11.26.2014
45
22
Your Skin But Better CC+ with SPF 50+
Rating
1.08 fl. oz. for $38
Category:Makeup > Tinted Moisturizers/BB Creams > CC Cream
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Before we discuss this specific CC cream, if you're wondering what the difference is between CC creams and BB creams, here's the answer: It's all about marketing language, nothing more. Generally, a BB cream from a U.S. brand is akin to a tinted moisturizer, while a CC cream tends to be more like a liquid foundation. In reality, there is no rhyme or reason behind the product names when companies launch their versions of these products—they can be completely different from what you expect, and we're not quite sure what you should expect because there is no consistency.

We wish IT Cosmetics had left out the irritating and phototoxic citrus oils in the formula so we could have rated this product highly, especially because from an aesthetic perspective, this is one of the more elegant CC creams we've reviewed. Sadly, the problematic ingredients (which include lemon, lime, bergamot, orange, and grapefruit) are a deal-breaker.

It yields sheer to medium coverage and blends in nearly imperceptibly so the skin looks even-toned and flush with moisture. The shade range is decent, with options for light to medium-deep skin tones.

We also love that this product includes broad-spectrum mineral sunscreen and several other skin-beneficial ingredients. But, unfortunately, all the good doesn't outweigh the bad here. The skin-beneficial ingredients are likely just playing catch-up in trying to undo the damage being done by the irritants.

If you're wondering about the touted snail secretion filtrate in the formula, it's included here as a moisturizing ingredient. There is limited research to support the benefits of snail secretion filtrate as a stand-alone ingredient. So, beyond the "ick" factor involved in knowing you're rubbing snail slime on your face, there's no reason to make the sacrifice because it doesn't offer any beauty benefit.

Pros:
  • Broad-spectrum mineral sunscreen for anti-aging benefits.
  • Very smooth, blendable texture.
  • Moisturizing.
Cons:
  • Includes irritating and phototoxic citrus oils plus the irritant eucalyptus oil.
  • Pricey, especially given the problematic ingredients.
Claims
Ingredients
Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide (9.015%), Zinc Oxide (6.305%); Inactive Ingredients: Water, Snail Secretion Filtrate, Butylene Glycol, Phenyl Trimethicone, Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol Dicaprylate/Dicaprate, Orbignya Oleifera Seed Oil, Butyloctyl Salicylate, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1Dimethicone, Cyclopentasiloxane, Cyclohexasiloxane, Magnesium Sulfate, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Hexyl Laurate, Stearic Acid, Calcium Stearate, Caprylyl Glycol, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Peel Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sorbitan Isostearate, Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot) Fruit Oil, 1,2-Hexanediol, Disodium EDTA, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Peel Oil, Citrus Aurantifolia (Lime) Oil, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Punica Granatum Seed Oil, Pinus Sylvestris Leaf Oil, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Niacinamide, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Peel Oil, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Water, Lactobacillus/Honeysuckle Flower/Licorice Root/Morus Alba Root/Pueraria Lobata Root/Schizandra Chinensis Fruit/Scutellaria Baicalensis Root/Sophora Japonica Flower Extract Ferment Filtrate, Perfluorohexane, Olea Europaea (Olive) Leaf Extract, Glycerin, Eucalyptus Globulus Leaf Oil, Cholesteryl Isostearate, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Chrysanthemum Indicum Flower Extract, Cholesteryl Nonanoate, Cholesteryl Chloride, Pueraria Lobata Root Extract, Perfluorodecalin, Morus Alba Fruit Extract, Magnolia Kobus Bark Extract, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Sprout Extract, Diospyros Kaki Leaf Extract, Cinnamomum Cassia Bark Extract, Artemisia Princeps Leaf Extract, Pentafluoropropane, Curcuma Longa (Turmeric) Root Extract, Steareth-20, Hydrolyzed Hyaluronic Acid, Colloidal Oatmeal, Hydrolyzed Silk, Citric Acid, Sodium Benzoate, Silica, BHT, Potassium Sorbate, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, N-Hydroxysuccinimide, Hydrolyzed Collagen, Caprylhydroxamic Acid, Tocopherol, Thiamine HCl, Riboflavin, Retinyl Palmitate, Pantothenic Acid, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Niacin, Folic Acid, Chrysin, Carnitine HCl, Biotin, Ascorbic Acid, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7, Chlorhexidine Digluconate. May Contain: Red 7 Lake, Iron Oxides.
Brand Overview

Strengths: Vitality Cheek Flush; Hello Lashes 5-in-1 Treatment Mascara; Hello Light Anti-Aging Creme Illuminator; Vitality Lip Flush.

Weaknesses: Most IT Cosmetics products are overpriced; the loose-powder products tend to be quite messy; unimpressive eyeshadows; over-inflated anti-aging claims for a majority of the products in the line; the serum seems impressive, but comes up short on its anti-aging promises.

IT Cosmetics (the IT stands for “Innovative Technology”) is the creation of Jamie Kern Lima, a former Miss USA pageant contestant and TV news anchor. Lima founded IT Cosmetics in 2008, selling her products in boutique stores and on QVC, then expanding into Canada in 2009. Since then, the line has gotten a lot of exposure with featured reports and stories on network television, including prominent mentions on the ABC reality show Dancing With the Stars.

Other than this abundant television exposure, the main draw of IT Cosmetics is its claim that the company works with leading plastic surgeons from Brazil to create products containing the very latest anti-aging technologies. That sounds intriguing, but is a bit silly when you consider that most plastic surgeons don’t know anything about skin care or cosmetic ingredient research. Consulting a cosmetic surgeon about anti-aging formularies is like consulting a taxi driver about how to fly an airplane! You’d think Lima and her team would instead want to consult a dermatologist, but even that’s not a slam-dunk for ensuring your anti-aging products are a cut above the rest, given that dermatologists also are not trained in skin-care formulations.

The labels on most IT Cosmetics products reveal a variety of age-defying claims centered around ingredients like antioxidants, peptides, vitamins, and collagen. Those are indeed great ingredients, but because many of IT Cosmetics’ products are packaged in containers that expose these delicate ingredients to light and air, any benefit is reduced as soon as you open the jar or compact (something the plastic surgeons from Brazil obviously didn’t know).

There are also some distinct weaknesses in the line, including an average yet pricey eyebrow pencil, powder illuminator, and eyeshadow whose performances don’t justify the expense (especially not when you factor in the high shipping fees QVC charges).

Of course, IT Cosmetics also has some products that are worth checking out. The line boasts an excellent powder blush, mascara, creme illuminator, hydrating cream lipstick, and many other products—including a full-coverage concealer that is truly full coverage—that are very good. However, while these products are good, they are not so unique that similar products can’t be found elsewhere for less money. As with any line that has a mix of good, so-so, and bad products, shopping using our reviews to guide you is a great way to ensure you’ll at least get your money’s worth, and your skin will be the better for it.

For more information on IT Cosmetics, visit www.itcosmetics.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
Next »
05.27.2015
buyer beware

bought this at Ulta they were having a special event.I was happy with the coverage but while in the store I noticed some itching.On the way home it started burning!Wish I read the ingriedients and reviews before buying.I took this back.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.26.2015
Ick Factor

Got it from QVC. Trusted Jane (host). So I figured I'd try it. Got it, pulled it out of the box and a little voice told me to read the ingredients. I was grossed out when I read that the Snail secretion was the 2nd ingredient. I could not get it back in the envelope fast enough. It's on it's way back. I do want to say I applaud them for saying it's an ingredient. They could have hidden it with a 15 letter word.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
MaryAnnc
04.27.2015
Not for my sensitive skin

I tried a sample, and it caused a stinging sensation, so I washed it off right away. It also exaggerated my pores and made my skin look worse. However, I've read a criticism of your review, that the phototoxic reaction depends on the extraction of the citrus oils - steam vs. distilled. I wondered what your response is to this.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
SHERRY G.
05.20.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  This is true in some cases.  Lime and lemon oils, when steam distilled, are less likely to be phototoxic. Orange (like bergamot) essential oils, however, are unaffected so far as their potential to be phototoxic when distilled. However, distilled essential oils are rarely used, as they are unstable and the distillation process breaks down their fragrance rapidly. Thus, nearly all cases of essential oils in cosmetics has to do with cold-pressing or extraction by solvent—ethanol extraction, for example—and these forms retain their phototoxic potential.  

—Admin
04.10.2015
disagree with on PC

This doesn't irritate my sensitive acne prone skin

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Sara H
04.02.2015
Can't live without!

Awesome coverage for sensitive skin with lrg pores

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
June
04.01.2015
Melanoma Anyone?

I wore this for one month. Now, I have melanoma!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Bonnie A.
03.22.2015
Now what do I use?!

Loved it until I read Paul's review-what now?

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Vicky P.
03.09.2015
Not the right CC Cream for me...

I bought this product with such high hopes! There are several positive reviews online for this CC cream. I have light, acne-prone, combination, sensitive skin so my skin is temperamental. At first, it looked very natural and flattering on my skin. It has a citrusy smell which is actually appealing. About 15 minutes later, I noticed that the product had irritated my skin and caused small pimples. Fortunately, I will be returning this product for a credit. Paula's review is accurate.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
febangel30
03.03.2015
Love it but cant use it!

I absolutely love everything about this cc cream... Except that it causes burns and peeling skin. It goes on beautifully, has flawless yet weightless coverage, doesn't accentuate my age wrinkles. I thought it had tea tree oul due to the odd fragrance but now that i see the ingredient list, the fragrance makes sense. What i truly cannot faghom is the lime oil; lime oil and sunlight are well known to cause a photoallergic reaction ("bartenders rash").

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
MM
02.07.2015
Unreliable ingredient list

Purchased this item at Ulta after thoroughly checking the list of ingredients to make sure it did not contain BHT at Ulta. However BHT is listed on the packaging on Paula's Choice, QVC and several other online beauty stores. Contacted the company to request clarification and never heard back from them even after informing them this ingredient would be hazardous to my well being. Totally turned off and will not purchase any of Jaimie Kern's products in the future.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Stella B
01.18.2015
Love Love LOVE!

This CC cream is amazing. Gives flawless coverage- even over my dark, under eye circles. Feels lovely and the colour match is perfect. I wish it was a little cheaper but I guess you pay for quality. Definitely a permanent addition to my make up routine.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Allison M
01.18.2015
LOVE THIS!

I'm so surprised this got the lowest rating! As much as I love reading reviews from this sight when interested in a product I have to disagree about this one. The coverage is so skin like and the pump is amazing. I have noticed my hyperpigmentation has gotten better even when I take this stuff off! I truly believe in IT and their products, so I can't let this product be bashed.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Sarah J
01.06.2015
Happy Happy Happy me!

Need to change your rating on this one. I have the most sensitive skin on the planet earth and my face loves this! I am sorry but you are wrong, wrong, wrong! I have tried many foundations and CC creams and this is the "BOMB"! (for me anyway).

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
June
12.28.2014
OMG So Very Wrong

I love some of Paula's Products, Others really do not do well for my skin, However : I am in LOVE" with IT CC Cream, I have tried all of them, this is a fantastic product, dewy, glowing, great civerage, waterproof, stays all day , buildable, a little goes a long way, I have this in re order with Jamie every three months, I trylu love love love this product. I waould give it A TRY, they gave : At the IT website, wonderful wonderful customer service, if you are not happy no questions asked..

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Cynthia L.
12.10.2014
BEST PERIOD!

Boy oh boy do I disagree with this review. I love many of Paulas products but just have not found a foundation that I like. This product by It Cosmetics has amazed me. It soothes my skin and I have absolutely no irritation at all. It makes skin look like perfect skin and it lasts and lasts all day. Skin looks glorious! It actually soft focuses my wrinkles and I no loknger zero in on them....this stuff just makes you feel good when you look on the mirror! LOVE the snail excretion!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
kea
12.09.2014
one of my favs

i loved, loved, loved this product when i first got it! The light shade matched me perfectly. I have really oily skin, but regardless, i still love a dewy finish. this product definitely gives you that. my tarte primer + urban decay spray usually does the trick at keeping my oils at bay anyway. It didn't necessarily break me out. i just decided to stop using it bc it DOES have a lot of citrus oils. as nice and natural as it looks, it's not worth the damage in the long run.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
11.29.2014
WOW!!

This is the first review I've ever done.....I feel like I need to comment though. A friend recommended this product to me. I fell in love with it!! I am a die hard Paula follower and use many of her products. I value her opinion. This product has been great for me. My skin is better even without makeup since I started using this. The coverage is wonderful and looks flawless.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
ew
11.11.2014
I am in Love ! " It Cosmetics"

I hate to go against PC reviews I usually live by them, I use only the PC skin care on my face,However in the quest for a perfect spf cc or bb cream, I have tried them all, even PC.. " IT COSMETICS CC " IS TO ME BY FAR THE VERY BEST I have ever used. It makes my skin flawless, I have no irritation, it last all day and night. I think PC should really rethink this product.This is by far the very best CC I have used I have three tubes as back up . And It Cosmetics customer service is FAB!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Cynthia L.
10.24.2014
SO wrong

IT Cosmetic's CC cream is one of the best foundations on the market. It is skin care and makeup in one product. The coverage is long lasting and your skin appears luminous after application.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
SueR
10.06.2014
it cc cream your skin only better

Liked it on the first day. On the second day, I looked in the mirror and saw dry flakey patches on my face. Washed my face, and had giant flakes come off and raw skin underneath. Read Paula's review, and discovered that this was the culprit. Next time, I will check Paula's reviews first. Usually have no problems with creams or makeup, now I have hideous red patches on my face.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Deb
10.04.2014
Looks wonderful but stings my skin

I'm glad I found Paula's review of this CC cream and I totally agree with her. My experience is that the CC cream looks wonderful and natural and I was SO happy when I first tried it that I wrote a glowing "5 star" review about it on a different site. It turns out that each time I wore it, my skin would sting a little more. I'm so disappointed because I really do love it but I won't be able to wear it anymore because it's now to the point of being painful.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Wen
09.25.2014
it foundation cc w/50 spf

Bought this via a presentation on QVC, applied daily and within three weeks skin is reddened itchy, and irritated, while on vacation could not understand the cause of the irritation, now, thanks to this site I know the causes, very dissapointed in this product, I'm going to hope for a refund.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
patty m
09.06.2014
NOT FOR ME! Thanks to Paula now I know why.

To be honest I love the coverage and how it's cover all my flaws. But I've been suspicious that burning feeling sensation that I feel as soon as I applied this products. But I keep continued use it. One day I went to vacation with my husband and his family to Lake Powell and there's my concern become more and more because I'm burn like never before. And from there and all the experience I went through and after I read Paula's review now I know why this is not the one for me.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Cassia TB
08.21.2014
disagree with "poor" rating

I suffer from Rosacea and sever rosacea bumps. This product after 3 weeks has left my skin absolutely soft and silky and I went from 15 bumps on my one cheek to 3! This product gave me my life back! Rosacea sucks! Would love to know if the people that is rating this product even suffers from a skin disorder like rosacea. I do understand though not all products work for all rosacea types.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
leanna A
08.15.2014
Not for acne-prone

Some of the beginning ingredients are weird. It's over-priced for the amount you get. It's a big fat why bother?!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Annette D.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.394 5/27/2015 11:29:12 PM