03.16.2015
6
1620
Ultimate Healing Foot Therapy Cream
Rating
4 fl. oz. for $6.39
Last Updated:03.16.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

This is an excellent foot cream that omits needless irritants such as menthol and peppermint and instead remedies dry, cracked skin with a silkening, softening blend of urea, silicone, Vaseline, and several other emollients. Gold Bond even includes a smattering of antioxidants, but those aren’t essential when you’re shopping for a good foot cream. The unsung hero in this product is urea, an ingredient that, when present in high concentrations, can significantly soften rough, cracked skin. Urea does this by breaking down dead skin cells while softening, essentially helping your skin shed its thickened, callused layers. This is definitely one of the best foot creams around for those with problem dry skin. It does contain fragrance.

Claims

Specially formulated to help heal external dry, rough and cracked feet and heels. The unique formula contains 7 intensive moisturizers clinically tested to provide 24-hour moisturization. Plus, it contains 3 essential skin nurturing vitamins, A, C and E in a fresh clean scent.

Ingredients

Water, Urea, Dimethicone, Petrolatum, Glycerin, Cetearyl Alcohol, Jojoba Esters, Cetyl Esters, Stearyl Alcohol, Lactic Acid, Distearyldimonium Chloride, Steareth-21, Steareth-2, Propylene Glycol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Polysorbate 60, Stearamidopropyl PG Dimonium Chloride Phosphate, Methyl Gluceth-20, Glyceryl Stearate, Diazolidinyl Urea, EDTA (Ethylenediamine-Tetra-Acetic Acid), Fragrance, Methylparaben, Hydrolyzed Jojoba Esters, Potassium Hydroxide, Propylparaben

Brand Overview

Gold Bond At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive and widely available; some good body lotions including a few with urea, an excellent ingredient to smooth and soften dry, rough skin.

Weaknesses: Several products contain menthol, including a foot cream with an extremely high amount of this known irritant. Menthol is not anti-itch; it simply replaces one form of irritation (itching) with another.

There isn't a lot to write about Gold Bond despite the fact that the brand has been around for over 100 years. For the most part, Gold Bond is a staple at drugstores due to their small selection of body lotions, anti-itch products, and various foot-care products, including powders and anti-odor sprays. You can ignore any of their products with menthol. This is used in several Gold Bond products as a counter-iritant. What does that mean? Counter-irritants such as menthol are used to induce local inflammation for the purpose of relieving inflammation in deeper or adjacent tissues. In other words, they substitute one kind of inflammation for another, which is never good for skin. Irritation or inflammation, no matter what causes it or how it happens, impairs the skin's immune and healing response (Source: Skin Pharmacology and Applied Skin Physiology, November–December 2000, pages 358–371). And although your skin may not show it or doesn't react in an irritated fashion, if you apply irritants to your skin the damage is still taking place and is ongoing, so it adds up over time (Source: Skin Research and Technology, November 2001, pages 227–237). Gold Bond has some good body lotions to consider and they are fairly priced, too. But that's where the excitement for this longstanding brand starts and stops.

For more information about Gold Bond, visit www.goldbond.com or call (423) 842-5844.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
05.28.2015
stinky as heck (but it works)

First off: it works. Within days my cracked heels were baby soft. But the fragrance — phew! SO unbearably stinky that I only used it when wearing athletic socks/shoes — I didn't want it getting into the leather of my good shoes — and even the stench persisted even after washing! I stopped used it when the smell started transferring to my other socks and clothes in the wash. :(

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anita C
05.02.2015
Best Ever

I can make a commercial about this product. I will not go without it in the summer time especially. I would recommend it to everyone men and women.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Pamela T.
03.01.2015
it works! it really works!!!

thanks for beauty pedia-I used to use sally hansen -but I really think they discontinued it.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
angie f.
09.10.2014
Wouldn't be without it

I've used this for several years now both on my feet and my hands. It keeps my hands and feet soft and moisturized as long as I take reasonable care of them. It's a great product at a very reasonable price, easy to use and the fragrance doesn't linger so for me it's a winner.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
ANN P.
02.13.2014
Exfoliating Foot Cream

I've used Gold Bond's Healing Foot Therapy Cream for several years in an effort to battle the dry, rough skin on my feet. I picked this product b/c it's one of the only foot creams that doesn't contain irritating ingredients and is also on Paula's Best Body-Care Products list. My feet aren't as bad as they used to be but I'm not sure if it's b/c of this product or my combined efforts in general. I don't think it works miracles but I'll keep buying and using it unless I find something better.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Shekinah S
01.07.2013
Great product at a great price.

Simply the best product I have ever used on my feet. My husband is also now a fan. What a difference this has made for the whole family. A little goes a long way.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
J-me
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.411 8/28/2015 7:47:35 AM