12.19.2014
12
16
Lock-it Tattoo Foundation
Rating
$34
Category:Makeup > Sensitive Skin Products
Last Updated:12.19.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Unlike today's best foundations, Lock-It Tattoo Foundation stays on top of the skin rather than meshing with it, creating a painted-on, old-fashioned appearance with limited appeal.

Given the thick texture of this fragrance-free foundation, you'd think that it could fully hide a tattoo, but it can't—we tried it! Still, the buildable, medium to full coverage is pigmented enough to cover discolorations and blemishes and to provide at least partial coverage of tattoos.

The creamy texture blends well during application and dries down to a long-wearing semi-matte powder finish, which is a plus; just remember, a small amount goes a long way. The more of this foundation you apply, the more likely it is to crease into fine lines and wrinkles throughout the day. Applying too much also can emphasize large pores.

With a less pigmented foundation, there's more flexibility in choosing a shade; however, this foundation does not sheer out easily, so it's very important to match your skin tone exactly. Unfortunately, it may be difficult to find a shade that's believable. There are options for light to dark skin tones, but several of them are either too pink or too red to be workable—specifically, Light 42, Light 46, and Deep 66.

Although this is an okay option for normal to slightly oily skin, there are many better options that are available in more realistic ranges of shades. An example of a full-coverage foundation to consider is Exuviance CoverBlend Concealing Treatment Makeup SPF 20.

Pros:
  • Blendable, creamy texture and fragrance-free formula.
  • Medium to full coverage hides discolorations and blemishes.
  • Long-wearing powder finish.
Cons:
  • Has an unnatural, painted-on appearance.
  • Prone to creasing into fine lines and wrinkles.
  • Unrealistic shade selection makes it difficult to find an exact match.
  • Pricey.
Claims
Ingredients

Water, Dimethicone, Phenyl Trimethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Polysilicone-11, Butylene Glycol, Isononyl Isononanoate, Silica Dimethicone Silylate, Dimer Dilinoleyl Dimer Dilinoleate, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Glycerin, Isododecane, Sodium Chloride, Methicone, Glyceryl Caprylate, Calcium Carbonate, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Trihydroxystearin, Potassium Sorbate, Methylpropanediol, Caprylhydroxamic Acid, Disodium EDTA, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides.

Brand Overview

Kat Von D At-A-Glance

Strengths: Excellent eyeshadow palettes and trios; long-wearing cream and liquid lipstick; truly lasting powder blushes and bronzers.

Weaknesses: A few products on the pricey side (this is a minor quibble).

Celebrity makeup lines are nothing new—we’ve seen dozens of them over the years—but this one is a first in that it shocked us a bit. Kat Von D’s main claim to fame was her successful tattooing enterprise, and her role as a former reality TV show star. Now, she's a makeup entrepreneur—and a very good one.

The line launched in 2007 with only two eyeshadow palettes, cream lipstick, and eyeliner, but since has expanded by adding several new products, including remarkable lip products, blushes and more. Just like most makeup lines, this is one to shop carefully; for every great product, there are a few that could use improvement.

All Kat Von D makeup products come packaged with the line’s signature images of roses and thorns (perhaps to reinforce Von D’s love of tattoo design), which definitely makes these products stand out among a sea of blandly packaged makeup containers.

For more information on this brand, visit www.katvondbeauty.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
05.10.2015
Amazing foundation

Full coverage. I have oily/combination skin and it's hard for me to find a foundation that doesn't break up or spread during the day but this one stays and looks amazing!! Don't have to powder every few hours like I usually have to! Great for combination to oily skin! Also, a little goes along way. Saves me money than having to buy 15 dollar drugstore foundation once a month than this like every few.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Rachel S.
04.21.2015
An honest review!

When I went into a Sephora looking for a new foundation, specially something medium to full coverage, this was heavily pushed. When I had it put on inside the store, as soon as I looked in the mirror I was like NO NO NO. I had instant cake face and it looked like I had painting on my skin. The employee tried telling me that there was no way around that if I was looking for "full coverage". Ha! I sincerely hope she doesn't tell others that.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Christine H
03.06.2015
GREAT FOUNDATION!

I too am surprised by the low rating. It sounds like the authors of this article do not know how to properly apply makeup. You need to prime your face first. If you don't prime, then this foundation will emphasize your pores. To sheer it out, use a wet makeup sponge. I dot this foundation on my face and use my real techniques sponge. It gives me a nice, dewy look. There's def. a learning curve to using this. I'm glad I didn't give up, it is HG status for me!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
KP
03.06.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  We did not review this foundation higher because we reserve our better ratings for foundations that do not require a primer.  We view primer as a nice enhancement but not something that should be a necessity in your routine to get the true effects of the foundation.  Makeup is always subjective and everyone has their own experiences.  It sounds like you've got your routine down, though, so that's fantastic for you and thank you for sharing!

—Admin
12.13.2014
Horrible for dry skin

A warning to people with dry skin! This foundation will cake like crazy. It is almost impossible to work with. I was so excited to buy this foundation. I payed so much to get it shipped from US to Aus (because we didn't have KVD in aus until now). It was a big disappointment. My skin is combination, oily with some dry spots. Despite applying loads of moisturiser, it was so hard to blend and just caked in the dry areas (even with a small amount). It just sat in my pores and wrinkles.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Aaisha f
11.10.2014
ABOVE Average

I'll agree the colors are quite limited- every time I've tried a different shade they are always obviously pink or orange. However, after spending YEARS and LOADS of money on all types and prices of foundations, this is my favorite for full coverage. I have moderate acne, quite a bit of scarring on my cheeks, redness, and also purple/black marks that take FOREVER to fade. This made such a noticeable difference. I mostly use it for evening when lighting is low because of color difference.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Crystal C
11.09.2014
Too Thick & Oily

This foundation felt very heavy and greasy & I ended up returning it. I felt like I was playing with my mom's foundation in the 80's - it really did just "sit" on the skin like a mask. f you happen to like it, it's a GREAT value...the bottle is HUGE!! Probably because it's meant to be used to cover tattoos...if you're covering up sleeves of ink, yeah, you're going to go through a lot of it. If you just used it for your face, it would probably go bad before the bottle was finished.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Chrissy K.
04.23.2014
My Holy Grail foundation

I am very surprised by the "Average" rating given to this foundation. I have shade 46 and it is a great match for my fair/light complexion. I use it over primer or moisturizer and I find that it blends well. You do have to work fairly quickly. It gives medium-to-full coverage and dries to a power like finish without emphasizing my pores. One pump covers my whole face - this is why I gave it a 4 for good value...it lasts forever! My combination skin loves this foundation.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Holly D.
03.09.2014
Great coverage

I'm extremely oily and have a lot of sun damage. I use PC products and they are doing great at correcting the damage I've done. But in the meantime, I use this foundation to cover everything up. Initially, I used this with a Sigma brush, but now I prefer to use a wet Beauty Blender. I feel like that applies it less heavy. Also, I've recently been mixing a little of this foundation with something thin like Revlon Naked foundation and I find that I still get great coverage without it being heavy.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
April
11.08.2013
Beautiful full-coverage foundation

I love this, I normally use Laura Mercier's Silk Creme but it can get quite greasy and slide around some days. This formula amazingly stays put, covers everything from small red veins on the face to blemishes and dark cirlces,while mattifying my oily area without drying out my cheeks, which can be flaky. It makes my skin look so flawless - you will definitely get compliments when you wear this like others have mentioned! I use a setting spray because powder can look too cakey with this. Love it!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Cathy
04.30.2013
The Kat's Pajamas!!!

Ok, you people at beautypedia really need to step up your game! I love this site, but you are WRONG about this foundation! I have seborrhea on my face. For those of you who are not familiar with this skin condition it's basically an oily dandruff that leaves red scaly patches and hurts! Kat Von D Lock it foundation is the only foundation I have found that not only covers it, but does not irritate it further! It does not give a "fake" look and my skin feels better since using it!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Jennie,M.
03.23.2013
love this foundation

I love this foundation. It covers very well and I have gotten many compliments on how nice and clear my skin looks. I have acne scarring and skin discoloration so it sure feels nice to hear those compliments. However my skin does look dry with it so I don't wear powder. Instead I spray on some Makeup Setting Spray to set the makeup and that also seems to make it look less dry.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
G.F.
03.11.2013
Best Full Coverage Foundation for Oily Skin

I completely disagree with the review. I wear makeup and use it on others all of the time. This is the best full coverage makeup for oily skin- by far. You must prep the face correctly, and it absolutely will not work well on dry skin, but on oily skin that needs a beautiful, flawless finish Without powder that lasts ALL day, this is it. It does not highlight pores, melds right into the skin, covers everything, and has a beautiful finish that does not require powder. Good color choice as well

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Michelle T.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.405 8/2/2015 11:44:39 PM