Ultra Repair Cream Intense Therapy Skin Protectant w/FAB Antioxidant Booster

Price:
$12 - 2 fl. oz.
Poor Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime) > Moisturizer without Sunscreen
Last Updated:
3/14/2013
Jar Packaging:
Yes
Tested On Animals:
No

Nothing about this product is ultra or intense and it contains only a minute amount of antioxidants, so it isn't boosting either. What it does have is a completely mundane formula of oatmeal, water, glycerin, and wax. That isn't terrible, but it certainly isn’t therapy for skin. The problem is that it contains eucalyptus, which is a skin irritant and, therefore, not good for any skin type. Plus, the 6 fl. oz. size is packaged in a jar, adding to this product's woes. (see More Info below for details on irritation, eucalyptus, and jar packaging).

Pros:
  • Contains skin-soothing colloidal oatmeal.
Cons:
  • Eucalyptus, even in small amounts, is a skin irritant, not a skin soother.
  • Boring formula doesn't begin to approach what's best for sensitive skin.
  • Jar package won't keep the teeny amount of antioxidants present stable.

More Info:

Eucalyptus contains fragrance ingredients known to irritate skin, especially skin with a compromised barrier (which is characteristic of those who struggle with sensitive skin). Eucalyptus oil is more cause for concern than the extract, but because First Aid Beauty doesn't list the form of the plant they used (and because of this product's scent) we're playing it safe and recommending that you avoid this moisturizer. Sensitive skin needs ingredients that rebuild and restore a healthy skin surface; irritants such as eucalyptus impair this process and potentially make sensitive skin more of a concern.

The fact that it’s packaged in a jar means the beneficial ingredients won't remain stable once it is opened. All plant extracts, vitamins, antioxidants, and other state-of-the-art ingredients break down in the presence of air, so once a jar is opened and lets the air in these important ingredients begin to deteriorate. Jars also are unsanitary because you’re dipping your fingers into them with each use, adding bacteria which further deteriorate the beneficial ingredients (Sources: Free Radical Biology and Medicine, September 2007, pages 818-829; Ageing Research Reviews, December 2007, pages 271-288; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 314-321; International Journal of Pharmaceutics, June 12, 2005, pages 197-203; Pharmaceutical Development and Technology, January 2002, pages 1-32; International Society for Horticultural Science, www.actahort.org/members/showpdf?booknrarnr=778_5; Beautypackaging.com, and www.beautypackaging.com/articles/2007/03/airless-packaging.php).

A thick, rich, emollient product that hydrates deep down with exceptional penetration. Ultra Repair Cream provides immediate relief and visible improvement for distressed skin. Can be used all over the body and on the face.

Colloidal Oatmeal, Water, Stearic Acid, Glycerin, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Glyceryl Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Cetearyl Alcohol, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Squalane, Allantoin, Sodium Hydroxide, Dimethicone, Xanthan Gum, Disodium EDTA, Chrysanthemum Parthenium (Feverfew) Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Butylene Glycol, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Eucalyptus Globulus, Ceramide 3

With a name like First Aid Beauty (FAB for short), it's obvious this line is meant to rescue your skin from distress, and, indeed, these products are targeted toward those who have sensitive, easily irritated skin, but who still want an elegant, department-store flair. Ironically, FAB falls short on both ends of the spectrum.

Despite the company's claims of providing "therapeutic action" for "tough skin conditions," some of the products contain irritating ingredients that are extremely problematic for any skin type, especially for those with sensitive or compromised skin. It was disappointing to see known irritants like sulfur, balsam resin, and witch hazel in products claiming to calm your skin and reduce redness. "What were they thinking?" was a question that came up more than once while reviewing this line!

On the bright side, First Aid Beauty does have a very good fragrance-free body wash. There are also a few products that omit the fragrance, which is a definite must for sensitive skin, although, in fact, all skin types do best with fragrance-free products. Unfortunately, the fragrance-free formulas in this line come up short on important ingredients, like antioxidants and skin-repairing ingredients.

It is best to avoid their Ultra Repair Cream, the SPF 30 sunscreen, Detox Eye Roller, Blemish Eraser, and the Anti-Redness Serum because they all contain enough irritating ingredients to make conditions like acne, redness, and sensitivity worse.

For more information about First Aid Beauty, sold exclusively at Sephora in the United States, call (800) 322-3619 or visit www.firstaidbeauty.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Danielle R.
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 03, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Healing a Decade of Eczema in Days
    • As an eczema sufferer who has tried 50+ products over the last 12 years, I can say this product is a miracle. I noticed it almost immediately, but overnight it was taking the peeling, scaling, bleeding and cracking away and my skin that looked dead looked alive again. It's been 5 days now and I couldn't live without it. I think the wax is actually what keeps the moisture in the cells so it's a benefit you wouldn't expect and it's a mild waxy finish. This made my dream come true; healthy feet

  2. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, March 28, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Amazing
    • This is the only product that helped to calm my skin down, and I've tried dozens of products (including Paula's Choice), everything made me break out. If you're struggling with Dermatitis, this is a great option. I do use the 2oz option, which comes in a tube.

  3. Susan .\ S.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 25, 2014
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    O am confused
    • I have been using this product from a tube-not a jar-and I have excellent results softening and hydrating my very rough elbows.

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Thursday, March 27, 2014

    Hi, and thanks for your comments! We mention in the review that it is the 6 oz. size that comes packaged in the jar - you are likely using the smaller 2 oz. size, which does come in a tube. We hope this clears up any confusion!

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  4. Annette D.
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 01, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Loser!
    • This may be a good value. But, I don't need to harm my skin. I overlooked the eucalyptus. So I put this on my skin. I wasn't impressed with this product.Or the false claims.stay far away from this cream!

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

PCWEB-WWW3 v1.0.0.287
Skip to Top of Page
FREE SHIPPING | FREE RESIST Moisturizer with $50 Purchase

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.