Outlast Stay Fabulous 3 in 1 Foundation SPF 20

by CoverGirl   
Price:
$12.99 
Poor Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Makeup > Foundations With Sunscreen > Liquid Foundation w/ Sunscreen
Last Updated:
11/26/2013
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

Outlast Stay Fabulous 3 in 1 Foundation claims to offer the "lasting power of a primer, coverage of a concealer, and blendability of a foundation." That sounds great, but this product won't replace your primer or concealer, and it isn't a foundation worth recommending either.

It loses major points for not containing sufficient ingredients for broad-spectrum sun protection, which is critical for anti-aging benefit (see More Info), so that automatically means you'll need to pair this with a more reliable form of sun protection.

As for this functioning as a primer, it contains the same types of ingredients CoverGirl includes in most of their other foundations, so there's really nothing special about it. Furthermore, despite what you may have heard, primers aren't necessary for successful makeup application. You can get the same results, and treat your skin to anti-aging ingredients, by applying a well-formulated serum.

Otherwise, this basic liquid formula is easy to blend and offers sheer to medium coverage (not what we would equate to concealer-like coverage as they promise).

The shades will cover a wide range of light to deep skin tones, but most of the light to medium colors suffer from pinkish undertones. The matte-finish formula is great for normal to oily skin types and does hold up throughout the day, but this is not a foundation we can recommend either for sun protection or for a unique way to get the benefits of three products from one.

The formula contains fragrance in the form of ethylene brassylate, but at such a low amount it is not likely to be irritating.

Pros:
  • Extensive shade range.
  • Matte finish holds up well throughout the day.
Cons:
  • Doesn't provide sufficient broad-spectrum sun protection.
  • Some of the light to medium shades have an unflattering pinkish tone.
  • Doesn't live up to the "3 in 1" claims.
More Info:

Outlast Stay Fabulous 3 in 1 Foundation SPF 20 does not include the ingredients needed to shield your skin from the sun's entire range of damaging UVA rays, which is essential for anti-aging benefits. Any SPF-rated product should contain one or more of the following UVA-protecting ingredients listed as "active": avobenzone, titanium dioxide, zinc oxide, Mexoryl SX (ecamsule), or Tinosorb (Sources: Photochemical and Photobiological Sciences, December 2011, pages 81–90; Cosmetic Dermatology, Second Edition, Baumann, Leslie MD, McGraw Hill, 2009, pages 246–252; American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, Supplement, 2009, pages 19–24; The Encyclopedia of Ultraviolet Filters, Shaath, Nadim A., Allured Publishing, 2007; and Photodermatology, Photoimmunology, and Photomedicine, October 2003, pages 242–253).

All-in-one foundation with a long-lasting formula that fuses primer, concealer, and foundation in one easy step! The 3-in-1 formula provides a flawless look that lasts all day long.

Active: Ensulizole (3%). Other: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Propylene Glycol, Talc, Dimethicone, Aluminum Starch, Octenylsuccinate, Sodium Chloride, PEG/PPG-18, PVP, Benzyl Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Hydroxide, Ethylene Brassylate, Copolymer, Trihydroxystearin, Arachidyl Behenate, Methicone, Silica, Synthetic Wax, Sodium Benzoate, Hexyl Laurate, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Isopropyl Titanium Triisostearate, Ethylene Brassylate, Behenic Acid, Polyethylene, Iron Oxides, Titanium Dioxide

Since 1961, CoverGirl has been slowly building a portfolio of cosmetics that today is about as all-encompassing as a makeup line can be. Originating from the same "medicated" ingredients found in Noxzema Skin Cream (which was never medicated in the least, but seriously irritating for skin), the debut products are still available, albeit with slight modifications. The good news is that for the past several years CoverGirl has consistently updated their line with some very impressive products, especially their foundations, concealers, and vastly improved pressed powders. They also offer some excellent eye and lip pencils, lipsticks and lip gloss, and one of the all-time best long-wearing lip paints, Outlast.

What's puzzling is that although many of CoverGirl's latest products are progressive, they tend to hang on to the lackluster-to-poor options, including abysmal powder blush and eyeshadows and their long-standing, very irritating Clean Makeup. These items may be part of CoverGirl's humble beginnings, but you certainly don't see parent company Proctor & Gamble adding eucalyptus oil and menthol to their Olay products or to products of any of the other cosmetics companies they own. If those ingredients were so important, why not use them everywhere? Needless to say, the great products outnumber the disappointments, and the prices make it easy for those on a budget to be beautiful and enjoy some state-of-the-art products, provided they shop wisely.

CoverGirl's Web site is extremely easy to navigate, and presents a wealth of product information, along with practical (if somewhat cutesy) tips and tricks for successful makeup application and for finding the shades that work best for you. CoverGirl's consumer relations department is consistently helpful if you have any questions or concerns. For example, if one of your favorite items was discontinued, you might want to know what replaced it, and they will let you know. Such service and customer concern is yet another powerful reason to believe CoverGirl really has its (class) act together.

For more information about CoverGirl, owned by Procter & Gamble, call (800) 426-8374 or visit the Web site at www.covergirl.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Giselle H.
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 24, 2014
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Ehhh
    • This foundation is just ok. I don't like it but I don't hate it. I've always had massive trouble trying to find the right color of foundation but this comes out orange-y after you apply it. I mix it with moisturizer (a lot of moisturizer) to try to get the color to lighten up a bit, but it doesn't seem to work too well. It does go on a bit cakey too. I have oily skin, THIS IS NOT FOR OILY SKIN! If you don't use a powder this will make you oily. Make sure you research this before buying it.

  2. Dawn V.
    Reviewed on Monday, February 10, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Breakout
    • Classic Ivory was a perfect match but caused me to breakout. Not good for dry or flaky skin. .

  3. Elissa S.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 22, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    HIGHLY disagree with the "Poor" rating. This has become my favorite foundation!
    • I don't depend on makeup to act as my only source of sun protection, so I don't mind having to layer this over my sunscreen. Coverage is buildable, depending on your method of application, and it dries to a natural matte finish (great for combination or oily skin). As a woman of color, I'm glad that it's available in a great range of shades. I don't use primer, so I can't comment on the built-in primer claim, but I do notice that I need less concealer when I use this. The price is great, too!

  4. Deb F
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 16, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Biased Review by PC
    • I don't know why PChoice would slam this product. ( I never leave reviews, but am irratated that she would slam a great foundation) It's getting rave review from all other sites and magazines/blogs. I found out about it on the Gala Darling Blog.. If I wouldn't have read Gala's review I wouldn't have tried a drugstore brand. It's outstanding. Amazing coverage.

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Monday, November 18, 2013

    Hi, and thanks for your comments. The reason we rated this so low is because it advertises that it provides broad spectrum sunscreen protection, which it cannot do because it does not contain the ingredients to do so.

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  5. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 02, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    BEST FOUNDATION I HAVE EVER USED
    • i AM GOING TO BE 80 YRS OLD IN APRIL 2014. HAD HAD EXPERIENCE WITH HUNDREDS OF FOUNDATIONS, INEXPENSIVE AND VERY PRICEY. RECENTLY WAS COMPLEMENTED ON HOW GREAT AND PORELESS MY COMPLEXION LOOKS. I WEAR OUTLAST FABULOUS BY COVER GIRL. POWDER TO SET SUNSCREEN UNDER AND GOOD TO GO. HIGHLY DISAGREE WITH YOUR POOR RATING

  6. ChristineL
    Reviewed on Friday, October 25, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Disagree with Poor Rating
    • This is the first liquid foundation that I have ever really liked. I have old acne scars and uneven texture to contend with and all previous liquid foundations that I have tried (including and most especially Revlon Colorstay) made my skin look mask-like and one dimensional and really made me conscious that I was wearing foundation because of it's heaviness on my skin. Covergirl Outlast imparts the most beautiful diffused finish on my oily, large pored skin, that last all day. My new fave!

  7. Allison B
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 23, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Had to write my first review- strongly disagree with Beautypedia
    • I felt compelled to write my very first review here because of the POOR rating this was given. I can only say that I was shocked that this received a poor rating. This foundation is absolutely amazing on my oily skin. It may not be best for dry skin but on my oily skin it mattifies beautifully and has great staying power. It covers all if my acne scars and redness with one layer, although two layers still doesn't look cakey or unnatural . I think this is comparable to a high end foundation.

  8. Christine
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 20, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Disagree with Beautypedia
    • I generally will agree with the reviews posted here, but I think it is completely unfair to give it a "Poor" rating simply due to the fact that it does not contain adequate sun protection. This foundation performs exactly as it claims -- lasts the entire day, even on my oily skin, gives beautiful coverage (I have redness, acne scarring, and broken capillaries to cover), and primer isn't required to make this last. A rare drugstore gem, comparable to Revlon Colorstay!

  9. Tiffany L.
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 17, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    First time disagreeing with Beautypedia
    • This foundation is one of the best ones I've tried in the drugstore. I find that it is matte, full-coverage, and the finish is beautiful. I even find that it lasts all day- the staying power is almost comparable to the beloved "best product" Revlon Colorstay! This product has so many rave reviews from others as well. Try it out- it's not too expensive so you don't have too much to lose.

  10. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 13, 2013
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Best for oily skin
    • I purchased this product before the review was out, based on good experiences with other Cover Girl foundations. I find this foundation far too matte looking for my normal-to-dry skin. It would probably be best for someone with oily skin, although I can't say that I know for sure as I've never had oily skin in my life, not even as a teenager. If you are switching to this foundation from another Cover Girl product, be aware that the shades are slightly different even when the name is the same. I found this one to be slightly darker than Advanced Radiance, and quite a bit darker than Clean Makeup Sensitive (having picked the same shade for all three). The texture of this foundation is quite liquidy, which I don't like as much as a creamy texture, but the coverage was still good. I would say the coverage is medium to full, and that it has more coverage than both Advanced Radiance and Clean Makeup Sensitive. I would have liked this product better if it had a creamier texture going on and if it had less of a matte finish.

  11. Whitakra
    Reviewed on Monday, February 04, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Completely disagree
    • As for the sunscreen issue, I think that Paula's team hit the nail on the head - it certainly doesn't have enough in it to merit not wearing a heavy duty sunscreen underneath. However, I completely disagree with the primer/concealer comments. I have never had a foundation (from the god-awful expensive all the way down to Physician's Formula) that covered quite like this one does. I do not need a concealer with a light second coat of this product, and my annoying forehead crease virtually disappears. I assume that some of you have actually WORN the product? Have you skipped over to Makeup Alley to see how many people would completely dispute the claim that it doesn't cover well? My verdict? Unless you are trying to cover dark, DARK spots or some major pigmentation, the foundation WILL cover what you need in the right shade. As for primer? The poreless look isn't my thing, but I am loving how smooth my face looks with this. Foundations that cost four times as much (I am look at your, Guerlain) couldn't compete.

  12. NHarb
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 30, 2013
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Will Not Purchase Again
    • I hated this foundation. It was cakey or "maskey" looking on me, and by the end of the day, splotchy too! Will not ever purchase again - waste of money.

  13. jen
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 19, 2013
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    Works for me
    • Regardless of the claims of the 3 in 1, I only use this as foundation, not as a primer or sunscreen. I use separate items for anti-aging and primer. As only reviewing it as a foundation, it works really well for this purpose. I use Ivory and I am NW15 on MACs scale. There is some pink tone to this color, however, I am pink undertoned anyway. I find it to have medium coverage and you can build it rather well. Thank you CG for a pump bottle. One pump covers the whole face with extra left over to cover red spots. I set with a powder because I am oily. I have had no issues of the foundation sliding off and the color stays true all day. To me this foundation works very much like Laura Mercier Smooth in the jar but is more hygienic and costs much less.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.344 10/22/2014 10:52:21 AM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.