12.02.2014
13
1067
Stay Matte Oil-Free Makeup
Rating
$23
Category:Makeup > Sensitive Skin Products
Last Updated:12.02.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

This fragrance-free liquid foundation is oil-free as claimed and contains a beautiful array of silky, lightweight ingredients that won’t make oily skin or oily areas feel slick or look greasy. Its soft, slightly fluid cream texture is easy to blend and provides no less than medium coverage from the get-go. This is not the foundation to pick if you want sheer to light coverage, though we suppose you could mix this with a moisturizer to sheer the results. It finish is absorbent, long-wearing, and noticeably matte—any dry areas will be magnified, so be sure to moisturize those spots first. Ideally, this foundation is tailor-made for skin that’s oily to very oily all over, as those skin types are most likely to be thrilled with how this looks and wears. It does a formidable job keeping excess shine in check, though you may find you need to blot or powder at some point during your day.

The range of shades is extensive, impressive, and mostly warm-toned, so you’ll see more yellow to gold tones than pink or rosy tones. The only shade to avoid is Deep Neutral which is strongly peach. Honey is slightly peach but workable, as is Creamwhip. The darkest shades (Spice, Clove, and Amber) are good for dark skin tones though they’re quite similar. The shade options for very fair skin are limited, but still worth a look. Those with light to tan skin tones will be happiest with the palette.

Claims
Ingredients

Water, Methyl Trimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Neopentyl Glycol Diheptanoate, Dimethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Nylon-12, Silica, Laminaria Saccharina Extract, Salix Alba (Willow Bark) Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Cholesterol, Glycerin, Zinc Stearate, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Caffeine, Lauryl PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Lecithin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone PEG-10/15 Crosspolymer, Tocopheryl Acetate, Phenyl Trimethicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Laureth-7, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Potassium Sorbate, Sorbic Acid, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Triethyl Citrate, Hydroxyapatite, Xanthan Gum, Sodium Chloride, Alcohol, Dipropylene Glycol, Disodium EDTA, Sodium Citrate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Nylon-6, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol. May Contain: Iron Oxides, Titanium Dioxide, Bismuth Oxychloride, Mica

Brand Overview

Clinique At-A-Glance

Strengths: A few excellent moisturizers and serums; excellent sunscreens; very good cleansers and eye makeup removers; unique mattifying products; impressive selection of foundations, good concealers; some remarkable mascaras; much-improved eyeshadows, lip colors and blush formulas.

Weaknesses: Bar soaps (which can clog pores and dull skin); alcohol-based toners; unfortunate choice of jar packaging for antioxidant-loaded moisturizers.

Estee Lauder-owned Clinique launched the concept of cosmetics being "allergy-tested," "hypoallergenic," "100% fragrance-free," and "dermatologist tested." Of those marketing claims, the only one with significance is "100% fragrance-free," which, for the most part, Clinique maintains (although it does add some fragrant extracts to a few products). Unfortunately, terms like “hypoallergenic” and “dermatologist tested” aren’t regulated by the FDA and can mean anything—thus, you still need to rely on the ingredient list to tell you whether their product contains any ingredients with the potential to irritate skin.

That inconvenient fact aside, Clinique is leading the way with cutting-edge, state-of-the-art moisturizers and serums, plus some formidable makeup and more than a few excellent sunscreens. While Clinique has some products that we see as missteps for reasons discussed in their reviews, more than ever, what they offer is quite good (just have realistic expectations, as some of their claims go beyond what their products are capable of).

Turning to makeup, Clinique continues to offer a vast palette of colors and textures, especially with their enormous selection of foundations—many of which feature effective sunscreens. Without a doubt, the numerous formulas offer something for every skin type and almost every skin color—though the blushes, eye makeup and lip colors are frequently not pigmented enough for deeper skin tones.

The bottom line is that, despite a few shortcomings, Clinique is one of the most comprehensive (and comparably affordable) department-store makeup lines, and it is completely understandable why they enjoy such broad appeal.

Note: Clinique is categorized as one that tests on animals because their products are sold in China. Although Clinique does not conduct animal testing for their products sold elsewhere, the Chinese government requires imported cosmetics be tested on animals, so foreign companies retailing there must comply. This requirement is why some brand’s state that they don’t test on animals “unless required by law”. Animal rights organizations consider cosmetic companies retailed in China to be brands that test on animals, and so does the Beautypedia Team.

For more information about Clinique, call (800) 419-4041 or visit www.clinique.com

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
07.26.2015
sucks

my main problem are the shades and not the quality in this one..

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.22.2015
Yes yes yes!

Love LOVE this foundation. I have combination skin that looks good in the morning but gets super shiny in the afternoon. Stay Matte stays put with minimal separation, and of course Clinique comes through with a great range of shades. I also love the convenience of a tube container, and I like that I can apply with a stippling brush; I find that brushes are cleaner and more economical for my sensitive skin than sponges or fingertip application. No spf here, so SPF moisturizer/primer is needed.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
caitlin d.
04.24.2015
Took it back

I had to take this one back. It went on great and looked wonderful for the first 30 minutes but after an hour my face was shiny and it looked like the make up was pooling in my pores. Ick!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Brooke R.
04.24.2015
Surprisingly good.

I have combination skin and usually use a more expensive foundation; however I have been delighted so far by the results. It has a very silky feel and stays on my face which excellent coverage for several hours. When I think of the low price I paid for such quality, I highly recommend it as a daily use foundation. There were two colors that matched my skin tone both look very nice.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Marilyn Dimas
03.13.2015
Finally a great matte foundation

I have very oily skin however, not acne prone. I have tried several liquid foundations (matte included), and have found that I am extremely oily and the makeup looks caked on by the end of the day (only using a little). With this foundation I found the perfect match at the Clinique counter at Macy's. I love the way it looks on my face and it definitely keeps me matte & controls my oil.I use a primer before& that's all (the smell is a little awkward though).

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
L
02.26.2015
unflattering!

It has good coverage but then becomes patchy, and highlights wrinkles and lines around my eyes that I never knew I had.Maybe its because I am applying it over acne treatments and salicylic acid. Good colour match though.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
aimee d.
02.27.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Seriously, isn't that the worst? Great color, but it doesn't perform like you need it to. :P - Nathan

—Admin
12.18.2014
Feels very heavy, unnatural looking

This foundation is NOT matte on me. It has a bit of a shine when it sets that gets worse throughout the day. It doesn't look like my skin, either. I prefer sheer, airy foundations, and this feels super creamy and heavy. I know it's supposed to be the exact opposite...but I'm writing an honest review. If this had more of a gel texture I'd probably like it more. I have to wear this over sunscreen, and it gets greasy from sunscreen. Even on bare skin, it's not matte.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Scarlett A.
12.09.2014
Perfect Foundation for Oily/Combo skin

This is the perfect foundation for me! It has a beautiful matte finish on my oily/combination skin. There are many shades available to ensure you find the perfect shade match. Be sure to go to Sephora to test the product & find the right shade for your skin. It's a medium to full coverage foundation, and looks best when applied with a foundation brush. If you're opting for makeup PERFECTION, use this in combination with the Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer. Your skin will look perfect for hours.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Soledad
08.14.2014
Best Waterproof Foundation

I wore this in Mexico on vacation in the pool and ocean with sunscreen and bare minerals, mineral veil and it lasted all day long! This even lasted after my nap! It did not budge. The colors are pretty good and coverage is perfect. You don't need to apply a lot to get a nice even color on my face. I wish the price was a little lower, but it lasts a long time. I can't decide if this makes my skin breakout slightly or what is going on. I won't use anything else though.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Liz B.
07.12.2014
not so happy

I do not agree. I have oily skin, I put the foundation on very carefully in daylight but after about 2 hours when i look in the mirror I see places on my skin where makeup has vanished, it looks like little stains of make up combined with spots of my own skin. I do not like this. maybe it is just my skin type that doesn't make it work.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
matilda
05.03.2013
Agree with reviews

I agree with both the cosmetic cops and other two reviewers. NOT if you want light coverage, but it does give my oily skin a smooth, nearly flawless appearance and even in the high humidity of Southern Louisiana I can go about 4 - 5 hours before blotting. Unlike many other oil-control foundations I've tried, it never looks chalky, but gives a 'glowing' finish.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
CBS
03.20.2013
works very well for me too

I have been using this product for the winter months for several years - it blends well with a brush or sponge, and the color works well for my skin (neutral 09 shade). A little bit goes a long way - so it lastslong enough that it is a pretty good value overall. Would definately recommend...

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
gigi m.
12.28.2012
Works really well for me.

Finally a foundation that doesn't break me out! I was introduced to this product earlier this summer and I love it. It controls oil for most of the day and goes on really well. What I have found with Clinique is that the make up works for me, but the skin care line does not unfortunately. Everyone's skin is different so ymmv. Overall a great product!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Alicia K.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to Nordstrom.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.405 7/31/2015 4:41:58 AM