12.17.2014
12
1905
Persa-Gel 10, Maximum Strength
Rating
1 fl. oz. for $6.49
Last Updated:12.17.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Persa-Gel 10, Maximum Strength remains a very potent, fragrance-free topical disinfectant for blemishes. It contains 10% benzoyl peroxide, the maximum amount approved for over-the-counter sales. Although this amount can be drying and potentially irritating, this is an option for stubborn cases of acne.

Claims

The same prescription formula prescribed by doctors for over ten years.

Ingredients

Active: Benzoyl Peroxide (10%), Other: Carbomer, Disodium EDTA, Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose, Laureth-4, Sodium Hydroxide, Water

Brand Overview

Clean & Clear At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive; an excellent 10% benzoyl peroxide product; some very good cleansers.

Weaknesses: The majority of products contain irritating fragrant extracts, alcohol, menthol, menthyl lactate, or other problematic ingredients; below-average moisturizers; poor options for those struggling with breakouts or blackheads (at least if your goal is assembling a helpful skin-care routine using only Clean & Clear's products).

The name of this Johnson & Johnson–owned brand clearly communicates what it attempts to provide, and may seem to be a beacon of hope for consumers struggling with acne. The products are heavily marketed toward teens, with commercials and print ads featuring attractive young models with nary a blemish in sight, presumably because these fresh-faced teens adhere to a routine consisting of these attractively packaged products.

Although there are some great, inexpensive cleansers available, blemishes have nothing to do with how clean your skin is; the two issues are completely unrelated. The other failing is that unlike sister company Neutrogena (also owned by J&J), almost all of Clean & Clear's anti-acne products contain irritating ingredients that won't improve skin problems and end up making matters worse. Even a couple of the pH-correct BHA options are marred by troublesome ingredients that only make blemished skin more inflamed and impede the healing process. Moreover, the issue of sun protection is inadequately addressed, with the only option failing to provide sun protection without added irritants. What kind of message is that for teens trying to put together an effective skin-care routine? Clean skin is attainable from these products, but the company's road to "beautifully clear" skin has too many speed bumps to make this a one-stop destination for the blemish-prone.

For more information about Clean & Clear, call (877) 754-6411 or visit www.cleanandclear.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
07.13.2015
Wow, this really works!

I'm in my 40's and still have occasional breakouts. I use PC's 2% BHA liquid daily and while that does help to keep my skin somewhat clear and smooth, around "that time of the month" I'll notice a couple of pimples pop up around my chin/mouth area. They tend to be stubborn at times and can get red/swollen and irritated. I used just a tad of this stuff and spread it around thinly so as to avoid drying out...I woke up and the two pimples are practically gone! In just one use!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
AilMar
05.26.2015
Wow

Wow this stuff works and believe me I have tried...everything!!! Expensive, cheap and home remedies. Nothing works like this. Redness...gone and so is the bump it also brings the pimples under the skin to the surface! Love it and Always have some on me! Never know when u have an emergency :)

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Mandy B
03.29.2015
Burns

burns, doesn't stop. Also itchy. No drying though.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Emily W.
12.24.2014
Worth a try!

I have insanely stubborn skin & have had acne since middle school. I am now 21 and get awful cystic acne around my mouth/chin. I've been to several different dermatologists and on several different medicines (including birth control for 4 years) and nothing has worked, EXCEPT THIS. My face isn't flawless, but there is a noticeable difference after just 2 weeks and I use it twice a day! This product is worth a try!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Bella F
12.11.2014
PLEASE BUY THIS

Everybody who has acne buy this right away. I had acne in between my Eyebrows and I tried everything and nothing worked! I bought this product about a week ago and since then I've put a little bit on every night and it's clearing up so quickly! This product is a little drying but just be sure to moisturize and you'll be great!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Bella B
11.21.2014
Stunning

I get really dreadful breakouts every month that lead to inflamed, painful zits that don't respond at all to salicylic acid. This was a last resort for me, and boy, am I amazed how effective it was. After I applied it as directed, two nights in a row, my most recent breakout has cleared up. The two zits that had erupted look smaller and not inflamed, and the three that hadn't erupted yet are gone without a trace (so yes, catch them early if you can). Definitely keeping this in my arsenal.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Jess V
10.11.2014
Ruins a washcloth

I have only used this for 3 days , need more time for improvement. Warning label does say "avoid contact with dyed fabrics as it may bleach" And it really does bleach, and I use washcloth every a.m. and p.m. So should I use paper towels >lol?

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
bhk
09.30.2014
Miracle Cream

I bought this before I read the Beautypedia reviews, ( I know, not good) but lucked out when I read review when I got home and saw it got BEST - and it is the best - it works like a miracle, I mean within hours my pimples (tiny red ones with raised white center) on my cheeks were almost flat, less red and almost gone. The next morning it was like they had never been there at all. I am in my 60's and still get rare acne flair ups...this is going to be my go to medicine chest product!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anne O.
09.27.2014
Be CAREFUL

I was excited to try this, so I rubbed it on my whole face, AND combined it with my BHA (which is supposed to improve efficacy of both). My face started to feel very sensitive and tender. My cheeks turned red and was VERY itchy all over. My eyelids started to feel very heavy and the area around my eyes was red. They started to swell. I thought when I woke in the morning, the irritation would be gone. WRONG. My WHOLE face was swollen, red, dry and itchy. It's very effective, but be careful.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Corinna, B
04.20.2014
Best if you catch them early, but overall amazing

This stuff is a miracle. I don't know what I'd do without it. The power behind this little bottle is just wonderful!! I get acne reoccurring on my chin and the instant I feel one starting to "grow" I slather this on. If I catch it early enough I won't get anything but a little small and unnoticeable bump. No redness, no tenderness, no zit! Even if I don't catch it early enough it shortens the life of it immensely and helps get rid of both the redness and tenderness of the acne. Love this stuff!!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
A'shia
11.10.2013
Good for Emergencies

This is a powerful cream. When my skin gets especially broken out, I apply a thin layer over affected areas at night. By morning, the breakout usually has calmed down by at least 40-50%. But, it does dry out your skin. I use it only as necessary, definitely not every day.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
11.02.2013
I might buy it again

I've been using Clean & Clear's "Persa-Gel 10" on and off for a couple of months now. It works, it's just that I can't figure out how well it works. It seems like it sometimes "kills" pimples right away and sometimes it doesn't do anything. Also, it's a little bit thick and if you don't work it in it can leave a white cast. Anyhow, I might buy it every now and then but I am looking for something with a more easy-to-read-result and refined texture.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Tilde C.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.411 8/28/2015 8:06:28 AM