11.26.2014
20
2285
Hydrating Cleanser
Rating
12 fl. oz. for $11.99
Category:Skin Care > Cleansers (including Cleansing Cloths) > Cleansers/Soaps
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Hydrating Cleanser deserves serious consideration by anyone with normal to dry skin that’s also sensitive, including those dealing with rosacea. It is an exceptionally gentle, soothing cleanser that contains several ingredients that mimic the structure and function of healthy skin. These are a good, but not essential, addition to a cleanser (ideally, they are ingredients that should be left on your skin). But when you’re dealing with an impaired barrier, which is a hallmark of consistent dryness, every little beneficial extra helps. This cleanser is fragrance-free; its only drawback is its limited ability to remove makeup unless used with a washcloth.

Tip: For a sensitive skin and rosacea-safe cleanser that both hydrates and removes makeup beautifully, we recommend Paula’s Choice Skin Recovery Cleanser.

Claims

Gently cleanses the skin while helping to maintain the right moisture balance. It is proven to prevent moisture from escaping (evaporating) from the skin’s surface. Provides gentle, effective cleansing while it restores and enhances the skin barrier. Its fragrance-free, moisturizing formulation is nonirritating and noncomedogenic (does not cause pimples or acne by clogging the pores).

Ingredients

Purified Water, Glycerin, Behentrimonium Methosulfate and Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6-II, Ceramide 1, Hyaluronic Acid, Cholesterol, Polyoxyl 40 Stearate, Glyceryl Monostearate, Stearyl Alcohol, Polysorbate 20, Potassium Phosphate, Dipotassium Phosphate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Cetyl Alcohol, Disodium EDTA, Phytosphingosine, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum

Brand Overview

CeraVe At-A-Glance

Strengths: Affordable, gentle, and fragrance-free; some excellent moisturizers and facial cleansers; a well-formulated eye cream; products provide broad-spectrum sun protection; remarkably gentle baby care; good (but small) assortment of anti-aging products.

Weaknesses: SPF products would do better with the inclusion of antioxidants and more elegant textures; the Renewing SA products aren't as adept at treating keratosis pilaris as they could be.

This small-ish (but expanding( collection of skin-care products keeps things gentle and effective with fragrance-free formulas, many of which are more state-of-the-art than any other product in its price range or pricier versions at the drugstore. In short, this line is a real find!

CeraVe uses a delivery system the company refers to as Multivesicular Emulsion Technology, which releases key ingredients such as ceramides and hyaluronic acid over a period of several hours. Although this technology is undoubtedly helpful, such time-delayed delivery systems aren't unique to CeraVe, and the fact remains that most of the ingredients they use are very helpful on their own, no matter what delivery system you use.

The important point is that ongoing, consistent use of this kind of moisturizer designed to repair the skin's barrier function will result in smoother, softer, healthier skin. An interesting element for this product is the inclusion of phytosphingosine. It is an ingredient that research shows is effective in regulating damaged or diseased epithelial cells. It seems this ingredient can be a cell-communicating ingredient, albeit one that is best for compromised skin. However, given CeraVe is positioned for those struggling with psoriasis, eczema, or rosacea, that's a great addition. (Source: Journal of Investigative Dermatology, October 2003, pages 1135–1137).

It is for these reasons that all the CeraVe products are definitely worth considering, especially at this price. You'll find a options for moisturizing, cleansing, baby care,broad spectrum sun protection (though many of the SPF products don't feel or look so great on skin), and baby care.

For more information about CeraVe, call 866-819-9007 or visit www.cerave.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
02.16.2015
Best Cleanser I've Used

I have very dry and dehydrated skin that's acne prone, and this cleanser is the best I've ever used. It hydrates my skin and makes it so soft and smooth. It helps alleviate any dry patches around my mouth chin and nose and makes makeup application a lot smoother because of it. It's absolutely incredible and I recommend it to everyone!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Emily P.
02.12.2015
Great for Dry Skin Rosacea

Wow! I've been using the skin recovery moisturizers and the 1% BHA lotion from Paula's Choice but still had some remaining redness, dryness, and a few rosacea breakouts. Switching to this took care of that completely! This makes my skin feel dewy, soft, and supple. It cleanses well and doesn't irritate the skin or eyes. However, I'm not sure if it makes a good makeup remover as I use one beforehand.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Elizabeth S.
11.22.2014
Mild + Limited Cleanser

My skin tends to have buildup of oil and dead skin. This cleanser fails to do any deep cleaning. Also, its texture is hard to use with face brushes because it lacks adequate slip and instead causes the bristles to scratch at my face. Otherwise, its nice and soothing. Great option for people with irritated inflamed skin. Or people whose face is never that dirty to begin with. Best used as a morning cleanser.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Siouxi V.
09.20.2014
Great for swimmers

If you are a swimmer, the Hydrating Cleanser is a great product to use after spending time in a big box of chlorinated water. I ditto other comments about CerVe products being a great value, but wanted to emphasize its effectiveness for removing that dreadful itchiness caused by chlorine.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
JennieM
07.17.2014
Morning Cleanser only

This cleanser is non-drying and works nicely for the morning when very minimal cleansing is needed. I love the way it feels on my skin, but it's really designed for those who don't wear makeup. I would describe it as more of a rinse off moisturizer. I have used this at night, but only after taking off my makeup with a couple Lumene Sensitive Touch wipes. Without the makeup remover wipes, I'd see a lot of makeup on my cotton ball when I apply my Paula's Choice Clear Regular Strength exfoliant.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Lindsey
07.12.2014
Strange Texture, But Leaves Skin Feeling GREAT!

I was looking for a cleanser, saw that CeraVe was highly recommended and not too expensive, so I bought this for my combo to dry skin. Cleans well, a little goes a long way, great value, gentle, and I love the way my skin feels after using it! Possible cons: Creamy/Slimy texture. It feels like it will leave a film, but only when washing. (when I rinse, my skin feels clean - not filmy at all!) Doesn't remove all makeup. Doesn't lather (could be a pro for some. I don't mind that it doesn't.)

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Alexandra M.
06.07.2014
Effective hydration+cleansing!

My teenage boy skin is troublesome. I deal with cystic acne due to hormones and treatments I use reaallly dry out my oily skin to the point that it cracks. EVERY cleanser would leave my skin feeling tight (even paulas skin recovery one). I got this cleanser along with the cerave facial moisturizing lotion pm (another AMAZING product) and my skin is so hydrated and not greasy at all. It's like a translucent gel and it really INFUSES the skin with water. Get this cleanser now!!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Max B
05.31.2014
this stings!!

I have to agree with other reviews, about this stinging. I'm very surprised and wish I could figure out which ingredient is causing this. As a water soluble cleanser & suppose to be non irritating just doesn't make sense. Bonnie

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Bonnie
03.26.2014
loved as a morning cleanser

After reading other reviews, I decided to try it as a morning cleanser. It is great. It doesn't leave my face dry or tight in any way. It was a little pricier than I wanted for a morning cleanser, but the bottle is pretty big and it should last for a long time.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Barbara
03.25.2014
Excellent for No Makeup Days

I don't wear makeup often so this product is excellent for me. On the days I wear mascara, however, I find it is very difficult to remove using this product and always wake up the next morning with smudges.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Monica, M
02.25.2014
Great post-surgical cleanser

Uber mild...no lingering residue but doesn't remove makeup completely. Super gentle non-irritating, non-drying but you still feel like you washed your face.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
LL
02.08.2014
Great

This is the best cleanser I have ever used! Have been using it for several years. It is gentle and does not strip my skin of needed moisture. If I wear heavier foundation, I usually wash my face twice. My current favorite foundation, Clinique CC Cream comes right off with this cleanser. I have always used eye makeup remover prior to using any cleanser. I think the key with this cleanser is to add plenty of water to it so it makes a nice lather!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Annette
02.02.2014
Stings

I love this brand and was excited to recommended it to my sensitive skinned roomate. On the first use it stung and burned her skin and caused severe erythema.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
TANYA B.
01.22.2014
Stung

I have been using CeraVe's lotion for years before they expanded their brand. Loved it when my skin was oily. Now mid 30s my skin is changing and is on the slightly drier side. Thought I would give this a try to boost hydration a bit. Unfortunately It stung immediately so bad I had to wash it off.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
ALANDRA H.
10.23.2013
I will buy it again

I've normal and sensitive skin that can be a bit dry from time to time, and I've been using CeraVe's "Hydrating Cleanser" twice a day for 2-4 weeks now. Usually when I bought cleansers for dry skin they tended to be similar to lotions and leave a greasy residue on my skin. So, I've been avoiding them like the plague. Fortunately, I saw the review for this cleanser on Paula's Choice and I now have a cleanser that cleans and hydrates my skin just the way I wanted it to!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Tilde C.
09.26.2013
Decent if you don't wear foundation

This is an adequate cleanser. It is very gentle and I can use it all over my eye area without any irritation at all. However, even though it does an ok job of removing my eye makeup, I have to cleanse with this twice in order to clear all my foundation residue from my oily/large pores. The first time I cleanse with just my hands to remove the makeup, and the second time I use it with my Clarisonic. When I cleanse the second time with the Clarisonic the brush head there is still a lot of residue.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Elisa M.
09.07.2013
Good for cleansing but not makeup removal

This is a good morning cleanser when you don't need to remove makeup. It's soothing and my skin feels better after using it. I use a different cleanser at night to take makeup off; I stopped using this one in the evenings when I realized it doesn't remove makeup at all. I don't think I'd buy it again but at least I can still use it up.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
JANNA
09.07.2013
GREAT Cleanser

I bought this cleanser after reading the review on Beautypedia. I love it! I am on the backside of (50), and have normal to dry skin. I have not had any problems with it removing makeup as one of the other reviewers has but I do use a product designed for that purpose when I wear eye makeup. I think this product does an excellent job of cleansing my face without stripping it and would recommend it to anyone.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Bunny C.
06.05.2013
Conflicted

I appreciate the incredible mildness of this cleanser, but if you're wearing makeup, it will not remove it without copious scrubbing with a damp washcloth - and if you're trying to baby your skin, that defeats the purpose. I'll keep it in my 'stash' for the rare times that my skin becomes dry or reactive (if I've used too many 'actives' that have upset it), but for daily use, this just doesn't cut it.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
ROSIE N.
03.19.2013
Best is right

After going through the Cetaphil phase, the Aquanil phase, I finally asked my derm what to use. She said CeraVe. She was right. It's the one my skin likes the best. I have rosacea, so gentle cleansers are mandated. I'd rather spend my beauty bucks on what shows (lipsticks, foundations) than on cleansers, so a drugstore brand is fine for my budget. When my face needs extra pampering, I slather it on, then tissue it off after a bit. Try it.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Beverly B
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.379 3/26/2015 7:06:51 PM