11.26.2014
59
30
Your Skin But Better CC+ with SPF 50+
Rating
1.08 fl. oz. for $38
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Before we discuss this specific CC cream, if you're wondering what the difference is between CC creams and BB creams, here's the answer: It's all about marketing language, nothing more. Generally, a BB cream from a U.S. brand is akin to a tinted moisturizer, while a CC cream tends to be more like a liquid foundation. In reality, there is no rhyme or reason behind the product names when companies launch their versions of these products—they can be completely different from what you expect, and we're not quite sure what you should expect because there is no consistency.

We wish IT Cosmetics had left out the irritating and phototoxic citrus oils in the formula so we could have rated this product highly, especially because from an aesthetic perspective, this is one of the more elegant CC creams we've reviewed. Sadly, the problematic ingredients (which include lemon, lime, bergamot, orange, and grapefruit) are a deal-breaker.

It yields sheer to medium coverage and blends in nearly imperceptibly so the skin looks even-toned and flush with moisture. The shade range is decent, with options for light to medium-deep skin tones.

We also love that this product includes broad-spectrum mineral sunscreen and several other skin-beneficial ingredients. But, unfortunately, all the good doesn't outweigh the bad here. The skin-beneficial ingredients are likely just playing catch-up in trying to undo the damage being done by the irritants.

If you're wondering about the touted snail secretion filtrate in the formula, it's included here as a moisturizing ingredient. There is limited research to support the benefits of snail secretion filtrate as a stand-alone ingredient. So, beyond the "ick" factor involved in knowing you're rubbing snail slime on your face, there's no reason to make the sacrifice because it doesn't offer any beauty benefit.

Pros:
  • Broad-spectrum mineral sunscreen for anti-aging benefits.
  • Very smooth, blendable texture.
  • Moisturizing.
Cons:
  • Includes irritating and phototoxic citrus oils plus the irritant eucalyptus oil.
  • Pricey, especially given the problematic ingredients.
Claims
Ingredients
Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide (9.015%), Zinc Oxide (6.305%); Inactive Ingredients: Water, Snail Secretion Filtrate, Butylene Glycol, Phenyl Trimethicone, Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol Dicaprylate/Dicaprate, Orbignya Oleifera Seed Oil, Butyloctyl Salicylate, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1Dimethicone, Cyclopentasiloxane, Cyclohexasiloxane, Magnesium Sulfate, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Hexyl Laurate, Stearic Acid, Calcium Stearate, Caprylyl Glycol, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Peel Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sorbitan Isostearate, Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot) Fruit Oil, 1,2-Hexanediol, Disodium EDTA, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Peel Oil, Citrus Aurantifolia (Lime) Oil, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Punica Granatum Seed Oil, Pinus Sylvestris Leaf Oil, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Niacinamide, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Peel Oil, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Water, Lactobacillus/Honeysuckle Flower/Licorice Root/Morus Alba Root/Pueraria Lobata Root/Schizandra Chinensis Fruit/Scutellaria Baicalensis Root/Sophora Japonica Flower Extract Ferment Filtrate, Perfluorohexane, Olea Europaea (Olive) Leaf Extract, Glycerin, Eucalyptus Globulus Leaf Oil, Cholesteryl Isostearate, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Chrysanthemum Indicum Flower Extract, Cholesteryl Nonanoate, Cholesteryl Chloride, Pueraria Lobata Root Extract, Perfluorodecalin, Morus Alba Fruit Extract, Magnolia Kobus Bark Extract, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Sprout Extract, Diospyros Kaki Leaf Extract, Cinnamomum Cassia Bark Extract, Artemisia Princeps Leaf Extract, Pentafluoropropane, Curcuma Longa (Turmeric) Root Extract, Steareth-20, Hydrolyzed Hyaluronic Acid, Colloidal Oatmeal, Hydrolyzed Silk, Citric Acid, Sodium Benzoate, Silica, BHT, Potassium Sorbate, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, N-Hydroxysuccinimide, Hydrolyzed Collagen, Caprylhydroxamic Acid, Tocopherol, Thiamine HCl, Riboflavin, Retinyl Palmitate, Pantothenic Acid, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Niacin, Folic Acid, Chrysin, Carnitine HCl, Biotin, Ascorbic Acid, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7, Chlorhexidine Digluconate. May Contain: Red 7 Lake, Iron Oxides.
Brand Overview

Strengths: Excellent color products, standout foundation and concealer options, impressive highlighters.

Weaknesses: Can be on the pricey side; has a few makeup products with exaggerated anti-aging claims.

IT Cosmetics (the IT stands for “Innovative Technology”) is the creation of Jamie Kern Lima, a former Miss USA pageant contestant and TV news anchor. Lima founded IT Cosmetics in 2008, selling her products in boutique stores and on QVC, then expanding into Canada in 2009. Since then, the line has gotten a lot of exposure with featured reports and stories on network television, including prominent mentions on the ABC reality show Dancing With the Stars.

The labels on most IT Cosmetics products reveal a variety of age-defying claims centered around ingredients like antioxidants, peptides, vitamins, and collagen. Those are indeed great additions to any cosmetic product, but unfortunately, the combination of compact or jar packaging among the formulas that include those helpful ingredients isn’t a good thing.

Air exposure compromises ingredients like antioxidants and peptides, rendering them useless. While that doesn’t affect the quality of the makeup, it is worth noting if you were hoping for an anti-aging edge from IT Cosmetics’ antioxidant-boosted blush or powders.

Of course, IT Cosmetics does have products that are absolutely worth checking out. The line boasts an excellent range of color products, highlighters, foundations and many more worth consideration. As with any line that has a mix of standouts and caveats, shopping using our reviews to guide you is a great way to ensure you’ll at least get your money’s worth, and your skin will be the better for it.

For more information on IT Cosmetics, visit www.itcosmetics.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
Next »
08.28.2015
not what i expected

the first day I put it on my face I was in love, my bronzers & blushes & setting powder worked amazing with it along with the bye bye under eye concealer that I purchased as well. but then the second day&every day after was horrible. Makes me very oily, withen 2 hrs after applying,it just starts to separate & if I just slide my fingers across my face it wipes off & sinks in my pores& the concealer is horrible as well.creases and wipes off so easily as well. and I have NEVER had oily skin.return!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
chelsea J
08.27.2015
The last foundation

I have found the holy grail! Not only does this cc give me coverage but after a year my skin is in amazing shape! I done understand the reviewers criticism of this product yet recommending MAC? Then talking about the side effects of fragrance when IT cc is fragrance free.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Tania D
08.28.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hey there!  Thank you for your feedback -- we're thrilled you've found something you love so much.  Unforunately, "fragrance-free" doesn't always truly mean that.  Many products, like this one, include fragrant essential oils that can cause the same kind of damage that traditional "fragrances/perfumes" can.  The oils listed here (bergamot, orange, lime, and grapefruit to name a few) can cause chronic irritation which may damage healthy collagen production, lead to dryness, and impair skin's ability to heal and protect itself (sources:  Food and Chemical Toxicology, 2008, and American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, 2003.)  The worst part of all of this is that it can cause irritation under the skin where you may never see it, but the effect of inflammation is cumulative and using products with fragrance (synthetic OR natural) contribute to a weakened skin barrier and a dull, uneven complexion (sources: Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, 2008, Aging, 2012, and Chemical Immunology and Allergy, 2012).  Have a nice day!  :)

—Admin
08.25.2015
HORRIBLE !!!!!

I really liked this the first day I tried it. I was also really intrigued that this had Spf 50 in it! However, Within the next few days of wearing it, I began to notice strange little red bumps.... some were even itchy!!! I also applied this to my neck (It was a little dark on me) and my neck got some red itchy bumps. Really bummed this didn't work.... Also, Snail Secretion ?? Yuck :/ Should've checked the ingredients more carefully, but this was a total let down!!!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
08.20.2015
Wanted to love it

I use retin a, (have for over 25 years) am 65, and for the first time in my life I have dry skin. This was very drying on me. Am going back to Neutrogena healthy skin enhancer which I had used for years - just hope that works now that my skin is so very dry.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
08.20.2015
This is a favorite for my 50+ face

At this point, everything in the country is unnatural and "bad" for you, even the mud in your own backyard. Thankfully, this product makes my skin glow and evens out my complexion nicely. I have delicate, fair skin and have had malignant melanoma, so the SPF is important to me. My skin is also dry. I've had no problems with this product. I recommend it for mature skin. I use a brush to apply.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
R.
08.18.2015
I Like It But I Get Why PC Doesn't

I disagree that this is sheer to medium coverage. Ifind it to be medium if I sheer it out with a Beauty Blender, but otherwise it is full coverage. It doesn't irritate my skin, but I can aee why/how others would have a reaction to it. The citrus smell is very strong. I like it better than most foundations. Mixed with a little MAC Strobe it is lovely.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Rachel M
08.18.2015
So confused

The look and feel of this product is absolutely BEAUTIFUL...it feels comfortable to wear, and it somehow provides incredible coverage whilst retaining that skin-like appearance. But now I've read the Beautypedia review, and I'm totally confused about whether I should continue to use this product. Is it possible that though I'm not experiencing any irritation now, that long-term use might lead to damage? What signs am I looking out for?

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Vanessa R.
08.27.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hey there!  Great question!  There are more obvious signs of irritation, such as redness, inflammation, itchiness, and breakouts.  Unfortunately, however, there can also be cumulative damage that occurs under the skin where it may take many years to really show.  In fact, it's likely more common for this to be the case!  Below the surface, fragrance can cause collagen breakdown, impair the skin's ability to heal itself, and interfere with skin's ability to fight off environmental or free-radical damage -- all of which can show signs of early aging (Sources:  Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, 2008, Food and Chemical Toxicology, 2008, and American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, 2003.)  Here's a link to all of the BB/CC creams (and Tinted Moisturizers) that we'd highly recommend.  If interested, you can sort by price and use the filters to search for those recommended for your specific skin type.  We hope that helps!  :)

—Admin
08.15.2015
Great Product for over 50

I have tried many foundations in my search for one that does not make my pores/wrinkles more noticeable. This works, it is enough coverage, does not feel heavy or wet, and is not cakey.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Mary
08.07.2015
It works for me

I have tried everything in the market and all I can say is that the It cc+ has been the best! I am 42 with very sensitive skin and this foundation keeps my face looking dewy and fresh. I also like its 50spf. My 20 year old also love how it covers her blemishes all in one step.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Laura
07.09.2015
Okay but drying

Goes on well, blends nicely but after wearing it my skin is so dry! I even tried heavy duty moisturizer before application but it still dried out my skin. After reading this review I'm thinking it must be all the citrus?

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Dona K
07.05.2015
Great Coverage

While I am slightly concerned about the phototoxic citrus oils, I believe the good outweighs this detail. The CC cream is amazingly smooth and soft. I tried and returned the illuminating version, because it was too sparkly/glittery. However, I recommend the original one for its coverage and matte finish. I have not personally experienced any reactions to it.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Wendy H
07.05.2015
Love this product!!!!

I have very sensitive skin and I'll keep my fingers crossed, so far I haven't had any issues. I just found this website and I'm really excited to read and get recommendations. I'm 42 years old and use this along with IT powder foundation to set the CC cream. I don't see it settling in my wrinkles and have had more compliments with this make up than any other. The only reason I gave it 3 stars for recommending is reading some of the issues people are having.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Jennifer
06.11.2015
I am In Love .....with IT CC BB Cream

I adore all of you , But I Love IT CC and illuminating CC Product in the tube, I have very very sensitive skin, I use a pea size of this product in Med, it covers my entire face and neck with a bb blender, its natural and flawless, not only that but I workout in it sweat in it , swim in it and it stays on.. I do not break out and it does not set into fine lines.I have ordered tons of BB CC form sephora GA Fluid sheer I have tried tons , I should be a tester for you.. this works on over 5o skin

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Cynthia L.
06.07.2015
Don't Pay Attention to This PC Review!

I've used this for a year now & couldn't be happier with my face. Used to use Bare Minerals, but they seemed to accentuate small imperfections - and it took forever to apply. This CC cream matches my skin perfectly, and I never have had a single issue. Easy to apply, easy to take off, and looks great. Very lightweight and comfortable. I have very sensitive and red-tinged skin, and this has actually IMPROVED it over the last year. Paula, you're way off base on this one.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Laura S
06.08.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hello there!  Thanks for the feedback - we're thrilled you've found something that works so well for you!  Also, The Paula’s Choice Research Team no longer reviews products for Beautypedia, and while The Beautypedia Team is still a part of Paula’s Choice Skincare, what’s new—and you may not yet have known—is that now we have two teams working independently to bring you the best quality reviews, products, and  research-supported expert advice you know and love. One team is dedicated to Beautypedia and product reviews from other brands; the other is dedicated to Paula’s Choice skincare and its unique combination of expertly formulated products and advice on a wide range of beauty-related topics.

—Admin
05.27.2015
buyer beware

bought this at Ulta they were having a special event.I was happy with the coverage but while in the store I noticed some itching.On the way home it started burning!Wish I read the ingriedients and reviews before buying.I took this back.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.26.2015
Ick Factor

Got it from QVC. Trusted Jane (host). So I figured I'd try it. Got it, pulled it out of the box and a little voice told me to read the ingredients. I was grossed out when I read that the Snail secretion was the 2nd ingredient. I could not get it back in the envelope fast enough. It's on it's way back. I do want to say I applaud them for saying it's an ingredient. They could have hidden it with a 15 letter word.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
MaryAnnc
04.27.2015
Not for my sensitive skin

I tried a sample, and it caused a stinging sensation, so I washed it off right away. It also exaggerated my pores and made my skin look worse. However, I've read a criticism of your review, that the phototoxic reaction depends on the extraction of the citrus oils - steam vs. distilled. I wondered what your response is to this.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
SHERRY G.
05.20.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  This is true in some cases.  Lime and lemon oils, when steam distilled, are less likely to be phototoxic. Orange (like bergamot) essential oils, however, are unaffected so far as their potential to be phototoxic when distilled. However, distilled essential oils are rarely used, as they are unstable and the distillation process breaks down their fragrance rapidly. Thus, nearly all cases of essential oils in cosmetics has to do with cold-pressing or extraction by solvent—ethanol extraction, for example—and these forms retain their phototoxic potential.  

—Admin
04.10.2015
disagree with on PC

This doesn't irritate my sensitive acne prone skin

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Sara H
04.02.2015
Can't live without!

Awesome coverage for sensitive skin with lrg pores

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
June
04.01.2015
Melanoma Anyone?

I wore this for one month. Now, I have melanoma!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Bonnie A.
03.22.2015
Now what do I use?!

Loved it until I read Paul's review-what now?

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Vicky P.
03.09.2015
Not the right CC Cream for me...

I bought this product with such high hopes! There are several positive reviews online for this CC cream. I have light, acne-prone, combination, sensitive skin so my skin is temperamental. At first, it looked very natural and flattering on my skin. It has a citrusy smell which is actually appealing. About 15 minutes later, I noticed that the product had irritated my skin and caused small pimples. Fortunately, I will be returning this product for a credit. Paula's review is accurate.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
febangel30
03.03.2015
Love it but cant use it!

I absolutely love everything about this cc cream... Except that it causes burns and peeling skin. It goes on beautifully, has flawless yet weightless coverage, doesn't accentuate my age wrinkles. I thought it had tea tree oul due to the odd fragrance but now that i see the ingredient list, the fragrance makes sense. What i truly cannot faghom is the lime oil; lime oil and sunlight are well known to cause a photoallergic reaction ("bartenders rash").

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
MM
02.07.2015
Unreliable ingredient list

Purchased this item at Ulta after thoroughly checking the list of ingredients to make sure it did not contain BHT at Ulta. However BHT is listed on the packaging on Paula's Choice, QVC and several other online beauty stores. Contacted the company to request clarification and never heard back from them even after informing them this ingredient would be hazardous to my well being. Totally turned off and will not purchase any of Jaimie Kern's products in the future.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Stella B
01.18.2015
Love Love LOVE!

This CC cream is amazing. Gives flawless coverage- even over my dark, under eye circles. Feels lovely and the colour match is perfect. I wish it was a little cheaper but I guess you pay for quality. Definitely a permanent addition to my make up routine.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Allison M
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.411 8/30/2015 3:09:30 PM