Argan Oil 100% Pure Organic Moisturizer

Price:
$48 - 1.7 fl. oz.
Average Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Body-Care Products > Face/Body Oils
Last Updated:
11/26/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

True to its name, this product contains nothing but natural argan oil. The question is whether this non-fragrant plant oil is the cure-all it's made out to be. For example, the claims for this product state that it helps firm skin and also helps improve acne. Who wouldn't be intrigued?

As it turns out, the research on argan oil has found that it has benefits, just not to the extent cosmetics companies claim. Here's what we know: Argan oil's fatty acid and antioxidant content has health benefits (such as lowering cholesterol) when consumed orally.

When it comes to topical use, there is limited information about argan oil's unique benefits. One study examined a cream containing argan oil, saw palmetto, and sesame seeds applied to 20 subjects with combination to oily skin. Subjective and qualitative analysis showed that the oil was reduced by 20–42%, depending on the inherent oiliness of various parts of the face. The study did not demonstrate that argan oil played a specific role in the results—all we know is that the random combination of these ingredients showed the benefit, and it wasn't compared to any other product, so the results are irrelevant. Moreover, the cream was used only for four weeks, so we don't know if ongoing use might have caused breakouts; given the fatty acids present in argan oil, there is a possibility it can cause breakouts.

Argan oil is a good plant oil to consider if your skin or hair is dry to very dry, but it's not better than many other non-fragrant plant oils used in cosmetics (Sources: Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, June 2007, pages 113–118; Clinical Nutrition, October 2004, pages 1159–1166; European Journal of Cancer Prevention, February 2003, pages 67–75; and Journal of Ethnopharmacology, October 1999, pages 7–14).

One more important point to keep in mind: Skin is a complex organ (the body's largest) and caring for it is never as simple as one ingredient. It's important to get past the idea that there's one ingredient that does it all, although we do understand the lure of products making that claim! Think of skin care like your diet: You'll be healthier if you consume a broad range of nutritious foods than if you eat only one nutritious food, day in and day out. Just like your body, your skin requires a range of beneficial ingredients to function at its healthy best.

Pros:
  • Fragrance-free.
  • Argan oil is a very good plant oil for dry skin anywhere on the body, but skin needs more than one ingredient to improve and thrive.
Cons:
  • Expensive; you can get similar results by applying a mixture of pure olive oil from your kitchen with your regular moisturizer.
  • Argan oil's wide-reaching claims are more folklore than fact.
  • Using products like this in place of well-formulated moisturizers means you're cheating your skin of the many crucial ingredients it needs to look and feel its best.
  • If you are interested in 100% argan oil, there are far less expensive versions available online or at Whole Foods or other natural-oriented grocery stores or supplement stores.

More Info:

All of Josie Maran's products contain argan oil. Despite how they market this ingredient, it isn't a cure-all or a must-have for your skin. Argan oil is merely a good, non-fragrant plant oil that's best for dry skin. Like all non-fragrant plant oils, it is a natural source of beneficial fatty acids (skin-repairing ingredients) and antioxidants. You can read more about the folklore and genuine benefits behind argan oil here.

Josie Maran Organic Argan Oil is a legendary oil that’s rich in vitamin E and essential fatty acids, and grown organically in Morocco. Argan oil is known to have many treatment benefits, including hydrating and nourishing skin, as well as toning and firming. It’s gentle enough to use on all skin types and is believed to help with skin conditions including acne.
100% Pure Organic Argan Oil

The Josie Maran brand was founded by supermodel and former Maybelline spokeswoman Josie Maran. By almost any definition, Maran is an iconic beauty. Like Cindy Crawford before her, who launched a namesake product line, Maran used her notoriety from modeling to do the same thing.

Anytime a model with celebrity status launches a cosmetic line, the curiosity among consumers is intense. The question lingers: Is Maran so beautiful because of these products? Of course not! She was magnificent long before her products were launched, and being born beautiful is not a sign of skin-care knowledge.

Almost every Josie Maran product is centered around the allegedly miraculous argan oil. This non-fragrant plant oil is said to do everything from reduce wrinkles to heal acne, while giving you younger-looking skin. Argan oil isn't a bad ingredient, as it contains beneficial lipids and fatty acids for skin, as well as vitamin E and other antioxidants, but it isn't the only oil that has these kinds of properties. Even more to the point, no single ingredient does it all for skin. It's just like your diet: if you eat only one type of food, you'd soon be malnourished. Skin is the body's largest organ, and it requires a variety of useful ingredients to look and function at its best.

It's worth pointing out also that although argan oil does have benefit for skin, it's gimmicky at best to include it in products like eyeshadow and mascara, but that's what you'll find in Maran's line. Oil in a mascara and eyeshadow will make those products slip and slide off your face and lashes, but there is barely any in her makeup products so not to worry. Even if argan oil had benefit in makeup, it wouldn't remain stable—it would quickly turn rancid when exposed to air.

Despite some high points, the makeup fails overall because when compared to less expensive options at the drugstore, Maran's color options are more average than exceptional.

Although makeup comprises the bulk of this line's offerings, Maran has several skin-care products, too. None of them are must-haves, although a handful of them have decent formulas. Like most lines that use predominantly natural ingredients, there are some fragrant oils present that smell great, but they can irritate your skin and lead to collagen breakdown.

Many of Maran's products are labeled as having a "natural formula," which often is not the case; there are plenty of synthetic ingredients present, including silicones and a synthetic film-forming agent. Those are not bad for skin, but it just shows that you can't trust the company's claims.

For more information about Josie Maran, call (855) 461-6512 or visit www.josiemarancosmetics.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Robyn C.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 21, 2014
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    Confused!
    • I really like this product, but I am confused by the rating. It is rated as average but then when you click to the link about Argan Oil at the bottom of the page, Argan oil is rated best. So if argan oil is rated Best, why is Josie Maran Argan Oil rated average if it is pure argan oil?

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, May 21, 2014

    Hi Robyn! That's a great question, and it's tricky. First, argan oil is (as we mentioned in the review) a great, basic ingredient for moisturizing skin and dry hair. However, it's no greater than ordinary plant oils such as grapeseed, olive or jojoba (for example). The reason we had a lackluster response to this formula is the fact that it is VERY overpriced because of its ordinary nature (you can buy pure argan oil at health food stores for much less) and the claims go way over the top.  So, while we think the ingredient argan oil is a great one for moisture, we think this approach isn't the way to go—it's a bit like seeing a bottle of water being sold for $20 on the merits it was collected from a far region and carried with it claims of incredible health benefits, when in reality it's no better than a bottle of Evian!

    —Admin
  2. MK
    Reviewed on Monday, January 13, 2014
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Excellent for all skin types
    • This argan oil is the best I've tried. They're not all created equal. I have skin that's turned oilier in my 'old age' (35) and I have stubborn dry patches on my nose. This pure oil hydrates beautifully and actually helps control oil. You won't be shinier by using an oil! It's also so versatile it's worth always having around (skin, lips, hair, etc.) and yes, it's pricey, but you only need a tiny amount as a daily moisturizer and a small amount mixed with other creams. It goes a VERY long way.

  3. ROSIE N.
    Reviewed on Thursday, June 20, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Works for me
    • I have oily/combination skin that was acne-prone until I discovered PC 2% BHA. That being said, I occasionally get dry patches and this oil works wonders for them. My skin never looks or feels oily when I use this - it absorbs almost instantly. I've not had any breakouts or other issues from using this product. I would say that it's over-priced and will try a more affordable argan oil from another vendor once I finish the Josie Maran one.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.358 12/21/2014 1:34:07 PM
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off Retinol Products | FREE Shipping on Everything | FREE Eyeshadow Palette on $65+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.