11.26.2014
10
9
Revitalizing Supreme Global Anti-Aging Creme
Rating
1 fl. oz. for $50
Category:Skin Care > Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime) > Moisturizers/Anti-Aging
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:Yes
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Estee Lauder is marketing this product, which must be their 375th anti-aging moisturizer (kidding, but you get the idea) as able to address all signs of aging. But, in infomercial-speak, "That's not all!" Somehow, this formula is also able to hone in on a person's unique signs of aging (whatever that means; to us, a wrinkle is a wrinkle and a dark spot is a dark spot) thanks to what the company refers to as IntuiGen Technology.

First, if this technology is so special and customized (it's not, but let's assume it is), how come Lauder isn't using it in all of their other anti-aging moisturizers, including those from the ultra-pricey ReNutriv line? Given the price of Revitalizing Supreme Global Anti-Aging Creme, it seems to be quite the bargain; unfortunately, it differs little from dozens of other moisturizers Lauder sells.

In terms of texture, this is a gel-cream, and its silky application and lightweight finish make it best for normal to combination or breakout-prone skin. It shares the same formulary strengths as Lauder's best moisturizers, including a good array of antioxidants and cell-communicating ingredients. That's great, but this also shares the same jar packaging issue as many other Lauder moisturizers. See More Info to learn why jar packaging is not the way to go when your goal is anti-aging ingredients.

Getting back to the IntuiGen Technology, this fragranced moisturizer isn't smart enough to know your skin's needs and then respond accordingly. The concept sounds intriguing and special, but really, how would this even work? Is this moisturizer supposed to know who's less wrinkled, who has more signs of sagging, or fewer brown spots? And then how would it respond—by holding back anti-aging ingredients in one area and somehow reshuffling them to another area that needs them more? No question this moisturizer has some very good anti-aging ingredients. Lauder knows what they're doing in that regard—now if only they'd use packaging that kept the light- and air-sensitive ingredients stable once the product is opened!

Pros:
  • Silky, lightweight texture feels wonderful.
  • Hydrates without feeling greasy or looking shiny.
  • Contains a good range of anti-aging ingredients.
Cons:
  • Isn't the one-stop, all-in-one, customized anti-aging problem-solver it's made out to be.
  • Jar packaging won't keep several key ingredients stable and as effective once opened.
More Info:

The fact that it's packaged in a jar means the beneficial ingredients won't remain stable once it is opened. All plant extracts, vitamins, antioxidants, and other state-of-the-art ingredients break down in the presence of air, so once a jar is opened and lets the air in these important ingredients begin to deteriorate. Jars also are unsanitary because you're dipping your fingers into them with each use, adding bacteria which further deteriorate the beneficial ingredients (Sources: Free Radical Biology and Medicine, September 2007, pages 818-829; Ageing Research Reviews, December 2007, pages 271-288; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 314-321; International Journal of Pharmaceutics, June 12, 2005, pages 197-203; Pharmaceutical Development and Technology, January 2002, pages 1-32; International Society for Horticultural Science, www.actahort.org/members/showpdf?booknrarnr=778_5; Beautypackaging.com, and www.beautypackaging.com/articles/2007/03/airless-packaging.php).

Claims

Experience the first creme with IntuiGen Technology™ that knows your skin's needs. This high-performance, multi-action moisturizer dramatically reduces the look of multiple signs of aging: Lines, Wrinkles, Loss of Firmness, Dullness, and Dehydration. Breakthrough IntuiGen Technology™ helps activate skin's own revitalization. It specifically addressing your unique anti-aging needs all at once, revealing a younger and more beautiful look.

Ingredients

Water\Aqua\Eau, Dimethicone, Isohexadecane, Glycerin, BIS-PEG-18 Methyl Ether Dimethyl Silane, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Pentylene Glycol, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Phyllostachys Nigra (Bamboo) Leaf Extract, Hordeum Vulgare (Barley) Extract\Extrait D'orge, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Narcissus Tazetta Bulb Extract, Whey Protein\Lactis Protein\Proteine Du Petit-Lait, Caffeine, Sucrose, Acetyl Hexapeptide-8, Sorbitol, Polysilicone-11, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seedcake, Isododecane, Acetyl Glucosamine, Ergothioneine, Propylene Glycol Dicaprate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Propylene Carbonate, Tocopheryl Acetate, PEG-32, PEG-6, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Polyethylene, Citric Acid, Fragrance (Parfum), Sodium Citrate, Disodium EDTA, BHT, Phenoxyethanol, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499)

Brand Overview

Estee Lauder At-A-Glance

Strengths: Some of the most state-of-the-art moisturizers and serums around; excellent sunscreens; some good cleansers, toners, and makeup removers; several categories of makeup excel, including some extraordinary foundations (that include shades for darker skin tones), concealers, powders, blush, and eyeshadows; a mostly good selection of eye, brow, and lip pencils; their long-wearing lip color and some of the lipsticks are supremely good.

Weaknesses: Several items are highly fragranced; incomplete and/or problematic products for anyone battling blemishes; many of the Re-Nutriv products are priced too high given similar, less-expensive options from Lauder; some of the sunscreens and foundations with sunscreen lack sufficient UVA protection; the brushes aren't on par with those from other Lauder-owned lines, such as Bobbi Brown or M.A.C.; jar packaging.

From its humble but attention-getting beginning in 1946, Estee Lauder has grown to become a multibillion-dollar company whose products are sold all over the world and advertised in just about every fashion and women's lifestyle magazine you can think of. Their product assortment is mind-boggling and would be much more frustrating to wade through if their tester units weren't so well-organized and their salespeople so well-trained. (Although most of what they talk about is claim-driven and not worth paying much attention to, they do know their way around the huge assembly of products.)

We suppose the biggest compliment we can pay to the venerable Estee Lauder line is that their state-of-the-art moisturizers and serums have had a hand in redefining how we evaluate products. They (and some Lauder-owned companies, notably Clinique) are so far ahead of their department-store competition in these two areas that they alone have been consistently raising the bar as new research comes to light. In fact, we are confident telling anyone who asks us where to find the best moisturizers in the department store to sail right past Lancome, Chanel, Clarins, Shiseido, and Elizabeth Arden (among others) and park themselves in front of the Lauder counter (or a Lauder-owned line specializing in skin care such as Clinique—definitely not Origins, but you have to read about Origins to see why). We don't agree with most of the claims Lauder makes for their products and the fragrance is often intrusive, but when it comes to formulary excellence culminating in products that give skin what it needs to function optimally, they are tough to beat.

Despite Lauder's formulary innovations, they're not immune to problem products. Some of their cleansers contain irritating ingredients, jar packaging is prevalent, and their sole product for acne isn't going to help anyone's blemishes improve (actually, Estee Lauder is not the line to shop if managing acne is your concern). The company has also taken a somewhat "if you can't beat 'em, join 'em" approach, much like the many skin-care companies with cosmetic products targeted at women considering cosmetic corrective procedures. Some of the claims (and statistics) about what their skin-care alternatives (to these procedures) can accomplish still stretch the boundaries of what's possible, but most of them have impressive ingredients that benefit skin. They just can't change skin in the same effective way a cosmetic corrective procedure can.

For more information about Estee Lauder, call (877) 311-3883 or visit www.esteelauder.com.

Estee Lauder Makeup

Although Estee Lauder has made some impressive strides with its skin-care formulations, their makeup collection has become a frustrating mixed bag. We were genuinely surprised at how many average makeup items have recently appeared. Of course, there have also been some improvements, most notably in the foundation, eyeshadow, and lipstick categories. But for such an established, worldwide brand to not have more to extol is almost embarrassing. That attitude of bigger and better things is there in the descriptions, but the products tell a different story.

The most frustrating element by far is the number of foundations with sunscreen that either lack essential UVA-protecting ingredients or carry an SPF rating that is below standard. In contrast, the sunscreens in Lauder's skin-care lineup are almost all top-notch. Even more perplexing is that Lauder's sister company, Clinique, really has its act together when it comes to foundations with UVA-protecting ingredients, and they feature a lower price point for superior products.

Despite the shortcomings, many women will continue to shop for makeup at their local Lauder counter, and there is still reason to do that—just not with the same blanket sense of confidence you may have had in the past. This is an exhaustive makeup line, with seemingly endless choices. We like that Lauder's makeup tester units are much more user-friendly, particularly for foundations, powders, and concealers. Their sales staff is more enthusiastic and present (often to the point of hovering) than the staff of many competing lines, but also quite helpful and up-to-date on product comings and goings. We feel strongly that you won't be disappointed with any of the Lauder makeup rated "best" below. Without question, those products are shining examples that prove Lauder has the capability to elevate the current state-of-the-art, raising the bar for their competitors. If only such innovation were evident in the entire line, there would be few reasons to shop elsewhere, save for the prices. As is, and more than ever, it pays to be a savvy consumer when you're about to navigate the cosmetics department.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
03.20.2015
Works for me

Works great on me. Skin feels soft and supple.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Noemi B
03.07.2015
New HG nigh time moisturizer

Love this moisturizer. I have normal to slightly dry skin. This gel creme is a amazing at hydrating and giving me a silky smooth feeling on my face and neck. I wake with a fresh moisturized face which seems to carry on into my morning routine nicely. Even after washing my face I still see the glowy hydration where I used to see some dry patches. That was good enough to convince me and once I finished my deluxe sample I purchased the 2.5oz. A definite permanent part of my night time skincare.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Melody P.
02.28.2015
great for oily skin

I received this product with my night repair serum and it's my first time using it but so far so good. I have pretty oily skin and it makes my skin so soft. I even wake up without oily skin! I'm not too worried with firming or wrinkles yet so I don't know if it helps much with those concerns and it's pretty expensive but I would definitely recommend it as a night time moisturizer for anyone with oily skin like mine if you don't mind spending the money on it. Use it after the night repair serum!!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Chelsea B.
12.30.2014
I love it

I have used it twice & my face feels baby soft & smooth. I put on after Estée Lauder Perfectionist Serum. I have been hesitant to try new moisturizers because I'm never happy with them. I know packaging means best ingredients degrade but I have very hard time with products in tubes. I'm sure I end up throwing away more than most because I do not have the strength to squeeze last of it out.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
CAROL T.
11.22.2014
Love this gel moisturizer

I received this moisturizer in a gift package but since I'm fussy about my sensitive, mature skin I was hesitant about using it. I usually only use oil-free products. Well, I changed my routine to accommodate this wonderful cream. I've had no issues with irritation or breakouts. My skin looks fully hydrated, which has been my goal since I use prescription creams. I'm at the bottom of my sample jar and just ordered the largest jar because I love it so much. It's pricey but worth it!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Kathleen C.
11.06.2014
RCG

The product claims to be a gel-cream formula that is great for combo/oily skin. The formula is marketed as a firming treatment. Estée Lauder never claimed the Revitalizing formula to be a 'one-stop, all-in-one, customized anti-aging problem-solver.' The brand simply claims that it's a gel-cream that targets firming the skin. Which it does! This is a fabulous treatment for my mature combo skin!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Rachel G
09.21.2014
Love it!!!

What a fantastic product! It is a rich feeling moisturizer with no greasiness. Leaves my skin dewey looking, hydrated, and healthy. My skin glows with this product.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Katherine O
03.17.2014
must have of 2014

I love love this product from the first night to the very last. I recommend this to everyone. Great for all skin types. This is a must have of 2014.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
jennifer L
01.19.2014
Amazing!

The first time I used this it felt a little tingly and I thought it would be a no go, but I never felt a tingle from it again. It has cleared up the little bit of breakout scarring I had. No more dehydrated forehead. No more breakouts. It even seems to be helping my redness. My skin feels velvety and I look great! At its price it is a bit more than my previous moisturizer, but since it seems to do wonders for me I don't mind. :)

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Luna L
12.11.2013
Excellent product

Excellent creme. Feels great and makes my skin look wonderful. I have not broken out using it. I would recommend it

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Ann P
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.401 7/7/2015 5:23:36 PM