Deep Cleansing Oil

by DHC   
Price:
$28 - 6.7 fl. oz.
Average Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Cleansers (including Cleansing Cloths) > Cleansers/Soaps
Last Updated:
6/4/2013
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

Deep Cleansing Oil is said to be the company’s most popular product the world over, but the formula doesn’t support the claim. The olive oil–based formula is blended with a surfactant/emulsifying agent (sorbeth-30 tetraoleate) that provides greater cleansing ability than oils alone (which aren’t really that cleansing, but can remove makeup) and also helps make this oil easier to rinse than you might expect, though it can still leave a film. The rosemary oil is a potential irritant, especially when used around the eyes, but this is still a workable option.

Try this amazing cleanser and you’ll see why it’s our most popular product worldwide. Dirt, excess oil, makeup—even waterproof mascara—and other pore-cloggers dissolve easily, leaving your face a grime-free zone that is soft to the touch. Its unique water-soluble formula rinses completely, so you’ll never see a greasy residue. Olive oil and vitamin E help ensure you won’t see dryness either.

Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Sorbeth-30 Tetraoleate, Pentylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Tocopherol, Stearyl Glycyrrhetinate, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Oil

There's a lot of interest in this Japan-based line; the e-mails asking if these products really work keep pouring in, which means their marketing campaign is garnering the attention it's supposed to. The problem we have, though, is that we don't see any substantial reason to explain the DHC line's popularity!

First of all, here's a little background information. DHC (which stands for Daigaku Honyaku Center) is the Number 1 direct-mail skin-care company in Japan. Their U.S. headquarters is in San Francisco, and they publish a huge (and poorly organized) catalog a few times each year. Many of you have received their catalog unsolicited, perhaps with a few sample packets of DHC products, which may be why we receive so many questions asking whether the products are worth it. The overall answer to that question: Absolutely not! Although DHC offers some very good products, none of them are groundbreaking or unique in a way that's meaningful for the health and appearance of your skin.

The company bases many of their formulas around olive oil and olive extracts. In fact, if you're looking for the most expensive bottle of pure olive oil around, look no farther than the tiny vial DHC offers as their star product! They do their best to convince you that this olive oil is special because it is purified, but we ask you: What do you think you're buying at the grocery store? Do you think it's unpurified, sludge-laden olive oil? Of course not! And your skin won't be able to tell the difference between DHC's olive oil and a quality olive oil from your local market—you can use either one to moisturize dry skin.

What does olive oil have to offer your skin? Well, it's a good source of antioxidants and, of course, has moisturizing properties for dry skin, but that's about it. Olive oil isn't a must-have ingredient for skin, but is a must-avoid ingredient if you're prone to breakouts or have oily skin because its fatty acid content can contribute to clogged pores. Its antioxidant ability has been proven, but there is also research showing that other oils (such as date seed oil) offer even better antioxidant protection (Sources: Biofactors, 2007, pages 137–145; Free Radical Biology and Medicine, April 2005, pages 908–919; and www.naturaldatabase.com). DHC would have been wiser to couple olive oil with other established antioxidants and cell-communicating ingredients, but instead they parsed those ingredients out over a wide variety of products, most with overlapping or repetitive claims.

For example, their olive-based products contain olive oil or extract and no other antioxidants of note, save for a tiny amount of vitamin E. But then they offer standalone vitamin C products, vitamin A products, and several products containing coenzyme Q10. We can assure you that more of their products would have earned a Paula's Pick rating had they contained a cocktail of skin-friendly ingredients rather than making their customers pick and choose among such a huge, disjointed assortment (and your skin would benefit from them all being together, as many other companies have done). You shouldn't have to pick four or five DHC moisturizers to get the benefit of multiple antioxidants, but that's the predicament you'll be in, and things get confusing when you try to determine which of the company's claims have merit and which do not. (Hint: Most of them are nothing more than a string of adjectives along with a sprinkling of truth.)

Speaking of disjointed, although we don't normally comment much on a line's packaging beyond the need for avoidance of jars for products with antioxidants and other sensitive ingredients, DHC's packaging is all over the place. The logo, color schemes, bottle shapes, fonts, and just about everything else have no rhyme or reason. You could easily have several DHC products on your vanity and the only way you'd know they were from the same line is the company name, if you can find it. On the upside, DHC avoids jar packaging for their antioxidant-enriched products.

The main benefit of DHC products is the lack of fragrance, though a few products do contain fragrant floral extracts, as noted in the individual reviews. If you're curious to try this Japan import, it is possible to assemble a good, basic routine. However, this is also a line you could ignore in favor of a selection of skin-care products that offer more for your money, especially in terms of single products with multiple state-of-the-art ingredients for skin, and fewer claims that don't correlate with what the ingredients can actually do for your skin. One more plus that deserves mention: the company is forthcoming with their ingredient lists, and their customer service in that arena is prompt and thorough.

For more information about DHC, call (800) 342-2273 or visit www.dhccare.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Ally
    Reviewed on Sunday, July 27, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    This is a fantastic product when used properly...
    • I read some of the reviews & to clarify, this isnt a product to be used INSTEAD of your primary cleanser. This is to be used PRIOR to it. The instructions state this. Your face & hands should be DRY when applied, rinse, using your cleanser afterwards. After the 1st use you'll feel a difference. I shared this because I noticed there were many using this incorrectly, keeping them from the benefits & giving a fair assessment. Hope this is useful.

  2. CAROL
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 10, 2014
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    Thick, doesn't rinse away thoroughly.
    • Despite the almost universal love for this oil, it's just too thick for my combo face. At over 60, I wanted to try a more emollient cleanser than my usual foaming ones. This took off foundation & lipstick & I always use a separate, favorite cleanser on my eyes. I just couldn't rinse off that last bit of oily film without using another cleanser. On the rare occasions that I wear foundation, I do use cleansing oils - just never again this one. I prefer lighter, thinner oils.

  3. RPH
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 18, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Best Makeup Remover
    • I am now 51 years old and have been using this product for years and love it! I have recently discovered PaulasChoice and have been using her site to try and help me sift through the millions of products out there. Out of curiosity I wanted to see what she thought of Deep Cleansing Oil and was very surprised to see that she rated it as AVERAGE. This product should be rated BEST.

  4. Susan G
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 27, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Susan G.
    • This is an amazing product. I am 58 years old and have always had good skin. But after using my first bottle of this product, my complexion looks better than ever. The deep cleansing is gentle and very effective. It doesn't burn my eyes. I am a contact lens wearer and other products seemed to leave residue around my eyes and on my eyelashes that can get on my lens. That is never a problem with the Deep Cleaning Oil. I'm totally sold on this product and have already ordered more.

  5. Julia M.
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 20, 2014
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Not for me.
    • I've been using Kiehl's face wash but recently decided to switch to something more natural. DHC cleansing oil got rave reviews all over the web and the price was decent, so I gave it a try. After two weeks, my skin got dry and bumpy, with red patches everywhere and my sensitivity increased. Now I'm shopping around on Paula's Choice for better options. So sad it didn't work out!

  6. Victoria
    Reviewed on Monday, February 24, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Perfect!
    • I'm combo skin (with big t-zone pores) with little issue (minus hormonal breakouts) until I suddenly was plagued by blackheads. For 2 years I tried Aveeno, Jurlique, LM, and Cetaphil to no avail. DHC is the only thing that worked and a year later, I'm still happy. I'm curious to Paula's claim that oils don't really cleanse because I can actually feel the gunk coming out of my pores. Perhaps it's a clever trick, but still, no more blackheads! Might try olive oil though to see if it works as well.

  7. PATTI S.
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 02, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    No need to pull on skin to feel clean
    • This is an excellent makeup remover, and leaves your skin feeling moisturized. Paula emphasizes how you do not need to pull or tug on your skin.. well most cleansers require at least a little of that..however this stuff just melts your makeup off. MELT IT OFF. I love it and use it for cleanser PCHOICE for everything else. Would love it if PC would come out with something similar. 56 yr old combo/oily skin.

  8. Hope M
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 07, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Love it!!!
    • This really does emulsify and dissolve makeup better than any other cleanser I've ever used. It has never caused me any irritation and leaves my skin silky clean without being at all dry or taut. I don't use it daily as I have a creamy cleanser for daily use, only when I have put on a lot of make-up. Regular make-up remover is ineffective and too harsh for my skin. When I use this oil it does a wonderful job of removing ever smidgen of mascara, foundation, eye shadow etc. with no sting.

  9. amy c.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 03, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Works for me
    • I use many PC products and appreciate her reviews, but this product really works better than any other I've tried for makeup removal! It leaves my skin clean and soft, and I have less breakouts now than ever in my life. The bottle is $28 but is regularly on sale, and a bottle lasts me 4 months used daily. I have combination skin with oily T-zone. Different products work for different people... I'd recommend giving this one a try!

  10. RICHARD F
    Reviewed on Wednesday, November 20, 2013
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    THE STING!
    • I'VE USED DHC YEARS BEFORE PAULA'S CHOICE. I REMEMBER KIND OF LIKEING THE DEEP CLEANSING OIL BECAUSE OF THE EMULSION EFFECT. IT WAS SO MILKY, SO WHEN I RECENTLY RECEIVED THEIR CATALOG, I FIGURED WHY NOT? BIG MISTAKE! WHEN I PUT IT ON MY FACE AND EYES MY SKIN SAID OUCH! IT PROBABLY STUNG BECAUSE OF THE ROSEMARY OIL. EVEN IF YOU CAN'T SEE INFLAMMATION, IT IS STILL HAPPENING! WHEN PAULA TELLS YOU SOMETHING, BELIEVE IT!.

  11. Sarah K.
    Reviewed on Thursday, October 10, 2013
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Removes Make Up Well, Great for Dry Skin
    • I agree with Paula that the oil cleanser does its job of dissolving make easily and smoothly as it moisturizes the skin. I usually remove the oil with a make-off sheet then follow through with a light cream cleanser then foam. I've been using it for 2 years now and I haven't had an issue. However, I can't say much about how helpful the ingredients are really to the skin other than its ability to dissolve make up. Shu Uemura's oil cleansers pretty much feel exactly the same way as DHC olive oil.

  12. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 07, 2013
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    I don't care what Paula says-this stuff is great
    • I stopped using this based on the Beautypedia review. I tried several of the best recommended make-up removers and none perform as described, or as well as this product; I have a dozen stained white wash clothes to prove it. The offending ingredient is last on the list, and has not been a problem for my oil-combination skin and doesn't sting my eyes. I like being able to use this on dry skin. It rinses cleanly and I follow with a cleanser. The only downside is cost-but it's worth it.

  13. Holly M
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 18, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Best Makeup Remover Ever!
    • I don't use this product every day; only when I wear makeup. It dissolves everything immediately & rinses clean. I follow with either the DHC Mild Soap or a Neutrogena Pink Grapefruit Facial Cleanser or Ultra Gentle Facial Cleanser depending on how my skin feels that day. I'm nearing my mid 40's and have always had oily skin but I'm finding the older I get the more normal my skin acts. This cleanser never makes my skin oily or causes breakouts even though it's an oil.

  14. LK
    Reviewed on Monday, February 18, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    I love this product!
    • Here's why I love and use this product: it takes off waterproof mascara and other hard-to-remove makeup. It's not thin and watery, so it can be applied with dry hands and be massaged into the skin instead of having to use multiple cotton pads. It doesn't sting my eyes, and....it works!!!!!! I am using PC products for the rest of my skin care and love what they are doing for my skin, but will continue to use DHC's Deep Cleansing Oil until PC comes out with a similiar product.

  15. Fairey Fantom
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 31, 2013
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Best Oil Cleanser
    • I have tried other cleansing oils and even plain olive oil from the kitchen. I don't care what anyone says, my experience has been that Deep Cleansing Oil emulisfies face crud and rinses better than regular oil or other oil cleansers. No breakouts. As a matter of fact my sensitive/rosacea skin loves it. I generally use it in the evening to remove makeup and I follow up with cleanser. I don't always use cleanser because this stuff gets e.v.e.r.y.t.h.i.n.g off without leaving my face tight and uncomfortable - even in winter. I do think this is expensive but I when I look back, the bottle lasts 5 months!!!! And my SO uses it too on the daily. DHC has sales every month, gives samples with every order and in every brochure, and they have a pretty generous loyalty program. Maybe they left "magic" off the ingredient list. :-)

  16. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 29, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Love it!
    • This is one of the only make up removers that I can rub on my eyes without it blinding me. It takes my make up off and makes my face feel so soft. Love it!

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.344 10/25/2014 3:48:49 PM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.