11.26.2014
64
4612
CeraVe
Facial Moisturizing Lotion PM
Rating
3 fl. oz. for $12.99
Category:Skin Care > Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime) > Moisturizer without Sunscreen
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Overview

CeraVe’s first official facial moisturizer isn’t too far removed from their well-formulated body moisturizers. That’s great because their formulas contain outstanding blends of emollients and skin-identical ingredients. This facial moisturizer is a very good option for normal to dry skin. In addition to numerous skin-identical ingredients, it contains a generous amount of the cell-communicating ingredient niacinamide, which offers multiple benefits. Its lightweight cream texture provides substantial moisture. This fragrance-free moisturizer is highly recommended for sensitive or rosacea-affected skin, hence the high rating. The only formulary drawback is the lack of antioxidants, but you can remedy that by applying an antioxidant-rich serum under or over Facial Moisturizing Lotion PM.

Claims

Helps repair damaged skin and maintain the skin’s natural protective function with ingredients not commonly found in other moisturizers. Its patented Multivesicular Emulsion technology releases these ingredients over time, penetrating deep into the skin to hydrate and nourish.

Ingredients

Purified Water, Glycerin, Caprylic/Capric Triglycerides, Niacinamide, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth-20, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6-II, Ceramide 1, Phytosphingosine, Hyaluronic Acid, Cholesterol, Dimethicone, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Dipotassium Phosphate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Disodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum

Brand Overview

CeraVe At-A-Glance

Strengths: Affordable, gentle, and fragrance-free; some excellent moisturizers and facial cleansers; a well-formulated eye cream; products provide broad-spectrum sun protection; remarkably gentle baby care; good (but small) assortment of anti-aging products.

Weaknesses: SPF products would do better with the inclusion of antioxidants and more elegant textures; the Renewing SA products aren't as adept at treating keratosis pilaris as they could be.

This small-ish (but expanding( collection of skin-care products keeps things gentle and effective with fragrance-free formulas, many of which are more state-of-the-art than any other product in its price range or pricier versions at the drugstore. In short, this line is a real find!

CeraVe uses a delivery system the company refers to as Multivesicular Emulsion Technology, which releases key ingredients such as ceramides and hyaluronic acid over a period of several hours. Although this technology is undoubtedly helpful, such time-delayed delivery systems aren't unique to CeraVe, and the fact remains that most of the ingredients they use are very helpful on their own, no matter what delivery system you use.

The important point is that ongoing, consistent use of this kind of moisturizer designed to repair the skin's barrier function will result in smoother, softer, healthier skin. An interesting element for this product is the inclusion of phytosphingosine. It is an ingredient that research shows is effective in regulating damaged or diseased epithelial cells. It seems this ingredient can be a cell-communicating ingredient, albeit one that is best for compromised skin. However, given CeraVe is positioned for those struggling with psoriasis, eczema, or rosacea, that's a great addition. (Source: Journal of Investigative Dermatology, October 2003, pages 1135–1137).

It is for these reasons that all the CeraVe products are definitely worth considering, especially at this price. You'll find a options for moisturizing, cleansing, baby care,broad spectrum sun protection (though many of the SPF products don't feel or look so great on skin), and baby care.

For more information about CeraVe, call 866-819-9007 or visit www.cerave.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
Next »
03.02.2015
Great basic moisturizer!

I use a lot of different skin care products at night which include retinol, prescription tretinoin, AHA and BHA. Sometimes my skin gets a little irritated or flaky and I just need a bland, gentle, basic moisturizer and this is it. It is very light, quite moisturizing and never irritates me. I like the fact that it includes niacinamide, which I am a huge fan of. I have been using this product for a few years and it never posed a problem.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Aneta D.
02.28.2015
Maybe the Niacinamide that causes the trouble...

I have found that over the years my skin has become extremely reactive to products. For a long time, I just cleansed with Cetaphil and moisturized with a Neutrogena spf and my skin was amazing. I tried spicing up my skincare routine and that proved to be a mistake. I, too, had a reaction to this product that left angry, bumpy whiteheads on my skin. I'm thinking that I may be allergic to Niacinamide...as I've had the same reaction to Olay products that also contain this ingredient.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Britt
02.22.2015
Suspicious that this made me break-out?

Unsure about this product but after using it overnight and in the morning, at the end of the day my forehead broke out with a lot of tiny whitehead zits. This never happened before and the only thing that's changed was adding this to my skincare routine so I'm suspicious that this product caused me to breakout. It's a shame because it's hard to find a good plain moisturizer these days in a drugstore without any anti-cream, spf, fragrance, or other stuff in it.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.08.2015
Changed their formula without informing their loyal customers

This used to be the most amazing product. I had damaged, dry, sensitive skin and began using this and it helped to where I could live a normal life again and people began to say my face looked really nice, I could not live without it. Then I brought a new bottle with the updated packaging and the product has irritated my skin and dried it out. This is not the same product. It is not the niacinamide because the lotion without niacinamide with the updated packaging has also caused the same reaction.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.04.2015
Thought I could save some $, going back to PC

This isn't the worst moisturizer I've ever used, but it's not great either. Thought I could replace my PC earth sourced with this because it sinks in quick, comes in a pump and has a good reputation. After a few weeks, though dry patches have returned requiring more products (and more money) to fix. So saving myself $15 I will have to spend $20 or more to get my skin back to normal. When this is gone, I'll go back to PC!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Jenny A
02.01.2015
Watch out for product reaction!

For those of you reporting burning and redness with this! Niacinimide in Cerave PM reacts with exfoliating acids like BHA and AHA and produces something that causes burning. If you are using an AHA/BHA, wait 15+ minutes after your exfoliant to put this on. By that time, the acid neutralizes on your skin and won't react. To be extra safe, you can rinse your face again after the 15 minutes (the acid isn't doing anything at that point anyway). Please give this a try! I love this lotion!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Megan
01.20.2015
Wish I knew what ingredient was causing reaction

I generally have "bulletproof" skin--able to use 1% retinol, glycolic acid without side effects. I was so surprised when I started using this product and I had a similar reaction as others-burning, flaky, crepey skin. The price was right and it seemed to have almost everything I was looking for in a night moisturizer so I was very disappointed. I just wish I could figure out which of the ingredients in this seems to be causing everyone trouble. I would like to avoid making the same mistake.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Kelly
01.17.2015
Surprised it caused trouble.

I tried to add this lovely moisturizer into my winter routine, but somehow it has caused stinging by the third application. So surprised this well-rated formula caused a reaction! Maybe too much niacinamide over the Skin Balancing Toner I have used for years? Loved the texture and feel of this lotion, but will have to return it after all.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Lynn V.
01.11.2015
CeraVe Moisturizing Lotion PM leaves my combination skin too dry

I have sensitive, combination skin. I switched to CeraVe PM Facial Lotion and was initially pleased that these products were shear and not sticky (as products that are too emollient are a problem with my large pores.) However, I found that these products just are not emollient enough. My skin feels dry and irritated within an hour or so even though I use a good antioxidant serum under it. This was a very disappointing. I expected CeraVe moisturizer to match its reputation.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Traci
01.08.2015
Great for oily skin too!!!

This is a great night lotion. Everything PC says is true. I actually use it even though I have oily skin because I don't really care about it when I'm sleeping. It does a great job of bringing down inflammation in any irritated areas (usually acne), and moisturizes pesky dry patches well. It really helps replenish moisture after using mattifying products all day.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Katie B.
12.30.2014
Truly iconic and unmatched

Hands down the BEST texture and formulation I have ever found in the literally countless amount of moisturizers I've tried. If you want truly supple, juicy, radiant, plump skin this is for you. I'm at least on my 15th bottle. I plan on buying 50 more. Everyone with skin needs this.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Max B.
12.12.2014
Superb

This is the best product for my 50 year old changing skin. It goes on smoothly. I put it on each evening and by AM, my skin looks better. I have even used under my BB cream in the AM....I love this. I have tried the AM cream for CeraVe, but prefer the PM moisturizing lotion. I could go on and on about this product....I am transitioning EVERYTHING in my makeup routine because of my changing skin...and this product will stay with me through this process. It does not disappoint!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
KIM M.
11.28.2014
Terrible Reaction

After second or the third day of using, my skin start to get some really horrible reaction. My face became like chicken skin, and feel very itchy. A week after I stop using it, my skin come back to normal. It may just because of my skin, but after reading the reviews, there are quite few others feel the same way, so I would suggest to be careful.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Sienna
10.22.2014
Was great at first . . .

I've been using this for about a month - it was fine at first (but not as moisturizing as I would have liked for my skin) but over the past few days my skin started turning red, puffy and painful after using. Once I stopped using the cream, my skin went back to normal. Needless to say, I will not be using this product anymore.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
10.06.2014
OK

This product does not irritate my very sensitive skin, and the price is great. Unfortunately, it isn't nearly as moisturizing as I need. Its texture is light and my skin often feels dry again within a few minutes of application. I usually apply a little oil to my face underneath this in order to get more moisture.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Amelia J.
09.22.2014
very good!

I can buy this cream at our local grocery store at a reasonable price. I liked this cream a lot, didn't have any bad reaction although I do have sensitive skin, that doesn't have a sensitivity to fragrance ( I'm not sure why and when my skin will react with redness, flushing and burning to certain products, but it's not fragrance). My skin felt hydrated, smooth, soft and comfortable. I only thing I didn't like is the pump dispenser, for such a small bottle it doesn't make much sense.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Susanne T.
09.05.2014
Great Product

Usually only buy PC, but there are a few exceptions for the sake of my pocket book. CeraVe PM is a great all around moisturizer not only for my aging skin, but my teen who, usually loves the expensive stuff, also loves it.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
08.17.2014
The worst

I really wanted to like this. When I saw this review, I was so happy to hear that there was something on the market that could actually do the job of moisturizing without irritating that I could buy at the drugstore. Both the AM and PM version of this product make my skin feel horrible, and I'm not particularly sensitive. Hot, burning, want to claw my face off, cannot wait until my normal, pricey, but tried-and-true Dermalogica product arrives.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Tina H
07.26.2014
Great Product

Really helps my skin out a lot overnight or just when it feels dry. I can see how some people might have a negative reaction to the vitamin B3 in this but for me its perfect. Amazing light feeling moisturizer that sinks in very well. I would say if your skin is very dry to try another product, or at least boost this with a moisturizing oil like jojoba. All in all, I'm very pleased with this product and it goes great in my nighttime regimen as the last step, or under sunscreen during the day.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Andrew L.
07.24.2014
Red, hot, unhappy skin within minutes

Like a few others have mentioned, I also had an unfortunate reaction to this product. I wore it for two days, and each time my skin turned red, felt hot to the touch, stung, and was generally unhappy. I then discovered skin peeling at my jaw line. Not sure what ingredient set this off, but I'm starting to head to the "much less is way more" school of thought for my overly sensitive, dry skin: just a plain oil to moisturize. Nothing fancy, nothing "anti-aging" (other than zinc oxide sunscreen).

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Olga O.
07.17.2014
Perfection!

I have oily, sensitive skin and it's been quite a while since I've found a moisturizer that works well and is both light and gentle. This moisturizer is absolutely perfect! My dermatologist recommended it to me and I've never used anything else since! Love love love CeraVe! I also use the a.m. moisturizer and the foaming cleanser.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Rebecca M.
06.04.2014
Sensitive Skin Reaction

My dermatologist recommended this for my sensitive, patchy eczema-prone skin. I used both the day and night products. I had a tingling reaction, that turned to tingling +stinging. After about a week, my skin erupted into tiny, coarse bumps from cheek to chin. I discontinued use and it took an additional week for my facial skin to return to normal.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Sandy H.
05.29.2014
Not great - had a pretty severe reaction to it

This may work perfectly for some, but I thought that I would add my poor experience to the list as it matches with some of the other negative reviews for this product. I have to admit that my skin is apparently really sensitive as I have had problems with Olay Total Effects, Olay sensitive skin wash and now possibly with Paula's choice earth sourced cleanser. I had the burning and redness that others reported within about 20 minutes of applying this. I don't know why, but a miss for me.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Dawn L.
05.19.2014
Something's changed

I've used this product for several years and have always been thrilled with my results. But a couple of months ago I bought a new bottle and was very disappointed. Something's changed. My skin turned red and broke out with nasty little bumps. Paula's BHA and Super Anti-oxidant Serum resolved the problem immediately but Cerave PM and I are no longer together.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Lynne E
05.10.2014
CeraVe lotion: truly magnificent

It's mind-boggling that skin care companies can seem to compete w/each other to see who can charge the most (and sometimes for the least!). Eczema/dry skin have run my life, so I wondered why fragrance is in anything meant for your face. Learned to examine ingredient labels, etc. (Thank you, Paula!) I started using CeraVe 3-4 yrs ago & it is wonderful! Has never broken me out & feels so light going on (lovely base for make-up), it's hard to believe it's so powerful. Results will prove it.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
SARAH G.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to drugstore.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.376 3/4/2015 1:09:15 AM