Hydrating Cleanser

by CeraVe  
Price:
$11.99 - 12 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Cleansers (including Cleansing Cloths) > Cleansers/Soaps
Last Updated:
4/1/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

Hydrating Cleanser deserves serious consideration by anyone with normal to dry skin that’s also sensitive, including those dealing with rosacea. It is an exceptionally gentle, soothing cleanser that contains several ingredients that mimic the structure and function of healthy skin. These are a good, but not essential, addition to a cleanser (ideally, they are ingredients that should be left on your skin). But when you’re dealing with an impaired barrier, which is a hallmark of consistent dryness, every little beneficial extra helps. This cleanser is fragrance-free; its only drawback is its limited ability to remove makeup unless used with a washcloth.

Tip: For a sensitive skin and rosacea-safe cleanser that both hydrates and removes makeup beautifully, we recommend Paula’s Choice Skin Recovery Cleanser.

Gently cleanses the skin while helping to maintain the right moisture balance. It is proven to prevent moisture from escaping (evaporating) from the skin’s surface. Provides gentle, effective cleansing while it restores and enhances the skin barrier. Its fragrance-free, moisturizing formulation is nonirritating and noncomedogenic (does not cause pimples or acne by clogging the pores).

Purified Water, Glycerin, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Monostearate, Hyluronic Acid, Ceramide 1, Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6-11, Cholesterol, Phytosphingosine, Potassium Phosphate, Dipotassium Phosphate, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Disodium EDTA, Polyoxyl Stearate, Polysorbate 20, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum

This small collection of skin-care products keeps things gentle and effective with fragrance-free formulas that can be considered more state-of-the-art than any other product in its price range or pricier versions at the drugstore. CeraVe uses a delivery system the company refers to as Multivesicular Emulsion Technology, which releases key ingredients such as ceramides (they actually include three different ceramides: I, III, and VI, which is rather unique and great for skin) and hyaluronic acid over a period of several hours. Although this technology is undoubtedly helpful, such time-delayed delivery systems aren't unique to CeraVe, and the fact remains that most of the ingredients they use are very helpful on their own, no matter what delivery system you use. The important point is that ongoing, consistent use of this kind of moisturizer designed to repair the skin's barrier function will result in smoother, softer, healthier skin. An interesting element for this product is the inclusion of phytosphingosine. It is an ingredient that research shows is effective in regulating damaged or diseased epithelial cells. It seems this ingredient can be a cell-communicating ingredient, albeit one that is best for compromised skin. However, given CeraVe is positioned for those struggling with psoriasis, eczema, or rosacea, that's a great addition. (Source: Journal of Investigative Dermatology, October 2003, pages 1135–1137).

It is for these reasons that all the CeraVe products are definitely worth considering, especially at this price.

For more information about CeraVe, call 866-819-9007 or visit www.cerave.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. JennieM
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 20, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Great for swimmers
    • If you are a swimmer, the Hydrating Cleanser is a great product to use after spending time in a big box of chlorinated water. I ditto other comments about CerVe products being a great value, but wanted to emphasize its effectiveness for removing that dreadful itchiness caused by chlorine.

  2. Lindsey
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 17, 2014
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    Morning Cleanser only
    • This cleanser is non-drying and works nicely for the morning when very minimal cleansing is needed. I love the way it feels on my skin, but it's really designed for those who don't wear makeup. I would describe it as more of a rinse off moisturizer. I have used this at night, but only after taking off my makeup with a couple Lumene Sensitive Touch wipes. Without the makeup remover wipes, I'd see a lot of makeup on my cotton ball when I apply my Paula's Choice Clear Regular Strength exfoliant.

  3. Alexandra M.
    Reviewed on Saturday, July 12, 2014
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Strange Texture, But Leaves Skin Feeling GREAT!
    • I was looking for a cleanser, saw that CeraVe was highly recommended and not too expensive, so I bought this for my combo to dry skin. Cleans well, a little goes a long way, great value, gentle, and I love the way my skin feels after using it! Possible cons: Creamy/Slimy texture. It feels like it will leave a film, but only when washing. (when I rinse, my skin feels clean - not filmy at all!) Doesn't remove all makeup. Doesn't lather (could be a pro for some. I don't mind that it doesn't.)

  4. Max B
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 07, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Effective hydration+cleansing!
    • My teenage boy skin is troublesome. I deal with cystic acne due to hormones and treatments I use reaallly dry out my oily skin to the point that it cracks. EVERY cleanser would leave my skin feeling tight (even paulas skin recovery one). I got this cleanser along with the cerave facial moisturizing lotion pm (another AMAZING product) and my skin is so hydrated and not greasy at all. It's like a translucent gel and it really INFUSES the skin with water. Get this cleanser now!!

  5. Bonnie
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 31, 2014
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    this stings!!
    • I have to agree with other reviews, about this stinging. I'm very surprised and wish I could figure out which ingredient is causing this. As a water soluble cleanser & suppose to be non irritating just doesn't make sense. Bonnie

  6. Barbara
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 26, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    loved as a morning cleanser
    • After reading other reviews, I decided to try it as a morning cleanser. It is great. It doesn't leave my face dry or tight in any way. It was a little pricier than I wanted for a morning cleanser, but the bottle is pretty big and it should last for a long time.

  7. Monica, M
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 25, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    Excellent for No Makeup Days
    • I don't wear makeup often so this product is excellent for me. On the days I wear mascara, however, I find it is very difficult to remove using this product and always wake up the next morning with smudges.

  8. LL
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Great post-surgical cleanser
    • Uber mild...no lingering residue but doesn't remove makeup completely. Super gentle non-irritating, non-drying but you still feel like you washed your face.

  9. Annette
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 08, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Great
    • This is the best cleanser I have ever used! Have been using it for several years. It is gentle and does not strip my skin of needed moisture. If I wear heavier foundation, I usually wash my face twice. My current favorite foundation, Clinique CC Cream comes right off with this cleanser. I have always used eye makeup remover prior to using any cleanser. I think the key with this cleanser is to add plenty of water to it so it makes a nice lather!

  10. TANYA B.
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 02, 2014
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    Stings
    • I love this brand and was excited to recommended it to my sensitive skinned roomate. On the first use it stung and burned her skin and caused severe erythema.

  11. ALANDRA H.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 22, 2014
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Stung
    • I have been using CeraVe's lotion for years before they expanded their brand. Loved it when my skin was oily. Now mid 30s my skin is changing and is on the slightly drier side. Thought I would give this a try to boost hydration a bit. Unfortunately It stung immediately so bad I had to wash it off.

  12. Tilde C.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 23, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    I will buy it again
    • I've normal and sensitive skin that can be a bit dry from time to time, and I've been using CeraVe's "Hydrating Cleanser" twice a day for 2-4 weeks now. Usually when I bought cleansers for dry skin they tended to be similar to lotions and leave a greasy residue on my skin. So, I've been avoiding them like the plague. Fortunately, I saw the review for this cleanser on Paula's Choice and I now have a cleanser that cleans and hydrates my skin just the way I wanted it to!

  13. Elisa M.
    Reviewed on Thursday, September 26, 2013
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    Decent if you don't wear foundation
    • This is an adequate cleanser. It is very gentle and I can use it all over my eye area without any irritation at all. However, even though it does an ok job of removing my eye makeup, I have to cleanse with this twice in order to clear all my foundation residue from my oily/large pores. The first time I cleanse with just my hands to remove the makeup, and the second time I use it with my Clarisonic. When I cleanse the second time with the Clarisonic the brush head there is still a lot of residue.

  14. JANNA
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    Good for cleansing but not makeup removal
    • This is a good morning cleanser when you don't need to remove makeup. It's soothing and my skin feels better after using it. I use a different cleanser at night to take makeup off; I stopped using this one in the evenings when I realized it doesn't remove makeup at all. I don't think I'd buy it again but at least I can still use it up.

  15. Bunny C.
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    GREAT Cleanser
    • I bought this cleanser after reading the review on Beautypedia. I love it! I am on the backside of (50), and have normal to dry skin. I have not had any problems with it removing makeup as one of the other reviewers has but I do use a product designed for that purpose when I wear eye makeup. I think this product does an excellent job of cleansing my face without stripping it and would recommend it to anyone.

  16. ROSIE N.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 05, 2013
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Conflicted
    • I appreciate the incredible mildness of this cleanser, but if you're wearing makeup, it will not remove it without copious scrubbing with a damp washcloth - and if you're trying to baby your skin, that defeats the purpose. I'll keep it in my 'stash' for the rare times that my skin becomes dry or reactive (if I've used too many 'actives' that have upset it), but for daily use, this just doesn't cut it.

  17. Beverly B
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 19, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Best is right
    • After going through the Cetaphil phase, the Aquanil phase, I finally asked my derm what to use. She said CeraVe. She was right. It's the one my skin likes the best. I have rosacea, so gentle cleansers are mandated. I'd rather spend my beauty bucks on what shows (lipsticks, foundations) than on cleansers, so a drugstore brand is fine for my budget. When my face needs extra pampering, I slather it on, then tissue it off after a bit. Try it.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.344 10/25/2014 5:28:55 PM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.