12.02.2014
7
11
First Aid Beauty
Ultra Repair Cream Intense Therapy Skin Protectant w/FAB Antioxidant Booster
Rating
2 fl. oz. for $12
Category:Skin Care > Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime) > Moisturizer without Sunscreen
Last Updated:12.02.2014
Jar Packaging:Yes
Tested on animals:No
Overview

Nothing about this product is ultra or intense and it contains only a minute amount of antioxidants, so it isn't boosting either. What it does have is a completely mundane formula of oatmeal, water, glycerin, and wax. That isn't terrible, but it certainly isn’t therapy for skin. The problem is that it contains eucalyptus, which is a skin irritant and, therefore, not good for any skin type. Plus, the 6 fl. oz. size is packaged in a jar, adding to this product's woes. (see More Info below for details on irritation, eucalyptus, and jar packaging).

Pros:
  • Contains skin-soothing colloidal oatmeal.
Cons:
  • Eucalyptus, even in small amounts, is a skin irritant, not a skin soother.
  • Boring formula doesn't begin to approach what's best for sensitive skin.
  • Jar package won't keep the teeny amount of antioxidants present stable.

More Info:

Eucalyptus contains fragrance ingredients known to irritate skin, especially skin with a compromised barrier (which is characteristic of those who struggle with sensitive skin). Eucalyptus oil is more cause for concern than the extract, but because First Aid Beauty doesn't list the form of the plant they used (and because of this product's scent) we're playing it safe and recommending that you avoid this moisturizer. Sensitive skin needs ingredients that rebuild and restore a healthy skin surface; irritants such as eucalyptus impair this process and potentially make sensitive skin more of a concern.

The fact that it’s packaged in a jar means the beneficial ingredients won't remain stable once it is opened. All plant extracts, vitamins, antioxidants, and other state-of-the-art ingredients break down in the presence of air, so once a jar is opened and lets the air in these important ingredients begin to deteriorate. Jars also are unsanitary because you’re dipping your fingers into them with each use, adding bacteria which further deteriorate the beneficial ingredients (Sources: Free Radical Biology and Medicine, September 2007, pages 818-829; Ageing Research Reviews, December 2007, pages 271-288; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 314-321; International Journal of Pharmaceutics, June 12, 2005, pages 197-203; Pharmaceutical Development and Technology, January 2002, pages 1-32; International Society for Horticultural Science, www.actahort.org/members/showpdf?booknrarnr=778_5; Beautypackaging.com, and www.beautypackaging.com/articles/2007/03/airless-packaging.php).

Claims

A thick, rich, emollient product that hydrates deep down with exceptional penetration. Ultra Repair Cream provides immediate relief and visible improvement for distressed skin. Can be used all over the body and on the face.

Ingredients

Colloidal Oatmeal, Water, Stearic Acid, Glycerin, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Glyceryl Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Cetearyl Alcohol, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Squalane, Allantoin, Sodium Hydroxide, Dimethicone, Xanthan Gum, Disodium EDTA, Chrysanthemum Parthenium (Feverfew) Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Butylene Glycol, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Eucalyptus Globulus, Ceramide 3

Brand Overview

First Aid Beauty At-A-Glance

Strengths: Several fragrance-free products; relatively reasonable pricing; sunscreen provides broad-spectrum protection; wonderful fragrance-free body wash.

Weaknesses: AHA pads contain a low amount of glycolic and lactic acids; some products contain fragrant plant extracts; every product contains feverfew extract, which has benefits, but also can be an irritant; jar packaging; for a line meant for sensitive skin, their use of common irritants is disappointing.

With a name like First Aid Beauty (FAB for short), it's obvious this line is meant to rescue your skin from distress, and, indeed, these products are targeted toward those who have sensitive, easily irritated skin, but who still want an elegant, department-store flair. Ironically, FAB falls short on both ends of the spectrum.

Despite the company's claims of providing "therapeutic action" for "tough skin conditions," some of the products contain irritating ingredients that are extremely problematic for any skin type, especially for those with sensitive or compromised skin. It was disappointing to see known irritants like sulfur, balsam resin, and witch hazel in products claiming to calm your skin and reduce redness. "What were they thinking?" was a question that came up more than once while reviewing this line!

On the bright side, First Aid Beauty does have a very good fragrance-free body wash. There are also a few products that omit the fragrance, which is a definite must for sensitive skin, although, in fact, all skin types do best with fragrance-free products. Unfortunately, the fragrance-free formulas in this line come up short on important ingredients, like antioxidants and skin-repairing ingredients.

It is best to avoid their Ultra Repair Cream, the SPF 30 sunscreen, Detox Eye Roller, Blemish Eraser, and the Anti-Redness Serum because they all contain enough irritating ingredients to make conditions like acne, redness, and sensitivity worse.

For more information about First Aid Beauty, sold exclusively at Sephora in the United States, call (800) 322-3619 or visit www.firstaidbeauty.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
11.01.2014
Lovely texture

While paulas choice leaves a legit review, i really like this cream. What i love the most is the texture. Its light in feeling but thick enough to deeply moisturize your skin. Easy to spread and sinks into your skin. I have oily skin but use benzoyl peroxide and tretinoin for my acne, so i get flakes and scaly areas frequently. Gel moisturizers,even when packed with hydrating ingredients and humectants, seem to just dissipate off my skin. Only this cream leaves it comfortable and supple.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Angie K.
10.07.2014
eww

This smells so horrible! I washed my face halfway through the evening. There's special and the scent lingers forever. this seriously smells like a boys locker room with eucalyptus candles ... its gross. With this awful scent, you're left with a basic and non-special, or even good, moisturizer. And then there is the fact that there are irritating ingredients.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
jane
04.23.2014
BROKE ME OUT TERRIBLY

I used this product before reading the review, and I really wish I had seen this before purchasing the product. I have very dry and sensitive skin, and using this product on my face caused horrible flares and itchiness. It's labeled for face and body, but it's NOT okay for face. It's okay to use on legs and other less sensitive parts of your body, but there are better products out there for that too.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.03.2014
Healing a Decade of Eczema in Days

As an eczema sufferer who has tried 50+ products over the last 12 years, I can say this product is a miracle. I noticed it almost immediately, but overnight it was taking the peeling, scaling, bleeding and cracking away and my skin that looked dead looked alive again. It's been 5 days now and I couldn't live without it. I think the wax is actually what keeps the moisture in the cells so it's a benefit you wouldn't expect and it's a mild waxy finish. This made my dream come true; healthy feet

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Danielle R.
03.28.2014
Amazing

This is the only product that helped to calm my skin down, and I've tried dozens of products (including Paula's Choice), everything made me break out. If you're struggling with Dermatitis, this is a great option. I do use the 2oz option, which comes in a tube.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.25.2014
O am confused

I have been using this product from a tube-not a jar-and I have excellent results softening and hydrating my very rough elbows.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Susan .\ S.
03.27.2014
Paula's Choice Research Team Response

Hi, and thanks for your comments! We mention in the review that it is the 6 oz. size that comes packaged in the jar - you are likely using the smaller 2 oz. size, which does come in a tube. We hope this clears up any confusion!

—Paula's Choice Research Team
02.01.2014
Loser!

This may be a good value. But, I don't need to harm my skin. I overlooked the eucalyptus. So I put this on my skin. I wasn't impressed with this product.Or the false claims.stay far away from this cream!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Annette D.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.376 3/6/2015 10:38:25 PM