12.18.2014
7
1
Acne Solutions Clinical Clearing Gel
Rating
1 fl. oz. for $25
Category:Skin Care > Sensitive Skin Products > Blemish/Acne Treatments > BHA
Last Updated:12.18.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

This anti-acne product is getting a lot of hype, and claims its results are as good "as a leading topical prescription", but given there are no prescription salicylic acid products for acne (salicylic acid being this product's active ingredient), it's not an apples-to-apples comparison! As it turns out, the formula has more problems than a math test, and isn't something we can recommend for those struggling with breakouts.

Chief among this product's troubles is alcohol. It's the main ingredient, and applying this smells like you're putting vodka martini on your face. It is potent! Sadly, alcohol is a problem for all skin types, and the irritation it causes can hurt skin's healing process (hello, red marks from acne that take forever to fade) and potentially cause more oil production, which, in turn, can trigger more acne. How is that an "Acne Solution"? See More Info for details on why alcohol is not a friend to skin.

Acne Solutions Clinical Clearing Gel's active ingredient is salicylic acid, but the product's pH won't allow it to function as an exfoliant, so you're losing its chief benefit for breakout-prone skin! And if the alcohol wasn't enough of an irritant, this product also contains witch hazel for an additional astringent effect (and kick of alcohol!).

The anti-irritants Clinique included are a nice gesture, but more of a backhanded compliment given the primary problems this product presents. Really, the only good thing about it is the lack of fragrance.

Pros:
  • Fragrance-free.
Cons:
  • The amount of alcohol is serious cause for concern in terms of irritation and delayed healing.
  • The pH of the formula is too high for the salicylic acid (BHA) to function as an exfoliant.
  • Witch hazel is a skin irritant.
  • Unlikely to work as well as any type of prescription anti-acne product.
More Info:

Alcohol in skin-care products causes dryness and free-radical damage, and impairs the skin's ability to heal. The irritation it causes damages healthy collagen production and can stimulate oil production at the base of the pore, making oily skin worse (Sources: Biochimica et Biophysica Acta, May 2012, pages 1,410–1,419; Alcoholism, Clinical and Experimental Research, January 2011, pages 83–90; "Skin Care—From the Inside Out and Outside In," Tufts Daily, April 1, 2002; eMedicine Journal, May 8, 2002, volume 3, number 5, www.emedicine.com; Cutis, February 2001, pages 25–27; Contact Dermatitis, January 1996, pages 12–16; and http://pubs.niaaa.nih.gov/publications/arh27-4/277-284.htm).

Claims

Results as good as a leading topical prescription in clearing acne. Our daily treatment gel starts clearing blemishes upon application. Helps prevent new ones from making an unwelcome appearance.

Ingredients

Active Ingredient: Salicylic Acid 1.00% Ingredients: Alcohol Denat, Water\Aqua\Eau, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel), Laminaria Saccharina Extract, Sea Whip Extract, Butylene Glycol, Benzalkonium Chloride

Brand Overview

Clinique At-A-Glance

Strengths: A few excellent moisturizers and serums; excellent sunscreens; very good cleansers and eye makeup removers; unique mattifying products; impressive selection of foundations, good concealers; some remarkable mascaras; much-improved eyeshadows, lip colors and blush formulas.

Weaknesses: Bar soaps (which can clog pores and dull skin); alcohol-based toners; unfortunate choice of jar packaging for antioxidant-loaded moisturizers.

Estee Lauder-owned Clinique launched the concept of cosmetics being "allergy-tested," "hypoallergenic," "100% fragrance-free," and "dermatologist tested." Of those marketing claims, the only one with significance is "100% fragrance-free," which, for the most part, Clinique maintains (although it does add some fragrant extracts to a few products). Unfortunately, terms like “hypoallergenic” and “dermatologist tested” aren’t regulated by the FDA and can mean anything—thus, you still need to rely on the ingredient list to tell you whether their product contains any ingredients with the potential to irritate skin.

That inconvenient fact aside, Clinique is leading the way with cutting-edge, state-of-the-art moisturizers and serums, plus some formidable makeup and more than a few excellent sunscreens. While Clinique has some products that we see as missteps for reasons discussed in their reviews, more than ever, what they offer is quite good (just have realistic expectations, as some of their claims go beyond what their products are capable of).

Turning to makeup, Clinique continues to offer a vast palette of colors and textures, especially with their enormous selection of foundations—many of which feature effective sunscreens. Without a doubt, the numerous formulas offer something for every skin type and almost every skin color—though the blushes, eye makeup and lip colors are frequently not pigmented enough for deeper skin tones.

The bottom line is that, despite a few shortcomings, Clinique is one of the most comprehensive (and comparably affordable) department-store makeup lines, and it is completely understandable why they enjoy such broad appeal.

Note: Clinique is categorized as one that tests on animals because their products are sold in China. Although Clinique does not conduct animal testing for their products sold elsewhere, the Chinese government requires imported cosmetics be tested on animals, so foreign companies retailing there must comply. This requirement is why some brand’s state that they don’t test on animals “unless required by law”. Animal rights organizations consider cosmetic companies retailed in China to be brands that test on animals, and so does the Beautypedia Team.

For more information about Clinique, call (800) 419-4041 or visit www.clinique.com

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
06.25.2015
love it

I finally broke down and bought this after trying just about everything in the drug stores and nothing else worked except this. I'm 40 and have recently started breaking out, after using this for 3 days my skin is finally getting back to normal, I will definitely continue to use it and highly recommend it

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Al T.
03.16.2015
different experience

i really trust paula and when im going to buy something i first come here and read paula's reviews, but i bought this product before i read the review...dont know why but this really works for me..it helps.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
irene
03.08.2015
sad this got such a bad review

this product works for me. I have hormonal adult acne for the most part.. got it as a trial and had to get the full size. good stuff. drying, but used only as spot treatment it's fine. definitely helps!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
ami c
01.04.2015
Clinique

It comes in a very small amount for a higher price tag but it has been amazing for me. I was sceptic at first. I use the 3 step acne kit with it and also moisturizer daily. I will definitely buy this product again.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Christol F
01.03.2015
highly recommended

The best anti acne product for my oily skin. I'm 40 years old and I still have 'this' problem. Gel clinique not only helps to reduce spots over maximum 2 days, it's also the best solution to get rid of the scars, and dark marks after spots are gone. Highly recommend.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
kat
06.06.2014
Different Experience

Before purchasing this product I read the review on this site but also the customer reviews on the Clinique site and Amazon which is where I finally purchased the product. I have been using this and the other products in the Clinique Acne line for just over a month. I am more than happy with the results of this product, it is very strong but used sparingly works very well, not sure of why there is such a difference between positive customer results and the Beautypedia review.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Jez F
06.01.2014
I'm seriously concerned!

I've had bad luck with dermatologist fixes. So I thought I'd give this a try. I did not look at the ingredients first.My bad! You can immediately smell the alcohol. So, I was very concerned. I seriously doubt this will help with my acne problem. If anything it will worsen the issue. That's what I think.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Annette D.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.401 6/30/2015 5:19:41 AM