03.17.2015
4
7
Anti-Aging BB Cream Broad Spectrum SPF 40 Sunscreen
Rating
1.5 fl. oz. for $49.95
Category:Makeup > Tinted Moisturizers/BB Creams
Last Updated:03.17.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Hydroxatone now offers a BB cream, and outside of being expensive, the formula is a mixed bag. On the plus side, it contains titanium dioxide as its sole active ingredient, so broad-spectrum sun protection is assured. The formula also contains some intriguing anti-aging ingredients, though most of them are present in tiny amounts that don’t necessarily add up to a big boon for your skin.

This BB cream has a silky, creamy texture that’s easy to blend. It provides sheer to light coverage and, after a moment or so, sets to a soft matte finish that can feel too drying over dry areas, but those with normal to oily skin should find it agreeable. The core ingredients simply aren’t moisturizing enough for dry skin, so this is less versatile than it’s made out to be in terms of skin type. For certain this isn’t a hydrating product that will be all dry skin needs!

One thing we noticed right away was the strong scent this BB cream has, and most of it comes from orange oil. Although orange oil smells nice, fragrance isn’t skin care. In fact, orange oil contains volatile components that can irritate skin, and this product contains other plant extracts with potential to cause irritation, which is never helpful. It’s a good thing this BB cream provides sun protection, because orange oil can cause a phototoxic reaction when unprotected skin is exposed to UVA light (Source:  Acta Dermato-Venereologica, Volume 87, 2007, pages 312–316).

Five shades are available, three of which (Light, Medium, and Tan, and have a decidedly warm (but workable) cast. The Light shade is too dark for fair skin, but acceptable for light to medium skin, while Tan isn’t as dark as you may think (it’s best for medium to slightly tan or olive skin). Kudos to Hydroxatone for adding two deeper shades since our original review -- Deep Tan and Dark.

Although this BB cream contains a better range of anti-aging ingredients than many others, its weaknesses (which include the high price and dry, somewhat tacky finish) don’t propel it to a good rating. In short, you can find better BB creams (or tinted moisturizers, which is essentially all BB creams are) for less money.

Claims
Ingredients

Active Ingredient: Titanium Dioxide *12.16%; Inactive Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Butylene Glycol, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Phenyl Trimethicone, Caprylyl Methicone, Neopentyl Glycol Dicaprate, Glycereth-26, Ascorbyl Glucoside, Dimethicone, Alumina, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Sodium Chloride, Dipropylene Glycol, Disteardimonium Hectorite, PEG/PPG-20/15 Dimethicone, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone,  Panthenol, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein/PVP Crosspolymer, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Alcohol, Acrylates/C12-22 Alkyl Methacrylate Copolymer, Potassium Hydroxide, Boron Nitride, Methicone, Methicone, Sodium PCA, Propanediol, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Oil, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Tocopheryl Acetate, Allantoin, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Urea, Silica, Disodium EDTA, Malus Domestica Fruit Cell Culture Extract,  Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Adenosine, Propylene Glycol, Glycerin, Potassium Sorbate, EDTA, Ethylhexylglycerin, Sodium Hyaluronate, Lecithin, Viscum Album (Mistletoe) Leaf Extract, Melissa Officinalis Leaf Extract, Humulus Lupulus (Hops) Extract, Foeniculum Vulgare (Fennel) Fruit Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Achillea Millefolium Extract, Beta-Glucan, Xanthan Gum, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Sodium Oleate, Sodium Phosphate, Tocopherol,  Phytosterols, Squalane, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Hydrolyzed Pea Protein, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Ceramide 3, sh-Polypeptide-7, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Oligopeptide-68, Fragrance, Benzoic Acid, Sodium Benzoate, Methylparaben, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, DMDM Hydantoin, 1,2-Hexanediol, Iron Oxides.

*Note: The active ingredient percentage varies by shade, with Light having the most titanium dioxide and Tan having the least, at 7.72% (still a respectable amount).

Brand Overview

Hydroxatone At-A-Glance

Strengths: None.

Weaknesses: Expensive; several products contain irritating ingredients that hurt skin's healing process and ability to produce healthy collagen; jar packaging causes the antioxidants and other key ingredients to break down; over-the-top claims not supported by published research.

Hydroxatone is a mail-order company that sells various anti-wrinkle and anti-aging products, all at fairly high prices. You need to know that these products are absolutely not worth your attention, let alone your beauty dollars. It's not that they don't contain some great ingredients, but almost every formula has its share of problems that make investing in this line the wrong way to go (especially if your concern is wrinkles or discolorations).

The key ingredients Hydroxatone touts are peptides and hyaluronic acid. These ingredients are used industry-wide, so you're not getting anything special or unique with Hydroxatone. What's particularly frustrating is that the company makes a much bigger deal about their "special" ingredients then is deserved. For example, the peptides don't work like Botox, the hyaluronic acid won't replace the need for dermal fillers, and their claim that these products contain the most effective anti-wrinkle ingredients isn't supported by published research. Even the "clinical studies" Hydroxatone mentions are meaningless, especially since they weren't done double-blind and the results were not compared with other products (that, in most cases, would likely work even better).

For more information about Hydroxatone, call 1-800-672-2259 or visit www.hydroxatone.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
07.21.2015
Great Little Helper

I hate to be the bearer of bad news but I actually didn't like this cream. I recommend instead Estee Lauder's Clear Difference. It applies really easily and offers full day coverage

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Laura H
12.28.2014
fabulous

Bought product at Costco which made it a excellent value. When I wear it( which is daily) people often comment on what a wonderful complexion I have. I am 57 years old. It tones down my brown spots and appears like I am not wearing makeup. LOVE the product.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
amanda
05.25.2014
Good results

I as well purchased 2 tubes (pkg) at SAMs Club and finding it making my skin seem prettier, and I'm 73 yes old. I have sent for Paula's foundation on her merits and it was to light for me, so they thoughtfully sent me sample of Darker shade which also didn't match my skin. My ruddy complexion works well with this BB cream. I have been a loyal fan of Paula's for years( re: don't wear blue eye shadow) one of her books I own,

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Doris m
02.19.2014
This BB Cream is a winner!

I purchased this as a set of two from Sam's making it $20.00 a tube. My skin looks and feels like it did when I was in my 40's. I have tried so many other BB creams and like this one the best.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Rachel
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.405 8/1/2015 7:28:52 PM