Gentle Skin Cleanser

by Cetaphil  
Price:
$7.99 - 8 fl. oz.
Average Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Cleansers (including Cleansing Cloths) > Cleansers/Soaps
Last Updated:
11/18/2013
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

This is a cleanser we have recommended for years, but no more. In many ways the formula has become dated and is now a poor representation of the best of the best when it comes to facial cleansers. Part of what led us to this reconsideration (well, beyond the wealth of beautifully formulated water-soluble cleansers) is the amount of sodium lauryl sulfate in this so-called “gentle” cleanser. Although the amount is likely 1% or less of the product’s contents, there are many other cleansers available that don't use this potentially problematic ingredient and that are far better for skin.

There is little reason to consider this over dozens of other options plus this cleanser is not adept at removing makeup.

Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser is great for daily makeup removal. Originally formulated for dermatologists, this cleanser is gentle on your skin and sensitive to your skin’s needs.

Water, Cetyl Alcohol, Propylene Glycol, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, Stearyl Alcohol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben

This familiar, widely distributed skin-care collection is manufactured by Galderma, the same company that markets the prescription products Differin and MetroGel.  Given the dermatology heritage of Galderma (the company's Web site mentions this consistently), it's surprising the Cetaphil line hasn't advanced beyond the basics. Yes, most of what's available is a safe bet for those with sensitive skin, but it's disappointing that their SPF-rated products utilize active ingredients that can be a problem for sensitive skin. A mineral-based sunscreen would be a welcome addition for a line that stresses its value for sensitive skin!

We'd have expected the company to keep pace with the latest research into what it takes to create a truly great moisturizer, but that hasn't occurred either, and it could be done while still keeping the products suitable for those with sensitive skin.

As for their original Gentle Skin Cleanser, it is no longer one we recommend. Why? Although we were a champion of this cleanser for years (back when hardly anyone knew about it and good water-soluble cleansers were scarce), the formula has become dated and just isn't worth strong consideration over several other cleansers at the drugstore.

For more information about Cetaphil, call (817) 961-5000 or visit www.cetaphil.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. sexxy m.
    Reviewed on Saturday, July 12, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    disapponited in bp for their review
    • I'm so disappointed by the reviews by BP. I have very sensitive skin and rosecea. Ive tried numerous other products recommended by BP with disastrous results. I can only use Cetaphil precisely because it doesn't have all the bells and whistles other products do. I hope Paula reconsiders this review, particularly when you have severe skin issues, Cetaphil is the only product gentle enough for really sensitive skin.

  2. Bonnie
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 12, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    No thanks!
    • Trying to think if this cleanser was the worst I've ever used! One fact that is true however, this cleanser definitely ranks within top 3 of worst ever!! Like so many had heard "good things" about it, plus it wasn't expensive. My skin was so itchy, dry, & stripped not to mention it turned my face red. And I don't have sensitive skin!!! I wouldn't even want to wash my hands with this stuff. Bonnie

  3. NM
    Reviewed on Monday, April 14, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Love this cleanser
    • I have been using Cetaphil gentle cleanser for 20+ years and have still not found anything better. There were two reasons I started using it - one was a recommendation from a dermatologist & 2nd was Paula's rave reviews about it when she first started publishing her reviews - 15+ years ago. I have what I would call "normal" skin with no real problems. This cleans, moisturizes and never leaves my skin feeling tight or dry. LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! And the price is extremely reasonable.

  4. Sonya Georgieva
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 22, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    The best
    • This is the best cleanser that i ever use! I have normal to dry skin and i use CeraVe cleanser because Paula's team says thas is the best but i wan it to try this one.No way this cleanser is very gentle on my face and beat CeraVe gentle cleanser!My skin feel very happy when i wash it with this cleanser.Love,love,love!

  5. Zoe.J.
    Reviewed on Monday, November 11, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    CETAPHIL CLEANSER IS THE BEST
    • I have mild Rosacea and I have been using this cleanser for years. I am a bit annoyed that Paula's Team rated this cleanser as average. I have tried Paula's Choice cleansers and products aimed at Rosacea prone skin with no success. I flare up. Cetaphil is the only cleanser that I can use that does not irritate my skin and I don't think that the formula is out-dated. if you have Rosacea do not dismiss this product. It works for me.

  6. Lisa C.
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 17, 2013
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Now I know what was causing my skin irritation for years!
    • I finally stopped using Cetaphil Cleanser. This product is supposed to be "gentle." There's something in the product that was causing red spots and peeling on my face for years. I never thought it was the cleanser until recently reading Paula's review. The cleanser was not removing my makeup either. Since I stopped using it, all that redness and peeling is gone. It's enough that most of the moisturizers these days have some sort of peeling agent in them, I don't need that in a cleanser t

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.326
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off AHA & BHA Exfoliants | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.