12.02.2014
10
10
Cleanser
Rating
3.3 fl. oz. for $80
Category:Skin Care > Cleansers (including Cleansing Cloths) > Cleansers/Soaps
Last Updated:12.02.2014
Jar Packaging:Yes
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

This is the cleanser that Vogue magazine heralded as “probably the best cleanser in the world.” We can’t be sure what it was about this product that deserved such praise, because Eve Lom’s Cleanser doesn’t come close to living up to that statement! Splurging on this formula gets you an unremarkable blend of mineral oil, lanolin, cocoa butter and fatty acids. This hard-to-rinse mix is best avoided by those with oily/combination skin types and/or prone to breakouts (imagine attempting to wash your face with lip balm and you may get the picture). The mineral-oil base removes makeup, but so would plain mineral oil and you wouldn’t have to contend with the potent irritants included, namely clove, eucalyptus, eugenol, and isoeugenol. See More Info for details about the damaging effects of irritation to skin.

Had Eve Lom left out those irritants, this would have been an acceptable, though embarrassingly overpriced, cleanser option for very dry skin. Given Eve Lom’s reputation as a master aesthetician, we were shocked at the cost for this cleanser, given its ingredients amount to little more than Aquaphor and fragrance extracts (and those irritant extracts make this problematic for the eye area). There isn’t any reason to consider this formula given the numerous well-formulated alternatives available (from the drugstore to the department store), especially given its ridiculously steep price.

Pros:
  • None.
Cons:
  • Heavy mix of emollients make this a problem to rinse.
  • The amount of ground apricot seed makes this abrasive and damaging to the skin.
  • Clove, eucalyptus oils and fragrance extracts are potent irritants (negating the “gentle” claim).
  • Expensive (for what is a very basic series of ingredients).
More Info:

Irritation: Irritation, whether you see it on the surface of your skin or not, causes inflammation and as a result impairs healing, damages collagen, and depletes the vital substances your skin needs to stay young. Daily use of products that contain a high amount of fragrance, whether the fragrant ingredients are synthetic or natural, causes chronic irritation that can damage healthy collagen production, lead to or worsen dryness, and impair your skin's ability to heal. Fragrance-free is the best way to go for all skin types. If fragrance in your skin-care products is important to you, it should be a very low amount to minimize the risk to your skin. (Sources: Inflammation Research, December 2008, pages 558–563; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2008, pages 124–135, and November-December 2000, pages 358–371; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, April 2008, pages 15–19; Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, March 2008, pages 78–82; Mechanisms of Ageing and Development, January 2007, pages 92–105; and British Journal of Dermatology, December 2005, pages S13–S22).

Claims

With a powerful blend of Egyptian chamomile, hops, clove and eucalyptus oil, together with cocoa butter the Eve Lom Cleanser cleanses, tones, exfoliates all in one. Even the most stubborn make-up and eye make-up will be removed. The specially woven muslin cloth (100% cotton) is used with the Cleanser to improve skin circulation while cleansing and exfoliating the skin in minutes. The result is clean, perfectly balanced skin and a radiant complexion. Suitable for all skin types.

Ingredients

Paraffinum Liquidum (Mineral Oil), Cetearyl Alcohol, PEG-30 Lanolin, Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-2, Aluminum Stearate, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa Butter), PEG-75 Lanolin, Chamomilla Recutita (Chamomile Oil), Eugenia Caryophyllus (Clove Oil), Eucalyptus Globulus (Eucalyptus Oil), Humulus Lupulus (Hops Oil), Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Isobutylparaben, P-Chloro-M-Cresol, Eugenol, Isoeugenol

Brand Overview

Eve Lom At-A-Glance

Strengths: The sunscreens provide sufficient UVA protection; the muslin cloths are nice if you don't mind spending extra for a washcloth.

Weaknesses: Expensive; jar packaging; limited range of products; several products contain potent irritants, such as camphor and eucalyptus; Lom overemphasizes cleansing and scrubbing skin; irritating lip balm; hand cream with sunscreen that stops at SPF 10.

Eve Lom is described as "one of the most respected and sought-after beauty professionals alive today," which is quite a feat, but a bit bewildering when you consider the quality of the product's that bear her name. A Czechoslovakia-born aesthetician who came to the United States in the 1980s, Lom studied with fellow aesthetician Georgette Klinger before jumping across the pond and taking her skills to London. PR pronouncements aside, in this case the quality of the products is seriously lacking, and most are utter disappointments, with formulas that are remarkable only in how amazingly ordinary and mundane they are.

Aside from the poor formulations, this line lacks AHA or BHA exfoliants (which have abundant research showing they are beneficial for most skin types), effective anti-acne products, and any products to address other concerns such as discolorations or wrinkles. Lom's less-is-more approach is intriguing, but less should not mean short-changing your skin on what is essential for healing, sun protection, various skin-care concerns, or well-researched ingredients. Limiting the number of products you use doesn't necessarily mean you are taking good (or even average) care of your skin.

Where this line falls seriously short are the moisturizers. Most of them are as basic as it gets, with combinations that date back to the 80s. (Think about using the same computer you used in the 80s and it'll give you an idea of how antiquated skin-care formularies won't give your skin what it needs, namely, what current research shows is essential for skin to function like young or healthy skin.) Aside from banal formulations, they also are laden with fragrance, and the few plant extracts these products do contain have minimal or no research showing their benefit; some are even seriously irritating. Any ingredient, natural or otherwise, that causes irritation can cause collagen to break down, increase oil production, and impair the skin's barrier—none of that is good and an aesthetician should know better, regardless of her pedigree.

Not a single Lom product has a formula that mixes antioxidants, skin-identical ingredients, anti-irritants, and cell-communicating ingredients, which are central to the current understanding, based on published research, of what skin truly needs to look and feel its best. You can't even fault Lom for using mostly jar packaging because there are no ingredients in these products worth keeping stable. In the end, becoming a devotee to Eve Lom’s products and skin-care philosophies is both a step backward and a step toward subjecting your skin to daily irritation and inflammation, both of which lead to helping skin look older, not younger.

For more information about Eve Lom, call +44 (0) 20 8740 2076 or visit www.evelom.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
05.24.2015
Worst stuff ever!

I've been using a two step Korean cleansing routine for a long time and shouldve stuck with my usual products or read reviews BEFORE buying this garbage. I used it twice in a day, woke up the next morning with tiny blisters all over my eyelids and upper cheeks. Along with swollen, red skin. I changed NOTHING else. Korean products are for the most part more natural and gentle and my skin was great! I'm beyond irritated about what this did to my skin literally overnight. In the trash it goes.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Krystyn L
05.18.2015
Bugger Me Do!

Blimey! I can't understand the hype for this cleanser. I found the team's review is spot-on. Yeah, this works to remove makeup and leave skin soft, but so does plain mineral oil at the chemist's shop. And that costs a pittance compared to what Eve Lom is charging. I think some people are caught up in the price and that makes them believe this cleanser is the cat's pajamas.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Harriet W.
04.07.2015
Paula is very uninformed here

Its not conventional. It's based on oil cleansing.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Brittany K
03.14.2015
horrible

So greasy and expensive. The clove scent is pretty overwhelming and I was worried about it irritating my sensitive skin. Ended up throwing my sample out.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
jessica, e
03.01.2015
Acne prone skin beware

I'm not surprised by the site's review of this but I am surprised by the users. I had the most awful experience with this cleaner. It broke me out in the worst cystic acne I have ever experienced. It took months for my skin to go back to normal and I loath that I paid so much money for it. It's terrible.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Ruth B
01.24.2015
The review is absolutely WRONG!!!

I just lost the respect I had for this site with the review I just read on this product. It is absolutely amazing! Love the fact that I don't need a wet face for it, love that I don't need a lot or rinsing afterwards, love that it removes even the heaviest makeup, love how it exfoliates, love everything about it!!! When I see very dead skin on my face, all I do is use the cleanser on just that part of my face, and it is perfect!!! Love it so much!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Sepideh
01.26.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hello, and thank you for your comments - we're glad to hear this product is working well for you! We based our review on research showing that some of the ingredients could lead to skin irritation, and we stand by the review.

—Paula's Choice Research Team
01.20.2015
Best Cleanser for Sensitive, Acne, Oil-Prone Skin

I have oily, sensitive, acne-prone skin. This deep cleans and leaves my skin matte; no film whatsoever. The price doesn't bother me because a pea-sized amount is all that is needed. This was voted best by Vogue for a reason...IT WORKS.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
12.21.2014
Best Cleanser Ever

Poor?! This is the best cleanser I've ever tried which is why I've been using it for 10 years. I have sensitive combination skin - foaming cleansers cause dryness, bumps and/or contact dermatitis, whilst cream cleansers lead to clogged pores and break outs. This paste turns into a non-greasy oil on application. I don't mind the smell at all - it's sort of herby. The muslin cloth removes all residue. My skin glows with health. Yes it's expensive, so I request it for birthdays and Christmas!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Amanda
06.06.2014
Don't know why it works, but it does

I've been following Paula for years, and I know that mineral oil is supposed to be bad for my combination skin. But I tried this product and fell in love. I've been using it for 3 months now and my skin has never looked better. By now the mineral oil should be clogging my pores and the herbal extracts should be irritating my skin, but my skin has never been clearer or more luminous than it is now. One 3 oz jar lasted 3 months, so not a bad value.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
MZB
03.11.2014
Love it!

I absolutely love this cleanser. It is used differently from other cleansers and takes a bit more time. But my 60-ish combination skin loves it. It even keeps me from breaking out as much. My skin is left feeling soft and my makeup goes on very nicely. I have no complaints at all and my skin loves it.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Nancy B.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.394 5/27/2015 11:31:44 AM