11.18.2013
3
55
Moisturizing Lotion
Rating
16 fl. oz. for $13.99
Category:Skin Care > Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime) > Moisturizer without Sunscreen
Last Updated:11.18.2013
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Moisturizing Lotion claims to be fragrance-free but it contains farnesol, an ingredient whose chief function is adding fragrance to a product (Source: International Cosmetic Ingredient Dictionary and Handbook, 11th edition, 2006, page 864). This is a good, basic moisturizer for normal to dry skin anywhere on the body. It contains mostly water, glycerin, thickeners, nut oil, silicone, vitamin E, preservatives, fragrance, and film-forming agent.

Claims

Cetaphil Moisturizing Lotion is specifically formulated to soothe your chronically dry skin. Once applied, your skin feels soft and smooth. It is non-greasy, non–irritating and non–comedogenic (won't clog pores), leaving you feeling more comfortable in your own skin.

Ingredients

Purified Water, Glycerin, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth-20, Macadamia Nut Oil, Dimethicone, Tocopheryl Acetate, Stearoxytrimethylsilane, Stearyl Alcohol, Panthenol, Farnesol, Benzyl Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Sodium Hydroxide, Citric Acid.

Brand Overview

Cetaphil At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive; mostly fragrance-free products; affordable and widely available; offers complete ingredient lists on its website; the sunscreens offer sufficient UVA protection.

Weaknesses:No state-of-the-art moisturizers; the original Gentle Skin Cleanser is a dated formula that isn't nearly as elegant or efficacious as many other water-soluble cleansers.

This familiar, widely distributed skin-care collection is manufactured by Galderma, the same company that markets the prescription products Differin and MetroGel.  Given the dermatology heritage of Galderma, it's surprising the Cetaphil line hasn't advanced beyond the basics. Yes, most of what's available is a safe bet for those with sensitive skin, but it's disappointing that their SPF-rated products utilize active ingredients that can be a problem for sensitive skin. A mineral-based sunscreen would be a welcome addition for a line that stresses its value for sensitive skin!

We'd have expected the company to keep pace with the latest research into what it takes to create a truly great moisturizer, but that hasn't occurred either, and it could be done while still keeping the products suitable for those with sensitive skin.

As for their original Gentle Skin Cleanser, it is no longer one we recommend. Why? Although we were a champion of this cleanser for years (back when hardly anyone knew about it and good water-soluble cleansers were scarce), the formula has become dated and just isn't worth strong consideration over several other cleansers at the drugstore.

For more information about Cetaphil, call (817) 961-5000 or visit www.cetaphil.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
06.30.2015
Cetaphil best least complicated lotion

I have seborrhoreic dermatitis of the forehead. I literally have tried Cortisone all the way down the chain to Vaseline. AND the difficulty is not being able to find a stripped down cream FRAGRANCE FREE! Until I can see the dermatologist in Sept 2015 I was stuck. CETAPHIL LOTION (basic one) Filled the spot. I am exhausted in asking and surfing the net to find everyone searching for a cure and there is not one. The cause is a malazzezia yeast. And has to be treated as such.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Sharron
03.14.2015
I love cetaphil

I love this stuff. It's one of the only drugstore moisturizers that doesn't break me out. While I have oily skin, I also have very sensitive skin and am incredibly prone to allergic reactions. Thankfully both the gentle cleanser and moisturizer do not bother my skin or make me break out in itchy hives. It's nice to have at least one brand I can rely on, although I wish they didn't add fragrance as it is an allergen.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
jessica, e
11.04.2013
Nice for the price

I'm 63 with combination skin. I use a retinol product several nights a week, and Cetaphil Moisturizing Lotion is great to use on top of the retinol. It is gentle, lightweight, non-irritating. It was recommended many years ago by a dermatologist. I only use it at night because it has no sunscreen.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Sharon
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.401 7/5/2015 10:19:23 PM