12.02.2014
13
2035
Aquaphor Healing Ointment
Rating
1.75 fl. oz. for $5.99
Category:Skin Care > Retinol Products > Body Lotions/Creams/Balms/Butters
Last Updated:12.02.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

There isn't much to this classic ointment, but without question it's a gentle formula that does a formidable job of protecting skin that is dry, cracked, or irritated.

Aquaphor Healing Ointment may be used anywhere on the face, including the lips. It is excellent for severely dry hands and feet. The price and size mentioned in this review refers to the tube. Aquaphor also comes in a larger jar, but this tends to be messier and is unsanitary. This deserves our highest rating due to its value for compromised skin and as an aid for sensitive skin. It is a dermatologist favorite for good reason!

Claims

Aquaphor Healing Ointment protects skin to help enhance the natural healing process. Non-irritating and fragrance-free, it is dermatologist recommended for: cracked, dry or chafed skin; and chapped lips and minor cuts and burns; sensitive skin; skin irritations from laser treatments and radiation therapy.

Ingredients

Active: Petrolatum (41%), Other: Mineral Oil, Ceresin, Lanolin Alcohol, Panthenol, Glycerin, Bisabolol

Brand Overview

Eucerin At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive and widely distributed; fragrance-free cleansers; some good body washes and body moisturizers; widely available.

Weaknesses: Anti-redness products that added questionable ingredients instead of increasing the anti-inflammatory agents; nothing for acne-prone skin; jar packaging; some standard body lotions that are OK for dry skin but "OK" isn't good enough.

This drugstore staple line claims to be dermatologist-preferred skin care, but any dermatologist who recommends this line in its entirety without reservation needs a crash course in what skin really needs to be protected and look its best.

There are some basic products that a dermatologist would want to consider, but Eucerin falls short in products to address acne. Further, their latest facial skincare products aren't keeping pace with what industry frontrunners are doing in an effort to create elegant, effective products. For example, serums from Olay, Neutrogena, and Aveeno have much more interesting formulations, while moisturizers from many other drugstore lines (including Nivea, which is owned by Eucerin parent company Beiersdorf) include a greater complement of antioxidants and ingredients that mimic the structure and function of healthy skin. Eucerin is making some strides here, though, which is an encouraging sign.

A major pro for this line is that all of the products are fragrance-free. Although that's helpful for all skin types, it certainly isn't compelling enough for dermatologists to green-light this line without cautions about which products to avoid.

For more information about Eucerin, call (800) 227-4703 or visit www.eucerin.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
05.24.2015
best by test!

i have been using eucerin products for approx 25 years.i beleive "aquaphor"did not even exist during this time? when i took a trip to Costa Rica last month, i needed something for my severly ruddy face. a pharmacy had eucerin aquaphor at very high cost . im not sorry i spent good money on this product. it doea even more for abused and severly damaged facial skin!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
rudy
05.24.2015
Aquaphor

I found this really helpful for both acne and tattoo aftercare. I also read an article that helped me make use of the last little bit of the 14oz tub that I had bought on the recommendation of my tattoo artist.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Tammy Rendal
05.12.2015
SAVES ME TIME AND TIME AGAIN KATE

Used OITMEMT for chemical burn and diaper rash, also dry skin and cuticles. WOW, IMPRESSED. BOTH CONDITIONS WERE VERY PAINFUL. IMPRESSED WITH THE RESULTS, THANKS??

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
KATE H.
05.11.2015
Best for healing AND ACCUTANE LIPS!

I I got word that Aquaphor was a better choice and I found this to be very true. It is the only thing that worked for my lips. Also it has sped up the healing of my skin due to chemical peels (Jessners, TCA) or any other skin injury! It is definetly better than regular old Vaseline because it has more components in it that aids in skin healing!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Cynthia T.
05.11.2015
Best for healing AND ACCUTANE LIPS!

I I got word that Aquaphor was a better choice and I found this to be very true. It is the only thing that worked for my lips. Also it has sped up the healing of my skin due to chemical peels (Jessners, TCA) or any other skin injury! It is definetly better than regular old Vaseline because it has more components in it that aids in skin healing!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Cynthia T.
03.06.2015
Fantastic!

My hands get very dry very easily from the weather. I'm also a Culinary student and on top of the harsh cleaners we for our equipment, it feels like I wash my hands a hundred times a day. Aquaphor had been the best thing to not only keep my hands from drying out but also saves them when they do get dry and cracked. I can't go without this!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Rebekah P.
02.22.2015
Really soothes

If you have sensitive skin, you need a tube of this around. Used it to soothe severely inflamed skin (photosenstivity despite SPF50 AND a big sun-proof hat) while in LA. The generic stuff is not as good; trust me on this. Saw my derm as soon as I returned, who said that it's good I started using Aquaphor because she wants me using it until my skin heals. Also it's the best cuticle treatment cream. Pretty inexpensive for what you get, and I love the tube packaging.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
BB_in_NJ
01.19.2015
Strange

Strange that you rate this product 'Best' based on it's ingredients of petroleum and mineral oil. And you rate other products 'Poor' because they do contain those ingredients.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Susan
01.19.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hello, and thank you for your comments - we actually hold mineral oil and petrolatum in high regard! While there might be other products that we have rated "Poor" that contain these ingredients, that rating is based on other ingredients included, not the mineral oil.

—Paula's Choice Research Team
09.20.2014
Amazing

My mom used this to heal and soothe her skin after having radiation for Breast cancer. It really helped heal her raw, burnt, painful skin. Thanks aquaphor!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Jenni H
03.07.2014
Where have you been all my life?

I have extremely dry hands, and they have left my cuticles a mess. I have tried everything, but nothing seemed to help. On a whim, I decided to try the Aquaphor, and I have noticed an immediate improvement! What sets this product above all others is that it it highly moisturizing, sinks into the skin fairly quickly (it is a gel, so it take a little longer than a lotion), but most important, it's non-scented. That makes a huge difference for me. Also, it's great on the lips, so bonus!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Vicki C
12.15.2013
Best stuff ever

Almost embarrassed to admit it, but I discovered this product when I got a tattoo--my first and only. The tattoo artist recommended it as part of the care routine to prevent scabbing, drying and peeling, which means you have to go back for touch-ups. My little tattoo healed perfectly and beautifully and in the process I started using it on my lips, on my cuticles, elbows, feet--any place I had dry skin. It's not greasy and it really works.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
SJB
09.11.2013
Can't live without it

First line of defense for superdry lips, hands and feet. Great for use when traveling by air or to arid climates. Almost complete healing overnight. Generic (Walgreens, Target, etc) brands of this probably yield similar results for less $$$.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Jeremy B.
02.09.2013
Simply the best for severly dry cracked skin

Vaseline & Neutrogena's Norwegian Formula Hand Cream are no match for Aquaphor..It is by far the best to protect skin that needs TLC. Love that it is economical as a little goes a long way.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
LL
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.401 7/6/2015 8:53:26 AM