12.23.2014
5
6
Pore Refining Solutions Correcting Serum
Rating
1 fl. oz. for $42.50
Category:Skin Care > Serums > Serums
Last Updated:12.23.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

This silky, slightly tinted serum is supposed to clear your pores of the debris that causes them to become enlarged and makes magnifying mirrors your skin’s worst enemy.

Although the formula contains several helpful ingredients (including many antioxidants), the amount of alcohol is cause for concern. Alcohol causes dryness and irritation as well as free-radical damage that hurts your skin’s healing process and ability to become healthier. In testing this product we noted a distinct alcohol scent, which is not good news for those hoping this would make their pore problem vanish.

Another drawback is that the alcohol can stimulate oil production at the base of the pore, leading to more oil, which, you guessed it, prevents pores from becoming smaller.

The salicylic acid this contains is present in an amount too low for exfoliation to occur, plus the pH is too high for it to work as an exfoliant (salicylic acid needs a pH range of 3–4 to be effective).

In the end, despite Clinique’s guarantee of your pores looking 58% smaller, this isn’t a great bet for daily use over the long haul.

Pros:
  • Silky texture and smooth, weightless finish.
  • Contains some good antioxidants.
Cons:
  • Amount of alcohol is cause for concern and gives this serum a medicinal scent.
  • Acetyl glucosamine is not a great stand-in for AHAs or BHA.
  • Amount of salicylic acid (BHA, which really can improve pore size and function) in this serum is too low for it to work as an exfoliant.
  • Some of the antioxidant plant extracts are fragrant, and thus another source of irritation.

More Info:

This product contains acetyl glucosamine, an extract from shellfish or sugar that Clinique maintains can exfoliate. Although there isn’t substantiated research proving otherwise, the research on this ingredient’s ability to exfoliate comes from the Estee Lauder Companies, which own Clinique (Source: Journal of Cosmetic Science, July-August 2009, pages 423–428), so it’s not exactly an impartial source.

When large pores are a concern, AHAs are not as effective as BHA (salicylic acid). That’s because BHA can penetrate the oil buildup that leads to pores getting clogged, and enlarging. Without question, you can see tremendous benefit from daily use of a well-formulated BHA product. But the irritation this Pore Refining Solutions Correcting Serum can cause is not something any skin type should endure. Please see our list of Best BHA Exfoliants.

Claims

Pore Resurfacing Complex quickly, gently clears out debris and rough flakes. Pores ‘snap back’ into shape. In 2 weeks, pores look 58% smaller. Guaranteed. Over time, help skin create stronger supports and healthier cells to see more improvement.

Ingredients

Dimethicone, Water, Polysilicone-11, Alcohol Denat., Acetyl Glucosamine, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Serenoa Serrulata (Saw Palmetto) Fruit Extract, Sigesbeckia Orientalis (St. Paul's Wort) Extract, Salvia Sclarea (Clary) Extract, Sea Whip Extract, Laminaria Saccharina Extract, Caffeine, Pantethine, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, PEG-11 Methyl Ether Dimethicone, Algae Extract, Polysorbate 20, Salicylic Acid, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Tocopheryl Acetate , Caprylyl Glycol, Sodium Hyaluronate, Glycerin, Lecithin, Isohexadecane, Di-C12-18 Alkyl Dimonium Chloride, Polysorbate 80, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Coconut Acid, Padina Pavonica Thallus Extract, Nordihydroguaiaretic Acid, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Copolymer, Acrylamide/Sodium Acryloyldimethyltaurate Copolymer, Silica, Citric Acid, Hexylene Glycol, Ascorbyl Tocopheryl Maleate, Sodium Hydroxide, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides

Brand Overview

Clinique At-A-Glance

Strengths: One of the best selections of state-of-the-art moisturizers and serums loaded with ingredients that research has shown are of great benefit to skin; excellent sunscreens; several Redness Solutions products excel; an outstanding benzoyl peroxide product; good selection of self-tanning products; some very good cleansers and eye makeup removers; some unique mattifying products; a large and wholly impressive selection of foundations, many with reliable sun protection (and shades for darker skin tones); good concealers; some remarkable mascaras; much-improved eyeshadows; loose powder; blush products; some brilliant lipsticks and lip gloss; gel eyeliner; priced lower than most competing department-store lines.

Weaknesses: The three-step skincare routine, because of the bar soaps and irritant-laden clarifying lotions; jar packaging downgrades several otherwise top-notch moisturizers; incomplete routines for those prone to acne; skin-lightening products with either unproven or insufficient levels of lightening agents.

Estee Lauder-owned Clinique's tremendous success (the company's products are sold in over 13,000 department stores and in 110 countries) reshaped the way cosmetics lines identified themselves, sending the concept of line loyalty out to pasture. Today, cosmetics companies expand their market either by buying already established companies or by creating new ones, and Lauder has been adept at doing both. Of course, cosmetics companies keep this multiple-personality identity hidden from the consumer. If the general buying public realized that these apparently different companies were so intertwined with each other, how could they flaunt their independence and claim that their unparalleled formulations are secret or the best? It's hard to think Lauder (or any company) would, even if they could, keep secrets from one branch separate from the others. And as evidenced by the formulary similarities between brands, they don't!

The niche Clinique built launched the concept of cosmetics being "allergy-tested," "hypoallergenic," "100% fragrance-free," and "dermatologist tested." Of those marketing claims the only one with significance is "100% fragrance-free," which, for the most part, Clinique maintains (although it does add some fragrant extracts to a few products). Regarding allergy testing, unless you can see the results, what difference does it make if a product makes that claim? What if the test showed 20% of the women who used it had a sensitizing reaction, dryness, or irritation? Would Clinique highlight this, or is it just easier to default to the generic allergy-tested claim and leave such details out, figuring consumers won't ask for more? 

Moreover, "hypoallergenic" is a term not regulated by the FDA, so any product can use the word without having to substantiate the claim. "Dermatologist tested" is also bogus, because without published test results the term can easily mean nothing more than that a dermatologist picked up the product, looked at the container, and said "This looks good." And what about the dermatologists on Clinique's payroll? How do we know they're not the ones involved in testing, rather than sending the products out for independent, impartial evaluation (though how impartial can any study be that's paid for by the company making the product)?

Clinique declined any participation for this site, which included refusing to send us copies of the allergy studies they maintain have been performed for every product they sell. We find their unwillingness to help odd because, for the most part, we genuinely like most of their products. In fact, more than any other department-store line except Estee Lauder, Clinique is leading the way with cutting-edge, state-of-the-art moisturizers and serums, plus some formidable makeup. They also have their act together for sunscreens and have expanded their decades-old three-step skin-care routine to include water-soluble cleansers instead of bar soap. They also now have a second "Dramatically Different" moisturizer that's well-suited for those with normal to oily skin and FINALLY reformulated their longstanding water-and-wax yellow lotion.

The Clinique consultants, dressed in medical-looking white lab coats (Clinique's image in that sense was ahead of the times given today's plethora of doctor-designed skin-care lines), do their best to speak intelligently about skin-care routines, but for the most part they're trained to sell the products rather than to provide information about what substantiated research has shown about the skin's needs to look and feel its best.

The good news for you is that the chemists behind Clinique's arsenal of products have been keeping up on this exciting information, and formulating superior products in response. We wouldn't blindly and solely bank on Clinique as your skin-care solution, but more than ever what they offer is, despite some far-out claims and problematic products, what epitomizes advanced skin care for all ages. Shop carefully and you'll leave confident that you are purchasing products with solid science, not just marketing hype, behind them.

Turning to makeup, Clinique continues to offer a vast palette of colors and textures, especially in their huge and imposing selection of foundations, many of which feature effective sunscreens. In fact, this category has become the most compelling reason to shop Clinique's makeup collection. Without a doubt the numerous formulas offer something for every skin type and almost every skin color. The shade selection has improved considerably, with more neutrals and a broader range than ever before. You still need to use caution and watch out for peach-toned duds, but for the most part finding a natural-looking match shouldn't be a frustrating experience, and the counter personnel are happy to provide samples.

Although the foundation and powder shades take darker skin tones into account, the blush, eye pencil, and most of the lipstick shades do not. Perhaps that will change in the future, as Clinique beautifully updated their eyeshadow collection with ultra-smooth textures and deeper colors that show up on darker skin.

Compliments are also due for Clinique's updated makeup tester units. They are well-organized, labeled with product name and price, and easily accessible without a salesperson's help. And speaking of salespeople, most of the Clinique consultants we encounter go above and beyond to provide assistance and to answer any questions we had (even if we didn't always agree with their responses). Those white lab coats don't mean medical expertise, but we'll take outstanding customer service over pseudoscience any day!

The bottom line is that, despite a few shortcomings, Clinique is one of the most comprehensive (and comparably affordable) department-store makeup lines, and it is completely understandable why they enjoy such broad appeal.

Note: Clinique is categorized as one that tests on animals because their products are sold in China. Although Clinique does not conduct animal testing for their products sold elsewhere, the Chinese government requires imported cosmetics be tested on animals, so foreign companies retailing there must comply. This requirement is why some brand’s state that they don’t test on animals “unless required by law”. Animal rights organizations consider cosmetic companies retailed in China to be brands that test on animals, and so does the Beautypedia Team.

For more information about Clinique, call (800) 419-4041 or visit www.clinique.com

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment that Paula Begoun, founder of Beautypedia and Paula's Choice Skincare made over 30 years ago-to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
05.14.2014
bad serum for me

I have used this product for over 6 months together with clinique 3step skincare (type3) and my pores remain the same. Instead , my skin becomes dry and look dull and uneven. I am very disappointed with the result. I hv never viewed the ingredients contained. but after I see this rating through google and check the smell, i noticed strong alcohol smell.. I decided to buy skincare only after viewing ur rating.... thanks paula

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
christine
12.22.2013
Definitely poor

I received a good sized sample of this and was able to use it for a couple of weeks. It broke me out, which is strange since it has salicylic acid in it. I stopped using it for a little while and then tried it again to see if it was the culprit behind my breakouts and it definitely was. It did nothing for my pores or skin texture other than cause breakouts. I would not recommend it to anyone.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Meredith R.
12.01.2013
Not for me

While this lotion has a lovely texture and feels nice on, it did NOT reduce the size of my pores (and that was after using it for over a year). I switched to one of Paula's recommended salicylic acid-based products and that did the trick.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Tamie C.
10.30.2013
great

It actually is working for me! I've only been using it a week and have noticed a tremendous differencen pore appearance and size. I was curious to see what ingredients it contained and I stumbled on this review via Googling. I think it should be rated higher than "poor!" I will watch for any negative developments. 10/30/2013

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Kathleen, R
03.24.2013
Pore Refining Solutions Correcting Serum

This pore refining solution really works for me. My pores are smaller and my skin looks smoother. I think it deserves a much higher rating than 'poor'. I would rate it as 'best'.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.392 4/28/2015 11:27:09 AM