07.08.2015
8
338
Daily Facial Cleanser for Normal to Oily Skin
Rating
16 fl. oz. for $13.29
Last Updated:07.08.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Daily Facial Cleanser for Normal to Oily Skin is a standard, detergent-based cleanser that can work for most skin types except for dry to very dry skin. It's certainly not the most state-of-the-art cleanser formula out there, but it does what it says and does it well enough that it earns a three-star, good rating.

Daily Facial Cleanser for Normal to Oily Skin is conveniently packaged in a plastic bottle with a pump-style dispenser. The formula itself is a clear, almost gel-like liquid that has slight foam once water is added. It does do a good job of removing makeup, far better than the original Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser, and doesn't irritate the eyes or dry out the skin.

One thing to note: while this is labeled as "unscented" on the brand's website, that doesn't mean it's without fragrance; instead it just means that this doesn't have a distinct scent (think floral or fruity). There is some masking fragrance included, and while this is a product that is rinsed away, it's something to consider if you have sensitive skin.

Otherwise, this is a good, affordable cleansing option, and one we recommend!

Pros:
  • Does a good job removing makeup.
  • Doesn't irritate eyes or dry out skin.
Cons:
  • Contains a small amount of fragrance.
Claims

Cetaphil Daily FacialCleanser has a low-foaming formulation that is gentle enough to use on your face every day. Use it in the morning and at night to remove surface oils, dirt and makeup — all without stripping skin, which can leave it feeling tight and dry.

Ingredients

Water, Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate, Acrylates/Steareth-20 Methacrylate Copolymer, Glycerin, PEG-200 Hydrogenated Glyceryl Palmate, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Butylene Glycol, PEG-7 Glyceryl Cocoate, Phenoxyethanol, Masking Fragrance, Panthenol, PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Disodium EDTA, Methylparaben.

Brand Overview

Cetaphil At-A-Glance

This familiar, widely distributed skin-care collection is manufactured by Galderma, the same company that markets the prescription products Differin and MetroGel.  Given the dermatology heritage of Galderma, it's surprising the Cetaphil line hasn't advanced beyond the basics. Yes, most of what's available is a safe bet for those with sensitive skin!

If you're in search of simplicity, this is a good line to consider. We should note that many of the formulas omit more complex anti-aging ingredients, but they can always be used alongside a serum or treatment of your choosing.

Strengths: Inexpensive; mostly fragrance-free products; affordable and widely available; offers complete ingredient lists on its website; the sunscreens offer sufficient UVA protection.

Weaknesses:A few formulas could be updated with more complex ingredients, but forgoing that there is a lot to like here.

For more information about Cetaphil, call (817) 961-5000 or visit www.cetaphil.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
07.28.2015
Too Greasy!!!!!!!!!!!!!

it"s a good cleanser but it leaves my skin way too greasy and I don't like that my sin doesn't feel clean, but if you have oily skin you should try Neutrogena oil- free face wash it doesa great job and afterward but on a moisturizer that wont clog pores. I use African shea butter moisturizer, it moisturizes the skin and stay behind to fight blemishes and oily skin.It's really great but cetaphil is good only if you have really, like hard core sensitive irritable skin, then you can use it.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Haley, Landor
11.17.2014
Product lie. Buyer beware!

If you are looking to this line because you have sensitive skin or want a gentle line, this is NOT for you. Masking fragrance is in the daily cleanser. Burned my eyes and face for hours. They have lost a long time customer. Buyer beware.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Chrissy
11.04.2014
Fragrance ruins an otherwise good product

I've been using Cetaphil since I was probably 15 or so (aka seven years) and have never had a problem with it. It takes off my makeup, including eye makeup, and didn't leave my skin dry. However, I just bought a new bottle after finishing the one I had for probably six months - I don't use a lot of it - and the fragrance is awful. It makes my sensitive skin burn and my nose itch. And it lingers! Why they would mess with a good formula, I don't know, but I won't be buying it anymore.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
09.12.2014
Horrible smell

If you can tolerate the smell it's an ok cleanser. I bought this one because it is cheaper then CeraVe which I love but I had to throw it away due to the strong fragrance.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Stacie P.
08.19.2014
my go-to cleanser for YEARS!

Started using this based on dermatologist reccomendation and it is so gentle and cleansing at the same time. Every once in a while I try to change things up with another brand but always go back to this one, others are too drying or leave a weird film on my face. Can't live without this one!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
randi l.
08.04.2014
Smelly!

Whoa! There is so much fragrance in this cleanser. I could still smell it on my face 30 minutes after washing. It also burned a little bit but I just started tretinoin again so my skin is sensitive. It did take off my makeup and sunscreen though. Overall not impressed.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Rachael M.
07.20.2014
Left oily residue on my pillowcase

I have oily skin that still sometimes breaks out (late 30's), but I am also very sensitive and many products give me redness, rashes, or pimples. This cleanser didn't make me react, however, it did not clean my face! Never before have I experienced a product that consistently left an OILY MARK on my pillowcase after cleansing before bed. That is not normal for me. I switched to another recommended drugstore choice (CeraVe for oily skin) and that has worked well. Acne.org cleanser also worked ok.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
KRISTIN L.
12.15.2013
Not what I thought

I used this when I had breakouts as recommended by friends and some celebrities using this in their 40s. However, I find this product not able to remove all the residue on my face and I did not have a habit of putting make up on daily. By residue, I mean my face does not feel fresh after cleansing, it still felt oily especially around the nose and forehead. I am a combination type of skin. Hope this helps! By all means, this product is good for people with sensitive skin

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Bonnie L.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.421 9/3/2015 2:04:01 AM