12.02.2014
8
Eucerin
Calming Dry Skin Body Wash
Rating
8.4 fl. oz. for $7.79
Category:Skin Care > Sensitive Skin Products > Body Soaps/Washes
Last Updated:12.02.2014
Jar Packaging:False
pH:
Tested on animals:Yes
Overview

Without question, this is an innovative body wash for those with dry to very dry or eczema-prone, itchy skin. Labeling it a shower oil is correct, because although this has cleansing ingredients, it does not look or behave like a typical body wash. It is fluid and, being oil-based, a bit greasy, though mixing it with water does produce a low-foaming creamy lather that rinses surprisingly well. True to its claim, your skin will be left noticeably soft and smooth, though anyone with bothersome dry skin will still need to follow up with a moisturizer after you shower. Caution: Using this product may make your bathtub or shower floor slippery. Be sure to check that and clean the floor accordingly between uses. This product is not recommended for oily or blemish-prone skin.

Claims

Eucerin Calming Body Wash is a mild cleanser with the skin-soothing benefits of natural omega oils to relieve and calm dry, itchy skin. This unique formulation does more than cleanse, it helps improve the condition of your skin. Soap-free and fragrance-free, Calming Body Wash doesn't strip away skin's essential moisture and is enriched with natural omega oils to protect and soothe. At the end of your shower, your skin will feel comfortable and smooth.

Ingredients

Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Laureth-4, MIPA-Laureth Sulfate, Poloxamer 101, Laureth-9, Propylene Glycol, Water, Propyl Gallate, BHT.

Brand Overview

Eucerin At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive and widely distributed; fragrance-free cleansers; some good body washes and body moisturizers; widely available.

Weaknesses: Anti-redness products that added questionable ingredients instead of increasing the anti-inflammatory agents; nothing for acne-prone skin; jar packaging; some standard body lotions that are OK for dry skin but "OK" isn't good enough.

This drugstore staple line claims to be dermatologist-preferred skin care, but any dermatologist who recommends this line in its entirety without reservation needs a crash course in what skin really needs to be protected and look its best.

There are some basic products that a dermatologist would want to consider, but Eucerin falls short in products to address acne. Further, their latest facial skincare products aren't keeping pace with what industry frontrunners are doing in an effort to create elegant, effective products. For example, serums from Olay, Neutrogena, and Aveeno have much more interesting formulations, while moisturizers from many other drugstore lines (including Nivea, which is owned by Eucerin parent company Beiersdorf) include a greater complement of antioxidants and ingredients that mimic the structure and function of healthy skin. Eucerin is making some strides here, though, which is an encouraging sign.

A major pro for this line is that all of the products are fragrance-free. Although that's helpful for all skin types, it certainly isn't compelling enough for dermatologists to green-light this line without cautions about which products to avoid.

For more information about Eucerin, call (800) 227-4703 or visit www.eucerin.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page
Sunday, February 15, 2015
Smell!

Great body wash, no dryness nor grease, no irritation either. Foams nicely with a normal amount. One thing... this has the most ungodly smell I have ever smelled. It is indescribable, sort of corn oil with hot trash and veet wax fragrance. It's so horrible that I have to hold my breath the whole time. The only product that beats this for dry irritated skin is cetaphil restoraderm which doesn't smell gross. But still some will enjoy this novel oil that performs.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Max B.
Friday, January 09, 2015
Worth Searching For!

This is one of those products that you really have to locate via Eucerin's website, since not all stores carry it. It is definitely worth it if you are like me and forget to moisturize your body! I went so bonkers over it I even used it to wash my scalp and hair (with darn good results!) Look past the low lather and the natural scent because these are actually advantages for the health of your skin, and it really does rinse well. No greasy residue. I use it on my face, too!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anon. in Seattle
Sunday, December 07, 2014
Great Shaving Oil

Cheap, affordable, non-irritating. I used to use grapeseed oil but that's hard to rinse and this rinses so easily better. I have some folliculitus and as long as I followed with my regular cleanser, this didn't cause more issues

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Jenny D
Wednesday, June 11, 2014
Wonderful product

I'm very glad I bought this product. It doesn't leave my skin feeling tight and dried out, unlike most other "moisturizing" body washes and soaps out there. I usually follow it up with baby oil in the shower but I know if I forget to or don't have time I won't end up with a "bad skin day". This product did take a bit of time to get used to because it doesn't foam and it's not visible like other cleansers. Give it a little time to figure out the right amount to use.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Eileen H
Tuesday, May 20, 2014
Wonderful Body Wash!

This may be my favorite body wash, especially in the winter. If I'm feeling lazy, I don't have to use lotion or cream on my legs because this makes them so soft. Stops any dry skin body itches and has a silky, non-greasy soapiness to it. The fragrance seems very neutral to me, much more so than some other fragranced body washes that have a strong chemical smell. This one is a winner on all counts!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
NANCY A.
Thursday, April 24, 2014
Smells Weird

Although this product left my skin feeling good, I could not get past the weird, kind of fishy smell. I ended up throwing it out after a few showers because of that, alas.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Mary A.
Sunday, August 18, 2013
The best!

This is the best body wash I´ve ever used! My dry skin just soaks it up like a long drink of water. I do still use lotion/cream, but not nearly as much as I used to. Highly recommend!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Cathy M
Saturday, March 23, 2013
Got a sample of this and just tried it for the first time.

WOW AMAZING!!! My body skin has never been softer! i dont even have to apply body lotion. It comes out a heavy oil almost like how olive oil feels. It lathers into a thick creamy lather its kinda hard to describe, I want to say a heavy lather. I know its removing all my body sunblock because of the oil in there (think asian cleansing oil) and rinses perfectly. After drying off my jaw dropped touching my skin. 5 stars!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Ethan K.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.369 3/3/2015 5:11:43 AM