12.02.2014
7
3
Tingling and Exfoliating Mud Mask
Rating
1.7 fl. oz. for $69
Last Updated:12.02.2014
Jar Packaging:Yes
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Beauty magazines have hyped the GlamGlow brand as the new “backstage secret” of Hollywood’s elite entertainment industry. Unfortunately, the hype for their Tingling & Exfolating Mud Mask is far better than the product deserves and it is best kept backstage instead of front and center.

The label reveals a small cast of unexciting ingredients that aren’t the least bit exceptional, and is more an array of irritants such as, comfrey extract, ivy, lavender oil, and added fragrance that spell trouble for oily, blemish-prone skin (see More Info for additional details). This celebrity skin-care “secret” absolute isn’t worthy of its Hollywood Blockbuster price, nor is it a secret worth sharing!

Tingling & Exfoliating Mud Mask is primarily a mix of the oil-absorbing ingredients bentonite clay (listed as montmorillonite) and silica (listed as magnesium aluminum silicate). Polyethylene beads provide physical exfoliation as you massage this over skin prior to rinsing. GlamGlow added their trade-named ingredient “Teaoxi”, which they say works by, “delivering daily fresh Super-Squalene, EGCG Super-Antioxidants & Polyphenols” to skin. These claims are as real as the dinosaurs in Jurassic Park were real, and we will explain why.

Teaoxi is merely a trade name used for the green-tea extract in GlamGlow’s mask, but it’s ordinary green tea extract. By the way, green-tea extract isn’t a source of squalane and while green tea does contain EGCG (epigallocatechin-3-gallate) and polyphenols, both of which have anti-aging and free radical fighting benefits, it is hardly the only beneficial antioxidant to consider for skin. Regardless, even if green tea were the best antioxidant it wouldn’t stay stable in this formula because of this mask’s jar packaging not to mention the constant introduction of bacteria by dipping your fingers into the mask (even if you wash your hands before each use). See More Info for details on the problems jar packaging presents.

GlamGlow Tingling & Exfoliating Mud Mask has far too many flaws to recommend. At best, you’ll get some degree of oil-absorption from the clay (a benefit easily duplicated in many similar formulas). At worst, the combination of plant extracts and fragrance may exacerbate oily skin and acne (which can lead to enlarged pores). In general, tingling is absolutely not a good sign from a skin-care product—make no mistake, this mask doesn’t just tingle due to its combo of essential oils and extracts, it can actually hurt. When did this become a desirable or even necessary part of a skin-care treatment?

The light physical exfoliation offered by the polyethylene beads can’t treat concerns like sun damage or acne, as manual scrubs can only work at the most superficial layers of skin and are unable to penetrate to reach the pore. Due to the significant flaws of this mask (not to mention its price tag), there is no reason to consider it on the merits of its physical exfoliation alone. If brighter, more even-toned skin is your goal, consider any of the well-formulated AHA/BHA exfoliants recommended in the Best Products section.

Note: For unknown reasons, the company website calls this product, “Youthmud Tinglexfoliate Treatment”, even though the name on the jar and box read “Tingling & Exfoliating Mud Mask.

Pros:
  • Contains a few beneficial antioxidants and anti-irritants.
  • Contains ingredients to absorb excess oil that can leave skin smoother.
Cons:
  • Contains numerous ingredients known to cause irritation, which can exacerbate oily skin and breakouts.
  • Jar packaging won’t keep the few beneficial ingredients stable.
  • Expensive for what you get.
More Info:

Irritating Ingredients: Applying irritating ingredients to oily skin stimulates excess oil production at the base of the pores, so your skin ends up becoming oilier and your pores become (or stay) enlarged. Treating oily skin gently with effective products designed to absorb excess oil, exfoliate inside the pore, and help normalize pore function is the best approach to see improvements.

Jar Packaging: The fact that it’s packaged in a jar means the beneficial ingredients won't remain stable once it is opened. All plant extracts, vitamins, antioxidants, and other state-of-the-art ingredients break down in the presence of air, so once a jar is opened and lets the air in these important ingredients begin to deteriorate. Jars also are unsanitary because you’re dipping your fingers into them with each use, adding bacteria which further deteriorate the beneficial ingredients (Sources: Free Radical Biology and Medicine, September 2007, pages 818-829; Ageing Research Reviews, December 2007, pages 271-288; Dermatologic Therapy, September-October 2007, pages 314-321; International Journal of Pharmaceutics, June 12, 2005, pages 197-203; Pharmaceutical Development and Technology, January 2002, pages 1-32; International Society for Horticultural Science, www.actahort.org/members/showpdf?booknrarnr=778_5; Beautypackaging.com, and www.beautypackaging.com/articles/2007/03/airless-packaging.php).

Claims

Claims: This mud mask leaves skin noticeably radiant and glowing. It activates moisturizing collagen synthesis, provides gentle resurfacing exfoliation, and helps to leave skin smoother, brighter, and softer. While providing tighter skin texture and tighter pores, it provides a more youthful appearance and absorbs impurities without removing natural oils.

Ingredients

Water, Montmorillonite, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Polyethylene, Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Chamomile) Flower Extract, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Hedera Helix (Ivy) Extract, Symphytum Officinale (Comfrey) Leaf Extract, Lavandula Hybrida (Lavender) Oil, Glycerin, Fragrance, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Diazolidinyl Urea.

Brand Overview

GlamGlow At-A-Glance

Strengths: None, unfortunately. Well, their packaging is pretty.

Weaknesses: Despite the hype, GlamGlow does not have exceptional, or even mediocre, products worth considering. Their primary two masks are overpriced and offer a mix of ordinary clays, potent fragrance and irritating plant extracts with a few beneficial antioxidants present but they are rendered useless because of the jar packaging.

Created by the husband-and-wife team of Glenn and Shannon Dellimore, the Hollywood, California-based GlamGlow line consists of several masks and cleansers. Their marketing claims may have you thinking these masks are revolutionary skin-care treatments but they are not—not even slightly. GlamGlow also claims their masks are sought out by actors and celebrities for their ability to "tighten skin and shrink pores". The celebrity allure is a good one, as most of us want to know what the stars use to get or stay gorgeous, but celebrity cache alone isn't a great reason to try any product. A lot of celebrities do things that aren't good for them, like smoke, tan, or drink too much, and they make skin care and cosmetic surgery mistakes too.

But back to the masks. The GlamGlow masks contain fragrant essential oils, irritating plant extracts and ordinary clays (despite being named "French clay", in the world of skin-care formulation, clay is just clay and being from France is as special as a French fry is to a potato).

The reality behind the ingredients used in the GlamGlow line is much less interesting than the story would lead you to believe. Aside from the mix of clay and fragrance, their "hero ingredient" is the trade-named ingredient called "Teoxi", which is just green-tea extract. While green-tea extract is an excellent antioxidant, isn’t capable of the the skin perfecting, Benjamin Button-age-reversing results promised. As the body's largest organ, your skin is far too complex to have its anti-aging needs met by one antioxidant, however good it may be. But even if green-tea extract were as amazing as GlamGlow asserts, it won’t remain stable in the jar packaging the company chose for their masks.

Aside from "Teoxi", GlamGlow uses trade names instead of using the actual ingredient name in their marketing claims, on both the box and their website. You may think "Teoxi" sounds impressive, but you're only getting standard ingredients—their use of trade names simply makes the formula seem more intriguing than it really is. For example, their "Bio-Life-Cell-Science" technology claims to be an "Advanced Scientific Skincare" blend, but in reality it's just a mix of eucalyptus, peppermint, comfrey, ivy, marigold and other standard plant extracts. It would take some advanced scientific Photoshopping to get anti-wrinkle/anti-blemish results from this cast of ordinary problematic ingredients!

If you're interested in a clay mask for absorbing excess oil or helping clogged pores, there are many alternatives which easily beat GlamGlow for a fraction of the cost. There is nothing unique about the masks this line sells.

GlamGlow also makes exfoliating claims, but these don't live up to their promise for reasons discussed in each mask's reviews. You are better off using a soft washcloth with your cleanser for physical exfoliation—you will get virtually identical results and save your skin the irritation (plus spare your bank account the wasted money). If brighter, more even-toned skin is your goal, consider any of the well-formulated AHA/BHA exfoliants recommended in the Best Products section.

In the end, despite lots of hype, GlamGlow is a disappointment that isn't worth the expense and puts your skin at risk of irritation. If only a fraction of the marketing efforts behind the brand were put into formulating their products, they might have ended up with products truly deserving of celebrity accolades!

For more information about GlamGlow, email at info@glamglowmud.com or visit www.glamglowmud.com (there is no available phone number).

Note: As of January 2015, GlamGlow has been acquired by Estee Lauder.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
08.19.2015
Terrible

I tried this product before the hype started. Absolutely hated it. This mask is so incredibly irritating. Tingling? No. It burns! The whole experience of it is excruciating.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.27.2015
never been happier

Honestly had never found a bad review before this page. I have tried all of them and while they are expensive they have been EXTREMELY effective for my skin. Last fall my doctor claimed I had rosacea after looking at me from 5 feet away for 30 seconds. After trying skin products for months this has been the best for my skin which is now totally clear/free of redness. Pretty sure it wasn't really rosacea. I worked in a lab and had to wear masks that angered my face. Its never looked better now.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.28.2015
Different people, different results

I have to disagree with Paula on this one. I've been using this mask regularly for the last year and my skin hasn't looked better. I have the same esthetician that some big celebs use when they're here in NYC and she has told me my skin has greatly improved and when I told her about this mask her face lit up as she recommends it to her clients and uses it herself. I believe a doctor who has years of experience, many awards, and is trusted by people who are constantly under the microscope.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.24.2015
You rock!

Thank you for taking the time to research this :)

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Nina
05.20.2014
Slam Glow

This mask deserves the POOR rating. Thank you Paula! Instead of Glam Glow, I prefer to call it Slam Glow. I would give all of their products a POOR rating and was thrilled to see Paula did as well. My face burned so badly with this mask. Extremely irritating.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Chris
04.18.2014
Actually Good

I find it to be a great exfoliator but too pricey. I disagree with Paula's thinking that skincare should discard fragrances and all the extra stuff that doesn't add any benefits to the skin. I think floral scents and the tingling feeling of menthol make my skincare routine pleasant so I never get lazy since all products provide me a pampering and conforting experience. Cosmetic brands should carry versions of all products with and without fragrances and extras.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Daniela M
01.09.2014
Truly horrible mask

I got two samples so tried twice. It broke me out twice. Skin did feel somewhat smoother but the damage took me quite a while to fix. I have combo skin, not sensitive to fragrance but some essential oils can break me out. Also I hate the tingling feel. Anyway, i was lucky to have the first aid beauty hydrating mask so that definitely helped.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Yuan
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.411 8/27/2015 9:18:07 PM