12.02.2014
23
677
Bombshell Volume by LashBlast
Rating
$11.99
Category:Makeup > Mascaras (regular) > Regular Mascara
Last Updated:12.02.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Initially we were impressed by this two-step mascara for the bold, thick lashes it delivers, but extended use revealed it’s not without its faults… and judging by the member comments many of you feel the same way. We’ll get to that in a minute, but first let’s chat about how to use Bombshell Volume mascara.

Step 1 is the mascara, Extreme Volume Basecoat. Fans of the original LashBlast Mascara (the one in the orange tube) will find that the mascara portion of Bombshell Volume has a rubber-bristle brush and application that produces nearly identical results. That means with a few coats you'll get long, thickened, and separated lashes with minimal to no clumping.

You could stop after step 1 and be perfectly happy with how your lashes look, but if you want to go for a dramatic, false lash–like effect, simply take step 2, Intensifying Top Coat. This goes on with a nylon-bristle mascara brush, but its formula is thinner than traditional mascara and the color is richer. The top coat applies smoothly, darkening and lengthening already pumped-up lashes to an impressive degree.

Once step 2 sets, Bombshell Volume wears all day, without smearing or flaking, but it isn’t completely worry-free. Why? The major issue we faced with this mascara, is that it’s extremely difficult to remove, even when using an oil- or silicone-based remover. This stems from the Step 2 lacquer-like coating. All the extra tugging and wiping to get this mascara off is not only annoying, but it also isn’t a good idea for the delicate skin around the eyes, as it can encourage sagging skin and may even cause you to loose a few lashes along the way. If you’re going to give this mascara a go, you’ll need several attempts to remove it completely with either a pure oil (like mineral oil) or that combined with a silicone-based makeup remover designed to remove long-wearing makeup. The effort it takes to remove this mascara when step 2 is applied (step 1 alone comes off easily) is why we downgraded this mascara from it's original "BEST" rating.

Pros:
  • Allows you to create two distinctive, captivating looks!
  • With topcoat applied, the effect can be akin to false eyelashes.
  • Once set, you can count on smear-free, flake-proof wear.
Cons:
  • Requires extra effort with makeup remover to make sure it's all off.
Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

CoverGirl At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive and widely available; a hugely improved selection of foundations, several with reliable sunscreen; good concealers; enviable pressed powders; some fantastic Lash Blast mascaras; mostly great eyelining options; a vast selection of lip color options, from the long-wearing Outlast to sheer lip glosses to the wholly impressive Lip Perfection lipstick; several great options in the Queen Collection.

Weaknesses: The older foundations are seriously lacking; the newer Advanced Radiance foundation has great texture but disappointing SPF rating; powder blush and eyeshadows; terrible makeup brushes; all of the "Clean" products contain irritating ingredients.

Since 1961, CoverGirl has been slowly building a portfolio of cosmetics that today is about as all-encompassing as a makeup line can be. Originating from the same "medicated" ingredients found in Noxzema Skin Cream (which was never medicated in the least, but seriously irritating for skin), the debut products are still available, albeit with slight modifications. The good news is that for the past several years CoverGirl has consistently updated their line with some very impressive products, especially their foundations, concealers, and vastly improved pressed powders. They also offer some excellent eye and lip pencils, lipsticks and lip gloss, and one of the all-time best long-wearing lip paints, Outlast.

What's puzzling is that although many of CoverGirl's latest products are progressive, they tend to hang on to the lackluster-to-poor options, including abysmal powder blush and eyeshadows and their long-standing, very irritating Clean Makeup. These items may be part of CoverGirl's humble beginnings, but you certainly don't see parent company Proctor & Gamble adding eucalyptus oil and menthol to their Olay products or to products of any of the other cosmetics companies they own. If those ingredients were so important, why not use them everywhere? Needless to say, the great products outnumber the disappointments, and the prices make it easy for those on a budget to be beautiful and enjoy some state-of-the-art products, provided they shop wisely.

CoverGirl's Web site is extremely easy to navigate, and presents a wealth of product information, along with practical (if somewhat cutesy) tips and tricks for successful makeup application and for finding the shades that work best for you. CoverGirl's consumer relations department is consistently helpful if you have any questions or concerns. For example, if one of your favorite items was discontinued, you might want to know what replaced it, and they will let you know. Such service and customer concern is yet another powerful reason to believe CoverGirl really has its (class) act together.

For more information about CoverGirl, owned by Procter & Gamble, call (800) 426-8374 or visit the Web site at www.covergirl.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
04.29.2015
Too hard to remove

This was way too hard to remove, even with Neutrogena eye make-up remover--so not worth the bother!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Lyn T
04.14.2015
omg!

I can't get it off!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
jennifer m
10.20.2014
A lot of work but good results

Unlike others, I have had no problem removing this mascara with regular eye makeup remover. I have to admit the two-sided deal does result in dramatic, nicely feathered lashes. However, I hate the size of this mascara. It's HUGE. And yet the wands are far too short and make application trickier than it needs to be. The results are nice but it's a lot of work to get there. For $10, you could do worse.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Laura H.
10.18.2014
Frustrating!

It has awesome results on the top lashes. It's a mess for bottom lashes. It's like I have to use 3 mascaras. The 1st coat, the second coat, then a different tube all together for the bottom lashes. It tends to smear somewhere around your eyes and it's VERY difficult to remove. Worst of all you really can't ever get this mascara off. Even with make-up remover, washing your face twice and again in the morning, you'll still have to again use more make-up remover in the morning.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
KW
10.11.2014
Threw out after one use

I cannot stress strongly enough how much I detested this mascara and the damage it did to my eyelashes trying to get it off. While it went on easily enough and made my lashes dark and full, the removal process was that bad that I would never use or purchase it again. It is not just a matter of having to use eye makeup remover rather than soap and water. I literally had to scrub and pull over and over to get this stuff off pulling out a few lashes. My recommendation - avoid at all costs.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Diane
08.20.2014
In love with this mascara

I can't believe all the negative reviews. I thought that I had my holy grail mascara still I started using the Bombshell mascara. It's become my # 1 - been using it for a few months and have already repurchased. And yes, I need a eye makeup remover to get it off.. but I needed to use remover with my previous mascara as well.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
TC
08.09.2014
Chic Day to Fabulous Night

I personally feel this is a great mascara and very comparable to some of Lancome's waterproof options. The removal does require a little more attention than some other mascaras but for the price and wear its well worth it. I can get this mascara off in a minute (being generous here) but using a cotton disc and cutting in half and saturating it with Bioderma or Maybelline Clean Express Waterproof Eye Makeup Remover it comes off easily after letting it soak in and break down the product.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Zoe D
08.01.2014
Wears well, but irritates my eyes

I only used the #1 side, so can't comment on the #2 formula. The brush is bulky and the tube design is cumbersome. It did not smear (a huge problem for me having oily skin) or flake and provided good length & volume. However, a couple hours after putting on just my top lashes, my eyes are bloodshot and my lower lids are puffy. I look like I was up crying all night. This will have to be returned to the store.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Tracy S.
06.21.2014
Nothing Special

I have to concur with most of the reviews. This mascara was okay, but didn't do anything special compared to other mascaras. My main problem is the packaging. The double ended tube is ridiculously large and the wands are short, and I found it difficult to apply, especially to the opposite eye. Being right-handed, applying to my left eye was particularly difficult as the tube kept hitting the bridge of my nose. Even using a makeup remover, I had difficulty thoroughly removing it.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Elizabeth O.
06.18.2014
It's okay

Cons - both wands are short; tube is really wide; makes it hard to get to the corners of my eyes; 2nd formula makes lashes brittle. Pros - 1st formula does separate and thickens lashes nicely; 2nd formula gives the extra "omph" but I find this "liquidy" formula somewhat cancels out the separation the 1st formula gave me. Effectively waterproof with the 2nd formula; if you have problems keeping a curl, the 2nd formula will help you do that since your lashes become pretty hard.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Mel
06.10.2014
Good, but difficult to remove

I like the results of this mascara, but find that it is difficult and time consuming to remove. I will use this mascara again for night functions or sometime I want to have very dramatic lashes, but I'm going to give the Lashblast Volume a try since the review leads me to believe it's easier to remove. I just don't have the time to spend removing this makeup with a toddler.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Amelia
06.09.2014
Horrible

This is a horrible mascara. Even if you can get this for free, don't get it, it just doesn't work. Sorry but that's the truth.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Giselle
04.28.2014
High Expectations, Disappointing Results

I bought this mascara with high hopes especially after your site gave it such a rating despite consumer reviews. I did not get any bombshell eyelashes. At all. I get much, much better results with my regular LashBlast (orange) mascara. This mascara dries way too fast to even try to work in the second step. My lashes started sticking and clumping because of the quick drying formula. I tried and tried to work with this mascara but it is a big let down.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.04.2014
WHY GIVE THIS AN AWARD?! MAJORITY SAYS NO!

I haven't tried this and based on the reviews I don't want to. I know someone from PC had a great experience with it, but I can't believe it (and Revlon Colorstay) was chosen as one of the top 5 BEST OF THE BEST mascaras when 9 out of 9 reviewers would not recommend it. A few might like the results, but when it doesn't come off with w/p eye makeup remover, overall it's not a great mascara. Please consider the majority of others' reviews and contradictions (clumps, flakes) before giving an award.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Tasha P.
04.24.2014
Beautypedia Team Response

Thanks for your feeback! This 2-step mascara has proven polarizing, but we stand by our review. It ranks among CoverGirl's best mascaras even if you only apply step 1. The Topcoat takes this over the top if you really want a lot of lash enhancement, but the tradeoff is it's difficult to remove. We respectfully disagree that if a mascara needs a makeup remover to be taken off that it's undeserving of a good rating. MANY mascaras require a makeup remover, including pretty much every waterproof formula you can think of. We found this mascara came off completely with a silicone-in-water makeup remover. We used Paula's Choice Gentle Touch Makeup Remover, but Clinique, L'Oreal, Lancome, Almay, and Neutrogena offer such removers, too!

—Admin
03.01.2014
Hate This!

Hate double ended mascaras! Especially this one! So big and cumbersome!!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.22.2014
It's not coming off any time soon.

Pro's : The price point is ok. The concept of a double ended, 2 step mascara is good. It will not smear throughout the day or flake, kind of. It's very black and long wearing.... Con's: ......but it doesn't come off! I have never had any makeup that my cleanser didn't remove - including mascara. This was the first time I have ever had mascara on my lashes that took DAYS to come off. Even with eye makeup remover. And it seems like once you 'break the seal' THEN it flakes like crazy.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Jen
02.13.2014
Terrible with Contact Lenses

This does create great lashes and the price is right, but I have lost two contact lenses by wearing it! Once it gets on a lens, that's it! There's no getting it off. I thought something was wrong with my eye twice as it was very irritating and I had to take out a contact while watching a movie in a theater! Too bad as you can get long lashes with it. I wish there was an ingredient list for it which I didn't find on the website.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Jill
02.09.2014
Frustrating!

Paula is right, this mascara does give really nice results. The reason I rated it so poorly was the removal factor. This is IMPOSSIBLE to get off. It is on your eyelashes like cement! The pro to this is that it will not flake or run throughout the day, the con is that even with great eye make up remover you can't get it all off. I end up waking up the next morning with irritated eyes. So disappointing!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Nicole, H
01.31.2014
Packaging Horrible

In my opinion, double ended mascaras are so cumbersome to use, especially the way it is packaged. BIG AND AWKWARD TO USE.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
01.26.2014
Be prepared...IMPOSSIBLE to remove!!!

I was not displeased with the way this product made my lashes look, but getting it off is next to impossible! I tried 3 different eye makeup removers, including Paula's, and it didn't budge. I had to let the remover soaked pads sit on my lashes, wash and repeat the next morning. My eyelashes stuck to my curler even with 2 attempts at removing this cement. I STILL have a clump on my left lashes from 2 days ago! I've never even had a waterproof mascara that was this difficulty to remove!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
JESSICA S.
01.22.2014
avoid this if you have short lashes

This is clumpy, lumpy and adds no volume at all - just spidery lashes that stick together. I have short lashes and small eyes - this mascara did nothing to enhance them all. It flakes all over the place yet is difficult to remove. I don't get this product at all, and also the packaging is bulky and tacky. Used it twice and don't ever want to go near it again. This may be the worst CoverGirl mascara I have ever had the misfortune to use.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
C
01.16.2014
Couldn't wait to take it off!

I don't often disagree with the review team but I have to say I hated this mascara. I found it to be itchy, clumpy and as reported, very, very difficult to take off. I tried it 2x because I thought maybe I hadn't applied if well the 1st time. If I spent 5 minutes combing through the clumps, I guess maybe it did make my eyelashes look nice but it still seemed to irritate my eyes. it's going back!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
EMILY
01.13.2014
Beware of removing this!!

This was a nice idea to add a "base" coat to the other side of the wand. I was thinking how nice to not have to spend $24 on the Lancôme cils booster I've been using for years. This mascara did give nice looking results. However, I COULD NOT GET THIS STUFF OFF!! I even tried my BEST remover by Lancôme. this morning there was still so much clinging to my lashes that would not budge. I pulled a few lashes and gave up, putting on my cils booster on TOP of the leftovers. Returning this :(

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Linda R.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to drugstore.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.394 5/26/2015 11:08:53 PM