Advantage Oil Absorbing Treatment Oil-Free (Discontinued)

Price:
$6.99 - 1.5 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Sensitive Skin Products > Blemish/Acne Treatments > BHA
Last Updated:
9/8/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

This is a very good BHA exfoliant for oily to combination skin! It’s medicated with 2% salicylic acid (an anti-acne and blackhead-busting superstar) and the pH of 3.2 means this active can function as an exfoliant! This product has a somewhat thick texture that blends out smoothly and doesn’t feel think once it sets to a powder-like finish. It would be suitable for breakout-prone skin and its matte finish is ideal for oily areas, though it doesn’t control oil for hours (you’ll see an improvement but those with very oily skin will still need to blot or powder).

The one drawback to consider is the fragrance. Fragrance isn’t skin care, and this product’s scent lingers on skin. Still, that’s a minor quibble for what’s ultimately an affordable BHA exfoliant. Nicely done, Clean & Clear!  

No one wants to deal with oily skin. That's why there's ADVANTAGE® Oil Absorbing Treatment, it has POWDERPARTICLES™ technology that absorbs oil and helps keep it from coming back all day long. Just put it on, leave it on and it controls oil for hours. And we can deal with that!

Active Ingredient: Salicylic Acid (2%), Inactive Ingredients: Water, Hydrated Silica, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Isohexadecane, Steareth-12, Propylene Glycol, Cetearyl Alcohol, C12-15 Alkyl Lactate, Polysorbate 60, Polyacrylate-13, Isoceteth-20, Polyisobutene, Glycerin, Cetyl Lactate, Phenoxyethanol, Cocamidopropyl, PG-Dimonium Chloride Phosphate, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Fragrance, Cetyl Hydroxyethylcellulose, Disodium, EDTA, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Seed Protein, Sodium Hydroxide, Pentaerythityl Tetra-di-t-butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Polysorbate 20, Benzalkonium Chloride

The name of this Johnson & Johnson–owned brand clearly communicates what it attempts to provide, and may seem to be a beacon of hope for consumers struggling with acne. The products are heavily marketed toward teens, with commercials and print ads featuring attractive young models with nary a blemish in sight, presumably because these fresh-faced teens adhere to a routine consisting of these attractively packaged products.

Although there are some great, inexpensive cleansers available, blemishes have nothing to do with how clean your skin is; the two issues are completely unrelated. The other failing is that unlike sister company Neutrogena (also owned by J&J), almost all of Clean & Clear's anti-acne products contain irritating ingredients that won't improve skin problems and end up making matters worse. Even a couple of the pH-correct BHA options are marred by troublesome ingredients that only make blemished skin more inflamed and impede the healing process. Moreover, the issue of sun protection is inadequately addressed, with the only option failing to provide sun protection without added irritants. What kind of message is that for teens trying to put together an effective skin-care routine? Clean skin is attainable from these products, but the company's road to "beautifully clear" skin has too many speed bumps to make this a one-stop destination for the blemish-prone.

For more information about Clean & Clear, call (877) 754-6411 or visit www.cleanandclear.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 15, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Done with Clean & Clear
    • That is the second item that I loved and they have discontinued! I will not consider trying anymore of Clean & Clear Products!

  2. Carly H
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 02, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Good Stuff
    • Awesome. FIXED my acne. FIXED IT! Thank you so much Paula! I've never had this nice of skin in my life. However, most of the stores around my have phased it out, and Paula's Choice Body BHA lotion is actually a better value per once, so I picked up some of that. But the Clean n Clear Product had a nice texture, that over the course of maybe two weeks, transformed my skin from nodular acne to unprecedentedly clear (with the exception of a few blackheads). I'm so glad I found Paulas Choice.

  3. Barbara P
    Reviewed on Wednesday, November 20, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    I Am Thrilled
    • I bought this as an acne treatment not as an oil absorbing treatment. I know they go together, acne and oil, but I wanted the salicylic acid. I did so based on the recommendation of beautypedia. I put it on at night, and within a matter of days the little bumps along my cheek bones were gone. I have been using an infomercial acne treatment for years, and while I have been very pleased with it, I think I might be switching to this product.

  4. Karen Metson W.
    Reviewed on Monday, August 19, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Sweet Scent
    • The scent is really heavy, kind of over-sweet like in children's toothpaste.

  5. J.G.
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 01, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    clearance item at Target
    • I prefer the Neutrogena Oil Free Acne Stress Control 3-in-1 Hydrating Acne Treatment, but I think it's been discontinued. This product from Clean & Clear is good too, but it has a stronger fragrance than I would like. I bought several of these at Target today because they were clearance priced, and the cashier said it was "salvage item". I guess this means Target is phasing it out. I wonder if it's being discontinued like the Neutrogena product... :-/

  6. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 01, 2013
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Terrible
    • I have sensitive, oily, eczema, blackhead and acne prone skin. This smells really bad, firstly, like cheap men's cologne. It's slightly matte finish is actually more dry than matte. It made my skin oilier. I used it for 2 months, since that is how long it takes for real changes to happen. And my skin did change, for the worse. Disappointing at best. My search for the solution to my skin issues continues!

  7. Stacey M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 26, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Made the Switch
    • I decided to purchase this product when another Neutrogena product I was using was discontinued. I really, really liked the discontinued product, and was surprised I liked this one so much as well! It takes very little product to cover my entire face (compared to the previous product I was using), and makes my skin feel less oily.

  8. Lauren C.
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 06, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    A BHA product my husband will use!
    • We were using a Paula's Choice liquid BHA product for awhile, but when needing to pack a BHA product for a trip, I found this on Beautypedia. At the time, the size was perfect for travel and we thought the lotion-like product would just be easier to manage. After using it for a week, we've decided it's a keeper. As much as we loved the Paula's Choice product, it is nice to have something we don't need to use a cotton pad to apply. And we can pick this up locally. (Sorry, Paula!)

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.344 10/25/2014 10:03:36 AM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.