11.26.2014
11
854
Luminous Silk Foundation
Rating
$62
Category:Makeup > Sensitive Skin Products
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Luminous Silk Foundation is the foundation every Armani makeup artist we spoke to raves about. It’s not hard to see why, because this liquid foundation has a fluid, ultra-smooth texture that floats over the skin and dries to a natural, slightly matte finish with a faint hint of shine. It’s a really beautiful foundation that enhances rather than masks skin.

For light coverage and an unbelievably skin-like result that comes in over a dozen mostly gorgeous colors for fair to dark skin, this foundation is tough to beat. Luminous Silk Foundation is best for normal to slightly dry or slightly oily skin.

This was formerly given our highest rating but has been downgraded a bit due to the formula (which we previously hadn’t closely examined) containing fragrance ingredients known to cause irritation. Their inclusion also makes this foundation iffy for use near the eyes. The fragrance ingredients aren't present in high amounts, but this foundation would certainly be better without them.

One more potential cause for concern is the amount of alcohol this product contains, but in all likelihood its low enough to be a minor issue.

Claims
Ingredients

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Isododecane, Alcohol, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Hexyl Laurate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Phenoxyethanol, Acetylated Glycol Stearate, Magnesium Sulfate, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Tristearin, Cellulose Gum, Nylon-12, Limonene, Benzyl Salicylate, Linalool, Diphenyl Dimethicone, Acrylates Copolymer, Fragrance, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Methylparaben, Butylparaben, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Aluminum Hydroxide, Hexyl Cinnamal May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Ultramarines, Mica

Brand Overview

Giorgio Armani At-A-Glance

Strengths: Outstanding foundations; superb powder textures; a brilliant shimmer fluid; perfect bronzers; some excellent lip color options; a neutral palette makes this line a must-see.

Weaknesses: Expensive; the skincare is underwhelming, especially given the cost (though the claims sound good!); some of the SPF-rated products do not supply adequate broad spectrum protection; most of the mascaras aren't as impressive as they should be.

Italian fashion designer Giorgio Armani is credited with giving tailored elegance, power, and sex appeal to standbys like men's suits, and turning Hollywood's A-list stars into fashion icons as they parade through countless award ceremonies adorned in his simple yet elegant creations. According to Armani, "Elegance doesn't mean being noticed, it means being remembered." That statement has been parlayed into the designer's makeup collection, where the products are replete with the textures, colors, and flawless application that assure your natural beauty will be memorable rather than masked.

Because Armani has always been passionate about textures, it's no surprise that his makeup (which is the main reason to check out this line) presents an impressive collection that features some of the smoothest, lightest textures you're likely to find. From foundations to powders, eyeshadows, and mascaras—even pencils—the makeup selection includes some truly stellar products. According to the brochure for Armani's makeup, the supreme textures and silky application are the result of Micro-fil technology. This supposedly allows for a precise blending and layering of select ingredients, offering a heightened sense of color that fits like a second skin.

Regardless of how that technology is labeled, almost all of the makeup contains standard silicone polymers along with ordinary ingredients like nylon-12. Of course, many cosmetics companies have their equivalent version of Micro-fil, but Armani seems to have taken it one step further, though not always toward desired results. For example, the eyeshadows, while very smooth and easy to blend, aren't much for intensity, a point the counter personnel made clear.

There are a few other instances where the pricey products aren't all they're made out to be, but this is the world of cosmetics, and although the fantasy is for every product to be perfect, that's hardly ever the reality. Still, there are many compelling reasons to explore this collection. Although not fully distributed across the United States, it has a presence in most major cities and the products may be purchased on Armani's Web site. Makeup is where it's at for Giorgio Armani's cosmetics line. The skin care was a blatant, exceedingly overpriced afterthought and is not worth considering.

For more information about Giorgio Armani, owned by L'Oreal, call (877) ARMANI-3 or visit www.giorgioarmanibeauty-usa.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
07.15.2015
Amazing, but seems to irritate with continued use

I've been using this foundation for a few months now and intended to leave a review suggesting it should be given a 'Good' instead of 'Best' rating but I see it's already been downgraded. This is my favorite foundation ever in terms of how it looks on my skin - thin, natural yet with great coverage, and 4.5 is a beyond perfect match for me! However, I am pretty sure it's been making my dry skin more dry, and I don't even use it daily. Maybe due to the alcohol (5th ingredient) or fragrance.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Annie M.
04.19.2015
bottles

I do love this product. It is pricey... does anyone have ideas how to easily get the rest of the foundation out of the bottle when the pump stops pumping and there is still a lot of foundation left in the bottle?

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
marla chalmers
04.18.2015
Color

Hi what do the numbers represent besides color. Does it represent tone? Are the ones ending in .0 neutral? .25 pink? .50 yellow? Pls HELP

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Emily
04.28.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  There is actually nothing to that shade-naming convention - it's essentially meaningless.  :)

—Admin
03.01.2015
Good Grade?

I'm sorry I have to ask the same question as Anna, why is this product given a rating of 'good' when alcohol is so high on the ingredients list?

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
anonymous
03.02.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  In the review it states that the reason this product wasn't given a BEST was due to the slight fragrance and right after that addresses the alcohol concern... it is so low on the list of ingredients that we did not find it to be especially drying.

—Admin
06.30.2014
It looks nice

be aware, however, that the fragrance is strong! So heavily scented that I cannot abide wearing it. You may not be bothered, if you normally don't mind face products that are perfumed.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Rachael
02.10.2014
GOOD?

I really don't understand why this product is rated as Good? The same GA foundation with a sunscreen is rated here as Poor... Both contain Alcohol on the top of the ingredient list. What made this one to earn the Good grade?

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anna
06.18.2013
Not Tested on Animals?

This is my favorite foundation. It matches my skin tone perfectly and blends beautifully. Also the bottle lasts for about 6 months, which makes the price seem well worth it. However, I had recently decided to give it up because this review says they test on animals. I checked with the Giogio Armani website and they state (in their very first FAQ) that they do not test on animals. Can the team offer some insight? http://www.giorgioarmanibeauty-usa.com/Frequently-Asked-Questions/faq,default,pg.htm

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
KRISTIN H.
06.19.2013
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi, and thanks for your comments! The reason Giorgio Armani is listed as an animal tester on our site is because its products are sold in China. Chinese law requires cosmetic products used on humans to be tested on animals first. Armani itself may not engage in animal testing, but since it's chosen to sell its products in China, they are subject to animal tests.

—Paula's Choice Research Team
04.27.2013
Believe Paula

I found myself without my regular foundation in Boston during the search for the bombers and the lock down. I recalled using this in the past, and I have allergies to some common cosmetic ingredients so I bought it. Everything the other reviewers had to say is true. It applies beautifully and flawlessly. In my very humid climate where almost no one suffers from dry skin it worked great. However, in the cold dry northeast, skin began peeling and flaking under my eyes.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Lauren K
02.09.2013
My favourite foundation!

This foundation is by far my favourite, and believe me, I tried them all. Although it is definitely on the pricey side, I think this little elegant bottle is worth every penny. It has a smooth and luxurious texture, a natural glowy finish and leaves your skin looking like actual SKIN (not makeup). Normally after applying makeup my face looks cakey - but with this foundation my skin looks natural and flawless. I could not believe it, but trust me, they do not lie about their MicroFil technology. You can layer it without ending up caked in foundation. It is also great for dry, flakey skin because it does not emphasize the dryness. I think it has medium coverage (Paula said the coverage is light, but I do not agree with that). I am a NC20 at MAC and I wear Nr 4. And if you hesitate because you think this is too pricey then consider that you normally buy something that does not fit your needs perfectly. After a while you get frustrated and you buy something else without finishing it up. This way you spend more money than you would buying something really good in the first place. If you take this into consideration this foundation is not pricey at all.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.09.2013
Best ever

I have tried lots of different foundations and this is the best I have ever used. It goes on with no effort and stays on all day. I realize that it is expensive but it is worth it. It looks totally natural.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Ann
01.25.2013
Wonderful foundation

This is the best foundation that I have ever used. It goes on flawlessly and stays on. It covers but looks natural. I love it

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.405 8/2/2015 5:28:19 AM