraVe uses a delivery system the company refers to as Multivesicular Emulsion Technology, which releases key ingredients such as ceramides (they actually include three different ceramides: I, III, and VI, which is rather unique and great for skin) and hyaluronic acid over a period of several hours. Although this technology is undoubtedly helpful, such time-delayed delivery systems aren't unique to CeraVe, and the fact remains that most of the ingredients they use are very helpful on their own, no matter what delivery system you use. The important point is that ongoing, consistent use of this kind of moisturizer designed to repair the skin's barrier function will result in smoother, softer, healthier skin. An interesting element for this product is the inclusion of phytosphingosine. It is an ingredient that research shows is effective in regulating damaged or diseased epithelial cells. It seems this ingredient can be a cell-communicating ingredient, albeit one that is best for compromised skin. However, given CeraVe is positioned for those struggling with psoriasis, eczema, or rosacea, that's a great addition. (Source: Journal of Investigative Dermatology, October 2003, pages 1135–1137).

It is for these reasons that all the CeraVe products are definitely worth considering, especially at this price.

For more information about CeraVe, call 866-819-9007 or visit www.cerave.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 3 Next »
  1. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 22, 2014
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Was great at first . . .
    • I've been using this for about a month - it was fine at first (but not as moisturizing as I would have liked for my skin) but over the past few days my skin started turning red, puffy and painful after using. Once I stopped using the cream, my skin went back to normal. Needless to say, I will not be using this product anymore.

  2. Amelia J.
    Reviewed on Monday, October 06, 2014
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    OK
    • This product does not irritate my very sensitive skin, and the price is great. Unfortunately, it isn't nearly as moisturizing as I need. Its texture is light and my skin often feels dry again within a few minutes of application. I usually apply a little oil to my face underneath this in order to get more moisture.

  3. Susanne T.
    Reviewed on Monday, September 22, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    very good!
    • I can buy this cream at our local grocery store at a reasonable price. I liked this cream a lot, didn't have any bad reaction although I do have sensitive skin, that doesn't have a sensitivity to fragrance ( I'm not sure why and when my skin will react with redness, flushing and burning to certain products, but it's not fragrance). My skin felt hydrated, smooth, soft and comfortable. I only thing I didn't like is the pump dispenser, for such a small bottle it doesn't make much sense.

  4. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, September 05, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Great Product
    • Usually only buy PC, but there are a few exceptions for the sake of my pocket book. CeraVe PM is a great all around moisturizer not only for my aging skin, but my teen who, usually loves the expensive stuff, also loves it.

  5. Tina H
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 17, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    The worst
    • I really wanted to like this. When I saw this review, I was so happy to hear that there was something on the market that could actually do the job of moisturizing without irritating that I could buy at the drugstore. Both the AM and PM version of this product make my skin feel horrible, and I'm not particularly sensitive. Hot, burning, want to claw my face off, cannot wait until my normal, pricey, but tried-and-true Dermalogica product arrives.

  6. Andrew L.
    Reviewed on Saturday, July 26, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Great Product
    • Really helps my skin out a lot overnight or just when it feels dry. I can see how some people might have a negative reaction to the vitamin B3 in this but for me its perfect. Amazing light feeling moisturizer that sinks in very well. I would say if your skin is very dry to try another product, or at least boost this with a moisturizing oil like jojoba. All in all, I'm very pleased with this product and it goes great in my nighttime regimen as the last step, or under sunscreen during the day.

  7. Olga O.
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 24, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Red, hot, unhappy skin within minutes
    • Like a few others have mentioned, I also had an unfortunate reaction to this product. I wore it for two days, and each time my skin turned red, felt hot to the touch, stung, and was generally unhappy. I then discovered skin peeling at my jaw line. Not sure what ingredient set this off, but I'm starting to head to the "much less is way more" school of thought for my overly sensitive, dry skin: just a plain oil to moisturize. Nothing fancy, nothing "anti-aging" (other than zinc oxide sunscreen).

  8. Rebecca M.
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 17, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Perfection!
    • I have oily, sensitive skin and it's been quite a while since I've found a moisturizer that works well and is both light and gentle. This moisturizer is absolutely perfect! My dermatologist recommended it to me and I've never used anything else since! Love love love CeraVe! I also use the a.m. moisturizer and the foaming cleanser.

  9. Sandy H.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 04, 2014
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Sensitive Skin Reaction
    • My dermatologist recommended this for my sensitive, patchy eczema-prone skin. I used both the day and night products. I had a tingling reaction, that turned to tingling +stinging. After about a week, my skin erupted into tiny, coarse bumps from cheek to chin. I discontinued use and it took an additional week for my facial skin to return to normal.

  10. Dawn L.
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 29, 2014
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Not great - had a pretty severe reaction to it
    • This may work perfectly for some, but I thought that I would add my poor experience to the list as it matches with some of the other negative reviews for this product. I have to admit that my skin is apparently really sensitive as I have had problems with Olay Total Effects, Olay sensitive skin wash and now possibly with Paula's choice earth sourced cleanser. I had the burning and redness that others reported within about 20 minutes of applying this. I don't know why, but a miss for me.

  11. Lynne E
    Reviewed on Monday, May 19, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Something's changed
    • I've used this product for several years and have always been thrilled with my results. But a couple of months ago I bought a new bottle and was very disappointed. Something's changed. My skin turned red and broke out with nasty little bumps. Paula's BHA and Super Anti-oxidant Serum resolved the problem immediately but Cerave PM and I are no longer together.

  12. SARAH G.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 10, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    CeraVe lotion: truly magnificent
    • It's mind-boggling that skin care companies can seem to compete w/each other to see who can charge the most (and sometimes for the least!). Eczema/dry skin have run my life, so I wondered why fragrance is in anything meant for your face. Learned to examine ingredient labels, etc. (Thank you, Paula!) I started using CeraVe 3-4 yrs ago & it is wonderful! Has never broken me out & feels so light going on (lovely base for make-up), it's hard to believe it's so powerful. Results will prove it.

  13. Holly B.
    Reviewed on Friday, April 18, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Recommended!
    • I suffer from that daytime oil shine but like some light moisture for rejuvenation overnight. This PM moisturizer feels perfect! It's not heavy or greasy at all and I can't "feel it" like a layer on my skin. It has a more gel-like consistency which I like, too. Thank you to Paula's review team for helping me to find a product with beneficial ingredients (now I can have "good or better" skin)! Also I've been using rx retinol and this moisturizer appears to be helping with those dry, flaky patches.

  14. Jessica
    Reviewed on Friday, March 28, 2014
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Irritated my skin
    • I realize many people love this product, but I found it irritated my sensitive skin and caused a breakout of those lovely little whiteheads that pop up when my skin is angry. I also didn't find it to be as richly moisturizing and softening as a like a night moisturizer to be. I have combo skin but need help with redness and flakiness. I was trying to get away from the pricey cream I'd been using - which I LOVE and ironically has a very low rating in beautypedia.

  15. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 22, 2014
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Love this moisturizer!
    • This is very lightweight and feels so fresh going on. No smell--yay! Wish it would be cheaper, but it's certainly not the most expensive out there, and it's easy to find at the pharmacy. I wish that the AM version felt as good as this.

  16. KT
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 07, 2013
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Reaction!
    • When I put this on it felt nice, but after about 10 minutes my face starting burning, which continued until I went to the bathroom to wash it off. The skin was red and had small bumps. I returned it thinking it was a bad batch. Went to another store, same thing. I use niaminicide products and have never experienced this before.

  17. LAUREN F.
    Reviewed on Friday, November 22, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Keep coming back!
    • I am always aiming to perfect my skincare routine, balancing value, effectiveness and simplicity. Occasionally I go overboard when in a 'fix it' mode and end up over applying retinoids or blasting a pimple until I end up with a dry patch. This is the perfect product when I want something soothing, hydrating and 'rescuing' to apply at night and just nourish my skin. I really love the PC line, but this remains my favorite PM option and I keep returning to it when I need something 'just right'.

  18. carmenA
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 18, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Doctor recommended
    • Many times a great product is NOT costly, and this is one example. My Doctor recommended the whole CeraVe line and they do make a good product.

  19. DEBORAH S.
    Reviewed on Monday, September 16, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Yes! Paula beware!!!
    • Great product!!! This is much like Paula's product-- but cheaper-- Sorry Paula--- Your products are getting pricey for a retired fixed income "femme". Please re-look at your overhead expenses so that u can keep prices in line with w products like this.

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Monday, September 16, 2013

    Thanks for your feedback! Although the prices for Paula's Choice products have increased, we feel strongly that they remain among the best of the best in any price range. That being said, we will of course continue to review and recommend products from all price ranges, so you can have great skin regardless of your budget!

    -Paula's Choice Research Team

    —Admin
  20. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 15, 2013
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Need to remove the parabans
    • I liked this product but have to discontinue because it contains parabans and doesn't have that many antioxidents in the formula.

  21. Rebecca O.
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 14, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    fabulous product
    • No other moisturizer makes my skin feel this perfect- just the right amount of moisture with absolutely no greasiness. My only complaint is the lack of antioxidants, but this is easily remedied with a couple drops of a Paula's Choice serum. It also doubles as a perfect PM hand cream, again with a couple of drops of a PC serum.

  22. Susan
    Reviewed on Tuesday, September 10, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Best results
    • Highly recommend this inexpensive yet effective night lotion. I've tried the most expensive and have learned more money doesn't mean better product. CeraVe contains beneficial ingredients at reasonable price. I blend it nightly with tretinoid that I ordered from doctor. Mornings I use Paula's Choice Resist C15 (vitamin C) and SUNSCREEN (rain or shine).

  23. Jennifer
    Reviewed on Monday, September 09, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Good supplement to my Paula's choice routine
    • I am a big fan of Paula's Choice products and use them routinely. But I ran out of her moisturizer 1 day & in a pinch I bought the Cerave PM lotion. I found this lotion does not irritate my sensitive dry Rosacea skin and makes my skin very soft. I now use it once a day to "stretch out" the time before I need to reorder Paula's products. I usually put it over her anti-oxidant serum at night and her use Resist moisturizer the AM. I have recently gotten comments on how good my 51 yr old skin looks!

  24. sandra r.
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 08, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Good option for Dry skin
    • This is an excellent night moisturizer for normal to dry skin. Unfortunately I have combination skin and didn't like the feel of it just sitting on my skin. I had to wash it off in the morning. I now use Paula's Choice products for combination/oily skin and they absorb quickly and never sit on my skin. In the morning my face looks smooth with no residual oiliness or shine.

  25. vb
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 08, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    the only one for me
    • my very sensitive skin loves it

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.351 11/24/2014 2:30:46 PM
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Resist Anti-Aging   |   FREE Shipping on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.