12.18.2008
3
0
Elizabeth Grant
Essence of Torricelumn
Rating
0.68 fl. oz. for $250
Category:Skin Care > Serums > Serums
Last Updated:12.18.2008
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Overview
Essence of Torricelumn epitomizes the far-fetched claims Grant makes for Torricelumn by stating that it “helps to reverse the aging process” and by inviting you to “get the look back you had 15 or 20 years ago.” It’s all bogus, and there is nothing in these vials that cannot easily be replaced by products in Olay’s Regenerist or Definity lines, both of which feature truly state-of-the-art formulations relative to this one.
Claims
Essence of Torricelumn is clinically tested to help firm the skin's appearance and increase elasticity. Essential nutrients are infused deep into the skin to help improve the support structure of the epidermis.
Ingredients
Deionized Water, Torricelumn Pur, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Carbomer, Glycerin, Polysorbate-20, Palmitoyl Phenhopeptide-3, Sodium Hyaluronate, Hydrolyzed Adansonia Digitata Extract, Collagen, Soy Oil, Carbopol, Algae Extract, Phenoxyethanol, Allantoin, Glyceryl Polymethacrylate, Japanese Green Tea, Aloe Vera Extract, Carthellus Shitake (Mushroom) Extract, Soy Extract, Yam Extract, Pikea Robusta, Emblica, Vitamin A, E C, Methylparaben, Disodium Edta, Shea Butter, Red Clover Extract, Diazolidinyl Urea, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth 20, Chamomile Extract, Dimethicone, Quaternium-15, Bisabolol, Propylparaben
Brand Overview

Elizabeth Grant At-A-Glance

Strengths: Very good emollient lip balm; effective and gentle water-soluble cleansers.

Weaknesses: Expensive; repetitive selection of moisturizers and serums, all making similar claims and featuring similar formulas despite wide swings in price; no products to address skin discolorations or acne; no AHA or BHA product.

England-born former makeup artist Elizabeth Grant started her skin-care company over 40 years ago after a secret mixture of ingredients being used at the time to treat war wounds changed the way her injured skin looked. Or at least that's how the story goes. From there the tale continues that her makeup clients began commenting on how young her skin looked, and before long, products with this secret ingredient complex were being sold. Grant named her formulation Torricelumn, and dozens of products in her line contain it. Yet that should give you pause, because if it's the best thing since sliced bread, why not just put a strong dose of it in a single all-purpose product and watch it go to work? It turns out there is no such thing as "Torricelumn" or "Torricelumn Pur." These are just marketing terms the company uses to represent a previously unlisted assortment of plant extracts that includes Pikea robusta (algae), Ulva lactuca (sea lettuce), aloe vera juice, and chamomile.

Pikea robusta is a type of sea algae that Arch Chemicals (a raw material supplier) indicates can scavenge free radicals and reduce inflammation. They supply the ingredient complex that contains this substance, but their own research (which is hardly impartial) only examined this effect in vitro, making it a leap of faith to assume it will have the same effect on human skin (Source: www.mattek.com/pages/abstracts/335). The unidentified algae extract likely has antioxidant capability, the aloe has mild soothing properties, and chamomile is a potent anti-irritant. That's good and assuredly helpful for skin, but it's worth neither the expense nor the lofty claims Grant assigns to her Torricelumn complex. Furthermore, countless other skin-care products contain the same ingredients (with the exception of Pikea robusta) and many contain antioxidants that have substantially more research about their effectiveness than do the ingredients in these products. Above all, you need to know that none of these allegedly advanced ingredients are backed by a shred of evidence showing they can get rid of wrinkles, revive aging skin cells, or create any degree of firmness.

I found it both flattering and unsettling that Elizabeth Grant's Web site plagiarized information I wrote about how skin ages (and I mean verbatim) in my publications. On one hand she must believe my research and reporting to be valid, but what is truly ironic is that the claims she makes for her products don't at all match up with the information she usurped. How strange! She uses my material to give her products and Web site credibility, and yet the formulas her company sells are hardly state-of-the-art, there are no sunscreens, and the excessive prices are ludicrous.

For more information about Elizabeth Grant, call (877) 751-1999 or visit www.elizabethgrant.com. The products are available primarily through Grant's Web site.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
02.13.2015
Tried and True Elizabeth Grant User

I am 53 years old and have always been a skincare junkie. I am very fussy what I put on my skin. I have tried hundreds and hundreds of products. I always try something new when it comes out if I like the ingredients or think it might work. I always go back to Elizabeth Grant. After 16 plus years I am told I have very few tiny lines and could pass for 7 to 10 years younger. Maybe some is genetics but sorry what you put on skin does make a difference. Bottom line it works for me.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Pam
02.07.2015
Not convinced

I've tried to like E.G products and purchased a whack of them from T.S.C. The value is amazing if you believe that they individually sell for those high prices. Nice packaging E. Of Torricelumn night, day and eye serums...but if they are so darn good, why are there dozens of other E.G. products? I can't be putting on 10 things every morning and night. None of her line have the heavy hitters that help maintain youthful skin. It's mainly aloe so not all that revolutionary.A good SPF would do more

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Martha J
01.17.2013
well, well, Elizabeth

Elizabeth Grant reminds me of Hollywood. All glitz and little substance. She seems like a likable women and so her grand daughter, nothing personal here. However, Elizabeth you are old school and your products are packaged, labeled and titled differently but when the spot light is on and the 'act' it is all the same. Well, well, Elizabeth your products are "Sunset Blvd" not bad but they are 'old school', average, just not up-to-date. So sad to see an 'old' act trying so hard to be 'now'. It is time Elizabeth to let your products be as they are and not sell them as a current promise of what 'new' products offer. It is ok to be a classic, like 'Sunset Blvd' there is a place for you and maybe old will be new. There is nothing 'bad' about your products just the way you represent them. Ice Queen of Alaska

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
ice queen
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.376 3/5/2015 10:04:18 PM