11.26.2014
14
1651
Turnaround Concentrate Radiance Renewer, All Skin Types (Discontinued)
Rating
1 fl. oz. for $45
Category:Skin Care > AHA Exfoliants
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:No
pH:3.60
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Note: This product has been discontinued, and according to Clinique, replaced by their new Turnaround Revitalizing Serum.

The claims for this product put it in the category of exfoliant, but the formula does more than that, and it’s to your skin’s benefit.The main exfoliant is the polyhydroxy acid (PHA) lactobionic acid. Functionally similar to AHAs (alpha hydroxy acids such as glycolic acid), lactobionic acid’s claim to fame is that it is less potentially sensitizing than AHAs, while better at repairing skin’s barrier function. There is limited research showing that to be the case, so it isn’t a given that lactobionic acid is superior to AHAs or to salicylic acid, a beta hydroxy acid that Clinique includes in other Turnaround products (Sources: Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, March 2010, pages 3–10; and Cutis, February 2004, pages 3–13). Still, it can be a good alternative for those who cannot tolerate AHAs, and it is capable of exfoliating skin when formulated within the correct pH range, which is the case for this Turnaround product!

Going beyond daily exfoliation, this silky, serum-textured product supplies skin with a wide range of antioxidants and skin-repairing ingredients to improve its texture and fight signs of aging. The fragrance-free formula is suitable for all skin types, including sensitive skin. Some of the plant extracts have intriguing research demonstrating efficacy in lightening sun-induced brown spots, but first and foremost this is an exfoliant, which also supplies skin with a good range of beneficial ingredients.

Note: This product contains a small amount of the mineral pigment mica. As such, it leaves a slightly shiny finish that those with oily skin may not like.

Pros:
  • Exfoliates skin with the polyhydroxy acid (PHA) lactobionic acid.
  • Formulated within the correct pH range for exfoliation to occur.
  • Supplies several antioxidants and other skin-repairing ingredients to improve skin’s healthy functioning.
  • Fragrance-free and suitable for all skin types, including sensitive.
Cons:
Claims

Instantly reveals a healthy radiance. Gently replaces dull, worn-out surface cells with livelier, more luminous ones. Then, it optimizes up-and-coming cells to help the best and brightest emerge. So day after day, skin seems to glow from within. Becomes smoother over time.

Ingredients

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Polysilicone-11, Lactobionic Acid, Morus Nigra (Mulberry) Root Extract, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Castanea Sativa (Chestnut) Seed Extract, Salvia Sclarea (Clary) Extract, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Fruit Extract, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Extract, Hordeum Vulgare (Barley) Extract, Laminaria Saccharina Extract, Polygonum Cuspidatum Root Extract, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Extract, Padina Pavonica Thallus Extract, Saccharomyces Lysate Extract, Acetyl Glucosamine, Caffeine, Cholesterol, Squalane, Pantethine, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Salicylic Acid, Glycerin, Ethylhexyl Glycerin, DI-C12-18 Alkyl Dimonium Chloride, Polysorbate 20, Isohexadecane, Butylene Glycol, Caprylyl Glycol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Polysorbate 80, Sodium Hyaluronate, Acrylamide/Sodium Acryloyldimethyltaurate Copolymer, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Copolymer, Glycyrrhetinic Acid, Sodium Hydroxide, Hexylene Glycol, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Mica

Brand Overview

Clinique At-A-Glance

Strengths: A few excellent moisturizers and serums; excellent sunscreens; very good cleansers and eye makeup removers; unique mattifying products; impressive selection of foundations, good concealers; some remarkable mascaras; much-improved eyeshadows, lip colors and blush formulas.

Weaknesses: Bar soaps (which can clog pores and dull skin); alcohol-based toners; unfortunate choice of jar packaging for antioxidant-loaded moisturizers.

Estee Lauder-owned Clinique launched the concept of cosmetics being "allergy-tested," "hypoallergenic," "100% fragrance-free," and "dermatologist tested." Of those marketing claims, the only one with significance is "100% fragrance-free," which, for the most part, Clinique maintains (although it does add some fragrant extracts to a few products). Unfortunately, terms like “hypoallergenic” and “dermatologist tested” aren’t regulated by the FDA and can mean anything—thus, you still need to rely on the ingredient list to tell you whether their product contains any ingredients with the potential to irritate skin.

That inconvenient fact aside, Clinique is leading the way with cutting-edge, state-of-the-art moisturizers and serums, plus some formidable makeup and more than a few excellent sunscreens. While Clinique has some products that we see as missteps for reasons discussed in their reviews, more than ever, what they offer is quite good (just have realistic expectations, as some of their claims go beyond what their products are capable of).

Turning to makeup, Clinique continues to offer a vast palette of colors and textures, especially with their enormous selection of foundations—many of which feature effective sunscreens. Without a doubt, the numerous formulas offer something for every skin type and almost every skin color—though the blushes, eye makeup and lip colors are frequently not pigmented enough for deeper skin tones.

The bottom line is that, despite a few shortcomings, Clinique is one of the most comprehensive (and comparably affordable) department-store makeup lines, and it is completely understandable why they enjoy such broad appeal.

Note: Clinique is categorized as one that tests on animals because their products are sold in China. Although Clinique does not conduct animal testing for their products sold elsewhere, the Chinese government requires imported cosmetics be tested on animals, so foreign companies retailing there must comply. This requirement is why some brand’s state that they don’t test on animals “unless required by law”. Animal rights organizations consider cosmetic companies retailed in China to be brands that test on animals, and so does the Beautypedia Team.

For more information about Clinique, call (800) 419-4041 or visit www.clinique.com

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
07.01.2015
Interesting review

I've read a lot of reviews on this site and somehow "all" products are so "bad" and the general recommendation is to buy guess what Paula's choice bla bla bla Isn't that more then strange! And i am so curious if this comment will be published.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
07.13.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there! Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts. You may be having trouble finding the Best-Rated Sections of Beautypedia, where you can find the hundreds (and hundreds) of products rated well and highly recommended from all brands. I'm unsure about your comment here, as it was made on a product that was rated four-stars and highly recommended! Anywhoo, thanks again for sharing your thoughts and please let us know if you have any additional questions. - Nathan

—Admin
06.03.2015
Pimples....

I bought this after reading good reviews but after using it for a week , I broke out in pimples all over my face. Went back to the store where I bought it from and returned it. The lady at the counter told me that this product might be too concentrated for my skin to cause pimples.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Ayman.Za
05.27.2015
concentrate vs serum

I usually brought turn around concentrate which I loved. I miss placed it so went to buy another one, which is now sold as serum. Then I found my concentrate. I compared the two textures, smells, and performance. The serum is thicker, greasier, and stickier than the concentrate. The serum doesn't have much of a smell, while the concentrate does. I also prefer the concentrate because I see faster, and stronger results which I guess is because of its thinness and ability to infiltrate the pores.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Olivia C.
04.23.2015
Ahh!! They reformulated!! Whyyy?!! :(

Could you please do an updated review on the new reformulation? It's now called Turnaround "Revitalizing Serum" & I just picked it up today bc I've been out of it for awhile now & when I used it when I got home, it felt totally different on the skin! Could you guys look into this & update your review please? Also could we hear some thoughts on the new products in the Turnaround line?(The Revitalizing Treatment Oil & the Daytime Moisturizer) I hope Clinique didn't ruin one of thier best products!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Shawna T.
05.14.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  We are in the process of reviewing the updated serum as well as a few other Turnaround products right now, so check back over the next few weeks :)

—Admin
04.05.2015
Allergy

Gave me severe allergy, red face and eyes:( so sad

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Svetlana N.
04.04.2015
Excellent for super sensitive skin

makes my face glowing, smooth, calm, even toned??????????????????????

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Tracy
04.04.2015
Excellent for super sensitive skin

makes my face glowing, smooth, calm, even toned??????????????????????

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Tracy
03.20.2015
Worth every cent

Silky texture with great results on my blemishes

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Carolyn
02.09.2015
on point

This keeps my oily cystic prone skin smooth and matte and works well with other products. It does not roll off when I layer my products

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Pamela M.
11.11.2014
Love it!

I am absolutely addicted to this fantastic serum. It feels fabulous and really works. I believe it's also a great to soothe skin in between using stronger exfoliate. I use Paula's Clinical 1% Retinol three days on and use this pfor the next two days for less peeling . I love the consistency and light feeling compared to Paula's serums. It maybe a little more expensive but it's lightweight, great under sunscreen and foundation plus no more milia under my eyes!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
JENNIFER B.
12.17.2013
Wonderful

This was fantastic. I had never tried a chemical exfoliant befire, but after reading Paula's book I realized the importance of using one. My skin felt great, the pores looked smaller and there was a radiance that I had not seen before! I could also tell it was helping my anti-acne treatment work better. I highly recommend this product. I wish Clinique had not discontinued their BHA products as there are so few good BHA products to choose from.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Meredith R.
12.01.2013
One of Clinique's best

This is a gentle, non-irritating exfoliant that left my skin smoother with smaller pores and a radiance that I've often read about and never experienced until using this product. I've started rotating its use with that of a salicylic-based exfoliant (one of Paula's recommendations) that reduced my pore size even more but it is a bit harsh to use twice a day. It is pricey but at least you get results!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Tamie C.
10.03.2013
Awesome!!!

This is the most silkiest serum I have ever tried. I use it over the Laser focus serum day and night. So many exfoliants are too harsh burning or stinging the skin. This one is very gentle. It makes your skin smooth as a babies butt. Anyone wanting a gentle esfoliant, give this a try!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Jackie C.
01.27.2013
A must have

Clinique did a poor job of describing this product (they should have referred to Paula's description instead). I bought this about two months ago and was skeptical at first, because of the vague product description. What a difference it has made!!! My skin is smoother, more radiant, my foundation just glides on .... Better yet, there are days I can get away without even wearing foundation! I apply this before my sunscreen. I am post menopause meaning my skin can be dry-dry to combi ation on any given day. I have sensitive skin. And, YES! This is an excellent product that I will continue to buy.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Jhlcomp
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.405 7/29/2015 11:05:31 AM