12.17.2014
13
725
PurePressed Base Mineral Foundation SPF 20
Rating
$52
Last Updated:12.17.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

PurePressed Base Mineral Foundation SPF 20 is a pressed-powder version of the Amazing Base, except this one is more matte and not as thick, so oilier skin will be less likely to experience a heavy, caked look once the skin’s oil and the powders mix. The sunscreen is pure titanium dioxide and zinc oxide. The same basic comments made for Amazing Base apply here as well; however, this offers a considerably more tidy application and a broader range of shades, including some exemplary options for darker skin tones. These are richly pigmented and as a result do not look as ash or gray on deeper skin tones like many other powders can. Of the shades, the only ones to consider avoiding are Honey Bronze, Butternut, and Teakwood. The vast majority of skin-true shades here are gorgeous, just as they are for the Amazing Base.

Claims
Ingredients

Active: Titanium Dioxide (14%), Zinc Oxide (3%) Other: Mica, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone, Stearic Acid, Plankton Extract, Algae Extract, Pine Bark Extract, Pomegranate Extract. May Contain: Iron Oxides, Ultramarines, Chromium Oxide Greens

Brand Overview

Jane Iredale At-A-Glance

Strengths: Lip balm with SPF 15 (a rare find); some impressive makeup, particularly the powder-based products; most of the makeup brushes are good.

Weaknesses: Skincare isn’t Iredale’s strong suit; mostly bad concealers; PureMoist LipColours SPF 18 contain irritating peppermint; some superfluous specialty products.

The Jane Iredale line primarily features its mineral makeup, along with several other cosmetics. The skin-care selection from Jane Iredale is limited to a few ancillary products, although a couple of them are definite options if you're a fan of this line.

For more information about Jane Iredale, call (800) 869-9420 or visit the Web site at www.janeiredale.com.

Iredale's color line is advertised as "The Skin Care Makeup," but it isn't skin-care-like at all, at least not in the way you may imagine. Ingredients like boron nitride, mica, and zinc stearate (also known as zinc soap) have no benefit for skin, and they are the primary ingredients of Iredale's loose powders. A few of the products do include mineral-based, gentle sunscreens and a smattering of antioxidants (though the packaging will render them unstable after opening). The ingredient lists are also relatively short, which is beneficial for those with sensitivities, but that's about as skin-caring as this line gets.

You do need to be wary of some of Iredale's questionable claims, such as "Because our bases are concentrated pigment, the coverage we can achieve is far superior to normal makeup with a minimum amount of product. This is why mineral makeup should always look sheer and natural." These powders can be applied sheer, but the very nature of these ingredients results in products that are heavy-textured and that, like it or not, can look powdery and "made-up" on the skin. This is especially true if you have any dry patches, because these mineral powders, which also claim to "trap moisture," will exacerbate any dryness and can look caked and change color over very oily areas. Actually they do trap moisture, but they trap it away from the skin. That's the nature of any powdered mineral - they are absorbent and as a result can be drying.

Iredale denigrates talc, dismissing it as cheap filler material and an irritant, but talc is the essential backbone for a number of the most luxurious-feeling powders you will find, some of which have a softness and virtually seamless finish on the skin that other lines (including Iredale's) should envy. And talc is not irritating, at least not any more than the mica Iredale chose to use in its place. Even more significant, talc is a natural ingredient and a mineral. Despite this, all of Iredale's claims revolving around how mineral makeups are better for skin are marketing hype to the max. The most important element of her mineral makeup is the overall gentle, fragrance-free formula that provides outstanding sun protection.

If the concept of a powdered makeup different from the traditional talc-based powders you've seen at the cosmetics counters or drugstores appeals to you, then this line presents some fine choices. We would recommend using caution when you read (or are told) about the inflated benefits of some rather ordinary but nevertheless effective ingredients. However, with a few exceptions, there is certainly nothing in these straightforward formulations that’s harmful or irritating, and that's always beneficial.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
07.10.2015
Nice Finish

I was a Bare Minerals user for many years and then found this in one of my favorite beauty stores. The milling is finer than BM, and the coverage seems better with a lighter application than BM. It doesn't have that "chalk" look when put on either. I love that it comes in a compact which is easier to carry. A few cons--it's expensive, and my face does get a bit oily after a few hours of wear. Putting Amazing Matte Loose under it seems to help with this.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Rachel D
05.26.2015
A Waste of Money

It does have good coverage but this foundation gave me a rash that lasted for days. Tried a few more times with the same result. It also settled into wrinkles and pores as well as looking greasy after a few hours. The recommended Pommisst did nothing but add a strong cloying scent.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
J L
05.25.2015
best makeup ever!

I am 41 yes old and have used this makeup for 13 years love it! Have strayed and tried other foundation/mineral makeup nothing compares it doesn't break me out has sunscreen protection..the only thing bad is it doesn't photograph well..in pics I looked washed out

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Miranda J.
05.13.2015
Certainly a "Best"

I absolutely love this stuff! I've been using it for several months now and don't plan on changing anytime soon. I put it on over the Dr. Jart+ Premium BB (also a Best on here) and it lasts all day. I tried some different brushes at first, but found it definitely does go on best with the JI Handi Brush My combo/dry, sensitive skin is super happy!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Laura M
05.15.2014
great

I have the hardest time finding a shade that works for me. This product comes in the perfect shades! the compact lasts a long time. i usually keep it in my purse for touch ups during the day. I have horribly acne prone skin that is either oily or flaky and never in between and this product never looks caked on but always covers nicely. I hated the cream and tinted moisturizer from jane iredale but this product has definitely been a regular for years.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Mary T.
04.08.2014
Great Mineral Foundation

I like the pure ingredients in this base foundation plus it is SPF 20. My skin is sensitive and this doesn't bother it even if I have it on 16 hours a day. The color looks natural; I can't tell I have makeup on but it evens out my skin tone and covers imperfections. You can apply lightly for a sheer look or heavier for more coverage. Kind of expensive but lasts a while; worth the price to me.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Mary N
01.02.2014
My fav!

This is definitely my favorite foundation. I have hormonally temperamental, combination skin. I need a neutral shade and have a terrible time finding the right one to match. Unless I have a spot that needs extreme camouflage, I use a kabuki brush to apply the foundation, and throughout the day I add a bit of the pressed translucent to take care of any shininess. The texture, coverage, color, and finish are just right for me - even if the price is a little high.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Amy
11.13.2013
Not for me

I was Thoroughly disappointed. After reading reviews, I felt this was going to be a great product but As soon as I returned home, you could see the makeup "Melting off". My face is oily and this makeup did nothing to combat this skin type and possibly Even oily combination. You could see every pore on my face and every line (I am only 24 and do not have any lines...yet). I am Sticking to my diorskin forever compact!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Elizabeth E.
09.25.2013
Cake, anyone?

After consulting Beautypedia and Makeup Alley, I was certain this would be the product for me, a decent amount of coverage from a light powder. Unfortunately, this powder, over dry skin, over primer, over sunscreen, over moisturizer, over everything I tried, looks amazing for about ten minutes and then it cracks. A small amount or a heavy dusting, it starts to crack. Soft skin, just washed, it starts to crack. Oil covered skin to mix with the powder, it starts to crack. It cakes. That's it.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Rachel H.
09.18.2013
Amazing

I am a huge fan of mineral makeup. As a man its something i can wear myself without looking like i have makeup on. But for use as a makeup artist i find that mineral foundations look fantastic on the skin. I love Jane Iredale Pressed Foundation. It offers as little or as much coverage as you desired. Its like a second skin. For me, of all the pressed mineral foundations, its perfection.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Wayne G
09.12.2013
PurePressed Base

Love it. Although here in Australia it is $96. Very, very pricey. However, I feel like it's worth it.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
09.12.2013
My #1 product

If I were stranded on a desert island... or backpacking for a month... and could only take one product with me, Jane Iredale PurePressed Foundation would be it. It's the best powder foundation. The coverage is as little or as much as you need, the colour palette comes in multiple colours, and the finish is great. I've used Paula's Choice pressed powder, which it's a great product for the price. But when I can afford to buy Jane Iredale, I do.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Tracy
05.14.2013
Love this

I love this pressed powder. I hate the price though. Although, it does seem to last quite awhile. I was researching this site looking for a less expensive powder, but am probably going to purchase this again. It's not messy, covers well, and has a sunscreen in it. I did find that Clinque's powder was rated high by Paula at half the cost of Jane Iredale. I am considering trying that too.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Diane
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to Beauty.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.411 9/2/2015 9:57:10 AM