08.07.2015
83
5269
Facial Moisturizing Lotion PM
Rating
3 fl. oz. for $12.99
Last Updated:08.07.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

NOTE: As of summer 2015, we were informed by our readers that there has been a potential reformulation of this product. We appreciate your patience while we take the time to thoroughly update this review!

CeraVe’s first official facial moisturizer isn’t too far removed from their well-formulated body moisturizers. That’s great because their formulas contain outstanding blends of emollients and skin-identical ingredients. This facial moisturizer is a very good option for normal to dry skin. In addition to numerous skin-identical ingredients, it contains a generous amount of the cell-communicating ingredient niacinamide, which offers multiple benefits. Its lightweight cream texture provides substantial moisture. This fragrance-free moisturizer is highly recommended for sensitive or rosacea-affected skin, hence the high rating. The only formulary drawback is the lack of antioxidants, but you can remedy that by applying an antioxidant-rich serum under or over Facial Moisturizing Lotion PM.

Claims

Helps repair damaged skin and maintain the skin’s natural protective function with ingredients not commonly found in other moisturizers. Its patented Multivesicular Emulsion technology releases these ingredients over time, penetrating deep into the skin to hydrate and nourish.

Ingredients

Purified Water, Glycerin, Caprylic/Capric Triglycerides, Niacinamide, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth-20, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6-II, Ceramide 1, Phytosphingosine, Hyaluronic Acid, Cholesterol, Dimethicone, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Potassium Phosphate, Dipotassium Phosphate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Disodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum

Brand Overview

CeraVe At-A-Glance

Strengths: Affordable, gentle, and fragrance-free; some excellent moisturizers and facial cleansers; a well-formulated eye cream; products provide broad-spectrum sun protection; remarkably gentle baby care; good (but small) assortment of anti-aging products.

Weaknesses: SPF products would do better with the inclusion of antioxidants and more elegant textures; the Renewing SA products aren't as adept at treating keratosis pilaris as they could be.

This small-ish (but expanding( collection of skin-care products keeps things gentle and effective with fragrance-free formulas, many of which are more state-of-the-art than any other product in its price range or pricier versions at the drugstore. In short, this line is a real find!

CeraVe uses a delivery system the company refers to as Multivesicular Emulsion Technology, which releases key ingredients such as ceramides and hyaluronic acid over a period of several hours. Although this technology is undoubtedly helpful, such time-delayed delivery systems aren't unique to CeraVe, and the fact remains that most of the ingredients they use are very helpful on their own, no matter what delivery system you use.

The important point is that ongoing, consistent use of this kind of moisturizer designed to repair the skin's barrier function will result in smoother, softer, healthier skin. An interesting element for this product is the inclusion of phytosphingosine. It is an ingredient that research shows is effective in regulating damaged or diseased epithelial cells. It seems this ingredient can be a cell-communicating ingredient, albeit one that is best for compromised skin. However, given CeraVe is positioned for those struggling with psoriasis, eczema, or rosacea, that's a great addition. (Source: Journal of Investigative Dermatology, October 2003, pages 1135–1137).

It is for these reasons that all the CeraVe products are definitely worth considering, especially at this price. You'll find a options for moisturizing, cleansing, baby care,broad spectrum sun protection (though many of the SPF products don't feel or look so great on skin), and baby care.

For more information about CeraVe, call 866-819-9007 or visit www.cerave.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
Next »
08.30.2015
A Top Tier Moisturizer

This is a very light and moisturizing product. It was recommended by my doctor. After several uses, my skin feels more refreshed. However, I do make sure to pair it with a specific serum that tackles some of my weak areas.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
yeari c.
08.23.2015
No Niacinamide for Me

I love CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser for my mild case of papulopustular rosacea so I thought I would love this pm moisturizer, but it's terrible for my skin. Not emollient enough for my normal skin and I'm pretty sure the niacinamide is the ingredient causing burning red blotches on my cheeks as it's the only chemical potentially irritating according to Beautypedia. Skip it.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Fairuza S
08.18.2015
Sticky?!

I got a free sample of this and was so excited! I typically like a bit more thin type of moisturizer, but I figured I would give this a go. My acne was all cleared up and I was so happy, and figued putting something like this into my routine would help keep it healty... Not so much. I broke out in little pimples all over my face. It was also really noticBle how sticky my face felt, not greasy or anything, but actually sticky! Once it set into my skin it became greasy feeling. So dissipointed.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Katy w
08.12.2015
Not Sure If This Is My Moisturizer Anymore

After reading all of the complaints, I think I've found the source of my problems. I have used this PM moisturizer for a couple of years with no problem. Recently, my 65 year old face broke out like a teenager's, with itchy pimples. I couldn't figure out what was up-nothing new in my skin care regimen. I now realize I opened a new bottle of the PM moisturizer just about a month ago and that's when my face broke out. Coincidence? Maybe not. I'm going to stop and see if I clear up!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Gayle S.
08.03.2015
High hopes not met

I bought this moisturizer about a week ago trying to add this to my daily routine before applying my makeup..I have normal smooth skin with no acne, however after using this product for 3 days I started to notice heavy breakouts on my cheeks and forehead..I hardly ever ever breakout. I did not like this product. Not purchasing cerave products again.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Maria C.
08.03.2015
Cerave has changed

I see alot of reviews below stating the product has caused adverse reaction. Let me tell you, this product caused heaps of problems once the new packaging came out. This product used to be a miracle worker, but once I started using it in the new packaging it completely destroyed my skin. Many others have experienced the same thing. Cerave refuses to acknowledge that the original quality of the formula has obviously been compromised.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Zoey
08.01.2015
Does what it say!

I bought it after seeing review here. It's a great moisturizer for my oily skin. it never broke me out. people who are complaining about it,i guess they are sensitive to niacinamide. It makes my skin look plump, glowy(in a good way)and i can go without makeup because it keeps my skin healthy. Worth the price.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Nazia
07.15.2015
Fail. Disappointed. Still searching.

Oh man. I should have listened to the many comments about breakouts and reactions to this lotion. After two days of use, I had developed pustules, bumps and redness. I have sensitive skin with rosacea, and have scoured this website for compatible, recommended products. I really thought this was going to be my everyday moisturizer. It is so highly recommended for those with my exact issues, I feel like BP should put a warning on this one.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
X B.
07.14.2015
Not good.

My skin does not react well to this sunscreen lotion. I usually have fair, sensitive combination skin, but after using this product my skin immediately turned itchy, oily looking, bumpy and pink like a plucked chicken. However, Cerave spf 50 physical only sunscreen is very gentle and calms my skin.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Cat
06.11.2015
great for summer

while this wasn't quite moisturizing enough for spring, i think it would be great for my oily summer skin.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Katie C.
05.25.2015
Just OK

I used the normal-dry skin version (just my type) - but somehow this was never moisturizing enough. If I used at night, the next day when I applied makeup- the makeup would immediately indicate where the dry lines in my skin were. I began mixing in a facial oil - and that did the trick. I don't love using this product, (don't hate it either) and don't see any immediate benefits (although nothing negative either). I'm just trusting PC that the ingredients are good for me :)

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.28.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Thanks for the feedback!  The Paula’s Choice Research Team no longer reviews products for Beautypedia, and while The Beautypedia Team is still a part of Paula’s Choice Skincare, what’s new—and you may not yet have known—is that now we have two teams working independently to bring you the best quality reviews, products, and  research-supported expert advice you know and love. One team is dedicated to Beautypedia and product reviews from other brands; the other is dedicated to Paula’s Choice skincare and its unique combination of expertly formulated products and advice on a wide range of beauty-related topics.

—Admin
05.17.2015
Question

How does PC explain the huge number of reviewers here who report redness, stinging and other adverse reactions? Even given that any ingredient can cause any reaction in an individual, it seems that this product is problematic. Another look, including consideration of combinations of (otherwise helpful) ingredients? It would be helpful to have inkling of why so many problems occur with a product you and many derms recommend.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.20.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  The only ingredient that is in a high enough concentration and also may cause that sensation could be the niacinamide.  In general, it is an incredibly beneficial ingredient in skincare but in higher concentrations some people who may be sensitive to the ingredient could have the kind of reactions that you and other users are describing.

—Admin
04.28.2015
Works for My Oily Skin

Love this product. I use it with Paula's Choice Vitamin C Serum. CeraVe is one of the few moisturizers I can stand on my oily skin type. I find my skin is much softer since I started using this several months ago.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Maddie L.
04.05.2015
Red spots and itchy skin

Pm mosturizer made my skin itchy with red pimples.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Sandra M
03.28.2015
Just right for my combo/dry skin

Nice. Inexpensive. Mix daily with C15 serum.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.28.2015
Fabulous

Outstanding. Cheap. Love!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Barbara G
03.27.2015
Love it! It's weird people are having a reaction.

Perfect. I have rosacea. No reaction.Very soothing

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Lisa G
03.25.2015
Nice basic face moisturizer

Simple gel/cream like formula. Not a bit greasy!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Andrea O.
03.04.2015
Disappointing

I have dry, sensitive, acne-prone skin and decided to buy this moisturizer after hearing many positive reviews. It's pretty expensive for a drugstore moisturizer and made me break out unfortunately. My skin had been clear before using it and after adding this into my routine, I broke out badly. It moisturized well and did not irritate the eye area, but I won't repurchase. It also smells faintly of alcohol. I'm going to go back to my holy grail Neutrogena Oil Free Moisture for Sensitive Skin.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.02.2015
Great basic moisturizer!

I use a lot of different skin care products at night which include retinol, prescription tretinoin, AHA and BHA. Sometimes my skin gets a little irritated or flaky and I just need a bland, gentle, basic moisturizer and this is it. It is very light, quite moisturizing and never irritates me. I like the fact that it includes niacinamide, which I am a huge fan of. I have been using this product for a few years and it never posed a problem.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Aneta D.
02.28.2015
Maybe the Niacinamide that causes the trouble...

I have found that over the years my skin has become extremely reactive to products. For a long time, I just cleansed with Cetaphil and moisturized with a Neutrogena spf and my skin was amazing. I tried spicing up my skincare routine and that proved to be a mistake. I, too, had a reaction to this product that left angry, bumpy whiteheads on my skin. I'm thinking that I may be allergic to Niacinamide...as I've had the same reaction to Olay products that also contain this ingredient.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Britt
02.22.2015
Suspicious that this made me break-out?

Unsure about this product but after using it overnight and in the morning, at the end of the day my forehead broke out with a lot of tiny whitehead zits. This never happened before and the only thing that's changed was adding this to my skincare routine so I'm suspicious that this product caused me to breakout. It's a shame because it's hard to find a good plain moisturizer these days in a drugstore without any anti-cream, spf, fragrance, or other stuff in it.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.08.2015
Changed their formula without informing their loyal customers

This used to be the most amazing product. I had damaged, dry, sensitive skin and began using this and it helped to where I could live a normal life again and people began to say my face looked really nice, I could not live without it. Then I brought a new bottle with the updated packaging and the product has irritated my skin and dried it out. This is not the same product. It is not the niacinamide because the lotion without niacinamide with the updated packaging has also caused the same reaction.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.04.2015
Thought I could save some $, going back to PC

This isn't the worst moisturizer I've ever used, but it's not great either. Thought I could replace my PC earth sourced with this because it sinks in quick, comes in a pump and has a good reputation. After a few weeks, though dry patches have returned requiring more products (and more money) to fix. So saving myself $15 I will have to spend $20 or more to get my skin back to normal. When this is gone, I'll go back to PC!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Jenny A
02.01.2015
Watch out for product reaction!

For those of you reporting burning and redness with this! Niacinimide in Cerave PM reacts with exfoliating acids like BHA and AHA and produces something that causes burning. If you are using an AHA/BHA, wait 15+ minutes after your exfoliant to put this on. By that time, the acid neutralizes on your skin and won't react. To be extra safe, you can rinse your face again after the 15 minutes (the acid isn't doing anything at that point anyway). Please give this a try! I love this lotion!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Megan
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to drugstore.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.411 8/31/2015 6:53:47 PM