12.02.2014
10
143
Bye Bye Under Eye Full Coverage Waterproof Concealer
Rating
$24
Last Updated:12.02.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Bye Bye Under Eye is described as a waterproof, full-coverage concealer, and it certainly fits the bill on both counts! This cream concealer in a tube has a thick, emollient texture that's slightly tacky. A little goes a long way, with just a small dot being more than enough to cover the area under both eyes.

The texture makes this a bit difficult to blend, as it doesn't have quite enough slip to glide easily across the skin (it tends to drag instead), but it's workable if you need as much coverage as this provides.

Once on, Bye Bye Undereye does indeed provide full coverage for dark circles, though with a bit of a sheen (it retains something of a "wet look" even after it's been on a few hours) some might not prefer. Its waterproof formula ensures it stays put, and it doesn't crease (that is, it doesn't reflect the movements your face makes throughout the day). IT Cosmetics claims this concealer also has anti-aging properties, but the amount of anti-aging ingredients included won't have much, if any, impact on your skin.

The range of four shades presents suitable options for very fair to deep skin tones—quite impressive!

Pros:
  • Provides full coverage of undereye circles as promised.
  • Comes in shades ranging from very light to deep.
  • Waterproof.
  • Doesn't crease.
Cons:
  • Somewhat tacky texture that makes application tricky.
  • Pricey given there are less expensive options available.
Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

Strengths: Excellent color products, standout foundation and concealer options, impressive highlighters.

Weaknesses: Can be on the pricey side; has a few makeup products with exaggerated anti-aging claims.

IT Cosmetics (the IT stands for “Innovative Technology”) is the creation of Jamie Kern Lima, a former Miss USA pageant contestant and TV news anchor. Lima founded IT Cosmetics in 2008, selling her products in boutique stores and on QVC, then expanding into Canada in 2009. Since then, the line has gotten a lot of exposure with featured reports and stories on network television, including prominent mentions on the ABC reality show Dancing With the Stars.

The labels on most IT Cosmetics products reveal a variety of age-defying claims centered around ingredients like antioxidants, peptides, vitamins, and collagen. Those are indeed great additions to any cosmetic product, but unfortunately, the combination of compact or jar packaging among the formulas that include those helpful ingredients isn’t a good thing.

Air exposure compromises ingredients like antioxidants and peptides, rendering them useless. While that doesn’t affect the quality of the makeup, it is worth noting if you were hoping for an anti-aging edge from IT Cosmetics’ antioxidant-boosted blush or powders.

Of course, IT Cosmetics does have products that are absolutely worth checking out. The line boasts an excellent range of color products, highlighters, foundations and many more worth consideration. As with any line that has a mix of standouts and caveats, shopping using our reviews to guide you is a great way to ensure you’ll at least get your money’s worth, and your skin will be the better for it.

For more information on IT Cosmetics, visit www.itcosmetics.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
04.23.2015
Love It

I agree that this concealer is a bit hard to blend, but once you get the hang of it (and learn to use sparingly) it's amazing. You have to be quick! Just tap it gently under your eyes. It really covered my dark circles, didn't budge, and best of all it did not crease one bit! I didn't find that it left a wet sheen. It matched my skin color/tone perfectly, which is rare. It is pricey, but I've never used a concealer that required using a tiny dot for both eyes. It'll last a long time!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
bethy b.
12.11.2014
Not all I had hoped for

I'm very fair with very dark circles. The skin under my eyes is nearly transparent, and this concealer is AMAZING for correcting the color back to normal-looking skin versus my usual zombie look. Unfortunately, it did crease horribly - I looked like I had paper mache under my eyes. I tried using more and using less; I tried it with/without primer and with/without moisturizer. I tried applying it with my fingers, a brush, and a sponge. Nothing helped. Luckily, Ulta let me return it. :(

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Elisa
12.02.2014
Excellent concealer for very dark circles

This is the best concealer I have ever tried. I have very dark under eye circles and most just do not cover. The range of colors is not the best and I blend to colors to get the right tone. It does not settle into lines which is very important to me and once it sets, it's not going anywhere until I take it off.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Judith V
11.13.2014
Ready to say B'Bye to this product

I think that this review is very accurate. This product provides a great deal of coverage that is very flat and very opaque. I do not have sensitive skin, but this has left me itchy and irritated. It also doesn't dry. The overall effect is not very natural. I have tried other concealers both high end and drug store and gotten results that were more aesthetically pleasing. I can't get behind a product that leaves my face and eyes irritated.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
LBR
07.27.2014
One of the best

While I'm not done searching yet, this so far as been the best concealer for dark discoloration on the inner corner of the eye, along the edge of the nose. Turns out that this conditions is partially due to age (thinning skin) and can also be hereditary. Looks like I got into a fight.....and lost. :-) I find the coverage creamy, blendable, and it clings to sides of the nose better than most. Covers very nicely. Don't have undereye circle so can't speak to that.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Deborah R.
07.18.2014
This should get a BEST rating

This concealer is full coverage and has great staying power. I agree with what Paula said about the texture, but it's easily fixed with an HD or translucent (matte) powder. I don't agree that it is difficult to blend. I've used MANY concealers and this one is my favorite. I will repurchase it.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Dawn W
06.24.2014
Great Product

I have to say I was a bit on the fence about this product, Its thick! I am 57, and the under eye is tricky! , A little of this product goes a LONG way and I mean little. like a pin head, I put a tad on the back of my hand and use it very light and build up if I need it, Its also great for covering up any imperfections around the nose, small blemishes, and it has a nice glow. It takes a bit of getting use to working with it but once you get it down it works great!!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Cynthia L.
06.08.2014
Excuse me Mrs. Paula

I so enjoy reading your reviews & I have learned so much about skincare...However, when searching for something it seems all reviews say "there are better options out there"-It would be awesome to list a few of those options on the review :-) Seems like I'm in the minority w dry skin..

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Jessica S
04.02.2014
hard to spread, good coverage

I agree much with Paula's review. There is good coverage offered, without it being super thick (like Benefit concealers). But it is thick enough that its kinda hard to get on the area. I defeated this issue by patting it on with my damp Beauty Blender sponge tip. I also find that it seems sticky, so I set mine with powder, which is a supposed no-no. For the cost=no.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Jean L
08.18.2013
Excellent Conceler

I disagree with Paula's "Good: rating. I find this to be an excellent concealer. It does not settle into creases and I like the color. For me, it is easy to apply and doe not give a shiney or wet look. It produces a matte finish.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
DENA M.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.411 8/4/2015 12:25:24 AM