Facial Moisturizing Lotion PM

by CeraVe  
Price:
$12.99 - 3 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Skin Care > Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime) > Moisturizer without Sunscreen
Last Updated:
10/7/2013
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

CeraVe’s first official facial moisturizer isn’t too far removed from their well-formulated body moisturizers. That’s great because their formulas contain outstanding blends of emollients and skin-identical ingredients. This facial moisturizer is a very good option for normal to dry skin. In addition to numerous skin-identical ingredients, it contains a generous amount of the cell-communicating ingredient niacinamide, which offers multiple benefits. Its lightweight cream texture provides substantial moisture. This fragrance-free moisturizer is highly recommended for sensitive or rosacea-affected skin, hence the high rating. The only formulary drawback is the lack of antioxidants, but you can remedy that by applying an antioxidant-rich serum under or over Facial Moisturizing Lotion PM.

Helps repair damaged skin and maintain the skin’s natural protective function with ingredients not commonly found in other moisturizers. Its patented Multivesicular Emulsion technology releases these ingredients over time, penetrating deep into the skin to hydrate and nourish.

Purified Water, Glycerin, Caprylic/Capric Triglycerides, Niacinamide, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth-20, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6-II, Ceramide 1, Phytosphingosine, Hyaluronic Acid, Cholesterol, Dimethicone, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Dipotassium Phosphate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Disodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum

This small collection of skin-care products keeps things gentle and effective with fragrance-free formulas that can be considered more state-of-the-art than any other product in its price range or pricier versions at the drugstore. CeraVe uses a delivery system the company refers to as Multivesicular Emulsion Technology, which releases key ingredients such as ceramides (they actually include three different ceramides: I, III, and VI, which is rather unique and great for skin) and hyaluronic acid over a period of several hours. Although this technology is undoubtedly helpful, such time-delayed delivery systems aren't unique to CeraVe, and the fact remains that most of the ingredients they use are very helpful on their own, no matter what delivery system you use. The important point is that ongoing, consistent use of this kind of moisturizer designed to repair the skin's barrier function will result in smoother, softer, healthier skin. An interesting element for this product is the inclusion of phytosphingosine. It is an ingredient that research shows is effective in regulating damaged or diseased epithelial cells. It seems this ingredient can be a cell-communicating ingredient, albeit one that is best for compromised skin. However, given CeraVe is positioned for those struggling with psoriasis, eczema, or rosacea, that's a great addition. (Source: Journal of Investigative Dermatology, October 2003, pages 1135–1137).

It is for these reasons that all the CeraVe products are definitely worth considering, especially at this price.

For more information about CeraVe, call 866-819-9007 or visit www.cerave.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 2 Next »
  1. Holly B.
    Reviewed on Friday, April 18, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Recommended!
    • I suffer from that daytime oil shine but like some light moisture for rejuvenation overnight. This PM moisturizer feels perfect! It's not heavy or greasy at all and I can't "feel it" like a layer on my skin. It has a more gel-like consistency which I like, too. Thank you to Paula's review team for helping me to find a product with beneficial ingredients (now I can have "good or better" skin)! Also I've been using rx retinol and this moisturizer appears to be helping with those dry, flaky patches.

  2. Jessica
    Reviewed on Friday, March 28, 2014
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Irritated my skin
    • I realize many people love this product, but I found it irritated my sensitive skin and caused a breakout of those lovely little whiteheads that pop up when my skin is angry. I also didn't find it to be as richly moisturizing and softening as a like a night moisturizer to be. I have combo skin but need help with redness and flakiness. I was trying to get away from the pricey cream I'd been using - which I LOVE and ironically has a very low rating in beautypedia.

  3. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 22, 2014
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Love this moisturizer!
    • This is very lightweight and feels so fresh going on. No smell--yay! Wish it would be cheaper, but it's certainly not the most expensive out there, and it's easy to find at the pharmacy. I wish that the AM version felt as good as this.

  4. KT
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 07, 2013
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Reaction!
    • When I put this on it felt nice, but after about 10 minutes my face starting burning, which continued until I went to the bathroom to wash it off. The skin was red and had small bumps. I returned it thinking it was a bad batch. Went to another store, same thing. I use niaminicide products and have never experienced this before.

  5. LAUREN F.
    Reviewed on Friday, November 22, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Keep coming back!
    • I am always aiming to perfect my skincare routine, balancing value, effectiveness and simplicity. Occasionally I go overboard when in a 'fix it' mode and end up over applying retinoids or blasting a pimple until I end up with a dry patch. This is the perfect product when I want something soothing, hydrating and 'rescuing' to apply at night and just nourish my skin. I really love the PC line, but this remains my favorite PM option and I keep returning to it when I need something 'just right'.

  6. carmenA
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 18, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Doctor recommended
    • Many times a great product is NOT costly, and this is one example. My Doctor recommended the whole CeraVe line and they do make a good product.

  7. DEBORAH S.
    Reviewed on Monday, September 16, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Yes! Paula beware!!!
    • Great product!!! This is much like Paula's product-- but cheaper-- Sorry Paula--- Your products are getting pricey for a retired fixed income "femme". Please re-look at your overhead expenses so that u can keep prices in line with w products like this.

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Monday, September 16, 2013

    Thanks for your feedback! Although the prices for Paula's Choice products have increased, we feel strongly that they remain among the best of the best in any price range. That being said, we will of course continue to review and recommend products from all price ranges, so you can have great skin regardless of your budget!

    -Paula's Choice Research Team

    —Admin
  8. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 15, 2013
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Need to remove the parabans
    • I liked this product but have to discontinue because it contains parabans and doesn't have that many antioxidents in the formula.

  9. Rebecca O.
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 14, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    fabulous product
    • No other moisturizer makes my skin feel this perfect- just the right amount of moisture with absolutely no greasiness. My only complaint is the lack of antioxidants, but this is easily remedied with a couple drops of a Paula's Choice serum. It also doubles as a perfect PM hand cream, again with a couple of drops of a PC serum.

  10. Susan
    Reviewed on Tuesday, September 10, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Best results
    • Highly recommend this inexpensive yet effective night lotion. I've tried the most expensive and have learned more money doesn't mean better product. CeraVe contains beneficial ingredients at reasonable price. I blend it nightly with tretinoid that I ordered from doctor. Mornings I use Paula's Choice Resist C15 (vitamin C) and SUNSCREEN (rain or shine).

  11. Jennifer
    Reviewed on Monday, September 09, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Good supplement to my Paula's choice routine
    • I am a big fan of Paula's Choice products and use them routinely. But I ran out of her moisturizer 1 day & in a pinch I bought the Cerave PM lotion. I found this lotion does not irritate my sensitive dry Rosacea skin and makes my skin very soft. I now use it once a day to "stretch out" the time before I need to reorder Paula's products. I usually put it over her anti-oxidant serum at night and her use Resist moisturizer the AM. I have recently gotten comments on how good my 51 yr old skin looks!

  12. sandra r.
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 08, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Good option for Dry skin
    • This is an excellent night moisturizer for normal to dry skin. Unfortunately I have combination skin and didn't like the feel of it just sitting on my skin. I had to wash it off in the morning. I now use Paula's Choice products for combination/oily skin and they absorb quickly and never sit on my skin. In the morning my face looks smooth with no residual oiliness or shine.

  13. vb
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 08, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    the only one for me
    • my very sensitive skin loves it

  14. Kathy M
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 08, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Great as eye moisturizer
    • I use this lotion strictly for the eye area. It has never caused any irritation and keeps this area smooth and hydrated. I am very cautious with putting anything around my eyes as I have had several eye surgeries and ocular roseacea. Plus, it is so much cheaper than high priced eye creams.

  15. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 08, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    staying beautiful
    • Good, lightweight moisturizer for nighttime use and even under sunscreen for the day if more moisture is needed. Also, I use both day and night in the eye area (360 degrees), and I gain hydration without a low risk of milia formation.

  16. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    I like it
    • I like the price, that is fragrance free and is not tested on animals.

  17. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    CereVe Nightime facial moisturizer
    • I like this nightime moisturizer but not as well as Barrier Repair from PC. This is less expensive so I rotate them or use this on my neck and chest area and PC Barrier Repair on face. I do like that this is unscented as I have sensitive skin and will get blotchy red if not careful what I choose. It works well as part of my skincare regimin,

  18. Kara
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    good product
    • good product for me. I have very sensitive dry skin with ezcema. It didn't irritate and my skin felt supple in the AM (rather than dry or taut) Do I think it is better than their body products? No. I prefer to purchase one skin product that works on all my skin

  19. LC
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    A staple in my routine.
    • I have been using this for several years and it is a staple in my routine especially in the summer. I love that it doesn't have any silicones in it and doesn't suffocate my skin in the summer. I use it daytime with my own favorite sunscreen over it. My dry/mature skin just drinks it in. I use it all over, under eyes, on my neck and chest, moisturizes well and makeup goes on well over it. In the winter, a dab of heavy moisturizer over it on my cheeks and under eyes is all the extra I need.

  20. MARLA A.
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Straight-forward FABULOUS!
    • Let's be honest....This product is NOT Sexy---pretty boring, medical-type packaging....and it took me awhile to be willing to buy this----but OMG....just a little dab goes a long way with this and all I can say is that the results are AMAZING......it takes a few times to know how to work with it, because it actually fees like nothing I have used before--like a liquid serum---but boy oh boy, this is a gorgeous product---and I'm happy I found it!

  21. phyl
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Paula's is better
    • This is a good product. A little heavier than Paula's Resist moisturizer, which I prefer. But that being said, if you need something to fill in, this will do in the short term.

  22. EDWINA A.
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    Good and Reasonable Priced
    • This is a very good product for someone with dry skin. Admittedly in the Winter I do require a bit more hydration, so I add a bit of regular CreaVe lotion to the mix - works great. For the ingredients in this product it is an excellent value.

  23. Jo
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Great Product
    • A great lightweight moisturizer for my slightly oily Tzone skin. I can use it year-round and I live in MN. Light enough for summer, moisturizing enough for winter weather. I use it following RESIST exfoliant. No burning, at all. The Cerave AM works well for me also! I think it's a good value as I use it daily and a bottle lasts me for 3 months.

  24. Bella
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Best moisturizer ever
    • I have tried many moisturizer until I found Cerave pm. I apply it night and morning and it works perfect. I love the light texture and even though I have normal to dry skin, it moisturizes great. It's also great under foundation or BB cream. I'm 29 yrs old and I have thin skin, this is PERFECT for me.

  25. Jackie, H
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Love it!
    • Excellent lotion for my dry, middle age skin. I've used all kinds of expensive department store night creams. This equals in results. Very reasonably priced. The entire line of CeraVa products are excellent for my dry skin. I'm buying it for my daughters who have combination skin.

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

PCWEB-WWW3 v1.0.0.287
Skip to Top of Page
FREE SHIPPING | FREE RESIST Moisturizer with $50 Purchase

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.