11.26.2014
15
1024
Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm
Rating
3.8 fl. oz. for $28.50
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:Yes
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm is a modern-day version of a classic cleansing cream. It contains emollients and plant oil to dissolve makeup, and is capable of removing stubborn or waterproof formulas. This is best for dry to very dry skin or sensitive skin not prone to breakouts.

Claims

Lightweight cleansing balm quickly dissolves tenacious eye and face makeups, including those with sunscreen. Transforms from a solid balm to a silky, fluid oil upon application. Cleans thoroughly, rinses off completely. Non-greasy. Non-drying. For all skin types.

Ingredients

Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Sorbeth-30 Tetraoleate, Polyethylene, PEG-5 Glyceryl Triisostearate, Water, Tocopherol, Phenoxyethanol

Brand Overview

Clinique At-A-Glance

Strengths: A few excellent moisturizers and serums; excellent sunscreens; very good cleansers and eye makeup removers; unique mattifying products; impressive selection of foundations, good concealers; some remarkable mascaras; much-improved eyeshadows, lip colors and blush formulas.

Weaknesses: Bar soaps (which can clog pores and dull skin); alcohol-based toners; unfortunate choice of jar packaging for antioxidant-loaded moisturizers.

Estee Lauder-owned Clinique launched the concept of cosmetics being "allergy-tested," "hypoallergenic," "100% fragrance-free," and "dermatologist tested." Of those marketing claims, the only one with significance is "100% fragrance-free," which, for the most part, Clinique maintains (although it does add some fragrant extracts to a few products). Unfortunately, terms like “hypoallergenic” and “dermatologist tested” aren’t regulated by the FDA and can mean anything—thus, you still need to rely on the ingredient list to tell you whether their product contains any ingredients with the potential to irritate skin.

That inconvenient fact aside, Clinique is leading the way with cutting-edge, state-of-the-art moisturizers and serums, plus some formidable makeup and more than a few excellent sunscreens. While Clinique has some products that we see as missteps for reasons discussed in their reviews, more than ever, what they offer is quite good (just have realistic expectations, as some of their claims go beyond what their products are capable of).

Turning to makeup, Clinique continues to offer a vast palette of colors and textures, especially with their enormous selection of foundations—many of which feature effective sunscreens. Without a doubt, the numerous formulas offer something for every skin type and almost every skin color—though the blushes, eye makeup and lip colors are frequently not pigmented enough for deeper skin tones.

The bottom line is that, despite a few shortcomings, Clinique is one of the most comprehensive (and comparably affordable) department-store makeup lines, and it is completely understandable why they enjoy such broad appeal.

Note: Clinique is categorized as one that tests on animals because their products are sold in China. Although Clinique does not conduct animal testing for their products sold elsewhere, the Chinese government requires imported cosmetics be tested on animals, so foreign companies retailing there must comply. This requirement is why some brand’s state that they don’t test on animals “unless required by law”. Animal rights organizations consider cosmetic companies retailed in China to be brands that test on animals, and so does the Beautypedia Team.

For more information about Clinique, call (800) 419-4041 or visit www.clinique.com

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
08.21.2015
slightly drying

I feel like my dry patchy skin looks even more dry after using this product.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
sarah
07.14.2015
Holy grail here folks...

I adore this cleanser. It removes EVERY trace of makeup including the BEST waterproof mascaras. The benefit is in the facial massage of the product used in conjunction with a warm water rinse with washcloth...heaven!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Aging asian
07.10.2015
Brilliant makeup remover

This balm is fantastic. It takes all my makeup off, even mascara, and its so gentle on my sensitive, rosacea prone skin. It seems expensive, in Ireland at least, at €30 a tub but it lasts for 6 months. It feels very solid but it quickly turns to an oil consistency in your hands. I use this as my first cleanse and remove with tepid water and a face cloth. Then I use the clinique redness solution face wash for my second cleanse. I highly recommend to anyone looking to start using a balm or an oil.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.27.2015
Irritated my eyes

I found the texture of this product to be like coconut oil. It worked great removing my makeup but I couldn't get it to rinse off well, even with a face cloth. The next day my eyes were red and sore. I returned it for a refund.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.21.2015
Awesome!

This stuff is great at taking off even the toughest of makeup. Doesn't clog pores, rinses off great, scent free and non irritating. It's a bit more expensive but it lasts forever!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Kristine C
02.21.2015
No Oily Trace Left Behind

I have acne prone/combo 59 year old skin!! This is the best makeup remover ever made!! It leaves behind no oily residue when rinsed off!! I follow with my PC cleanser and the rest of my PC skincare!! To me the price is worth it as you only need a small amount to do the job!!! I use a small cosmetics spatula to remove the balm from the container. Oily or acne prone skin to not be afraid of this product!!!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Melody N
02.12.2015
This Balm is "The Bomb!"

I love with this cleanser (mostly). No strong fragrance, no stinging. I don't use to remove eye makeup (I use a bi-phase remover). What I don't like: sticking fingers into product. When I mentioned this to my Clinique SA, she gave me a small spatula to use instead. Great for facial massage, so relaxing. I remove with a wet washcloth. Pricey, but lasts a very long time for me, so worth it. Love it during dry, cold weather.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Cathi C.
02.05.2015
Blurred my eyes for over 4 hours

I am still not sure as to why I cannot tolerate this product, and it saddens me because everyone else seems to love it. However, I could not see for over 4 hours (I took off my eye make-up around 6 pm the first night, and by the time I went to bed around 11 pm, my eyes were still heavily blurred. I am experimenting with other brands at the moment.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Shaye W.
12.29.2014
Love this product

I take off my eye makeup first with Neutrogena eye makeup remover. I then work this product on my face and finish off the eye area afterwards. Rub around with some warm water and remove with a nice warm washcloth. I never breakout and my skin feels great. I can't use any other cleanser now and the redness and irritation is completely gone from my cheeks. No more soap for me!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Sandra S
11.26.2014
If I could marry a product, I would marry this

I have sensitive, acne-prone skin and I love this product, don't be afraid to use this if you have acne-prone skin! It's helped clear up my acne without drying my skin out, it's very gentle, and it removes makeup like a dream. I only use it at night and I cleanse twice (once to remove the makeup and the second time to actually clean my skin). The price is worth it in my opinion, I've been using it for close to a year and I've only had to re-purchase it once, it lasts a long time.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Rachel K.
10.18.2014
The hype is warranted!

Perfect for disolving all makeup-even waterproof mascara. A minute or so of emulsifying this over my face/eye area and everything just slides right off! I second cleanse with a PC cleanser and all of my former breakout issues have been resolved. I think Clinique could charge $15 and this would still be a moneymaker for them. No expensive ingredients here, but it does work!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Susie L.
10.17.2014
Best makeup remover for breakout prone skin

I agree with Amanda M. Since I've started using this as my first cleanse, I almost never have breakouts anymore. Don't be afraid of this if you have oily breakout prone skin. I use this as my 1st cleanse in the PM to remove makeup and SPF. I apply it to dry skin, massage and remove with a warm washcloth. I follow up with another hydrating, non foaming cleanser, exfoliating toner, serum, then moisturizer. No scent, spreads easily, removes all traces of makeup. Leaves skin clean and comfortable.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Chantel M
08.08.2014
Easy To Wash Off

Don't be afraid to use this. It rinses off quickly and it doesn't leave grease on your skin. However, I think it's overpriced.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Maria F
03.05.2014
Makeup Remover and Gentle Face Cleanser

I use this balm as my first and second step in my evening skincare routine. I have breakout prone normal/oily skin and this works as both a makeup remover and then a second application as a face cleanser. In fact, taking this gentler approach to cleansing has diminished my breakouts almost entirely.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Amanda M.
07.11.2013
Effective & Gentle, Dissolves Makeup & SPF

No mineral oil and soothing plant extracts and safflower seed oil that effectively removes makeup, dirt, and grime without irritating skin.I have oily acne prone skin but this works great! I apply a small amount to dry skin and massage all over, including my eyes. I remove the balm with a hot washcloth and either use the same balm as a second cleanse or a cream cleanser depending on what my skin wants/needs. If you have oily skin, use at night and make sure to thoroughly remove with washcloth.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Melissa B.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.411 8/30/2015 10:58:14 AM