Studio Blush

by e.l.f. Cosmetics   Studio
Price:
$3 
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Makeup > Blushes > Powder Blush
Last Updated:
3/27/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

This inexpensive blush is a smash hit and includes a selection of beautiful shades with a subtle, radiant glow. The soft, suede-smooth, pressed-powder texture blends on flawlessly and adheres well to skin. The colors go on lightly, but are easily layered for more intensity without looking chalky or cakey. We’d put this up against any expensive department store blush!

Pros:
  • Attractive shades with a subtle, radiant glow.
  • Layering increases color intensity without becoming chalky or cakey.
  • Soft, suede-smooth, pressed-powder texture blends on beautifully.
  • Phenomenal beauty bargain!
Cons:
  • None.

From a line of cosmetics whose claim to fame is its rock-bottom prices we weren't expecting much. With almost every individual item selling for just $1, could there be any outstanding finds to rival the best options from drugstores and department stores? Surprisingly, the answer is yes. Yet although that's good news, the entire picture isn't so rosy, and many of the products from e.l.f. (which stands for Eyes, Lips, Face) are as basic as can be, while a few are resounding disappointments we wouldn't even give away.

e.l.f. was founded by Scott Vincent Borba—the same businessman responsible for the Borba "beauty waters" being sold at Sephora boutiques—and Joseph Shamah. The story goes that one day Borba was shopping in an unnamed "dollar store" (where everything sells for a dollar) and noticed women dressed in designer clothing and sporting designer handbags loading up their baskets with inexpensive nail polish, eye pencils, and lip balm. He took note of the products being sold in such stores and quickly decided he could offer products of even higher quality at the same competitive price. His idea paid off, as e.l.f. enjoyed sales last year of $5 million.

As you might expect, not everything in the e.l.f. line is great. When you're offering almost every product for $1, they're not going to be nearly as luxurious or innovative as the company proclaims (the ingredient lists couldn't be more basic and the packaging is sometimes slipshod). Many e.l.f. items have packaging that, while functional, can only be described as cheap. In terms of value, yes, almost everything is inexpensive, but in most cases the container sizes are much smaller than the norm. Still, if you're considering spending a few dollars on fun, occasional-use colors, size becomes much less of an issue.

In addition to being found at some dollar stores, e.l.f. has expanded its distribution to selected Target stores and regional drugstores. However, the best place to experience the collection is online (none of the stores provide testers). The cheaper elements are a given based on the price point e.l.f. has established, but overall you're likely to be impressed with what they developed for so little money, and you may just find some beauty bargains that raise the bar—at least to a height that's taller than your average elf!

For more information about e.l.f., call (800) 231-4732 or visit www.eyeslipsface.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
Page of 1
  1. Annabelle
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 10, 2014
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Poor color palette
    • I purchased this blush as it received high praises in a Beautypedia email. I picked mauve. It does not apply well and many layers are required. The blush s less than impressive. I then tried the tickled pink and although layering isn't required with this color, it goes on so bright it looks ridiculous. The other two pinks are very peachy and look like cheap blush, because they are -- disappointed Beautypedia recommended such a poor product.

  2. Sonya Georgieva
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 22, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Very poor quality blushes
    • I bought 8 blushes from ELF because Paula's team says that those blushes are very good. I Asc Are the team is blind? This blushes is very poor Quality,they don't have pigmentation at all.All colors that i bought look the same.I regret to spend 24$...for this money i can buy 1 NARS blush and leaste to have 1.Now all is on the trash. May be Paula's Choice is good in Skincare but in the makeup.....

  3. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 07, 2013
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Cosmetic Consumer
    • Love the soft color. BUT a big mess. There is so much loose blush after each use that is spills all over everything. Did not know it was made in China.

  4. leeanne
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 03, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    My experince with this blush
    • I have this blush in candid coral and I really like it. I have an oily complexion and it has never upset my skin in any way. The color on this is really superb because it is buildable. It gives a nice healthyglow to cheeks. The only drawback is that it flakes apart inside of the case it comes in which can become a bit of a mess inside your makeup bag and it doesnt come with a brush. But when you see the great color that really does last all day long - you wont mind packaging. Buy two of them!

  5. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, September 10, 2013
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    falls apart
    • The problem with this blush is that it breaks and falls apart. I've bought 4 of them just to make sure I didn't get duds the first couple of times. I didn't. All of them flake and make a big mess in your cosmetics drawer. After a week the compact was 1/2 gone because of the inadequacy of the product. I'm surprised Paula recommended this. Yes, it's cheap but maybe a $7 blush would be a better value.

  6. McKat
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 24, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Won me over!
    • The Paula's Choice review is spot on. I was skeptical even though I rely on these reviews--such a bargain and so good? I have spent far more on well-reviewed blushes that were fine, but do not have this silky texture, even application, and nice color selection. A major find!

  7. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, March 22, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    elf Studio Blush
    • I have this in tickled pink and it is a pretty pink/peach shade for light skin tones. Some of the blushes have sparkle and this has a bit but on my cheeks it not noticeable. The only complaint is that it doesn't last as long as I would like.

  8. Peggy F.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, February 19, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    Not bad .... not bad
    • This blush definitely rivals the more expensive blushes out there (Lancome especially). I tried it solely due to its high rating from Paula. It indeed puts down just a hint of color (and more if you want) especially for those of us with "heavy hands". The one downfall to this product IMO is that the "subtle, radiant glow" that is referred to is more of a golden flake quality. Not overtly so! Just enough to make me say what the heck?!

  9. Laura
    Reviewed on Friday, February 01, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Great product
    • I would absolutely recommend this product. I bought it from my grocery store recently after running out of my old PC blush and needing a good replacement. I figured for $3 I might as well try it, and it was a great choice: nice and sheer with a natural-looking glow and very easily applied. I don't wear heavy makeup, and this blush doesn't overpower my tinted moisturizer or my light complexion. Lovely.

  10. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 06, 2013
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Josephine, NP
    • I have not reviewed this particular cosmetic and am surprised that Paula likes this brand. Other cosmetics which are ELF brand are made in ROC (Republic of China) or simply Made in China. Cosmetic and food items which are from China are very likely to be not made to proper standards for our Food and Cosmetics Act. Many events of contamination with toxins, substandard cosmetic fats, such as animal fat or used grease are used in products from China. The Chinese have a poor record of food and drug quality. Here are some examples: Heparin which killed several persons and sickened others Cadbury Chocolate contamination Infant formula contamination and the list goes on. Kohl corporation American Beauty cosmetics have some Chinese manufacturing in their line Look at all products that you use on your skin-it is the largest organ in your body and can absorb toxins very quickly!! As an instructor in the college of nursing and as a practicing nurse practitioner, I warn my students and patients to stay away from all of these products which are Chinese manufactured. JLH

  11. JENNETTE S.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 02, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Astonishing beauty bargain!
    • Astonishing beauty bargain! Though only three dollars, this is as good as department store blushes. It comes in a beautiful shade selection, is nicely pigmented, and offers a soft, glowy finish.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

PCWEB-WWW5 v1.0.0.315
Skip to Top of Page
25% Off Cleansers & Toners | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.