11.26.2014
10
437
Face Cleanser Daily Treatment with FAB Antioxidant Booster
Rating
5 fl. oz. for $20
Category:Skin Care > Cleansers (including Cleansing Cloths) > Cleansers/Soaps
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

This is a fairly gentle, pearlescent foaming facial cleanser that's best for normal to combination skin that's slightly dry. It contains some intriguing skin-identical ingredients, antioxidants, and anti-irritants, but for the most part they're of little benefit to your skin because cleansers are meant to be rinsed away and those ingredients work best when they are left on. This cleanser rinses without a hint of residue

Pros:
  • Water-soluble foaming cleanser removes makeup.
  • Rinses without leaving a residue.
  • Contains intriguing soothing agents.
  • Fragrance-free.
Cons:
  • The specialty ingredients are not left on skin long enough to have benefit.
Claims

FAB Face Cleanser gently cleanses the skin, removes surface oils, make up, dirt and grime. Its whipped texture transforms into a rich cream when blended with water. It is infused with a powerful botanical antioxidant blend that works hard to scavenger free radicals.

Ingredients

Water, Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate, Glycerin, Stearic Acid, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Stearyl Alcohol, Sodium PCA, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Chrysanthemum Parthenium (Feverfew) Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Allantoin, Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose, Disodium Cocoamphodiacetate, Coco Glucoside, Glyceryl Stearate, Disodium EDTA, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol

Brand Overview

First Aid Beauty At-A-Glance

Strengths: Several fragrance-free products; relatively reasonable pricing; sunscreen provides broad-spectrum protection; wonderful fragrance-free body wash.

Weaknesses: AHA pads contain a low amount of glycolic and lactic acids; some products contain fragrant plant extracts; every product contains feverfew extract, which has benefits, but also can be an irritant; jar packaging; for a line meant for sensitive skin, their use of common irritants is disappointing.

With a name like First Aid Beauty (FAB for short), it's obvious this line is meant to rescue your skin from distress, and, indeed, these products are targeted toward those who have sensitive, easily irritated skin, but who still want an elegant, department-store flair. Ironically, FAB falls short on both ends of the spectrum.

Despite the company's claims of providing "therapeutic action" for "tough skin conditions," some of the products contain irritating ingredients that are extremely problematic for any skin type, especially for those with sensitive or compromised skin. It was disappointing to see known irritants like sulfur, balsam resin, and witch hazel in products claiming to calm your skin and reduce redness. "What were they thinking?" was a question that came up more than once while reviewing this line!

On the bright side, First Aid Beauty does have a very good fragrance-free body wash. There are also a few products that omit the fragrance, which is a definite must for sensitive skin, although, in fact, all skin types do best with fragrance-free products. Unfortunately, the fragrance-free formulas in this line come up short on important ingredients, like antioxidants and skin-repairing ingredients.

It is best to avoid their Ultra Repair Cream, the SPF 30 sunscreen, Detox Eye Roller, Blemish Eraser, and the Anti-Redness Serum because they all contain enough irritating ingredients to make conditions like acne, redness, and sensitivity worse.

For more information about First Aid Beauty, sold exclusively at Sephora in the United States, call (800) 322-3619 or visit www.firstaidbeauty.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
06.23.2015
Great for sensitive, rosacea skin

Cleansers always leave my hyper-sensitive skin feeling stripped and red. I have allergies to many ingredients often used in "soothing" skincare, and this doesn't trigger an allergic reaction nor does it cause my skin to feel dry and irritated. My skin feels totally clean yet soft and calm after using. I use a makeup wipe before use, but this always removes any traces of makeup left that other cleansers usually leave behind. Honestly a godsend.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Maddie T
06.10.2015
Shocked!

i am a new user to this product. i got this as a freebie as well from sephora. kept it in my medicine cabinet for weeks. i had been using cliniques 3 step cleansing system for a month & was left with way more breakouts than i had. switches to FAB and was amazed. gentle and effective in a week! its nuts. i recommend it! i also use heavy dept. store makeup! and it removes it all. after i wipe with makeup remover. GO GET SOME APAP!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Rachel H.
02.14.2015
Holy Grail STATUS!

This product is everything you want in a cleanser. It's cleans away all the dirt, grime, oil, and make-up...even mascara. While it does have a scent (packaging states that it's fragrance-free), I like it and think it smells very clean and soapy. It is non-drying, making face feel like a dream after use!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
JULIE M.
02.04.2015
Amazing cleanser - effective yet gentle!!

This cleanser has been a godsend for my acne prone, very sensitive skin. It is the first cleanser that completely removes my makeup (except long wearing eyeliner) and does not strip or irritate my skin and believe me, I've tried them all, including Paula's. nothing beats it for clean, soft, not dry/stripped skin!! Don't be discouraged by the size of the tube. You use a pea sized amount or less.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Dawn L.
02.02.2015
love it

Got this as a freebie at sephora. I used on my son who has acne to calm his face after using Paulas bha and paulas benzoyl peroxide 5%. Other cleansers burn his skin after using acne products. This is calming but doesn't cause break outs. I love it too! Others in his regime: Paulas clear (DRYING), Paulas skin balancing, IS clinical, CeraVe. When feeling dry from acne products or winter. This is awesome!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Barbie
01.31.2015
Love it!

I have combination skin and this works perfectly for me. It removes my makeup and sunscreen completely and leaves my face feeling fresh and soft. Highly recommended!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
01.21.2015
I love this cleanser!

I love that it is creamy and foams up nicely with a rich lather, non drying and leaves my skin so clean without stripping it dry. It's the only product I use that is not from Paula's line of face care. If there is a similar cleanser in Paula's line... Please tell me, I would love to try it. I love this site, it's so informational and the products are amazing for my sensitive skin :o)

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Roxanne F.
06.21.2014
love this cleanser

This is by far my favorite cleanser I've ever used. I love that despite it's foaming properties, it's still creamy and never drying. I think the lack of fragrance and harsh ingredients in this cleanser are of great benefit to my skin, which can be sensitive at times. Though it's a bit pricey, you get a ton of product and need a very small amount when cleansing, so it lasts a very long time even if used twice daily. Just a great all-around, basic cleanser.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Monique, H
08.26.2013
printed ingredients on the website different compared with the ingredients on the tube

Ingredients list on the tube that i've just bought:Water,Sodium Cocoyl Isothionate,Stearic Acid,Glycerin,Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice,Strearyl Alcohol,Disodium Cocoamphodiacetate,Sodium PCA, Phenoxyetanol,Caprylyl Glycol,Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose,Coco Glucoside,Glyceryl Oleate,Allantoin,Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Citric Acid,Disodium EDTA,Chrysanthemum Parthenium (Feverfew) Extract,Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract.Differ from whats listed here on FAB's website!Such a turn off!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
unknown
03.02.2013
Pretty good

I really liked this product. You get a good amount for the price and it is non-drying for a cleanser that has a bit of foam to it. It has no fragrance which is good - but I miss because I do like some fragrance in a cleanser. It was ok at removing very heavy eyemakeup, but required a couple of goes at it.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Melissa
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.401 7/3/2015 7:37:47 AM