08.17.2015
6
141
Daily Facial Moisturizer with SPF 50+
Rating
1.7 fl. oz. for $16.99
Last Updated:08.17.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Cetaphil claims Daily Facial Moisturizer with SPF 50+ is "specifically formulated" as a facial moisturizer, designed to hydrate and nourish skin while providing sun protection. The fragrance-free formula absolutely can hydrate and nourish skin, but because the packaging no longer claims that it contains broad spectrum sun protection, this facial moisturizer has recently been downgraded to our poor, one-star rating.

True to its chief claim, Daily Facial Moisturizer with SPF 50+ does provide sun protection but as of summer 2015, all claims regarding broad-spectrum sun protection have been removed from the product's packaging. The drug facts on the label further indicate that "this product has been shown to help prevent sunburn, not skin cancer or early skin aging." See More Info for details.

Because of the inclusion of synthetic sunscreen actives, those with sensitive skin or who have issues like eczema or rosacea should take note: some of the synthetic sunscreen actives included in this formula can cause a reaction in sensitive skin, meaning this isn't as non-irritating as claimed, either. Synthetic sunscreen actives such as the octinoxate, octisalate, octocrylene, and oxybenzone included here are certainly effective and good for most skin types, it's just something to keep in mind if you have a damaged skin barrier.

Although this is marketed for those with normal to dry skin, it absolutely isn't non-greasy as claimed. It will, however, make skin feel moisturized and smooth thanks to the amount of emollients it contains. Also, the amount of titanium dioxide lends a slight white cast that cannot be blended away (though it's much less noticeable than that of many other mineral sunscreens). It's also disappointing that antioxidants were given short shrift. A token amount of vitamin E is all that's included, which won't help this product compete with others at the drugstore that offer a range of potent antioxidants.

Overall, in spite of its acceptable aesthetics and fragrance-free formula, as of the time of this updated review (August 2015), Daily Facial Moisturizer with SPF 50+ now earns our lowest rating for its lack of broad-spectrum sun protection and antioxidants.

Pros:
  • Fragrance-free.
  • Makes skin feel moisturized.
Cons:
  • No longer contains broad spectrum sun protection.
  • Synthetic sunscreen actives could potentially irritate sensitive skin.
  • Formula is not as non-greasy as claimed, and leaves a slight white cast on skin.
  • Lacking in antioxidants and cell-communicating ingredients.
More Info:

Sunscreens Not Rated "Broad Spectrum": Although this sunscreen may contain ingredients that have the potential to provide broad-spectrum sun protection, it also bears this warning as part of the Drug Facts labeling: "Skin Cancer/Skin Aging Alert: Spending time in the sun increases your risk of skin cancer and early skin aging. This product has been shown only to help prevent sunburn, not skin cancer or early skin aging."

This product's label indicates that the formula did not meet the broad-spectrum testing requirements of the FDA (U.S. Food & Drug Administration, 2012), so it isn't as anti-aging capable as many other SPF-rated products. To ensure your sunscreen provides both UVA and UVB protection, it must be labelled "broad spectrum" and also contain one or more of these UVA-protecting ingredients listed as "active": avobenzone, titanium dioxide, zinc oxide, Mexoryl SX (ecamsule) or Tinosorb (Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology, 2005).

Claims

Specifically formulated as a facial moisturizer, Cetaphil® Daily Facial Moisturizer with sunscreen 50+ is clinically proven to nourish and hydrate your skin while helping to defend against sunburn. This non-irritating, fragrance-free moisturizer leaves skin feeling soft and smooth all day.

Ingredients

Active Ingredients: Octinoxate 7.5%, Octisalate 5%, Octocrylene 7%, Oxybenzone 6%, Titanium Dioxide 5.7% Inactive Ingredients: Water, Propylene Glycol, Glycerin, Dimethicone, VP/Eicosene Copolymer, Cyclohexasiloxane, Stearic Acid, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Aluminum Hydroxide, Dimethiconol, Disodium EDTA, Tocopherol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Triethanolamine, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylparaben, Chlorphenesin, Cetyl Alcohol, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Methylparaben, Xanthan Gum.

Brand Overview

Cetaphil At-A-Glance

This familiar, widely distributed skin-care collection is manufactured by Galderma, the same company that markets the prescription products Differin and MetroGel.  Given the dermatology heritage of Galderma, it's surprising the Cetaphil line hasn't advanced beyond the basics. Yes, most of what's available is a safe bet for those with sensitive skin!

If you're in search of simplicity, this is a good line to consider. We should note that many of the formulas omit more complex anti-aging ingredients, but they can always be used alongside a serum or treatment of your choosing.

Strengths: Inexpensive; mostly fragrance-free products; affordable and widely available; offers complete ingredient lists on its website; the sunscreens offer sufficient UVA protection.

Weaknesses:A few formulas could be updated with more complex ingredients, but forgoing that there is a lot to like here.

For more information about Cetaphil, call (817) 961-5000 or visit www.cetaphil.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
06.05.2015
Hate it.

so after seeing the cosmopolitan review on this product, i decided, oh i should buy it. after all, they did say it was a good moisturizer for people with DRY skin. um, i bought it & let me just say, i wasted my 14 dollars on a product that didnt even moisturize my friggin face! it left my face looking like the sahara desert! like what in the world ? anyway, if anyone is wondering if they should buy it or not, use my advice. dont.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Un, Known
06.02.2015
Not great

I'm on Retin A so need to wear a good sunscreen under my makeup and finding a good one is proving very difficult. I thought I had it cracked with this one but no, it causes a stinging sensation when I apply it and doesn't make it easy to apply foundation over the top.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Emma R
04.01.2015
too sunscreeny to go under makeup

too sticky

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Emmaline P.
01.12.2015
Hateeeee This Stuff

I really don't like this moisturizer! I ran out of my Mary Kay moisturizer and because of the cold felt like I couldn't wait long enough to repurchase. After hearing many good things about the brand I purchased this moisturizer and the cleansing bar. I love the cleansing bar but I tried letting this set and I still felt like my skin was very tight and dry so I then decided to use some of my favorite roc eye cream that I ALWAYS use. The combo BURNED my skin. I know it was the moisturizer!!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Ginny J.
01.06.2015
Cetaphil spf50

I love this moisturizer it really helps with my dryness while on accutane..

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
bertha
08.14.2013
Sticky

This product dries to a weird, sticky texture that leaves your foundation looking greasy.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
VN
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.425 9/5/2015 5:32:29 AM