Foaming Facial Cleanser

by CeraVe  
Price:
$11.99 - 12 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Cleansers (including Cleansing Cloths) > Cleansers/Soaps
Last Updated:
4/1/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

The original CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser is best for normal to dry skin, and this Foaming Facial Cleanser, which is best for normal to oily skin, is a welcome addition to the line. It’s a gentle, water-soluble cleanser that ranks among the best available at any price. The formula produces a slight lather, removes makeup easily, and rinses without a hint of residue. The inclusion of skin-identical ingredients is a nice touch, although these state-of-the-art ingredients are best when included in products meant to be left on the skin. Foaming Facial Cleanser is an excellent option for those with oily, sensitive skin, too, including those struggling with rosacea. An added bonus is that the built-in pump dispenser is easy to use.

A vital part of a daily skin care routine ideal for normal to oily skin types. It gently removes dirt, oil, and makeup without disrupting the skin’s natural protective barrier.

Purified Water, Cocamidopropyl Hydroxysultaine, Glycerin, Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate, PEG-150 Pentaerythrityl Tetrastearate and PEG-6 Caprylic/Capric Glycerides, Niacinamide, Propylene Glycol, Sodium Methyl Cocoyl Taurate, Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6-II, Ceramide 1, Hyaluronic Acid, Cholesterol, Sodium Chloride, Phytosphingosine, Citric Acid, Edetate Disodium, Dihydrate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum

This small collection of skin-care products keeps things gentle and effective with fragrance-free formulas that can be considered more state-of-the-art than any other product in its price range or pricier versions at the drugstore. CeraVe uses a delivery system the company refers to as Multivesicular Emulsion Technology, which releases key ingredients such as ceramides (they actually include three different ceramides: I, III, and VI, which is rather unique and great for skin) and hyaluronic acid over a period of several hours. Although this technology is undoubtedly helpful, such time-delayed delivery systems aren't unique to CeraVe, and the fact remains that most of the ingredients they use are very helpful on their own, no matter what delivery system you use. The important point is that ongoing, consistent use of this kind of moisturizer designed to repair the skin's barrier function will result in smoother, softer, healthier skin. An interesting element for this product is the inclusion of phytosphingosine. It is an ingredient that research shows is effective in regulating damaged or diseased epithelial cells. It seems this ingredient can be a cell-communicating ingredient, albeit one that is best for compromised skin. However, given CeraVe is positioned for those struggling with psoriasis, eczema, or rosacea, that's a great addition. (Source: Journal of Investigative Dermatology, October 2003, pages 1135–1137).

It is for these reasons that all the CeraVe products are definitely worth considering, especially at this price.

For more information about CeraVe, call 866-819-9007 or visit www.cerave.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Laura H.
    Reviewed on Monday, October 20, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    excellent cleanser
    • This is a really good cleanser. I generally have dry skin, but I used this all this past summer because it's so humid where I live that even my skin gets a little oily. This cleanser does a good job removing makeup, though if I'm wearing heavy makeup or just feeling particularly grimy I'll use it with a wash cloth or a soft face brush.

  2. Leah T
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 21, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Wow! This really is excellent!
    • Wow, Ive been buying Boscia Gel Cleanser at Sephora for $27.00 when all this time Cerave was at Riteaid for $13.00. This Cerave cleanser is great!

  3. Lauren, F
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 06, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Skin Savior
    • This cleanser is just wonderful. I have fair, normal but sensitive skin that is prone to breakouts. I love all the amazing skin beneficial ingredients in this cleaner! I lather this up really well in my hands and smooth it over my entire face like a mask, then massage it in gentle, circular motions. I do this for a few minutes or until the lather dies down. This way, I find the ingredients being in contact with my skin longer benefits my skin with this rinse off product.

  4. Andrea H.
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 10, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    Pore Clogging?
    • I have been using PC 2% BHA Gel with outstanding results in terms of smaller unclogged pores and a huge reduction in blackheads. I used this CeraVe cleanser for a few days and noticed an increase in blackheads and clogging around my nose. Otherwise, it's a great cleanser. Soft, gentle and removes makeup beautifully. It doesn't sting at all or irritate my rosacea.

  5. Toby
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 11, 2014
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Loved at First
    • I have rosacea plus sensitive and reactive skin. I did not like the regular CeraVe cleanser as it leaves a film on my face. CeraVe Foaming is perfect if you want a clean rinsing product that produces a slight foam. Unfortunately, after using this all winter, I have developed a reaction. It makes my skin unbearably itchy. Back to Paula's search list for a new product.

  6. Cassandra A.
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 17, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Great Cleanser
    • I received samples of this brand from my dermatologist when I had other skin problems. I use the foaming face wash because it is a great cleanser, but can be drying in cold weather with dry heat. It has some good skin boosting ingredients that I recognize (and look for) in my products.

  7. crystal s.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 09, 2014
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Thank you!
    • Thank you cleansing Gods, and Paula, for leading me to this product. Works like magic. So cheap. So simple. A tad on the drying side but its perfect for me.

  8. T
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 05, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    I am on my 4th bottle of this cleanser
    • My supersensitive skin w/ mild rosacea, seems unable to handle sodium laureth sulfate on a daily basis, even when part of the lovely PC cleansers, Kiehl's Ultra, or the fragrance-free Olay sensitive one. So this Cleanser is perfect - no redness, burning eyes, itching, or dryness after use. Foams mildly, has no smell, rinses off, cleans w/o stripping skin. I am indebted to Paula for drawing my attention to Cerave (usually relegated to the bottom shelves in stores), & thus saving my poor face!

  9. amorette c.
    Reviewed on Monday, February 10, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    better than high end chemically stuff!
    • I have acne prone skin with alot of redness and is sensitive. I have a combination to oily complexion and i ran out of my 32$ most amazing cleanser called REN mayblossom tzone control. I just cant see myself spending that much when this works just as good maybe even better! Its so gentle yet effective and affordable! Well done CeraVe... this is a must have for me. My face definitely improved. Paula was right about this being best!

  10. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, February 03, 2014
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    Southern Rockies
    • This product is a great value and does cleanse combination skin which I have, but its too drying on my face. Since I now live in the Southern Rockies, I will probably try cleansers for gentle/sensitive or dry/very dry skin.

  11. Anthony
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 17, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Pretty Damn GOOD for Sensitive Skin
    • I really liked this cleanser, because it foams up well making it easy to wash my face and I actually feel like I'm CLEAN afterwards. The only downside would be since it's a foaming wash, and mixed with my acne medication can get drying so I'd recommend for the warmer months. In the winter like now, I think I'll switch over to the Hydrating Cleanser.

  12. C Nguyen
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 21, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Great product
    • Wow! This product was such a great surprise! My skin became super dry after using Kielh's ultra Facial cleanser so I was on Paula's website looking for a solution. I bought the Cerave, and within a day of usage, my skin felt normal again. I have been using this cleanser ever since. Absolutely love it and strongly recommend it (I have acne prone sensitive skin). Cannot believe how much better it is than more expensive cleanser!!!!!

  13. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, July 19, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    LOVE!
    • I absolutly LOVE this product. I've used almost every face wash out there just because I'm always trying to find the "best" thing but I'm sticking with this! Plus you can't beat the price!

  14. Terri
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 23, 2013
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Works well, but drying
    • My teenage daughter, who breaks out occasionally, used this for a few days and found it too drying. It did remove makeup well but she had to stop using it as a result of the dryness.

  15. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, April 22, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Great for acne-prone skin!
    • Never in a million years did I think I could use a face wash that did not have any acne medication in it and still have clear skin! After getting a sample from my dermatologist, I went and bought the full sized bottle. I have sensitive, combination, acne-prone skin that is prone to redness. This has been a miracle. Absolutely no breakouts at all. My skin is so soft and my complexion looks much less red. Great value for the price..

  16. Cindi
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 04, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Removes Make-up and Gentle
    • I started using this last winter, as now that I'm 40 and use Retin-A I was finding my skin felt too dry after washing off makeup/sunscreen with Olay Foaming Face Wash Sensitive Skin. I reallly like this CeraVe foaming wash. It removes makeup/sunscreen, and my face just feels soft, not tight.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.344 10/23/2014 7:40:40 AM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.