Ultimate Restoring Skin Therapy Lotion, CoQ10

by Gold Bond  
Price:
$9.99 - 13 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Retinol Products > Body Lotions/Creams/Balms/Butters
Last Updated:
9/23/2013
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

This body moisturizer is great for very dry skin because it contains a high amount of urea. Urea is an excellent moisture-binding ingredient and, in this amount (likely around 10%), has an exfoliating effect too due to urea being able to break down the protein structure of dead skin cells and encourage shedding. In that sense, Ultimate Restoring Skin Therapy Lotion CoQ10 is a boon for those with uncomfortably dry, flaky skin. Adding to this is the inclusion of an impressive mix of antioxidants, cell-communicating ingredients, and skin-identical substances. It is definitely one of the better body lotions at the drugstore, and the price makes it quite a value, too! Keep in mind that urea may cause a stinging sensation upon contact with skin. This sensation should be minor and fleeting. If it isn’t, discontinue use and consider other body lotions. One more comment: coenzyme Q10 is a good antioxidant, but it's not the "king of antioxidant" as Gold Bond claims. This ingredient is listed by its chemical name of ubiquinone.

The daily therapeutic lotion that helps restore and strengthen depleted, dull skin. That's because 7 nourishing moisturizers are combines with skin nurturing vitamins A, C and E plus CoQ10, the king of antioxidants. In addition, skin strengthening ceramides and lipids work to help restore elasticity, vitality and healthy skin texture.

Water, Hydroxyethyl Urea, Glycerin, Dimethicone, Jojoba Esters, Petrolatum, Glyceryl Stearate, Distearyldimonium Chloride, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Cetearyl Alcohol, Methyl Gluceth 20, Behentrimonium Methylsulfate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Butyrospermum (Shea Butter) Extract, Ubiquinone, Ceramide Complex 2, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Cocodimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Rice Protein, Niacinamide, Tocopheryl Acetate, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Retinyl Palmitate, PEG 10 Rapeseed Sterol, Hydrolyzed Collagen, Polysorbate 60, Stearamidopropyl PG Dimonium Chloride Phosphate, Propylene Glycol, Steareth 21, Diazolidinyl Urea, Fragrance, Methylparaben, Hydrolyzed Jojoba Esters, EDTA (Ethylenediamine-Tetra-Acetic Acid), Propylparaben, Butylene Glycol, C12 15 Alkyl Benzoate, Tribehenin, Potassium Hydroxide

There isn't a lot to write about Gold Bond despite the fact that the brand has been around for over 100 years. For the most part, Gold Bond is a staple at drugstores due to their small selection of body lotions, anti-itch products, and various foot-care products, including powders and anti-odor sprays. You can ignore any of their products with menthol. This is used in several Gold Bond products as a counter-iritant. What does that mean? Counter-irritants such as menthol are used to induce local inflammation for the purpose of relieving inflammation in deeper or adjacent tissues. In other words, they substitute one kind of inflammation for another, which is never good for skin. Irritation or inflammation, no matter what causes it or how it happens, impairs the skin's immune and healing response (Source: Skin Pharmacology and Applied Skin Physiology, November–December 2000, pages 358–371). And although your skin may not show it or doesn't react in an irritated fashion, if you apply irritants to your skin the damage is still taking place and is ongoing, so it adds up over time (Source: Skin Research and Technology, November 2001, pages 227–237). Gold Bond has some good body lotions to consider and they are fairly priced, too. But that's where the excitement for this longstanding brand starts and stops.

For more information about Gold Bond, call parent company Sanofi Aventis at (800) 981-2491 or visit www.goldbond.com.

Note: We did not review the foot odor sprays and powders from this brand due to Paula and the Cosmetics Cop team typically not reviewing these categories of body-care products.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. LAUREN K.
    Reviewed on Friday, May 30, 2014
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Not For Me
    • I originally bought the gold bond with aloe which Paula only rated as good. The results and feel were great for me However, when I found this Gold bond with CoQ10 I switched. I was up all night with itchy legs. I had a bad reaction to it. Alternatively, the exfoliator content was too irritating for me. However, using the gold bond with aloe made the skin on my terribly dry legs feel heavenly and I was able to shave them for the first time in 40 years without drawing out big red welts.

  2. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 06, 2014
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    Fragrance
    • The fragrance is way too strong. I wish they would make the very same lotion but fragrance free. But I am wondering why is it recommended by the cosmetic cops if it has so much fragrance? Isn't fragrance an irritant?

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, May 06, 2014

    Hi, and thanks for your comments! It's quite possible the formula has changed since we last evaluated this, and at that time it didn't contain fragrance. Based upon your concerns, however, we are going to check this out again, see if it has been reformulated, and adjust our review accordingly. Thanks for the heads up!

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  3. JENNIFER G.
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 19, 2014
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    Very moisturizing, very fragrant
    • I love how my skin feels after applying it. The fragrance is a miss though because it's so strong and floral.

  4. Upstate NY
    Reviewed on Monday, April 14, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    The BEST Body Lotion!!! I LOVE the scent!
    • If the staff at Gold Bond happen to ever read these reviews...PLEASE keep this lotion just as it is. I LOVE the light fragrance it contains. Such a soft and pretty scent to me. I do respect the fact that people do have sensitivities to scent, so I understand it would be nice to have a fragrance free version but PLEASE keep the original scent in the Goldbond Ultimate Restoring Lotion with CoQ10. The CoQ10 version of all the Golbonds is my absolute favorite: This lotion keeps my skin healthy.

  5. Tasha P.
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 03, 2014
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    LOVE/HATE RELATIONSHIP
    • This is the best lotion for dry skin I've ever used. I put it on my hands and loved how soft my skin felt but the so called "clean" fragrance was so unbearable that it literally gave me a headache and I had to wait 2 hours to wash it off. I really wanted to be able to use it so I tried putting it on my feet at night with socks on. Nope. I could still smell it. I know it doesn't bother some people but I would suggest unscrewing the cap to smell before you buy it. So bummed its not fragrance free.

  6. Annie W
    Reviewed on Friday, March 07, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    AMAZING-I found my match
    • I love, love, love this lotion. I didn't even realize how much I didn't like my old ones until I tried this one. It not only absorbs quickly into my skin, but it lasts for days. Seriously! I do not shower everyday, but I can still feel the hydrating affects of this lotion on the second day. I don't mind the smell either. It's not strong or unpleasant in my opinion and I usually have a sensitive nose. I will never return to other lotions again.

  7. NonMerci
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 29, 2013
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Febreze fragrance
    • This works well and contains urea and petrolatum as well as other effective moisturizers. If fragrance doesn't bother you, buy it, because it does work really well for dry skin. However, the Febreze fragrance they added is a deal breaker for me. I won't purchase it again.

  8. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, March 18, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Love It
    • I absolutely agree with Dustin. I read about this lotion on Beautypedia and it has been my favorite body lotion for a year now. My skin no longer continues to feel parched, and I don't have to continuously reapply like I used to with other products. I used Cere Ve for a long time, and I like this one much, much better. I just wish it didn't have fragrance. It's a mild scent, but I would still prefer fragrance free.

  9. DUSTIN R.
    Reviewed on Friday, January 25, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Excellent
    • I just want to add: this is an AMAZING body lotion for dry skin -- one that I would have never tried or found were it not for Beautypedia. This lotion is elegant, smells nice (and I am usually averse to fragranced products, but this one truly does leave a nice scent behind) and it completely eliminates dry, bothersome skin. I am a huge fan of the products Paula Begoun formulates and have been a customer for more than a decade, but I prefer this lotion to the usually superior products she formulates -- only because her body moisturizers are all too light for really dry skin. This stuff really is a "best" product.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.335
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Everything | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.