12.18.2014
12
550
Hello Lashes 5-in-1 Treatment Mascara
Rating
$24
Category:Makeup > Mascaras (regular) > Regular Mascara
Last Updated:12.18.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

This does-it-all mascara yields truly impressive results, exceeding expectations in the categories of volume, length and separation. If you've been disappointed by other mascaras that claimed to make normal lashes look like falsies, then Hello Lashes 5-in-1 Treatment Mascara should change your mind. In the two weeks we've been using it numerous admirers have asked if we were wearing eyelash extensions! Unfortunately, this mascara is on the pricy side, but if you regularly purchase false lashes ($5 to $25) this product could potentially save you money in the end.

It dries quickly, doesn't flake or smudge, and is water-resistant. Other than the excellent formula, Hello Lashes mascara also stands out amongst similar products because of its unique brush design: The two-sided tapered brush coats and separates outside lashes, while a small bulb at the end effortlessly reaches inner corner and lower lashes.

As for the "treatment" claims: ignore them. This mascara cannot enhance lash growth or increase the thickness of the actual lash, as there are no ingredients in the formula that can achieve those claims.

Pros:
  • Provides exceptional volume, length and separation.
  • Water-resistant.
  • Dries quickly; doesn't flake or smudge once set.
  • Innovative and easy-to-use brush can reach all lashes, even the baby lashes on the inner corners and lower lashline.
Cons:
  • None.
Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

Strengths: Vitality Cheek Flush; Hello Lashes 5-in-1 Treatment Mascara; Hello Light Anti-Aging Creme Illuminator; Vitality Lip Flush.

Weaknesses: Most IT Cosmetics products are overpriced; the loose-powder products tend to be quite messy; unimpressive eyeshadows; over-inflated anti-aging claims for a majority of the products in the line; the serum seems impressive, but comes up short on its anti-aging promises.

IT Cosmetics (the IT stands for “Innovative Technology”) is the creation of Jamie Kern Lima, a former Miss USA pageant contestant and TV news anchor. Lima founded IT Cosmetics in 2008, selling her products in boutique stores and on QVC, then expanding into Canada in 2009. Since then, the line has gotten a lot of exposure with featured reports and stories on network television, including prominent mentions on the ABC reality show Dancing With the Stars.

Other than this abundant television exposure, the main draw of IT Cosmetics is its claim that the company works with leading plastic surgeons from Brazil to create products containing the very latest anti-aging technologies. That sounds intriguing, but is a bit silly when you consider that most plastic surgeons don’t know anything about skin care or cosmetic ingredient research. Consulting a cosmetic surgeon about anti-aging formularies is like consulting a taxi driver about how to fly an airplane! You’d think Lima and her team would instead want to consult a dermatologist, but even that’s not a slam-dunk for ensuring your anti-aging products are a cut above the rest, given that dermatologists also are not trained in skin-care formulations.

The labels on most IT Cosmetics products reveal a variety of age-defying claims centered around ingredients like antioxidants, peptides, vitamins, and collagen. Those are indeed great ingredients, but because many of IT Cosmetics’ products are packaged in containers that expose these delicate ingredients to light and air, any benefit is reduced as soon as you open the jar or compact (something the plastic surgeons from Brazil obviously didn’t know).

There are also some distinct weaknesses in the line, including an average yet pricey eyebrow pencil, powder illuminator, and eyeshadow whose performances don’t justify the expense (especially not when you factor in the high shipping fees QVC charges).

Of course, IT Cosmetics also has some products that are worth checking out. The line boasts an excellent powder blush, mascara, creme illuminator, hydrating cream lipstick, and many other products—including a full-coverage concealer that is truly full coverage—that are very good. However, while these products are good, they are not so unique that similar products can’t be found elsewhere for less money. As with any line that has a mix of good, so-so, and bad products, shopping using our reviews to guide you is a great way to ensure you’ll at least get your money’s worth, and your skin will be the better for it.

For more information on IT Cosmetics, visit www.itcosmetics.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment that Paula Begoun, founder of Beautypedia and Paula's Choice Skincare made over 30 years ago-to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
02.25.2015
Wonderful Mascara, Great Application Design

I'm on my fifth tube of this, and I'm still loving it. I tried to go back to previously loved brands that were a bit more affordable but, as in most things, you get what you pay for. I've never had the problem with flaking that some others mentioned, but I learned pretty young not to "pump" the wand, thus drying out the product. I've also never had the tip break off, but maybe I just have a gentler touch?! I don't foresee switching brands anytime soon, and even get it on auto-delivery.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Kelly H
01.13.2015
Not so great!

Although this mascara does produce length and volume I have to rate this low due to eye irritation and flakiness. It's not worth the price.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Stacie P.
12.26.2014
Absolutely Fabulous

I'm a professional make-up artist for film & TV, & go through a LOT of mascara on a LOT of different types of lashes. This is a winner on every woman. No clumps, impressive length with coat one, great thickening & no smudging. The applicator is well-designed; users complaining about the tip must be very clumsy or careless - I've never broken one. I use a separate mascara on each female talent, then give them the tube at wrap if they desire, & every single woman has wanted theirs to use at home

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Jeanne B.
08.02.2014
I think it worked better without the tip!

Maybe there's a learning curve here, but the first tube I got came without the ball. And yet the texture was just right. I learned this great trick from Wayne Goss (who collaborated with Paula on her new eyeshadow palette). You get flawless lashes every time, like they've been photoshopped. Just take a clean mascara wand and wipe one side of it onto the loaded brush. Then apply as usual. You might need a few coats, but less is definitely more in this case! Next tube, I Cut off the ball!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
PATRICIA G.
04.28.2014
Add me to the negatives

I tired for several weeks to use this product because it was rather pricey and I hated to just throw it away. The flaking finally got to be too much. I gave up yesterday and bought Cover Girl Lash Blast with a coupon. Much better.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Sarah B
04.28.2014
Beautypedia Team Response

Ugh, flaking is the worst! We did not experience this in the  versions we tried, but it can certainly happen with older stock or if the user pumps too much air into the product (never pump the mascara wand), which can lead to dryout. Glad you found a mascara you liked that cost less!

—Admin
02.23.2014
Respectfully disagree

Expensive. Results not as good as products that cost one third the price. Some clumping and definite very unattractive flaking. The mascara you reviewed was definitely not the mascara I received in mine. Just curious, do you try more than one of a particular product- to see if it is consistent in quality? Given the huge number of products you review-I can see where that might be an unrealistic possibility .

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Debra
01.29.2014
Disappointed

I bought this mascara because of your assessment and found that it DOES clump and flake (even flaked onto my eyeballs!), and the tip intensifies the problem with clumping. I'll stick with Benefit "They're Real". Better use of the ball at the tip.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Randa S. L.
01.25.2014
Great results

I purchased the mascara directly from IT Cosmetics website and received a 15% discount after signing up for emails. Usually have to wear waterproof mascara if I don't want to look like a raccoon because of my oily skin but I even wear this mascara to the gym with no under eye residue afterwards. It does lengthen and separate my skimpy lashes with none of those ugly clumps some volumizing mascaras leave. Ball tip works great getting product on all lashes. Best mascara, thanks for the review Paula

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Maria E.
01.20.2014
my tip broke off too!

not perfect but good. minimal flaking. tip pulled out when i cleaned brush. only one color.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
CAROL A.
11.21.2013
FLAKES

I bought this because of Paula's review. I got it through Amazon. The first wand had the ball missing, so I send it back and received a new one. A few hours after application, I noticed flaking on my cheeks. This is unacceptable for such an expensive mascara. I even combed between applications to avoid clumps. Maybe I am doing stomething wrong. Maybelline's Full and Soft Mascara (a Paula's Best pick) gives me fullness and length with no flaking or stiffness.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
LYDIA S.
09.01.2013
wish it worked!

This mascara is fabulous - doesn't smear or come off under eyes. BUT the tiny ball broke off after three uses. That seems to be a big selling point and it seems to be a great idea. Hope they can improve this one problem.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Martha t
05.23.2013
Perfect mascara, bad design

As all women I am always searching for the magic mascara that does and has it all. Because of the review of Beautypedia, I bought it on eBay, because the company does not ship internationally. Trusted seller and genuine product. Being a former beauty editor, I am very careful. Resuts were incredible. And then the tip that seperates and defines, broke of and was lost inside the mascara. This is bad product design, bad quality material. What a shame.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anna, van W
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to Beauty.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.389 4/27/2015 4:29:11 AM