11.26.2014
21
1786
Moisturizing Cream
Rating
16 fl. oz. for $14.99
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:Yes
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Moisturizing Cream is a basic but thoughtfully formulated fragrance-free body moisturizer that contains several helpful ingredients for restoring and maintaining skin’s barrier function, including glycerin, ceramides, and cholesterol. This product’s jar packaging isn’t such a bad thing this time given that it contains no antioxidants, a fact that keeps this from being downgraded to an AVERAGE rating. This will work quite well if you have normal to dry or sensitive skin; its merit for sensitive skin is why it earned a Best Product rating.

Claims

Provides all-day moisturization with a single application and is clinically proven to increase skin hydration. Increases the skin’s ability to attract, hold, and distribute moisture. It penetrates deep into the layers of the stratum corneum (the skin barrier) to restore the balance of lipids that are essential for an effective skin barrier. CeraVe Moisturizing Cream also forms a protective layer over the skin’s surface to help prevent moisture loss.

Ingredients

Purified Water, Glycerin, Ceteareth-20 and Cetearyl Alcohol, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetyl Alcohol, Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6-II, Ceramide 1, Hyaluronic Acid, Cholesterol, Petrolatum, Dimethicone, Potassium Phosphate, Dipotassium Phosphate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Phytosphingosine, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum

Brand Overview

CeraVe At-A-Glance

Strengths: Affordable, gentle, and fragrance-free; some excellent moisturizers and facial cleansers; a well-formulated eye cream; products provide broad-spectrum sun protection; remarkably gentle baby care; good (but small) assortment of anti-aging products.

Weaknesses: SPF products would do better with the inclusion of antioxidants and more elegant textures; the Renewing SA products aren't as adept at treating keratosis pilaris as they could be.

This small-ish (but expanding( collection of skin-care products keeps things gentle and effective with fragrance-free formulas, many of which are more state-of-the-art than any other product in its price range or pricier versions at the drugstore. In short, this line is a real find!

CeraVe uses a delivery system the company refers to as Multivesicular Emulsion Technology, which releases key ingredients such as ceramides and hyaluronic acid over a period of several hours. Although this technology is undoubtedly helpful, such time-delayed delivery systems aren't unique to CeraVe, and the fact remains that most of the ingredients they use are very helpful on their own, no matter what delivery system you use.

The important point is that ongoing, consistent use of this kind of moisturizer designed to repair the skin's barrier function will result in smoother, softer, healthier skin. An interesting element for this product is the inclusion of phytosphingosine. It is an ingredient that research shows is effective in regulating damaged or diseased epithelial cells. It seems this ingredient can be a cell-communicating ingredient, albeit one that is best for compromised skin. However, given CeraVe is positioned for those struggling with psoriasis, eczema, or rosacea, that's a great addition. (Source: Journal of Investigative Dermatology, October 2003, pages 1135–1137).

It is for these reasons that all the CeraVe products are definitely worth considering, especially at this price. You'll find a options for moisturizing, cleansing, baby care,broad spectrum sun protection (though many of the SPF products don't feel or look so great on skin), and baby care.

For more information about CeraVe, call 866-819-9007 or visit www.cerave.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
08.15.2015
cerave is wonderful

I'm 66years old. At this point nothing really made my skin look and feel better-until Cerave. I use the cleanser(green) and the moisturizer(blue) in the jar, and the small eye cream. I slather the moisturizer all over including my face. a.m. and p.m. All of these have given me better skin. Doesn't take away wrinkles of course. Nothing does but surgery. But my skin looks younger feels terrific. Cerave should get 5stars on everything. And the value cannot be beat.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anita R
08.03.2015
Awesome

I use this on my very sensitive and eczema-prone skin. It's been a true lifesaver!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
07.19.2015
excellent moisturizer, also for tattoo aftercare

I buy this in the small tube and use it both on my face and for healing tattoos. I buy the tub for really large tattoos and dry skin in the winter. I use Eucerin Aquaphor Ointment for the first 4 days on a new tattoo, then transition to this for the next 2 or 3 weeks. This cream really works wonders at treating dry skin and seems to work on the stratum corneum as well as the surface. Highly recommend for winter skincare and tattoo aftercare.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
DNA
07.10.2015
am/pm moisturize

Hello, Been using this product about a month, love it, i have combo skin, this is great for winter months, goes deep into the skin, doesnt say on top of skin, im 64 yrs old, have great skin, but my neck and chest about 4 yrs now pink, been to dr, had bisopy done, blood work done, cant find anythng....which is good, my thyroid dr says blood vessel, long medical name i cant remember, next appt i will have him write it down for me, i hope this helps my neck and upper chest the longer i use this t

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Madeline
05.24.2015
Great for my dry, acne-prone skin!

I was very apprehensive about trying this on my dry, acne-prone skin but decided to do so after reading many positive reviews from others with the same skin type. This really hydrates so well without causing any breakouts! I am a CeraVe fan and tried their PM lotion before but it's not as hydrating. FYI this is also sold in a 1.89oz squeeze tube which I found at CVS and you can also find it online. It costs more ($4.99) but worth it for the more stable packaging... & still cheap for face cream!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Annie M.
05.24.2015
Awesome product, more awesome price

I bought this as part of a trial set that came with the hydrating cleanser...so my cream is in a small tube not a jar. I use it day and night on my face, neck, and back of hands. It's awesome and inexpensive. I will eventually pick up the daytime version that has spf.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Kara
05.02.2015
Saved my nails!

My fingernails split, peel, chip, and crack, and nothing I could put on them would save them. Amazingly, this did the trick! At bedtime, I'd apply it on and under my nails, and in no time time, they stopped having air bubbles, bumps, and lines in them, and the splitting, peeling, chipping, and cracking stopped. Now they're smooth, shiny, and lovely, and obviously, they've been able to grow. They're moist and not dry and ugly. People have commented on how lovely they look, and at last, I'm proud!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
BINKY M.
03.28.2015
Use as eye cream

Excellent as an eye cream!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.12.2015
WARNING!

After one week of use, I developed a very bad rash (eczema or contact dermatitis). Super itchy; it first looked like white heads. started to spread all over my body for 2wks even after I stopped using the cream and stated taking reactine and Benadrl. I finally had to get a prescription steroid. Rash is starting to clear, still itchy though; but better; its been abt 3 wks. warning for those with sensitive dry skin!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
11.10.2014
Great Product!

This lotion is wonderful. I am pregnant with twins, and my skin has stretched out so much it's pretty painful sometimes. I started using this lotion mixed with lanolin oil (for a little extra moisture) and it has helped a lot! It is really soothing to my skin. The CeraVe is easy to apply and spread, moisturizes well and is a pretty good value. It's the only product that has really helped my skin feel better.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Lindsey
11.08.2014
Nope

I have very dry skin and decided to give this a try, seeing how I kept hearing about how great this line was. Personally, it doesn't do anything for me... at all. My skin feels like it has nothing on it. Feels like the Sahara. I'm extremely disappointed, but am still willing to look into their other moisturizers.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Kristin, M
10.23.2014
Light texture absorbs quickly

Decided to try this in place of another brand of jar cream. Wow, what a difference! The CereVe has a light, almost whipped texture. Unlike very thick jar creams, this product is easy to get out of the jar, easy to apply and absorbs quickly. You can use this without gloves at bedtime and in the morning your hands will be soft and moisturized.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
07.05.2014
Great for Sensitive Skin

My dermatologist recommended the CeraVe product line. I started with the SPF 50 sunscreen, then body lotion, and now the body cream. They're all excellent! The moisturizing cream is great for elbows, heels, hands, etc. where I have more dryness. I especially like to put it on at bedtime. Wonderful for my sensitive skin and non-scented. Also very reasonably priced. My only complaint is the tub container. I would rather have a pump to prevent contamination.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Bluedevil
06.07.2014
Money Saver

I bought a pump off Amazon to make it easier and more hygienic to use. Wonderful on everything from dry eyes to dry feet! When my skin is less dry I use the CeraVe Body Lotion (even on my face)

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.27.2014
Wow is this a skin saver!

This is amazing! Am loyal PC user, but severe cystic acne, new acne med ( Tactuo) and general skin gone haywire with anything and everything, has left me a red, inflamed mess where my own tears hurt my face. Within three weeks, this healed my face, made it radiant and has not caused any additional eruptions of acne. It is absorbed into the skin, does not feel greasy, and smoothed sun damage wrinkles. I use PC cleanser or other cleanser, cerave cream,Tactuo for acne, sunscreen. Done! Miracle.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.15.2014
rich and gentle

PROS: Light consistency for how moisturizing it is. Absorbs quickly, doesn't feel greasy. Can be used on the body as well. The price is right. Doesn't clog my pores. Fragrance free. NEVER bothers my very sensitive skin. Doesn't have retinol or vit c, but I apply those separate anyway. CONS: Not great packaging with it being in a tub, but I'm not sure they could put this formula into a pump and have it work. ALTERNATES: They have a lotion version which is lighter in texture

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.09.2014
Great Skin Cream

I love this cream! It was recommended by a dermatologist office for my husband who has dry, itchy skin. He didn't use it, so I did. I fell in love. It has great coverage without being heavy. I use coconut oil at night and this in the mornings. I also like that it is fragrance free and does not compete with my perfumes.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Christina K.
12.12.2013
Really good!

I've tried many lotions and creams over the years. I have extremely dry skin with eczema. The CeraVe line I have found to be the best by far.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.25.2013
BEST for skin, hair, especially as age

This is best moisturizer I have ever used for skin and HAIR! The cream is a little heavy for my face and tends to cause whiteheads so use the lotion CeraVe on my face and lips, which is lighter emollients. Terrific therapy for red, unexplained rashes, eczema type since it replaces ceramides that we produce less of as we age. Works better than prescription steroid creams which only treat the symptoms and not the cause. Also use as LEAVE-IN HAIR CONDITIONER, esp on ends - healthiest hair ever!!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Kathryn R.
02.09.2013
Julo read on

Julo if you would like a suggestion regarding your fear of parabens and Petroleum please see PC's cosmetic cop site or the PC facebook site.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
AMADA W.
01.30.2013
What?

This is a moisturizer that really works but it contains petrolatum and parabens, both which I have read are ingredients to avoid. I used to use this product but stopped because I am afraid of those ingredients.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Julo
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.411 9/1/2015 9:54:52 PM