Moisturizing Cream

by CeraVe  
Price:
$14.99 - 16 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Retinol Products > Body Lotions/Creams/Balms/Butters
Last Updated:
3/28/2014
Jar Packaging:
Yes
Tested On Animals:
No

Moisturizing Cream is a basic but thoughtfully formulated fragrance-free body moisturizer that contains several helpful ingredients for restoring and maintaining skin’s barrier function, including glycerin, ceramides, and cholesterol. This product’s jar packaging isn’t such a bad thing this time given that it contains no antioxidants, a fact that keeps this from being downgraded to an AVERAGE rating. This will work quite well if you have normal to dry or sensitive skin; its merit for sensitive skin is why it earned a Best Product rating.

Provides all-day moisturization with a single application and is clinically proven to increase skin hydration. Increases the skin’s ability to attract, hold, and distribute moisture. It penetrates deep into the layers of the stratum corneum (the skin barrier) to restore the balance of lipids that are essential for an effective skin barrier. CeraVe Moisturizing Cream also forms a protective layer over the skin’s surface to help prevent moisture loss.

Purified Water, Glycerin, Ceteareth-20 and Cetearyl Alcohol, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetyl Alcohol, Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6-II, Ceramide 1, Hyaluronic Acid, Cholesterol, Petrolatum, Dimethicone, Potassium Phosphate, Dipotassium Phosphate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Phytosphingosine, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum

This small collection of skin-care products keeps things gentle and effective with fragrance-free formulas that can be considered more state-of-the-art than any other product in its price range or pricier versions at the drugstore. CeraVe uses a delivery system the company refers to as Multivesicular Emulsion Technology, which releases key ingredients such as ceramides (they actually include three different ceramides: I, III, and VI, which is rather unique and great for skin) and hyaluronic acid over a period of several hours. Although this technology is undoubtedly helpful, such time-delayed delivery systems aren't unique to CeraVe, and the fact remains that most of the ingredients they use are very helpful on their own, no matter what delivery system you use. The important point is that ongoing, consistent use of this kind of moisturizer designed to repair the skin's barrier function will result in smoother, softer, healthier skin. An interesting element for this product is the inclusion of phytosphingosine. It is an ingredient that research shows is effective in regulating damaged or diseased epithelial cells. It seems this ingredient can be a cell-communicating ingredient, albeit one that is best for compromised skin. However, given CeraVe is positioned for those struggling with psoriasis, eczema, or rosacea, that's a great addition. (Source: Journal of Investigative Dermatology, October 2003, pages 1135–1137).

It is for these reasons that all the CeraVe products are definitely worth considering, especially at this price.

For more information about CeraVe, call 866-819-9007 or visit www.cerave.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Bluedevil
    Reviewed on Saturday, July 05, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Great for Sensitive Skin
    • My dermatologist recommended the CeraVe product line. I started with the SPF 50 sunscreen, then body lotion, and now the body cream. They're all excellent! The moisturizing cream is great for elbows, heels, hands, etc. where I have more dryness. I especially like to put it on at bedtime. Wonderful for my sensitive skin and non-scented. Also very reasonably priced. My only complaint is the tub container. I would rather have a pump to prevent contamination.

  2. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 07, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Money Saver
    • I bought a pump off Amazon to make it easier and more hygienic to use. Wonderful on everything from dry eyes to dry feet! When my skin is less dry I use the CeraVe Body Lotion (even on my face)

  3. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 27, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Wow is this a skin saver!
    • This is amazing! Am loyal PC user, but severe cystic acne, new acne med ( Tactuo) and general skin gone haywire with anything and everything, has left me a red, inflamed mess where my own tears hurt my face. Within three weeks, this healed my face, made it radiant and has not caused any additional eruptions of acne. It is absorbed into the skin, does not feel greasy, and smoothed sun damage wrinkles. I use PC cleanser or other cleanser, cerave cream,Tactuo for acne, sunscreen. Done! Miracle.

  4. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 15, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    rich and gentle
    • PROS: Light consistency for how moisturizing it is. Absorbs quickly, doesn't feel greasy. Can be used on the body as well. The price is right. Doesn't clog my pores. Fragrance free. NEVER bothers my very sensitive skin. Doesn't have retinol or vit c, but I apply those separate anyway. CONS: Not great packaging with it being in a tub, but I'm not sure they could put this formula into a pump and have it work. ALTERNATES: They have a lotion version which is lighter in texture

  5. Christina K.
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 09, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Great Skin Cream
    • I love this cream! It was recommended by a dermatologist office for my husband who has dry, itchy skin. He didn't use it, so I did. I fell in love. It has great coverage without being heavy. I use coconut oil at night and this in the mornings. I also like that it is fragrance free and does not compete with my perfumes.

  6. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 12, 2013
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Really good!
    • I've tried many lotions and creams over the years. I have extremely dry skin with eczema. The CeraVe line I have found to be the best by far.

  7. Kathryn R.
    Reviewed on Monday, February 25, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    BEST for skin, hair, especially as age
    • This is best moisturizer I have ever used for skin and HAIR! The cream is a little heavy for my face and tends to cause whiteheads so use the lotion CeraVe on my face and lips, which is lighter emollients. Terrific therapy for red, unexplained rashes, eczema type since it replaces ceramides that we produce less of as we age. Works better than prescription steroid creams which only treat the symptoms and not the cause. Also use as LEAVE-IN HAIR CONDITIONER, esp on ends - healthiest hair ever!!

  8. AMADA W.
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 09, 2013
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Julo read on
    • Julo if you would like a suggestion regarding your fear of parabens and Petroleum please see PC's cosmetic cop site or the PC facebook site.

  9. Julo
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 30, 2013
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    What?
    • This is a moisturizer that really works but it contains petrolatum and parabens, both which I have read are ingredients to avoid. I used to use this product but stopped because I am afraid of those ingredients.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.335
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Everything | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.