Your Skin But Better CC+ with SPF 50+

Price:
$38 - 1.08 fl. oz.
Poor Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Makeup > Tinted Moisturizers/BB Creams > CC Cream
Last Updated:
7/19/2013
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

Before we discuss this specific CC cream, if you're wondering what the difference is between CC creams and BB creams, here's the answer: It's all about marketing language, nothing more. Generally, a BB cream from a U.S. brand is akin to a tinted moisturizer, while a CC cream tends to be more like a liquid foundation. In reality, there is no rhyme or reason behind the product names when companies launch their versions of these products—they can be completely different from what you expect, and we're not quite sure what you should expect because there is no consistency.

We wish IT Cosmetics had left out the irritating and phototoxic citrus oils in the formula so we could have rated this product highly, especially because from an aesthetic perspective, this is one of the more elegant CC creams we've reviewed. Sadly, the problematic ingredients (which include lemon, lime, bergamot, orange, and grapefruit) are a deal-breaker.

It yields sheer to medium coverage and blends in nearly imperceptibly so the skin looks even-toned and flush with moisture. The shade range is decent, with options for light to medium-deep skin tones.

We also love that this product includes broad-spectrum mineral sunscreen and several other skin-beneficial ingredients. But, unfortunately, all the good doesn't outweigh the bad here. The skin-beneficial ingredients are likely just playing catch-up in trying to undo the damage being done by the irritants.

If you're wondering about the touted snail secretion filtrate in the formula, it's included here as a moisturizing ingredient. There is limited research to support the benefits of snail secretion filtrate as a stand-alone ingredient. So, beyond the "ick" factor involved in knowing you're rubbing snail slime on your face, there's no reason to make the sacrifice because it doesn't offer any beauty benefit.

Pros:
  • Broad-spectrum mineral sunscreen for anti-aging benefits.
  • Very smooth, blendable texture.
  • Moisturizing.
Cons:
  • Includes irritating and phototoxic citrus oils plus the irritant eucalyptus oil.
  • Pricey, especially given the problematic ingredients.
Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide (9.015%), Zinc Oxide (6.305%); Inactive Ingredients: Water, Snail Secretion Filtrate, Butylene Glycol, Phenyl Trimethicone, Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol Dicaprylate/Dicaprate, Orbignya Oleifera Seed Oil, Butyloctyl Salicylate, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1Dimethicone, Cyclopentasiloxane, Cyclohexasiloxane, Magnesium Sulfate, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Aluminum Hydroxide, Hexyl Laurate, Stearic Acid, Calcium Stearate, Caprylyl Glycol, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Peel Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sorbitan Isostearate, Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot) Fruit Oil, 1,2-Hexanediol, Disodium EDTA, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Peel Oil, Citrus Aurantifolia (Lime) Oil, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Punica Granatum Seed Oil, Pinus Sylvestris Leaf Oil, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Niacinamide, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Peel Oil, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Water, Lactobacillus/Honeysuckle Flower/Licorice Root/Morus Alba Root/Pueraria Lobata Root/Schizandra Chinensis Fruit/Scutellaria Baicalensis Root/Sophora Japonica Flower Extract Ferment Filtrate, Perfluorohexane, Olea Europaea (Olive) Leaf Extract, Glycerin, Eucalyptus Globulus Leaf Oil, Cholesteryl Isostearate, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Chrysanthemum Indicum Flower Extract, Cholesteryl Nonanoate, Cholesteryl Chloride, Pueraria Lobata Root Extract, Perfluorodecalin, Morus Alba Fruit Extract, Magnolia Kobus Bark Extract, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Sprout Extract, Diospyros Kaki Leaf Extract, Cinnamomum Cassia Bark Extract, Artemisia Princeps Leaf Extract, Pentafluoropropane, Curcuma Longa (Turmeric) Root Extract, Steareth-20, Hydrolyzed Hyaluronic Acid, Colloidal Oatmeal, Hydrolyzed Silk, Citric Acid, Sodium Benzoate, Silica, BHT, Potassium Sorbate, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, N-Hydroxysuccinimide, Hydrolyzed Collagen, Caprylhydroxamic Acid, Tocopherol, Thiamine HCl, Riboflavin, Retinyl Palmitate, Pantothenic Acid, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Niacin, Folic Acid, Chrysin, Carnitine HCl, Biotin, Ascorbic Acid, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7, Chlorhexidine Digluconate. May Contain: Red 7 Lake, Iron Oxides.

IT Cosmetics (the IT stands for “Innovative Technology”) is the creation of Jamie Kern Lima, a former Miss USA pageant contestant and TV news anchor. Lima founded IT Cosmetics in 2008, selling her products in boutique stores and on QVC, then expanding into Canada in 2009. Since then, the line has gotten a lot of exposure with featured reports and stories on network television, including prominent mentions on the ABC reality show Dancing With the Stars.

Other than this abundant television exposure, the main draw of IT Cosmetics is its claim that the company works with leading plastic surgeons from Brazil to create products containing the very latest anti-aging technologies. That sounds intriguing, but is a bit silly when you consider that most plastic surgeons don’t know anything about skin care or cosmetic ingredient research. Consulting a cosmetic surgeon about anti-aging formularies is like consulting a taxi driver about how to fly an airplane! You’d think Lima and her team would instead want to consult a dermatologist, but even that’s not a slam-dunk for ensuring your anti-aging products are a cut above the rest, given that dermatologists also are not trained in skin-care formulations.

The labels on most IT Cosmetics products reveal a variety of age-defying claims centered around ingredients like antioxidants, peptides, vitamins, and collagen. Those are indeed great ingredients, but because many of IT Cosmetics’ products are packaged in containers that expose these delicate ingredients to light and air, any benefit is reduced as soon as you open the jar or compact (something the plastic surgeons from Brazil obviously didn’t know).

There are also some distinct weaknesses in the line, including an average yet pricey eyebrow pencil, powder illuminator, and eyeshadow whose performances don’t justify the expense (especially not when you factor in the high shipping fees QVC charges).

Of course, IT Cosmetics also has some products that are worth checking out. The line boasts an excellent powder blush, mascara, creme illuminator, hydrating cream lipstick, and many other products—including a full-coverage concealer that is truly full coverage—that are very good. However, while these products are good, they are not so unique that similar products can’t be found elsewhere for less money. As with any line that has a mix of good, so-so, and bad products, shopping using our reviews to guide you is a great way to ensure you’ll at least get your money’s worth, and your skin will be the better for it.

For more information on IT Cosmetics, visit www.itcosmetics.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
Page of 2 Next »
  1. Deb
    Reviewed on Monday, October 06, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    it cc cream your skin only better
    • Liked it on the first day. On the second day, I looked in the mirror and saw dry flakey patches on my face. Washed my face, and had giant flakes come off and raw skin underneath. Read Paula's review, and discovered that this was the culprit. Next time, I will check Paula's reviews first. Usually have no problems with creams or makeup, now I have hideous red patches on my face.

  2. Wen
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 04, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Looks wonderful but stings my skin
    • I'm glad I found Paula's review of this CC cream and I totally agree with her. My experience is that the CC cream looks wonderful and natural and I was SO happy when I first tried it that I wrote a glowing "5 star" review about it on a different site. It turns out that each time I wore it, my skin would sting a little more. I'm so disappointed because I really do love it but I won't be able to wear it anymore because it's now to the point of being painful.

  3. patty m
    Reviewed on Thursday, September 25, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    it foundation cc w/50 spf
    • Bought this via a presentation on QVC, applied daily and within three weeks skin is reddened itchy, and irritated, while on vacation could not understand the cause of the irritation, now, thanks to this site I know the causes, very dissapointed in this product, I'm going to hope for a refund.

  4. Cassia TB
    Reviewed on Saturday, September 06, 2014
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    NOT FOR ME! Thanks to Paula now I know why.
    • To be honest I love the coverage and how it's cover all my flaws. But I've been suspicious that burning feeling sensation that I feel as soon as I applied this products. But I keep continued use it. One day I went to vacation with my husband and his family to Lake Powell and there's my concern become more and more because I'm burn like never before. And from there and all the experience I went through and after I read Paula's review now I know why this is not the one for me.

  5. leanna A
    Reviewed on Thursday, August 21, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    disagree with "poor" rating
    • I suffer from Rosacea and sever rosacea bumps. This product after 3 weeks has left my skin absolutely soft and silky and I went from 15 bumps on my one cheek to 3! This product gave me my life back! Rosacea sucks! Would love to know if the people that is rating this product even suffers from a skin disorder like rosacea. I do understand though not all products work for all rosacea types.

  6. Annette D.
    Reviewed on Friday, August 15, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Not for acne-prone
    • Some of the beginning ingredients are weird. It's over-priced for the amount you get. It's a big fat why bother?!

  7. Dawn F.
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 31, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Love this CC cream!
    • I also LOVE this CC cream! Usually, if Paula gives something a POOR rating, I don't bother buying it or I take it back, (I use PC skincare exclusively). But, irritating citrus oils or not, this product is the BEST CC cream or foundation I've ever used and I've used A LOT! The coverage is excellent, it goes on like silk, it's blend able and it keeps my make-up looking "just put on" all day long. Sorry, Paula, this one is too good not to keep using.

  8. Bri, C
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 14, 2014
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    Wolf in sheep's clothing
    • I was looking for coverage w/a mineral high SPF to even out my skin , I got this and it applied beautifully and lasted all day. 2nd day I got some red dry patches on my face that burned and lasted a week. After reading up a bit I figured out that the citrus oils and eucalyptus, were the culprits. I already knew I was sensitive to lavender, menthol and eucalyptus . I agree with Paula, it's a beautiful FEELING and LOOKING cc cream, but it's doing damage in the long run.

  9. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 07, 2014
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Gorgeous
    • Flawless coverage that looks natural and LASTS! High physical sunscreen!!! I have used PC All Bases Covered for years and love it but it doesn't last all day. This CC cream does!!! I am torn due to the poor review from Beautypedia but it just looks and feels so great on. My only complaint is that they should offer more colors since this is a med-full coverage product. Use a beauty blender to apply.

  10. Maria, F
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 25, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Great CC Cream!
    • I have to admit I was one of those individuals that was not sure about putting snail secretions on my face, but ordered anyways from QVC when this was on a tsv. What a difference this has made on my skin! I swear this makes my face more youthful, I love it! I see my face and it looks smoother, feels like silk and I just feel gorgeous! And this is skincare, it makes a difference even when you aren't wearing it! Great product!

  11. Carolyn L
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 24, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    I think it's wonderful!
    • I've used ALL brands and this one is amazing....

  12. Adrienne G
    Reviewed on Friday, May 23, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Wouldn't be without it
    • I'm shocked at the poor review from Paula's choice. First, it is an SPF 50 with a base of titanium dioxide at 9% and zinc at 6%! Second, the formula blends beautifully, and provides an even, natural coverage. Whatever you feel about the moisturizing claims, I don't know of another foundation with this type of protection, or claims of SPF this high. I switched from ultra high end foundations, and won't wear anything else now, period.

  13. Lena
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 22, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    Please answer. I need help.
    • I am just wondering if this doesent irritate your skin is it ok to use? Is there damage being done that we cant see or is it just irritating if your skin is sensitive to the oils?. It is really one of the best foundations I have ever used. I use all of Paulas choice for my skincare. I would like to continue to use if its not damaging my skin.

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Thursday, May 22, 2014

    We hate to be the bearers of bad news, but irritation - even if you're not aware of it, or can't feel it - is bad news all the way around! Unfortunately those citrus oils can make skin more sensitive to sun, the exact opposite of what you want in a sun protection product!

    —Paula's Choice Research Team
  14. MzVicky, A
    Reviewed on Monday, May 19, 2014
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    If You're on the Fence, don't buy it
    • Paula is right on this product as she is most of the time. I bought this mainly for the sunscreen and coverage. I wanted to believe all the hype on youtube and QVC that this is a great product for aging skin. Unfortunately, on day 3 of wearing it, I had terrible dry patches and my skin was red and irritated. This was the only thing I used that was different. I stopped wearing it and my face is once again almost back to normal. So if you have sensitive skin, it's not worth it.

  15. June Z
    Reviewed on Friday, May 16, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Fantastic CC Cream
    • I have the most sensitive skin in the world and this CC cream has done wonders for it!. I was hesitant to try this because of your review but am so glad I did. I really think you need to review this one again because it deserves a way better rating! I have tried several of the BB and CC creams and this is the best!

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Friday, May 16, 2014

    Thanks for your comments! Despite the great aesthetics this has, we cannot change the fact that it contains problematic ingredients like eucalyptus oil, which is a skin irritant. An ingredient like this won't  impact how a CC cream applies or looks, so it can be deceiving.

    —Admin
  16. Tara C.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, March 26, 2014
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    So torn!!
    • I have problematic skin and have tried soo many foundations that just leave me disappointed. I was so excited to try this cc cream from IT, because I do like a lot of her products (although I'm not crazy about the fact that some products are made in Korea). I loved this foundation! It covers well and evens out my skin and lasts all day. Best of all, I don't breakout. Now after reading Paula's review,I'm not sure I should continue it! The harmful ingredients aren't really listed first..

  17. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, March 16, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Super-- it is a keeper!
    • I have also tried this CC cream and must also disagree in part with the beautypedia review. I bought this and then read the review. It is an excellent product...wonderful to apply, silky, natural looking and wears great. I'm 47 and have melasma; this product blends it all away and has spf 50. My skin is somewhat sensitive from using Paula's retinol products (i am very sensitive to retinol) and I did not find this to be irritating at all and hope that I continue to be pleased.

  18. Kat
    Reviewed on Friday, February 07, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Love this CC cream
    • I would have to disagree that this product is 'pricey'. I have been using the same tube since Aug 2013. It's been almost 6 months and still have some left. I was fortunate to find the product on QVC for $34 and with the shipping comes out to be about $40 Well worth the price for as long as it will last. A little dab will do you. Top off with some loose powder and you are good to go. I didn't find any skin irritation at all. The smell is a little odd but it goes away in seconds. LOVE!

  19. rhonda
    Reviewed on Friday, January 10, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    rhondamae1980
    • It performs like a full coverage foundation. The color "tan" is beautiful. Have only used it twice so im not sure if it's going to irritate my skin and too early to see the skin benefits. The smell is a little strange, however, it performs so nice for mature dry skin that I can forgive the weird smell. If you have fine lines and wrinkles......you will love it!!! When you rate products on this, the highest it will let you rate is 3.....I rate this a 10 out 10

  20. Courtney L
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 28, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    This is awesome
    • I love this. Great coverage, and while I am pretty sensitive, it doesn't bother me, even near my eyes. I think the Paula's Choice review is too harsh. I have tried on countless BB/CC creams, and this is a keeper.

  21. Marcia B
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 10, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    LOVE this product!! and so many others
    • I've been using this CC cream for a month now and absolutely LOVE it!! The results are better than any other CC/BB cream I've tried, and I've tried SO MANY. I don't notice any irritants from the citrus ingredients. It blends easy, very mosturizing, stays on all day, is GREAT under the IT Celebration powder foundation (it you want more coverage), and since you only need VERY little, the cost is not a problem. 1oz lasts me at least 60 days, or more. I highly recommend this brand, SO MANY love it!

  22. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 26, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    I Really Like This Product
    • I think your review is off the mark. This CC Cream is the best I have ever used. I'm 58 and was recently told, while wearing only this and mascara and gloss that I looked "fresh"! A little goes a long way and the finish is flawless. I do agree with your saying it was seamless....it is. I found that my skin was not only evened out color and texture wise (I use the medium), but it stayed that way all day without any touch up and with out any disappearing! It feels moisturizing too. This is a find!

  23. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 05, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    I'm Sorry, I Don't Agree w/You on This One...
    • I always enjoy reading your reviews and it almost always aids me in my purchases. However, I totally disagree w/ you on the iT CC Cream. This is the best CC cream that I have used. I have tried 5 or 6 and none of them compare to this one. The coverage is superb. I have absolutely no sensitivity issues w/ it at all. As a matter of fact I guess that I could say that I find it soothing. The medium shade is right on the mark for me. Even factoring in the higher price, I still LOVE it!!

  24. Cristina
    Reviewed on Friday, September 13, 2013
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Great Coverage
    • This is by far the best CC Cream I have purchased in terms of coverage, look and SPF. I was so disappointed to hear about the irritating ingredients. I trust Paula and her team and always follow their review notes. However, I love this so much (you don't feel like you have anything on and it stays and stays...) that I have not stopped using it. I figure that with a true primer underneath this will prevent the penetration but keep the look!

  25. Eileen C.
    Reviewed on Monday, July 22, 2013
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Usually agree w/reviews, but not this time
    • I had no irritation at all after using this product for the past three weeks. I love the light fragrance which dissipates quickly. The coverage is amazing and yes, it does blend wonderfully and feels great on my skin.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.344 10/21/2014 3:51:35 AM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.