12.30.2014
14
1921
Studio Blush
Rating
$3
Last Updated:12.30.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

This inexpensive blush is a smash hit and includes a selection of beautiful shades with a subtle, radiant glow. The soft, suede-smooth, pressed-powder texture blends on flawlessly and adheres well to skin. The colors go on lightly, but are easily layered for more intensity without looking chalky or cakey. We’d put this up against any expensive department store blush!

Pros:
  • Attractive shades with a subtle, radiant glow.
  • Layering increases color intensity without becoming chalky or cakey.
  • Soft, suede-smooth, pressed-powder texture blends on beautifully.
  • Phenomenal beauty bargain!
Cons:
  • None.
Claims
Ingredients
Talc, Mica, Nylon-12, Magnesium Stearate, Silica, Paraffinum Liquidum (Mineral Oil), Polybutene, Sodium Dehydroacetate May Contain: Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Manganese Violet (CI 77742), Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Yellow No.5 Lake (CI 19140), Red No.40 Lake (CI 16035), Ultramarine Violet (CI 77007), Blue No.1 Lake (CI 42090).

NOTE: Ingredients may vary by shade from the above listing.

Brand Overview

e.l.f. At-A-Glance

Strengths: Bonafide beauty bargain prices; several praiseworthy makeup products including the powder blush, bronzer, and eyeshadows; some great face powders; oil-blotting papers are a steal; excellent brushes in the Studio line; a few good, inexpensive skincare products.

Weaknesses: Mostly average to poor skincare formulas; a multitude of terrible concealers; limited options for foundation; average to not-worth-it-at-any-price eyeliners (with the exception of one); some of the skincare products aren't on par with better formulated options that cost a bit more.

From a line of cosmetics whose claim to fame is its rock-bottom prices we weren't expecting much. With many of the makeup products selling for just $1, could there be any outstanding finds to rival the best options from drugstores and department stores? Surprisingly, the answer is yes. Yet although that's good news, the entire picture isn't so rosy, and many of the products from e.l.f. (which stands for Eyes, Lips, Face) are as basic as can be, while a few are resounding disappointments we wouldn't even give away.

e.l.f. was founded by Scott Vincent Borba—the same businessman responsible for the Borba "beauty waters" once sold at Sephora boutiques—and Joseph Shamah. The story goes that one day Borba was shopping in an unnamed "dollar store" (where everything sells for a dollar) and noticed women dressed in designer clothing and sporting designer handbags loading up their baskets with inexpensive nail polish, eye pencils, and lip balm. He took note of the products being sold in such stores and quickly decided he could offer products of even higher quality at the same competitive price. His idea paid off, as e.l.f. has enjoyed continued success and increased distribution online and in retail stores like Target.

As you might expect, not everything in the e.l.f. line is great. When you're offering almost every product for $1 (OK, there's plenty for $3 and $5, too), they're not going to be nearly as luxurious or innovative as the company proclaims (most of the ingredient lists couldn't be more basic and the packaging is sometimes slipshod). Many e.l.f. items have packaging that, while functional, can only be described as cheap. In terms of value, yes, almost everything is inexpensive, but in most cases the container sizes are much smaller than the norm. Still, if you're considering spending a few dollars on fun, occasional-use colors, size becomes much less of an issue.

This line can be found at select Target stores and some regional drugstores, but the best place to experience the collection is online (none of the stores provide testers). The cheaper elements are a given based on the price point e.l.f. has established, but overall you're likely to be impressed with what they developed for so little money, and you may just find some beauty bargains (especially makeup brushes) that raise the bar—at least to a height that's taller than your average elf!

For more information about e.l.f., call (800) 231-4732 or visit www.eyeslipsface.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
05.06.2015
Great Subtle Blush

This is a very nice subtle blush color. I have Tickled Pink, Candid Coral, and Blushing Rose. I use Tickled Pink daily for a very sheer natural blush and Blushing Rose for when I want a big more pigmentation (Blushing Rose is probably my favorite even though I don't wear it as often). They are great quality for such a small price and blend very well. Again, they are sheer upon first application but definitely build up, which is why I love them!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Morgan S.
12.27.2014
Weak Staying power & Pigmentation (not WOC friendly)

I own(ed) multiple elf blushes and had to replace them all. I had to apply way too much for it to show up on my skin (I have kelly rowland's complexion) and then it would fade from my face completely in less than an hour. Save your money and buy Milani baked blushes if you're looking for inexpensive blushes with great pigmentation and staying power.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Lani
12.25.2014
Love it!

I purchased this blush in mauve. It looks amazing on me. It blends in beautifully and wears well. I have no issues with it not showing up. I also like the fact that it does not have any sparkles or shimmer in it. I would definitely recommend this blush!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Nicole B
05.10.2014
Poor color palette

I purchased this blush as it received high praises in a Beautypedia email. I picked mauve. It does not apply well and many layers are required. The blush s less than impressive. I then tried the tickled pink and although layering isn't required with this color, it goes on so bright it looks ridiculous. The other two pinks are very peachy and look like cheap blush, because they are -- disappointed Beautypedia recommended such a poor product.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Annabelle
03.22.2014
Very poor quality blushes

I bought 8 blushes from ELF because Paula's team says that those blushes are very good. I Asc Are the team is blind? This blushes is very poor Quality,they don't have pigmentation at all.All colors that i bought look the same.I regret to spend 24$...for this money i can buy 1 NARS blush and leaste to have 1.Now all is on the trash. May be Paula's Choice is good in Skincare but in the makeup.....

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Sonya Georgieva
12.07.2013
Cosmetic Consumer

Love the soft color. BUT a big mess. There is so much loose blush after each use that is spills all over everything. Did not know it was made in China.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
11.03.2013
My experince with this blush

I have this blush in candid coral and I really like it. I have an oily complexion and it has never upset my skin in any way. The color on this is really superb because it is buildable. It gives a nice healthyglow to cheeks. The only drawback is that it flakes apart inside of the case it comes in which can become a bit of a mess inside your makeup bag and it doesnt come with a brush. But when you see the great color that really does last all day long - you wont mind packaging. Buy two of them!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
leeanne
09.10.2013
falls apart

The problem with this blush is that it breaks and falls apart. I've bought 4 of them just to make sure I didn't get duds the first couple of times. I didn't. All of them flake and make a big mess in your cosmetics drawer. After a week the compact was 1/2 gone because of the inadequacy of the product. I'm surprised Paula recommended this. Yes, it's cheap but maybe a $7 blush would be a better value.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.24.2013
Won me over!

The Paula's Choice review is spot on. I was skeptical even though I rely on these reviews--such a bargain and so good? I have spent far more on well-reviewed blushes that were fine, but do not have this silky texture, even application, and nice color selection. A major find!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
McKat
03.22.2013
elf Studio Blush

I have this in tickled pink and it is a pretty pink/peach shade for light skin tones. Some of the blushes have sparkle and this has a bit but on my cheeks it not noticeable. The only complaint is that it doesn't last as long as I would like.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.19.2013
Not bad .... not bad

This blush definitely rivals the more expensive blushes out there (Lancome especially). I tried it solely due to its high rating from Paula. It indeed puts down just a hint of color (and more if you want) especially for those of us with "heavy hands". The one downfall to this product IMO is that the "subtle, radiant glow" that is referred to is more of a golden flake quality. Not overtly so! Just enough to make me say what the heck?!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Peggy F.
02.01.2013
Great product

I would absolutely recommend this product. I bought it from my grocery store recently after running out of my old PC blush and needing a good replacement. I figured for $3 I might as well try it, and it was a great choice: nice and sheer with a natural-looking glow and very easily applied. I don't wear heavy makeup, and this blush doesn't overpower my tinted moisturizer or my light complexion. Lovely.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Laura
01.06.2013
Josephine, NP

I have not reviewed this particular cosmetic and am surprised that Paula likes this brand. Other cosmetics which are ELF brand are made in ROC (Republic of China) or simply Made in China. Cosmetic and food items which are from China are very likely to be not made to proper standards for our Food and Cosmetics Act. Many events of contamination with toxins, substandard cosmetic fats, such as animal fat or used grease are used in products from China. The Chinese have a poor record of food and drug quality. Here are some examples: Heparin which killed several persons and sickened others Cadbury Chocolate contamination Infant formula contamination and the list goes on. Kohl corporation American Beauty cosmetics have some Chinese manufacturing in their line Look at all products that you use on your skin-it is the largest organ in your body and can absorb toxins very quickly!! As an instructor in the college of nursing and as a practicing nurse practitioner, I warn my students and patients to stay away from all of these products which are Chinese manufactured. JLH

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
01.02.2013
Astonishing beauty bargain!

Astonishing beauty bargain! Though only three dollars, this is as good as department store blushes. It comes in a beautiful shade selection, is nicely pigmented, and offers a soft, glowy finish.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
JENNETTE S.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to drugstore.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.421 9/3/2015 6:08:50 AM