11.26.2014
14
1265
Mild Clarifying Lotion
Rating
6.7 fl. oz. for $13.50
Category:Skin Care > Anti-Acne Products
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:No
pH:2.90
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Mild Clarifying Lotion puts all of Clinique’s other Clarifying Lotions to shame with its alcohol-free formula that contains 0.5% salicylic acid at an effective pH of 2.9. Although a higher concentration of salicylic acid would be more effective for someone battling blemishes and blackheads, this is a step in the right direction and contains some very good skin-identical ingredients. This has a toner consistency and can certainly be used as a toner, but functionally it works best as a liquid BHA product.

Claims

The difference-maker. Extra-gentle exfoliating lotion developed by Clinique’s dermatologists enables even the driest, most delicate skins to reap the advantages of twice a day exfoliation. De-flakes skin’s surface to smooth, reveal clearer skin.

Ingredients

Water, Butylene Glycol, Biosaccharide Gum - 1, Hydroxypropyl Cyclodextrin, Salicylic Acid, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Powder, Arginine, PEG-10 Soy Sterol, Ceteth-20, Panicum Miliaceum (Millet) Seed Extract, Dimethicone, Ceteth-2, Bis-PEG-18 Methyl Ether Dimethyl Silane, Cetyl Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol, Green 5, Yellow 10

Brand Overview

Clinique At-A-Glance

Strengths: A few excellent moisturizers and serums; excellent sunscreens; very good cleansers and eye makeup removers; unique mattifying products; impressive selection of foundations, good concealers; some remarkable mascaras; much-improved eyeshadows, lip colors and blush formulas.

Weaknesses: Bar soaps (which can clog pores and dull skin); alcohol-based toners; unfortunate choice of jar packaging for antioxidant-loaded moisturizers.

Estee Lauder-owned Clinique launched the concept of cosmetics being "allergy-tested," "hypoallergenic," "100% fragrance-free," and "dermatologist tested." Of those marketing claims, the only one with significance is "100% fragrance-free," which, for the most part, Clinique maintains (although it does add some fragrant extracts to a few products). Unfortunately, terms like “hypoallergenic” and “dermatologist tested” aren’t regulated by the FDA and can mean anything—thus, you still need to rely on the ingredient list to tell you whether their product contains any ingredients with the potential to irritate skin.

That inconvenient fact aside, Clinique is leading the way with cutting-edge, state-of-the-art moisturizers and serums, plus some formidable makeup and more than a few excellent sunscreens. While Clinique has some products that we see as missteps for reasons discussed in their reviews, more than ever, what they offer is quite good (just have realistic expectations, as some of their claims go beyond what their products are capable of).

Turning to makeup, Clinique continues to offer a vast palette of colors and textures, especially with their enormous selection of foundations—many of which feature effective sunscreens. Without a doubt, the numerous formulas offer something for every skin type and almost every skin color—though the blushes, eye makeup and lip colors are frequently not pigmented enough for deeper skin tones.

The bottom line is that, despite a few shortcomings, Clinique is one of the most comprehensive (and comparably affordable) department-store makeup lines, and it is completely understandable why they enjoy such broad appeal.

Note: Clinique is categorized as one that tests on animals because their products are sold in China. Although Clinique does not conduct animal testing for their products sold elsewhere, the Chinese government requires imported cosmetics be tested on animals, so foreign companies retailing there must comply. This requirement is why some brand’s state that they don’t test on animals “unless required by law”. Animal rights organizations consider cosmetic companies retailed in China to be brands that test on animals, and so does the Beautypedia Team.

For more information about Clinique, call (800) 419-4041 or visit www.clinique.com

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
07.19.2015
Clinique Mild Toner

I started using this product after trying a couple of the PC BHA's. Unfortunately, they caused breakouts. This product works fairly well, and while I'd prefer that it had a higher concentration of salicylic acid, there doesn't appear to be any other really good BHA products available without alcohol. On the Beautypedia reviews, aside from PC products, there are only four BHA's that have a "best" rating. Two are highly priced, and two are discontinued.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Elizabeth O.
07.09.2015
price need to be rectified here

I live in Canada. I have combo/oily and sensitive skin. I bought this lotion after reading the reviews. It is good so far neither harsh nor dry and, feels good on skin. but it costs $ 32 for 125 ml.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
06.12.2015
Good results

As Paula says, this is a step in the right direction. I'm new to toners and BHA products. In 2 weeks, it helped clear dry patches on my cheeks and is actually working for me as a moisturizer. I simply have better skin texture after using this. I pour a teaspoon in my hands and spread it all over my face and neck (I wasted too much in cotton balls) and after a few mins, I sweep with 2 cotton balls moistened with the lotion, to finish cleaning. Price is good and easy to find in Canada.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
06.15.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  We're thrilled that you've found something that works for you :) Also, The Paula’s Choice Research Team no longer reviews products for Beautypedia, and while The Beautypedia Team is still a part of Paula’s Choice Skincare, what’s new—and you may not yet have known—is that now we have two teams working independently to bring you the best quality reviews, products, and  research-supported expert advice you know and love. One team is dedicated to Beautypedia and product reviews from other brands; the other is dedicated to Paula’s Choice skincare and its unique combination of expertly formulated products and advice on a wide range of beauty-related topics.

—Admin
04.23.2015
Mild Clarifying Lotion by Clinique

I had developed extreme flair ups of rosacea. After trying everything, I started using this product along with the redness solution cleanser. Within 3 days I had amazing results. After 2 months my skin has never been clearer, smoother and my dark spots have faded.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Cheryl K
03.10.2015
Needs More SA

I used this before I started using PC products. While inexpensive in comparison ounce per ounce, this alcohol-free toner lacks the punch of a 2% product. Why can't they make a version w/o the alcohol but with the same formulation of this mild toner at 2% instead of .5% of SA? I cannot use the other versions with the alcohol as I have sensitive skin, but tolerate 2% well. Too bad. Clinique would have a customer in me if they did.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
teethnclaws
02.16.2015
Cleared up my skin

I had been previously using a BHA that seemed to irritate my dry, flaky, acne-prone skin, but once I started using this, oh my what a difference! For the first time in eight years, I could look in the mirror without cringing at all the ugly pimples and flakes. My skin feels smooth and soft, the redness has gone away, and I didn't break the bank buying this!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Jennette H
03.29.2014
Great for Dry, Sensitive Skin

My skin is dry and sensitive, so it's been a real problem for me to find an effective, non-irritating exfoliant. This product meets those requirements perfectly. I use it twice a week, applying with a cotton pad after makeup removal and before cleansing. It makes my skin smooth and more receptive to the skin care products that follow.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
georgia
02.04.2014
Love it because I can't use moisturizer

I suffer from acne prone, yet dehydrated skin. Manual exfoliation just seems to exacerbate the sensitivity of my skin. The same is true with moisturizers, they cause welts, wheals, hives & itchiness. I have yet to find a moisturizer, even in Paula B's line, that doesn't cause irritation. This BHA liquid/toner, moisturizes and clears my fussy skin, without any irritation. I will continue to buy for his long as they make it.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Cary B
09.28.2013
The only Clinique toner worth getting

Because all the other Clinique toners have alcohol, this is the only one to buy. I use prescription Retin-A on my face every other night and this is the perfect toner. When I get the Clinique GWP deals I throw out the included toner (usually #2, way too harsh) and fill the small bottle with this product, perfect for travel. Be sure to shake the bottle before using, it tends to separate just a bit. This is definitely my all time favorite toner.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Dianne W.
09.22.2013
Mild exfoliant, soothing toner

Leaves skin soft and smooth, but not sticky, greasy or dry. Soothing and non-irritating, a mild exfoliant. Probably not very effective for someone who has major acne issues, however for a daily exfoliant for a person with sensitve skin, this is great. I also use it for KP on my arms with great effect, and on elbows when they get dry or callused. Keeps things smooth, relatively affordable. Paula's BHA products are effective but too strong for me for daily use on the face.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Jeremy B.
07.18.2013
Great toner for combo/dry skin

I've been using this toner for over a year and it doesn't disappoint. It removes flakes, calms my skin and helps my foundation look smooth. I use it every morning and I wouldn't consider going a day without it. I have seborrhea and this has been a gift. No irritation, no burning, and no sticky feeling. I don't know how much exfoliation occurs because I still get acne from time to time, but it doesn't matter. The benefits are too great to switch to anything else.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Ellen K
07.14.2013
Mild Clarifying Lotion by Clinique

I have normal/oily and sensitive skin prone to rosacea flareups which are under control with oral med and topical lotions prescribed by my dermatologist. I use Mild Clarifying Toner without any side effects,i.e. dryness or flareups. This is the only toner from Clinique I'd use as it has no alcohol in it, yet containing a BHA in it. I don't know if it really exfoliates that well, but I still think it works well for my skin. It lasts a long time. Just pour some into a cotton ball and apply.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Lil
06.29.2013
Okay

While I love the texture and application, unfortunately results were not very impressive. I still have blackheads and bumps, which is most likely due to the low concentration of salicylic acid. It is very moisturizing though.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Kristin H
01.01.2013

I love this product. I use it as a mild exfoliant. It's not cheap but it lasts for ages as I don't use it everyday.Drys quickly and the rest of skin care can be applied easily.It's the only toner in the clinique range worth considering though.I had no 2 it was a gift with purchase.I HONESTLY though they'd got the products mixed up and it was nail polsih remover.But this mild lotion is good. I've used several bottles now. The packaging is annoying though, often pours out too much , difficult to control.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
bruno
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.405 7/29/2015 2:09:15 AM