02.18.2015
4
50
Argan Oil 100% Pure Organic Moisturizer
Rating
1.7 fl. oz. for $48
Category:Skin Care > Body-Care Products > Face/Body Oils
Last Updated:02.18.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

True to its name, this product contains nothing but natural argan oil. The question is whether this non-fragrant plant oil is the cure-all it's made out to be. For example, the claims for this product state that it helps firm skin and also helps improve acne. Who wouldn't be intrigued?

As it turns out, the research on argan oil has found that it has benefits, just not to the extent cosmetics companies claim. Here's what we know: Argan oil's fatty acid and antioxidant content has health benefits (such as lowering cholesterol) when consumed orally.

When it comes to topical use, there is limited information about argan oil's unique benefits. One study examined a cream containing argan oil, saw palmetto, and sesame seeds applied to 20 subjects with combination to oily skin. Subjective and qualitative analysis showed that the oil was reduced by 20–42%, depending on the inherent oiliness of various parts of the face. The study did not demonstrate that argan oil played a specific role in the results—all we know is that the random combination of these ingredients showed the benefit, and it wasn't compared to any other product, so the results are irrelevant. Moreover, the cream was used only for four weeks, so we don't know if ongoing use might have caused breakouts; given the fatty acids present in argan oil, there is a possibility it can cause breakouts.

Argan oil is a good plant oil to consider if your skin or hair is dry to very dry, but it's not better than many other non-fragrant plant oils used in cosmetics (Sources: Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, June 2007, pages 113–118; Clinical Nutrition, October 2004, pages 1159–1166; European Journal of Cancer Prevention, February 2003, pages 67–75; and Journal of Ethnopharmacology, October 1999, pages 7–14).

The Josie Maran 100% Pure Argan Oil earned a three-star rating due to the fact that there are alternative 100% pure argan oil products sold at a fraction of the cost. Argan oil (like many non-fragrant plant oils) is a rich source of fatty acids and antioxidants with many benefits for adding moisture to skin or hair, but this is much more than you need to pay. See our review of Acure Organics 100% Certified Argan Oil or Physicians Formula Argan Wear Ultra-Nourishing Argan Oil for two alternatives that have a far lower price tag.

Pros:
  • Fragrance-free.
  • Argan oil is a very good plant oil for dry skin anywhere on the body.
Cons:
  • Expensive; you can get similar results by applying a mixture of pure olive oil from your kitchen with your regular moisturizer.

More Info:

All of Josie Maran's products contain argan oil. Despite how they market this ingredient, it isn't a cure-all or a must-have for your skin. Argan oil is merely a good, non-fragrant plant oil that's best for dry skin. Like all non-fragrant plant oils, it is a natural source of beneficial fatty acids (skin-repairing ingredients) and antioxidants. You can read more about the folklore and genuine benefits behind argan oil here.

Claims
Josie Maran Organic Argan Oil is a legendary oil that’s rich in vitamin E and essential fatty acids, and grown organically in Morocco. Argan oil is known to have many treatment benefits, including hydrating and nourishing skin, as well as toning and firming. It’s gentle enough to use on all skin types and is believed to help with skin conditions including acne.
Ingredients
100% Pure Organic Argan Oil
Brand Overview

Josie Maran At-A-Glance

Strengths: The sunscreens provide broad-spectrum protection; well-formulated daytime moisturizer with sunscreen; excellent tinted moisturizer for dry skin; smooth, natural-looking pressed powder; uniquely effective gel blush.

Weaknesses: Expensive; the cleansers contain irritating citrus oil; malodorous lip gloss; lackluster to poor mascaras; the Argan Matchmaker Serum Foundation is an epic fail.

The Josie Maran brand was founded by supermodel and former Maybelline spokeswoman Josie Maran. By almost any definition, Maran is an iconic beauty. Like Cindy Crawford before her, who launched a namesake product line, Maran used her notoriety from modeling to do the same thing.

Anytime a model with celebrity status launches a cosmetic line, the curiosity among consumers is intense. The question lingers: Is Maran so beautiful because of these products? Of course not! She was magnificent long before her products were launched, and being born beautiful is not a sign of skin-care knowledge.

Almost every Josie Maran product is centered around the allegedly miraculous argan oil. This non-fragrant plant oil is said to do everything from reduce wrinkles to heal acne, while giving you younger-looking skin. Argan oil isn't a bad ingredient, as it contains beneficial lipids and fatty acids for skin, as well as vitamin E and other antioxidants, but it isn't the only oil that has these kinds of properties. Even more to the point, no single ingredient does it all for skin. It's just like your diet: if you eat only one type of food, you'd soon be malnourished. Skin is the body's largest organ, and it requires a variety of useful ingredients to look and function at its best.

It's worth pointing out also that although argan oil does have benefit for skin, it's gimmicky at best to include it in products like eyeshadow and mascara, but that's what you'll find in Maran's line. Oil in a mascara and eyeshadow will make those products slip and slide off your face and lashes, but there is barely any in her makeup products so not to worry. Even if argan oil had benefit in makeup, it wouldn't remain stable—it would quickly turn rancid when exposed to air.

Despite some high points, the makeup fails overall because when compared to less expensive options at the drugstore, Maran's color options are more average than exceptional.

Although makeup comprises the bulk of this line's offerings, Maran has several skin-care products, too. None of them are must-haves, although a handful of them have decent formulas. Like most lines that use predominantly natural ingredients, there are some fragrant oils present that smell great, but they can irritate your skin and lead to collagen breakdown.

Many of Maran's products are labeled as having a "natural formula," which often is not the case; there are plenty of synthetic ingredients present, including silicones and a synthetic film-forming agent. Those are not bad for skin, but it just shows that you can't trust the company's claims.

For more information about Josie Maran, call (855) 461-6512 or visit www.josiemarancosmetics.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
03.12.2015
love josie's products

I've been using this oil since October. My skin has improved drastically. My dry scaly patches have disappeared. After spending hundreds on many other skin lines over the last few years, I think that this is the best value for me because it's the only product I need to use on my skin.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Terra T
05.21.2014
Confused!

I really like this product, but I am confused by the rating. It is rated as average but then when you click to the link about Argan Oil at the bottom of the page, Argan oil is rated best. So if argan oil is rated Best, why is Josie Maran Argan Oil rated average if it is pure argan oil?

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Robyn C.
05.21.2014
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi Robyn! That's a great question, and it's tricky. First, argan oil is (as we mentioned in the review) a great, basic ingredient for moisturizing skin and dry hair. However, it's no greater than ordinary plant oils such as grapeseed, olive or jojoba (for example). The reason we had a lackluster response to this formula is the fact that it is VERY overpriced because of its ordinary nature (you can buy pure argan oil at health food stores for much less) and the claims go way over the top.  So, while we think the ingredient argan oil is a great one for moisture, we think this approach isn't the way to go—it's a bit like seeing a bottle of water being sold for $20 on the merits it was collected from a far region and carried with it claims of incredible health benefits, when in reality it's no better than a bottle of Evian!

—Admin
01.13.2014
Excellent for all skin types

This argan oil is the best I've tried. They're not all created equal. I have skin that's turned oilier in my 'old age' (35) and I have stubborn dry patches on my nose. This pure oil hydrates beautifully and actually helps control oil. You won't be shinier by using an oil! It's also so versatile it's worth always having around (skin, lips, hair, etc.) and yes, it's pricey, but you only need a tiny amount as a daily moisturizer and a small amount mixed with other creams. It goes a VERY long way.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
MK
06.20.2013
Works for me

I have oily/combination skin that was acne-prone until I discovered PC 2% BHA. That being said, I occasionally get dry patches and this oil works wonders for them. My skin never looks or feels oily when I use this - it absorbs almost instantly. I've not had any breakouts or other issues from using this product. I would say that it's over-priced and will try a more affordable argan oil from another vendor once I finish the Josie Maran one.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
ROSIE N.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.394 5/26/2015 11:18:25 PM