03.13.2015
13
382
DerMend Moisturizing Bruise Formula
Rating
4.5 fl. oz. for $30
Category:Skin Care > Specialty Products > Specialty Skin Care Products
Last Updated:03.13.2015
Jar Packaging:No
pH:4.10
Tested on animals:Unknown
Review Overview

It isn't often in the world of skin care that a truly unique product comes along but it's always great when one does. In this case, the product is DerMend Moisturizing Bruise Formula and the name pretty much says it all, though not quite. DerMend is the brainchild of Clark Pharmaceuticals; it's an interesting, truly well done formulation designed to speed the healing of black and blue or even purple bruises and minimize the formation of new bruises. Before we review DerMend, it helps to understand how and why skin bruises.

Bruises on the surface of skin typically occur when you knock into something and that area becomes inflamed, swollen, and the blood vessels underneath break or burst from the impact. As the skin swells and the contents of the damaged blood vessels leak into the surrounding tissue, a discoloration ranging from faint pink to purple or black and blue appears. As the bruise fades during healing, you often see tinges of yellow from the blood being reabsorbed by the body.

Of course, everyone gets bruised now and then and sometimes the reason is obvious but for some people they seem to bruise easily and for no apparent reason. There are several reasons why your body, especially your arms and legs, might get black and blue more than someone else's. Medications such as blood thinners, aspirin, or even supplements like omega-3 fish oils that prevent or slow the clotting process are a typical cause. You may also have fragile skin with capillaries that damage easily either due to genetics, sun damage, or various health problems. For older people, a loss of supporting layers of fat can add to the problem because this makes skin more vulnerable to even the slightest bump or ding.

The way DerMend Moisturizing Bruise Formula works is with an impressive blend of ceramides, retinol, arnica oil and the AHA glycolic acid (the formula's pH permits exfoliation to occur). The ceramides and retinol help restore and rebuild skin to some degree, the glycolic acid exfoliates the surface layer to remove unhealthy dead skin cells that block healthy ingredients from absorbing, and arnica helps disperse fluid built up in skin and quickly reduce inflammation.

One word of caution: Arnica used on a regular basis can cause irritation so pay attention to how your skin is doing and only apply this product when needed to bruises or bruise-prone areas.

Bottom line: This is a product to consider if you struggle with unsightly, often painful bruising.

Claims

Targeted care for bruised skin - with ceramides and arnica oil. Dermatologist recommended. DerMend Moisturizing Bruise Formula helps improve the appearance of bruised skin. Our proprietary formula contains ceramides, alpha hydroxy acid and retinol to rejuvenate mature skin and help restore and repair the skin's natural barrier.

Ingredients

Purified Water, Propanediol, Glycolic Acid, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymers, Saccharide Isomerate, Propylene Glycol, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Glycerin, Arnica Montana Flower Extract, Ceramide NP, Ceramide NS, Ceramide EOS, Ceramide AP, Retinol, Niacinamide, Cupressus Sempervirens Seed Extract, Polygonatum Multiflorum Extract, Cholesterol, Caprooyl Phytosphingosine, Caprooyl Sphingosine, Behenic Acid, Ammonium Glycolate, Cetyl Alcohol, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Laureth-7, Cetearyl Alcohol, Coco-Glucosides, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Tocopherol, Palmitoyl Glycine, Butylene Glycol, Phytonadione, Cimicifuga Racemosa Root Extract, Polysorbate-20, Pentylene Glycol, Hydroxyphenyl Propamidobenzoic Acid, Stearyl Alcohol, Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Sterols, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Polyacrylamide, Tocopheryl Acetate, Titanium Dioxide, Fluorphlogopite, Disodium EDTA, Ceteareth-25.

Brand Overview

Strengths: An effective, exfoliating moisturizer that can work to help reduce the appearance and speed healing of bruises.

Weaknesses: Routine use of a product with arnica oil can cause skin irritation, so only use if/when needed.

For more information about DerMend, visit www.dermend.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
06.30.2015
Not sure if this will work for me

I bought this product at Walmart for about $20 for a 2.5oz tube. It says to apply it twice daily. It is a sticky consistancy that does not spread well - therefore it will not last long. No change in anything after 1 week's use and it will probably last only one more week. Too expensive if I have to buy 2 tubes per month. I didn't expect miracles in 1 week - but I did hope for SOME improvement to show it was working. I see no changes at all in old bruises and new ones have occured.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Alene Nelson
05.29.2015
Awesome stuff- DerMend

A friend gave me some of this in a jar! Could not believe the results! It is awesome~ You need to get this cream and use it as directed! I use it 2 x aday! Sure is working for me!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
A.S Klemann
05.02.2015
Npgirl64

Although I'm in the medical profession ( APRN) and should know better than to believe such hype, I foolishly tried this product. BIG WASTE OF $$!! The main reason I bought it was because of ( what I thought was an unbiased and trusted revuew by the " experts" at Paula's Choice. I remember the time when one could count on the reviews by PC . As of late, however, that is not the case. All too often, PC reviews read almost like "advertisments" instead of honest and critical reviews.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Angela Warren
04.02.2015
save your money

Doesn't do a thing

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Doris R
11.27.2014
Miracle worker

I had purple bruises on my face from a Juvederm injection that no concealer could cover. Using Arnica, moisturizers, or a green primer under the concealer didn't help. The bruises were still obvious, and the modest effects of the concealer disappeared quickly. However, a base of DerMend and an opaque concealer made the bruises almost invisible, and the coverage lasted for several hours. Worth twice the price! (I got it on sale at Walgreens for $25.)

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Jodie J
08.09.2014
Works for Me - I'm 82

I take a blood thinner, and meds that affect my thin skin. It seems like I just touch something and bruise mysteriously. I bought this product from Walgreen in spite of the price, and apply it twice a day to bruises. They gradually fade in about 10 days. I do water aerobics three days a week in my 55+ community indoor pool, and see others who bruise, so I recommend Dermend to them. Thanks for telling me about it.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Mary P.
02.03.2014
THANK YOU

I would never have know this product existed if it were not for Paula- and I am truly grateful for her excellent reporting on new great products for skin. DerMend quite noticeably shortens the time it takes blood clot type bruises to disappear. Thank you, Paula.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Debra L.
07.19.2013
Disappointed

I tried DerMend Moisturizing Bruise Formula based on Paula's review. I have been using Arnica gel and ointments for many years. I bruise easily and frankly did not see any better results in healing time or fading of bruises w/DerMend. Takes about 10 -14 days to clear with DerMend as well as with Arnica. I documented usage of DerMend carefully, using it twice a day. Just received a 1" bruise on my hand, will write another review. Paid $30.00+tax. OUCH!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
RUTH F.
06.23.2013
Excellent Product

I've really only had this moisturizing cream for a short period of time but it's amazing! It truly does minimize the time a bruise heals. I get bruises on my arms with the slightest touch and they used to last two weeks or more. Using this cream twice a days has shown results for me in days. It starts to look better almost within a day or so and definitely gone within a week or so now. I can't tell yet if it's helping prevent bruising but I'll take these results any day. Love it!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
MARIAN Q.
06.10.2013
Thanks, Paula!

I bruise very easily, and purchased this based on Paula's review. Generally I immediately ice an area when I know I will get a bruise (which works the best), but I never realized there were products like this out there. The price tag is steep (when the cashier rang me up, she exclaimed, "what IS this??" Lol) but I used it on a very large, recent bruise and it was completely gone in less than two weeks! THANK YOU again, Paula... your advice is always invaluable!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
06.04.2013
Hirudoid

I haven't tried this product myself (so don't use my ratings) but wanted to say that if you're looking to speed up the healing of bruises, then just use Hirudoid. Not sure if it's in North American pharmacies but it's available on Amazon.com and other places. I have used it since childhood and it works very well. I bruise frequently due to my sport. I mention Hirudoid because it is much cheaper than DerMend, $8.99 (14g), $29 (40g), etc. Not dissing DerMend but there are more economical choices

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Amy W
06.01.2013
Thank you

Thank you so much for recommending this product. I tried it, based on your recommendation, and it really works. My skin is always getting bruised and this relieves the bruising really fast. Thank you again.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Mary W.
06.01.2013
Miracle Product

I tried DerMend based on Paula's review. This cream together with Arnica OIL cut the time in half (10 days to 5 days) from the appearance to complete disappearance of a bruise. In fact, the last "yellow-green" phase never occurred. Thank you for reviewing this great product, Paula!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
LYDIA S.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.401 7/5/2015 6:25:00 PM