Essential Waterproof Eyeliner Pen

by e.l.f. Cosmetics   Essential
Price:
$1 
Poor Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Makeup > Eyeliners > Waterproof Eyeliner
Last Updated:
12/27/2013
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

This easy-to-apply liquid eyeliner dispenses through a flexible, felt-tip pen applicator and comes in an attractive range of colors, but that's where the praise stops. The formula contains known skin irritants (including alcohol) which is of particular concern when applied to the extra sensitive skin of the eye area (see More Info). Another strike: The preservative blend this contains is not one that's recommended for use in leave-on products.

Furthermore the shades don't go on as richly pigmented as you'd expect from an eyeliner, and the color tends to fade as the day wears on. The finish is smudge-proof once set, however, the formula isn't waterproof! In fact, it breaks down easily when exposed to water.

Pros:
  • Smudge-proof.
Cons:
  • Contains irritating ingredients.
  • Not waterproof.
  • Shades don't go on as richly pigmented as you'd expect from an eyeliner.
  • Color fades throughout the day.
More Info:

Alcohol in skin-care products causes dryness and free-radical damage, and impairs the skin's ability to heal. The irritation it causes damages healthy collagen production and can stimulate oil production at the base of the pore, making oily skin worse (Sources: Biochimica et Biophysica Acta, May 2012, pages 1,410–1,419; Alcoholism, Clinical and Experimental Research, January 2011, pages 83–90; "Skin Care—From the Inside Out and Outside In," Tufts Daily, April 1, 2002; eMedicine Journal, May 8, 2002, volume 3, number 5, www.emedicine.com; Cutis, February 2001, pages 25–27; Contact Dermatitis, January 1996, pages 12–16; and http://pubs.niaaa.nih.gov/publications/arh27-4/277-284.htm).

From a line of cosmetics whose claim to fame is its rock-bottom prices we weren't expecting much. With almost every individual item selling for just $1, could there be any outstanding finds to rival the best options from drugstores and department stores? Surprisingly, the answer is yes. Yet although that's good news, the entire picture isn't so rosy, and many of the products from e.l.f. (which stands for Eyes, Lips, Face) are as basic as can be, while a few are resounding disappointments we wouldn't even give away.

e.l.f. was founded by Scott Vincent Borba—the same businessman responsible for the Borba "beauty waters" being sold at Sephora boutiques—and Joseph Shamah. The story goes that one day Borba was shopping in an unnamed "dollar store" (where everything sells for a dollar) and noticed women dressed in designer clothing and sporting designer handbags loading up their baskets with inexpensive nail polish, eye pencils, and lip balm. He took note of the products being sold in such stores and quickly decided he could offer products of even higher quality at the same competitive price. His idea paid off, as e.l.f. enjoyed sales last year of $5 million.

As you might expect, not everything in the e.l.f. line is great. When you're offering almost every product for $1, they're not going to be nearly as luxurious or innovative as the company proclaims (the ingredient lists couldn't be more basic and the packaging is sometimes slipshod). Many e.l.f. items have packaging that, while functional, can only be described as cheap. In terms of value, yes, almost everything is inexpensive, but in most cases the container sizes are much smaller than the norm. Still, if you're considering spending a few dollars on fun, occasional-use colors, size becomes much less of an issue.

In addition to being found at some dollar stores, e.l.f. has expanded its distribution to selected Target stores and regional drugstores. However, the best place to experience the collection is online (none of the stores provide testers). The cheaper elements are a given based on the price point e.l.f. has established, but overall you're likely to be impressed with what they developed for so little money, and you may just find some beauty bargains that raise the bar—at least to a height that's taller than your average elf!

For more information about e.l.f., call (800) 231-4732 or visit www.eyeslipsface.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    1 / 4 Poor
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    1 / 4 Poor
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    1 / 4 Poor
Page of 1
  1. Laura N.
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 02, 2013
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    As good as expensive liner
    • I really liked this product,contrary to the other reviews. I struggle with eyeliner that won't smudge, and this doesn't smudge! It's not waterproof, but holds up much better than any "gel type" liner. I have not had any problem with application and find the pen to be precise & easy to control. Yes, the color seems to fade a small bit through the day....but at $1, carry one in your purse for the touch up you might need 8+ hours later.

  2. Peggy
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 05, 2013
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Thank you!
    • Thank you Paula and company for listening to our opinions. Made me feel so much better throwing this away.

  3. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 29, 2012
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    i guess so...
    • i ordered this after it got the BEST rating, its starnge how quickly reviews can change, i come home from vacation and it has a poor rating. way to bum me out...

  4. Peggy
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 08, 2012
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Glad it was inexpensive!!!
    • I am/was new to liquid eyeliners and really wanted one that didn't flake and would last, especially for my bottom lashes. I tried this after reading Paula's review that it took a few minutes to set after application, was long lasting as well as deeply saturated in color I am in my 50's with normal skin eyelids, crowsfeet and sensitive eyes that don’t water. I tried the coffee shade/color. I will totally agree with the previous reviewers comments that the product was very faint. (even after reading the instructions about the angle to hold the pen). I even stored the pen upside down as suggested. Just glad this was only $1!!

  5. DANA M.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 06, 2012
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    It's not a good value at any price if it doesn't work
    • I tried this product in Nov 2012 in brown. I REALLY tried to like this product but ultimately in my opinion is not a keeper. The product is designed like an pen & the applicator is a marker like fine tip design. I am fair skinned have 38 yr old slightly oily, wrinkly eyelids, crowsfeet w/sensitive eyes that don’t water. I was excited at the price & waterproof aspect but unfortunately the product was very faint & I had to press fairly hard to get the product to apply. At first I thought it was possible that I purchased an old one that had dried up. I purchased another at a different store w/the same results. I give up on this one & I hope to hear from others because I would love to hear their experience w/this product. For now I'll pass.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.326
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off AHA & BHA Exfoliants | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.