11.26.2014
26
3475
Foaming Facial Cleanser
Rating
12 fl. oz. for $11.99
Category:Skin Care > Cleansers (including Cleansing Cloths)
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

The original CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser is best for normal to dry skin, and this Foaming Facial Cleanser, which is best for normal to oily skin, is a welcome addition to the line. It’s a gentle, water-soluble cleanser that ranks among the best available at any price. The formula produces a slight lather, removes makeup easily, and rinses without a hint of residue. The inclusion of skin-identical ingredients is a nice touch, although these state-of-the-art ingredients are best when included in products meant to be left on the skin. Foaming Facial Cleanser is an excellent option for those with oily, sensitive skin, too, including those struggling with rosacea. An added bonus is that the built-in pump dispenser is easy to use.

Claims

A vital part of a daily skin care routine ideal for normal to oily skin types. It gently removes dirt, oil, and makeup without disrupting the skin’s natural protective barrier.

Ingredients

Purified Water, Cocamidopropyl Hydroxysultaine, Glycerin, Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate, PEG-150 Pentaerythrityl Tetrastearate and PEG-6 Caprylic/Capric Glycerides, Niacinamide, Propylene Glycol, Sodium Methyl Cocoyl Taurate, Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6-II, Ceramide 1, Hyaluronic Acid, Cholesterol, Sodium Chloride, Phytosphingosine, Citric Acid, Edetate Disodium, Dihydrate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum

Brand Overview

CeraVe At-A-Glance

Strengths: Affordable, gentle, and fragrance-free; some excellent moisturizers and facial cleansers; a well-formulated eye cream; products provide broad-spectrum sun protection; remarkably gentle baby care; good (but small) assortment of anti-aging products.

Weaknesses: SPF products would do better with the inclusion of antioxidants and more elegant textures; the Renewing SA products aren't as adept at treating keratosis pilaris as they could be.

This small-ish (but expanding( collection of skin-care products keeps things gentle and effective with fragrance-free formulas, many of which are more state-of-the-art than any other product in its price range or pricier versions at the drugstore. In short, this line is a real find!

CeraVe uses a delivery system the company refers to as Multivesicular Emulsion Technology, which releases key ingredients such as ceramides and hyaluronic acid over a period of several hours. Although this technology is undoubtedly helpful, such time-delayed delivery systems aren't unique to CeraVe, and the fact remains that most of the ingredients they use are very helpful on their own, no matter what delivery system you use.

The important point is that ongoing, consistent use of this kind of moisturizer designed to repair the skin's barrier function will result in smoother, softer, healthier skin. An interesting element for this product is the inclusion of phytosphingosine. It is an ingredient that research shows is effective in regulating damaged or diseased epithelial cells. It seems this ingredient can be a cell-communicating ingredient, albeit one that is best for compromised skin. However, given CeraVe is positioned for those struggling with psoriasis, eczema, or rosacea, that's a great addition. (Source: Journal of Investigative Dermatology, October 2003, pages 1135–1137).

It is for these reasons that all the CeraVe products are definitely worth considering, especially at this price. You'll find a options for moisturizing, cleansing, baby care,broad spectrum sun protection (though many of the SPF products don't feel or look so great on skin), and baby care.

For more information about CeraVe, call 866-819-9007 or visit www.cerave.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
Next »
07.23.2015
Caused itchiness and dull, dry skin

I started using this product in the morning and at night, and it soon became apparent that it was doing more harm than good. Unfortunately it makes my skin itch and I find it too drying. I have acne along my jaw line, and it I'm causes itchiness there especially. I have noticed no improvement in my skin as a result of using it.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
07.21.2015
Love this cleanser

This is the primary cleanser I use with my Paula's Choice routine. Effective, affordable and readily available. Great product.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Lenore R.
07.12.2015
Great for chest, shoulders and back breakouts!

Recently I have developed acne breakouts on my chest, shoulders and back, due to hormonal changes. Also I was using bar soaps and body washes that contained fragrance, I did some research on this website and realized that those were the worst for acne prone skin. I have oily skin so decided to try this cleanser as a body wash for my upper body and my skin has improved a lot! The price is great and the bottle is big, it lathers up nicely and has been lasting a while. Very happy with the results.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Alisa N.
05.17.2015
Sunscreen

Hi, I used this product for 2 months now and I'm glad to say it's work pretty well. I dont use makeup, but I use suncreen with zinc and other mineral in it (Olay complete 15 fps) and I would like to know if this product can remove all the sunscreen, because I still got some random redness. Thank you and I would recommand highly recommand it

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.18.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  This product should remove most sunscreens easily!  :)

—Admin
05.12.2015
caused breakout

I tried this because it had such good reviews. But not good for me at all, from the first day I used it, it caused breakout. I got acne in places I never breakout in. Might work for other people just not me. I have oily sensitive skin.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.09.2015
Takes away oils gently

Bought this product due to Beautypedia's review. It cleans my oily skin gently, without making it feel dried up. Thanks team!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Erika S.
04.14.2015
Removes Make-up and Gentle

Great Product

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Sharon M
02.17.2015
Best!

I started using this after realizing my Arbonne acne products were making my skin worse (thanks for your help Paula!). After reading reviews here, I picked this up. It takes off all my makeup, never leaves my skin tight or dry, less redness, no itching or burning. Acne looked better in a few days, and after adding a PC bha toner and gentle moisturizer it is much much better! I love that this works so well, is available at most stores, and is inexpensive.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Penny P
01.28.2015
Drying....

It's definitely a good product but I won't recommend it during winter months as it can be too drying for the skin but during summer months when skin tends to be more oily it will do a better job of removing extra oil from the face and make it feel clean. After washing my face few times with this cleanser when weather is cold outside my skin felt dry so I have stopped using it and am saving it for warmer months.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Ayman, Za
10.30.2014
Moderate to Severe Rosacea. What about the PEG ingredients?

Great value and several high end ingredients. I'm concerned about the PEG ingredients on irritated rosacea skin. I've read articles that say PEGs should never be used on broken or irritated skin. I like how well this cleans and doesn't dry out my skin but I'm worried I might cause more damage to my skin and possibly prolong my rosacea flare ups. Paula I would really appreciate feedback from you and your team. You are my "go to" every time I am looking for new products.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Vicki F.
11.06.2014
Beautypedia Team Response

Thanks for your comments! We've never seen any research indicating any PEG (polyethylene glycol) compounds, which are widely used in cosmetics, are particularly troublesome for those with rosacea. Even if there was some reason for concern, it's a minor one when talking about a rinse-off product like cleanser. Rosacea skin can be highly finicky and react to the most benign ingredients, so it's always important to pay attention to how your skin responds, and discontinue use of any product that seems to trigger flare-ups.

—Admin
10.20.2014
excellent cleanser

This is a really good cleanser. I generally have dry skin, but I used this all this past summer because it's so humid where I live that even my skin gets a little oily. This cleanser does a good job removing makeup, though if I'm wearing heavy makeup or just feeling particularly grimy I'll use it with a wash cloth or a soft face brush.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Laura H.
09.21.2014
Wow! This really is excellent!

Wow, Ive been buying Boscia Gel Cleanser at Sephora for $27.00 when all this time Cerave was at Riteaid for $13.00. This Cerave cleanser is great!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Leah T
08.06.2014
Skin Savior

This cleanser is just wonderful. I have fair, normal but sensitive skin that is prone to breakouts. I love all the amazing skin beneficial ingredients in this cleaner! I lather this up really well in my hands and smooth it over my entire face like a mask, then massage it in gentle, circular motions. I do this for a few minutes or until the lather dies down. This way, I find the ingredients being in contact with my skin longer benefits my skin with this rinse off product.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Lauren, F
07.10.2014
Pore Clogging?

I have been using PC 2% BHA Gel with outstanding results in terms of smaller unclogged pores and a huge reduction in blackheads. I used this CeraVe cleanser for a few days and noticed an increase in blackheads and clogging around my nose. Otherwise, it's a great cleanser. Soft, gentle and removes makeup beautifully. It doesn't sting at all or irritate my rosacea.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Andrea H.
05.11.2014
Loved at First

I have rosacea plus sensitive and reactive skin. I did not like the regular CeraVe cleanser as it leaves a film on my face. CeraVe Foaming is perfect if you want a clean rinsing product that produces a slight foam. Unfortunately, after using this all winter, I have developed a reaction. It makes my skin unbearably itchy. Back to Paula's search list for a new product.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Toby
04.17.2014
Great Cleanser

I received samples of this brand from my dermatologist when I had other skin problems. I use the foaming face wash because it is a great cleanser, but can be drying in cold weather with dry heat. It has some good skin boosting ingredients that I recognize (and look for) in my products.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Cassandra A.
04.09.2014
Thank you!

Thank you cleansing Gods, and Paula, for leading me to this product. Works like magic. So cheap. So simple. A tad on the drying side but its perfect for me.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
crystal s.
04.05.2014
I am on my 4th bottle of this cleanser

My supersensitive skin w/ mild rosacea, seems unable to handle sodium laureth sulfate on a daily basis, even when part of the lovely PC cleansers, Kiehl's Ultra, or the fragrance-free Olay sensitive one. So this Cleanser is perfect - no redness, burning eyes, itching, or dryness after use. Foams mildly, has no smell, rinses off, cleans w/o stripping skin. I am indebted to Paula for drawing my attention to Cerave (usually relegated to the bottom shelves in stores), & thus saving my poor face!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
T
02.10.2014
better than high end chemically stuff!

I have acne prone skin with alot of redness and is sensitive. I have a combination to oily complexion and i ran out of my 32$ most amazing cleanser called REN mayblossom tzone control. I just cant see myself spending that much when this works just as good maybe even better! Its so gentle yet effective and affordable! Well done CeraVe... this is a must have for me. My face definitely improved. Paula was right about this being best!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
amorette c.
02.03.2014
Southern Rockies

This product is a great value and does cleanse combination skin which I have, but its too drying on my face. Since I now live in the Southern Rockies, I will probably try cleansers for gentle/sensitive or dry/very dry skin.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
11.17.2013
Pretty Damn GOOD for Sensitive Skin

I really liked this cleanser, because it foams up well making it easy to wash my face and I actually feel like I'm CLEAN afterwards. The only downside would be since it's a foaming wash, and mixed with my acne medication can get drying so I'd recommend for the warmer months. In the winter like now, I think I'll switch over to the Hydrating Cleanser.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anthony
08.21.2013
Great product

Wow! This product was such a great surprise! My skin became super dry after using Kielh's ultra Facial cleanser so I was on Paula's website looking for a solution. I bought the Cerave, and within a day of usage, my skin felt normal again. I have been using this cleanser ever since. Absolutely love it and strongly recommend it (I have acne prone sensitive skin). Cannot believe how much better it is than more expensive cleanser!!!!!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
C Nguyen
07.19.2013
LOVE!

I absolutly LOVE this product. I've used almost every face wash out there just because I'm always trying to find the "best" thing but I'm sticking with this! Plus you can't beat the price!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.23.2013
Works well, but drying

My teenage daughter, who breaks out occasionally, used this for a few days and found it too drying. It did remove makeup well but she had to stop using it as a result of the dryness.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Terri
04.22.2013
Great for acne-prone skin!

Never in a million years did I think I could use a face wash that did not have any acne medication in it and still have clear skin! After getting a sample from my dermatologist, I went and bought the full sized bottle. I have sensitive, combination, acne-prone skin that is prone to redness. This has been a miracle. Absolutely no breakouts at all. My skin is so soft and my complexion looks much less red. Great value for the price..

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.405 7/29/2015 11:21:07 AM