Persa-Gel 10, Maximum Strength

Price:
$6.49 - 1 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Anti-Acne Products > Benzoyl Peroxide
Last Updated:
11/20/2013
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

Persa-Gel 10, Maximum Strength remains a very potent, fragrance-free topical disinfectant for blemishes. It contains 10% benzoyl peroxide, the maximum amount approved for over-the-counter sales. Although this amount can be drying and potentially irritating, this is an option for stubborn cases of acne.

The same prescription formula prescribed by doctors for over ten years.

Active: Benzoyl Peroxide (10%), Other: Carbomer, Disodium EDTA, Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose, Laureth-4, Sodium Hydroxide, Water

The name of this Johnson & Johnson–owned brand clearly communicates what it attempts to provide, and may seem to be a beacon of hope for consumers struggling with acne. The products are heavily marketed toward teens, with commercials and print ads featuring attractive young models with nary a blemish in sight, presumably because these fresh-faced teens adhere to a routine consisting of these attractively packaged products.

Although there are some great, inexpensive cleansers available, blemishes have nothing to do with how clean your skin is; the two issues are completely unrelated. The other failing is that unlike sister company Neutrogena (also owned by J&J), almost all of Clean & Clear's anti-acne products contain irritating ingredients that won't improve skin problems and end up making matters worse. Even a couple of the pH-correct BHA options are marred by troublesome ingredients that only make blemished skin more inflamed and impede the healing process. Moreover, the issue of sun protection is inadequately addressed, with the only option failing to provide sun protection without added irritants. What kind of message is that for teens trying to put together an effective skin-care routine? Clean skin is attainable from these products, but the company's road to "beautifully clear" skin has too many speed bumps to make this a one-stop destination for the blemish-prone.

For more information about Clean & Clear, call (877) 754-6411 or visit www.cleanandclear.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. bhk
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 11, 2014
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    Ruins a washcloth
    • I have only used this for 3 days , need more time for improvement. Warning label does say "avoid contact with dyed fabrics as it may bleach" And it really does bleach, and I use washcloth every a.m. and p.m. So should I use paper towels >lol?

  2. Anne O.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, September 30, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Miracle Cream
    • I bought this before I read the Beautypedia reviews, ( I know, not good) but lucked out when I read review when I got home and saw it got BEST - and it is the best - it works like a miracle, I mean within hours my pimples (tiny red ones with raised white center) on my cheeks were almost flat, less red and almost gone. The next morning it was like they had never been there at all. I am in my 60's and still get rare acne flair ups...this is going to be my go to medicine chest product!

  3. Corinna, B
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 27, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Be CAREFUL
    • I was excited to try this, so I rubbed it on my whole face, AND combined it with my BHA (which is supposed to improve efficacy of both). My face started to feel very sensitive and tender. My cheeks turned red and was VERY itchy all over. My eyelids started to feel very heavy and the area around my eyes was red. They started to swell. I thought when I woke in the morning, the irritation would be gone. WRONG. My WHOLE face was swollen, red, dry and itchy. It's very effective, but be careful.

  4. A'shia
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 20, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Best if you catch them early, but overall amazing
    • This stuff is a miracle. I don't know what I'd do without it. The power behind this little bottle is just wonderful!! I get acne reoccurring on my chin and the instant I feel one starting to "grow" I slather this on. If I catch it early enough I won't get anything but a little small and unnoticeable bump. No redness, no tenderness, no zit! Even if I don't catch it early enough it shortens the life of it immensely and helps get rid of both the redness and tenderness of the acne. Love this stuff!!

  5. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 10, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Good for Emergencies
    • This is a powerful cream. When my skin gets especially broken out, I apply a thin layer over affected areas at night. By morning, the breakout usually has calmed down by at least 40-50%. But, it does dry out your skin. I use it only as necessary, definitely not every day.

  6. Tilde C.
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 02, 2013
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    I might buy it again
    • I've been using Clean & Clear's "Persa-Gel 10" on and off for a couple of months now. It works, it's just that I can't figure out how well it works. It seems like it sometimes "kills" pimples right away and sometimes it doesn't do anything. Also, it's a little bit thick and if you don't work it in it can leave a white cast. Anyhow, I might buy it every now and then but I am looking for something with a more easy-to-read-result and refined texture.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.344 10/21/2014 7:36:53 PM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.