10.29.2014
4
295
Almost Lipstick
Rating
$16
Last Updated:10.29.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

This Clinique classic includes Black Honey, the company’s best-selling lipstick shade. True to claim, it is a flattering color for most skin tones (although it looks imposingly dark in the tube). This remains a smooth, sheer lipstick that provides a soft gloss finish, and the shade selection has gone from a few to several options, including some attractive pink and nude tones, all of which go on sheerer than they look in the tube.

EDIT TO ORIGINAL REVIEW: As of March 26, 2015, it has been confirmed with a representative from Clinique that as a whole, the Almost Lipstick is discontinued. The exception is the aforementioned favorite, Black Honey, which remains available.

Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

Clinique At-A-Glance

Strengths: A few excellent moisturizers and serums; excellent sunscreens; very good cleansers and eye makeup removers; unique mattifying products; impressive selection of foundations, good concealers; some remarkable mascaras; much-improved eyeshadows, lip colors and blush formulas.

Weaknesses: Bar soaps (which can clog pores and dull skin); alcohol-based toners; unfortunate choice of jar packaging for antioxidant-loaded moisturizers.

Estee Lauder-owned Clinique launched the concept of cosmetics being "allergy-tested," "hypoallergenic," "100% fragrance-free," and "dermatologist tested." Of those marketing claims, the only one with significance is "100% fragrance-free," which, for the most part, Clinique maintains (although it does add some fragrant extracts to a few products). Unfortunately, terms like “hypoallergenic” and “dermatologist tested” aren’t regulated by the FDA and can mean anything—thus, you still need to rely on the ingredient list to tell you whether their product contains any ingredients with the potential to irritate skin.

That inconvenient fact aside, Clinique is leading the way with cutting-edge, state-of-the-art moisturizers and serums, plus some formidable makeup and more than a few excellent sunscreens. While Clinique has some products that we see as missteps for reasons discussed in their reviews, more than ever, what they offer is quite good (just have realistic expectations, as some of their claims go beyond what their products are capable of).

Turning to makeup, Clinique continues to offer a vast palette of colors and textures, especially with their enormous selection of foundations—many of which feature effective sunscreens. Without a doubt, the numerous formulas offer something for every skin type and almost every skin color—though the blushes, eye makeup and lip colors are frequently not pigmented enough for deeper skin tones.

The bottom line is that, despite a few shortcomings, Clinique is one of the most comprehensive (and comparably affordable) department-store makeup lines, and it is completely understandable why they enjoy such broad appeal.

Note: Clinique is categorized as one that tests on animals because their products are sold in China. Although Clinique does not conduct animal testing for their products sold elsewhere, the Chinese government requires imported cosmetics be tested on animals, so foreign companies retailing there must comply. This requirement is why some brand’s state that they don’t test on animals “unless required by law”. Animal rights organizations consider cosmetic companies retailed in China to be brands that test on animals, and so does the Beautypedia Team.

For more information about Clinique, call (800) 419-4041 or visit www.clinique.com

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
06.09.2015
Great Color

This goes on easily and provides a nice darker color and the more I apply the darker it gets. Does not dry out my lips and has staying power.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
01.25.2014
great product

Have tried both the Black Honey & the Luscious Honey shades; my daughter wears Shy Honey. This is a great product-- nice gloss w/o being over-the-top shiny or sticky-looking & a subtle colour that doesn't look overly 'done'. Two quibbles-- there's an awful lot of product (that I've paid for!) that's inaccessible once I reach the bottom of the tube & it would be nice if this item contained a broad-spectrum sunscreen.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
alix v.
11.02.2013
*THE* most wonderful lipstick/gloss!

This is my "go-to" lip color for any occasion and with any clothing ensemble. It provides a lovely subtle lip color without looking too shiny and definitely doesn't look like you're wearing a lipstick. In my opinion this product would be flattering on any skin tone. I'm extremely fair, so if I can wear it and people tell me it's quite lovely, then others with darker skin will probably also love it. Just try it, you won't be disappointed. You can buy it just about anywhere, including Amazon!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
CDJ
07.29.2013
Wow.

I read online somewhere that this product - specifically the shade Black Cherry - is there #1 selling lip product. Which was baffling to me when looking at the product- this color is DARK. It's Black Cherry for a reason. But then you put it on and.......it is no where near the color in the tube. I guess this is a nod to it's Almost Lipstick formulation. It is sheer yet can be built up without feeling over done. Tried it on my friend - looked different on her lips yet equally beautiful.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Jen O
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.411 9/1/2015 1:02:35 AM