03.17.2015
14
11
CoverGirl & Olay Simply Ageless Foundation SPF 22
Rating
$13.99
Category:Makeup > Foundations With Sunscreen > Cream Foundation w/ Suncreen
Last Updated:03.17.2015
Jar Packaging:Yes
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

CoverGirl & Olay Simply Ageless Foundation SPF 22 is supposed to combine the benefits of Olay Regenerist Serum in a foundation with sunscreen. The claim is that it can stay suspended above wrinkles, covering them evenly without seeping into lines and not clogging pores. Well, don't count on it. The only two redeeming qualities of this foundation are (1) the spokesperson is Ellen DeGeneres (though clearly she's being paid a lot of money for this endorsement, and we doubt that she could possibly believe this product has any merit) and (2) the sponge that's included in the packaging is good for blending. Seriously, that's it, it's all downhill from there. This cream foundation blended with Olay Regenerist serum is all gimmick and hype. The creamy texture is difficult to blend, even with the included sponge, feels greasy on the skin, and sets easily into lines and wrinkles, leaving your face with a heavy and cakey made-up look. CoverGirl & Olay Simply Ageless Foundation SPF 22 isn't recommended for any skin type.

Claims

Infused with Olay Regenerist Serum and SPF 22, Simply Ageless Foundation stays suspended over fine lines and wrinkles, unlike the leading anti-aging department store foundation that can gather in wrinkles and make skin look older. Clinically shown to provide significant improvement in skin condition in just four weeks.

Ingredients

Active: Titanium Dioxide (4.9%), Other: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Talc, Butylene Glycol, Niacinamide, Euphorbia Cerifera Wax (Candelilla), Isotridecyl Isononanoate, Ozokerite, Acetyl Glucosamine, Silica, PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Sorbitan Isostearate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Dimethicone, Methicone, Panthenol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Disodium EDTA, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Stearic Acid, Dimethicone/Methicone Copolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, May Contain: Iron Oxides, May Contain: Titanium Dioxide

Brand Overview

CoverGirl At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive and widely available; a hugely improved selection of foundations, several with reliable sunscreen; good concealers; enviable pressed powders; some fantastic Lash Blast mascaras; mostly great eyelining options; a vast selection of lip color options, from the long-wearing Outlast to sheer lip glosses to the wholly impressive Lip Perfection lipstick; several great options in the Queen Collection.

Weaknesses: The older foundations are seriously lacking; the newer Advanced Radiance foundation has great texture but disappointing SPF rating; powder blush and eyeshadows; terrible makeup brushes; all of the "Clean" products contain irritating ingredients.

Since 1961, CoverGirl has been slowly building a portfolio of cosmetics that today is about as all-encompassing as a makeup line can be. Originating from the same "medicated" ingredients found in Noxzema Skin Cream (which was never medicated in the least, but seriously irritating for skin), the debut products are still available, albeit with slight modifications. The good news is that for the past several years CoverGirl has consistently updated their line with some very impressive products, especially their foundations, concealers, and vastly improved pressed powders. They also offer some excellent eye and lip pencils, lipsticks and lip gloss, and one of the all-time best long-wearing lip paints, Outlast.

What's puzzling is that although many of CoverGirl's latest products are progressive, they tend to hang on to the lackluster-to-poor options, including abysmal powder blush and eyeshadows and their long-standing, very irritating Clean Makeup. These items may be part of CoverGirl's humble beginnings, but you certainly don't see parent company Proctor & Gamble adding eucalyptus oil and menthol to their Olay products or to products of any of the other cosmetics companies they own. If those ingredients were so important, why not use them everywhere? Needless to say, the great products outnumber the disappointments, and the prices make it easy for those on a budget to be beautiful and enjoy some state-of-the-art products, provided they shop wisely.

CoverGirl's Web site is extremely easy to navigate, and presents a wealth of product information, along with practical (if somewhat cutesy) tips and tricks for successful makeup application and for finding the shades that work best for you. CoverGirl's consumer relations department is consistently helpful if you have any questions or concerns. For example, if one of your favorite items was discontinued, you might want to know what replaced it, and they will let you know. Such service and customer concern is yet another powerful reason to believe CoverGirl really has its (class) act together.

For more information about CoverGirl, owned by Procter & Gamble, call (800) 426-8374 or visit the Web site at www.covergirl.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
05.16.2015
HORRIBLE on wrinkles, very drying

"Simply Ageless" made me look about 15 years older. It magnified all my wrinkles and pores.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.17.2015
Amazing for hiding discoloration

It covers the large red blotches I have on my cheeks in one coat. The original one (scented) caused an allergic reaction near my eyes, but it didn't settle into my fine lines. It IS hard to blend, so I apply it over summer screen while it's still wet. I plan to try their formula without scent soon.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
lisa d.
02.23.2015
Have been using since it came out. Love it.

I can't believe such a negative review. I have been using this for years and my skin has never looked better when wearing it. I have used very expensive foundations in the past and none have come close to living up to the results I get with this product. It may not have long lasting anti-aging qualities, but when I have it on, I look my best and receive comments all the time about what great skin I have.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
laura e.
02.01.2015
Works Wonderfully!

I am nearly 60 with very dry skin and slightly uneven skin tone. I apply creamy blush and eye concealer, letting them dry. I then use a fresh wedge sponge to apply this foundation in two coats, letting the first coat dry completely before applying the second one. It covers beautifully and remains fresh looking all day. It does not cake, flake, or sink into my skin. I do not use powder over it. It is one of the few foundations available in cool shades as well as warm ones, a bonus for me.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Mary B.
01.24.2015
It is good!!

I can't believe this product being reviewed so badly! It is NOT gimmick and hype. The texture is the easiest to blend, doesn't feel greasy on the skin, and sets nicely into lines and wrinkles. You need to apply small amounts and works wonderfully. Very good in my opinion.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Maria C
12.07.2014
I Like This Too

I have avoided this foundation for a few years based on the Beautypedia rating. But I was not happy with the other foundations that I've tried for a whole lot more money. I decided to read the member comments on this foundation and found them to be positive. At the price, I did not have much to lose if I didn't like it. But I do like it. It goes not easily and looks good on. I need the extra coverage due to sun damage. I'm a big fan of Paula's Choice products. Please reevaluate this one

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
SUSAN M.
08.05.2014
Great when used with a brush!!!

I personally am not a huge fan of the sponge applicator, and I was on the fence about this foundation...UNTIL I tried it with my UD Blurring brush. What a difference!! I don't feel like I'm wasting product, it goes on smooth and even, and if I still have some spots that need more coverage, I just pick some up with my pinky to dot those areas. I am in my late 30's w/fair uneven skin tone and adult acne...and my skin looks GREAT after using this foundation! Try it with a foundation brush!!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
EmilyH
05.24.2014
This deserves a better review!

As a woman in her early 30's, and also with very oily skin, I happen to love this foundation! I can't understand the negative review, when this not only has a high amount of Niacinamide (Olay's superstar ingredient), it also provides both UVA and UVB protection, certainly those two points should be noted as positives. Also, a very little goes a long way and using only small amounts yield a beautiful, smooth, matte look. I think this product has merit, and should be re-reviewed by Paula's team.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Andi,D
05.18.2014
Great Product & Price

I don't understand the poor review on this product. I have been using it for over a year, it smoothes out the lines and great coverage.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Deb
04.22.2014
I LOVE this product

I simply can't understand why this product got such a negative review. I have been using it for about a year and a half, an I love it! It smooths on so easily, and blends wonderfully. I just got back from a cruise with three of my girlfriends, and they all wanted to know what I use for foundation, because they all thought I had such "perfect, beautiful skin", NOT! But the CoverGirl-Olay Simply Ageless Foundation gives me just that! I have to say, I Love It!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Kathy W.
01.12.2014
I love this foundation, too!!!

I agree with the other reviewers that this compact foundation is wonderful. I am almost 60 and I have gotten more compliments on my skin with this makeup. If I wear an expensive one usually no one says a word, but when I wear Cover Girl Simply Ageless I get lots of women saying how good my skin looks. It's especially funny when I am at the makeup counters and wearing Cover Girl makeup or L'oreal, no one can tell the difference between the drugstore or department store brands!!!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Jody R.
10.20.2013
What is paula talking about?!

I have super oily skin that is blemish prone and I've never had a problem with this foundation. I've worked at countless beauty counters and tried every cosmetic you can imagine and the only time I've ever gotten splendid compliments about my skin were when I wore simply ageless. My only complaint is that most of the shades are for cool toned skin, but i can correct the pinkish shade with a yellow based finishing powder. The foundation is super bendable and can definitely give you full coverage.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
09.30.2013
nice finish

I bought this after a friend showed up at an event with absolutely flawless, beautiful looking skin. I asked her what she used, and she showed me this compact. So I decided to try it out. I have combo/oily skin and it looks nice and doesn't feel cakey or heavy at all (usually I hate these compact type of foundations). I'm not sure why this got such a terrible review, I had no issues blending and it was smooth and easily buildable to med-full coverage. Only complaint is the colour range.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Di
02.28.2013
Great, even coverage

I have been using this product since it appeared and love it. It can be blended evenly with the sponge and provides great coverage. I get many compliments on my skin and friends are now using it also. Keeping this review in mind, I have tried other make-ups but keep coming back to it. Very inexpensive. Only con is that it can rub off on items IF too much is applied. Other than that, it comes in many shades and stays on all day. Also has sunscreen in it.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Alice
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.401 7/6/2015 1:25:04 PM