11.26.2014
17
22
Midnight Recovery Concentrate
Rating
1 fl. oz. for $46
Category:Skin Care > Body-Care Products
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Restoring skin’s healthy appearance overnight isn’t going to happen with this product. Although it contains a few helpful ingredients for dry skin, it is far more loaded with irritating fragrant oils. Coriander, lavender, and rosemary are the biggest offenders; all present problems for your skin, including irritation and collagen breakdown. Please…save your skin and your cosmetics budget and ease your dryness with a well-formulated fragrance-free moisturizer coupled with a non-fragrant plant oil such as olive or evening primrose. You’ll get better results without the irritation Midnight Recovery Concentrate is guaranteed to cause.

Claims

This lightweight, readily absorbed elixir effectively restores skin’s healthy appearance overnight, resulting in smoother, more radiant complexion by morning. Enriched with Squalane, a botanical lipid similar in molecular structure to natural skin lipids, Evening Primrose Oil, rich in Omega-6 Fatty Acids and Essential Oils including Lavender, our formula provides a boost of intensive moisture to depleted skin. These natural oils instantly penetrate the skin surface to help replenish it. Our recovery concentrate works at night when skin is most receptive to repairing itself from daily aggressors. With skin hydrated, supple and soft, rest assured you can say goodnight to tired-looking skin.

Ingredients

Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Dicaprylyl Carbonate, Squalane, Rosa Canina Fruit Oil, Evening Primrose Oil, Jojoba Seed Oil, Coriander Seed Oil, Tocopherol, Lavender Oil, Pelargonium Graveolens Flower Oil, Linalool, Rosemary Leaf Oil, Citronellol, Geraniol, Lavandula Hybrida Oil, Cucumber Fruit Extract, Turmeric Root Extract, Limonene, Citral, Sclareolide, Rose Flower Oil, Jasmine Extract, Sunflower Seed Oil

Brand Overview

Kiehl's At-A-Glance

Strengths: Kiehl's staff is generous when it comes to providing samples and product information; some good cleansers; a couple worthwhile serums.

Weaknesses: Expensive for what you get; the Blue Herbal and Facial Fuel products are terrible; no products to successfully address skin discolorations; the toners are disappointing; the self-tanner should be avoided; jar packaging weakens several of the formulas.

This line has been around for quite some time, and has its origins in a family-owned pharmacy based in New York City. Perhaps its neighborly beginnings with a big-city heritage are what propelled Kiehl's to its long-standing status as a popular product line. Considering that Kiehl's doesn't advertise (at least not in the traditional sense, though their products get frequent press), their brand identity and status in the minds of consumers are impressive.

What gets lost in all the fashion magazine hype and company claims of "excellence" and "quality ingredients" is that almost all of the Kiehl's products hardly warrant excitement or even mild enthusiasm. Most of them are surprisingly ordinary, with a dusting of natural ingredients almost always at the very end of the ingredient list, well after the preservatives. That amounts to little more than a token attempt to make the products appear more natural to those who want to believe a plant or vitamin must somehow be better for the skin than something that sounds more chemical. Nevertheless, that token amount is enough to allow Kiehl's to brag about how its products nourish the skin or are more environmentally friendly, when they're not.

Aside from the allure of the natural, this line consists of totally ordinary and often completely unnatural ingredients. More disheartening for skin is that many of the ingredients are of questionable benefit for those with sensitive, oily, or blemish-prone skin. In some instances product ingredients are irritating for any skin type, while half of the sunscreen products are a serious problem for reliable sun protection. If you can't resist the allure of Kiehl's, just know that the product assembly will work best for those with dry to very dry skin and that, for the money, most of the formulas aren't knock-your-socks-off thrilling.

Note: Kiehl's is categorized as a brand that tests on animals because its products are sold in China. Although Kiehl's does not conduct animal testing for its products sold elsewhere, the Chinese government requires imported cosmetics be tested on animals, so foreign companies retailing there must comply. This requirement is why some brands state that they don’t test on animals “unless required by law.” Animal rights organizations consider cosmetic companies retailed in China to be brands that test on animals, and so does the Paula’s Choice Research Team.

For more information about Kiehl's, owned by L'Oreal, call (800) 543-4572 or visit www.kiehls.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
03.07.2015
horrible review, this product changed my skin

Vey unprofessional review "You’ll get better results without the irritation Midnight Recovery Concentrate is guaranteed to cause." I have been using this product for over 2 years and the results speak volumes. This site bashes so many amazing products; it comes across as personal opinion and not scientific or researched in the slightest. Anything to promote their own brand/agenda. Shame on you.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.09.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there.  Thanks for reaching out to us and I'm happy to hear that you've had positive results with this product.  Here is a link to our top reviewed serums, many of which are not from Paula's Choice, just in case you ever want to switch it up:  http://www.paulaschoice.com/beautypedia-skin-care-reviews?sort=brand&direction=asc&pageNumber=1&pageSize=24&treenodeid=33cd631e-ae36-479a-a467-02264b2c75c4&rating=3

While we're on the subject, I should note that The Paula’s Choice Research Team no longer reviews products for Beautypedia, and while The Beautypedia Team is still a part of Paula’s Choice Skincare, what’s new—and you may not yet have known—is that now we have two teams working independently to bring you the best quality reviews, products, and  research-supported expert advice you know and love. One team is dedicated to Beautypedia and product reviews from other brands; the other is dedicated to Paula’s Choice skincare and its unique combination of expertly formulated products and advice on a wide range of beauty-related topics.

—Admin
03.06.2015
Amazing

This product really gives me that overnight glow ! I wake up to smoother, moist and brighter skin. I have combination oily skin and was hesitant at first but after using it, my skin is now less oilier and balanced. Its amazing and I totally disagree with the review !

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.22.2015
Does Paula Like Anything that Isn't Paula?

I notice no matter what product I search for, and no matter how many positive reviews it may have on other websites, Paula/Beautypedia gives a negative review to every single brand . Now of course its a conflict of interest because she's selling her own products that actually get negative reviews. Ive yet to find 1 product t hat she actually likes or thinks its worth it. Everyones skin is different but so many products get rave reviews elsewhere and then Debby Downer hates everything

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
MATTR
02.23.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hello, and thank you for contacting us. The answer to your question is: absolutely! We have a whole section on Beautypedia that is for products we rate "Best" - and it's a pretty big section! In fact, we have more than 200 anti-aging products that are not Paula's Choice that we've given a four-star rating! We invite you to check out all the products we've rated best here.

—Paula's Choice Research Team
02.20.2015
Disagree with this review

I understand that Paula's Choice reviews are based on scientific studies (whatever that means) and specific ingredients that can cause specific problems to specific sking types... But I think: 1) you should consider the AVERAGE skin types before deciding what to write on here. Not everyone has ridiculously sensitive skin that reacts to the NATURAL fragrance of ESSENTIAL OILS; 2) you should consider the product's actual RESULTS for a change. This is simply the best beauty product out there.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Cynthia
02.20.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  Thanks for reaching out -- Here are a few links to some of our articles about why fragrant oils aren't good for anyone's skin regardless of type:

http://www.paulaschoice.com/expert-advice/sensitive-skin/_/fragrance-and-skin-care-smells-like-trouble

http://www.paulaschoice.com/expert-advice/sensitive-skin/_/skin-irritation-your-worst-enemy

As an analogy, smoking cigarettes is not good for someone with asthma but it's also damaging to someone with perfectly healthy "normal" lungs.

—Beautypedia Team
02.18.2015
Wonderful Oil!

This oil is one of the few that I can use on my skin that doesn't irritate or break me out in any way. I have noticed a true difference in the appearance of my skin as well! So smooth and even toned! I don't understand how this "review" is more of a negative review on Kiehls themselves more so than the concentrate... This stuff is excellent, and really does work for me. I wouldn't count it out based on this review alone!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Rachel
02.15.2015
kind of horrified by this review...

If I'd read this review, I'd never had purchased this. As it was, I purchased it for my husband. His aging skin was drying, and I thought this would be nourishing. It didn't give him a break out per se, but it did make him oily and he thought it itched. (He uses the Kiehl's Facial Fuel sunscreen/moisturizer with no problems however) So, with my 50 yr old skin still having some break outs and patches of dry skin and oily (yay, right) I tried it. A few drops sank in and my skin glowed. Fab!!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Adrienne S
02.14.2015
Waste of money

At first, I liked this product and thought that my skin looked better in the morning. However, after several weeks of using it, I came to realize that it was not a good fit with my combination skin (too oily), produced no results, and that the fragrance actually irritated my skin.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Sara F.
01.01.2015
Excellent for me and my husband

I have sensitive dry skin and this is wonderful. It's light weight, great smelling and doesn't make me break out. It takes only a few drops, so it lasts forever. Lots of other products irritated my skin, so this was a pleasant surprise. Some other, more expensive products may be more "natural", but after dealing with rawness, stinging, rashes or acne, I'm grateful to have found this. I even convinced my husband to try it and he loves it. I don't know if he'd admit to it in public ;-)

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Tawny K.
07.21.2014
I totally disagree. I love it. Everyone has different skin so opinions will differ.

Love it. Lasts months so price is worth it.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Kathy A
07.21.2014
Beautypedia Team Response

Thanks for your comments! Our review of this Kiehl's product is based not on opinion but on what the published research says about the ingredients it contains. Some of the ingredients are good for skin, and some have known issues that present a risk to skin. Sadly, we cannot change what research has shown to be true about problematic ingredients for skin. Our strong suggestion is to use a facial oil/rich moisturizer that contains only good ingredients.

—Admin
06.16.2014
Terrible breakouts!

This product has disappointed me immensely! If only I had read the PC review before splurging on this product. After the first one or 2 days I thought my skin felt nice and soft, fair enough. But then I had the world's worst breakout after about a week. I'm talking huge cystic acne (which is unusual for my late 20's skin). I then stopped it altogether and gave the product another trial a few months later... With exactly the same effects! Never again.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
01.27.2014
love this oil

This is my favorite product of all that I own/have tried, but only for extra moisture. I don't use it for anti-aging. My face breaks out from everything and always dry from acne treatments. This oil not only calms my skin, but also reduces break-out inflammation/redness AND reduces my cracked, dry facial skin by 80% the first night I need to use and I'm back to normal within 3 days-no makeup flaking, etc (Iput it under my regular moisturizer at night). Also great on dry lips with a balm over it

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Christina
12.15.2013
Neutral

For me, I find a bit oily when applied at first however when I wake up next morning, skin feels supple and refreshed. No shiny spots on nose and forehead. For its claim, this product is pretty god for its intended effect. However, I have sensitive skin and my skin is a bit irritated by it when applied for the first few days.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Bonnie L.
10.02.2013
Worked wonders for my skin

This product worked miracles for my skin. I wake up with my skin feeling much softer and looking much brighter and well rested. My skin can be sensitive and react to a number of different ingredients, but I have had no problems at all with this product. I adore the fragrance (and I'm not normally a fan of scented products) and find it calming and relaxing - like a day at the spa! I notice a complete difference when I don't use this. Yes, it's expensive, but it totally works!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Danielle M
08.17.2013
Truly A Miracle...for me, anyway

I have been using MRC for over two years and it is hands down the best product in my arsenal. It evens out my skin tone, softens fine lines and my face looks great the next day. I have never had any breakouts or irritation using it and while, yes, it is pricey, you only use a few drops and it lasts forever. For reference, I am 50 and have combo skin, leaning towards dry.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
06.21.2013
Disagree

I also have to disagree with your review. My eyes are sensitive, but I have no problem with this; in fact, I really like it. It reduces puffiness and makes the eye area look very youthful. I have used many eye products over the years, and this is my favorite so far!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Marilyn
03.27.2013
Not irritating

This product is not irritating like the "cosmetics cop" says. I would say if you have dry skin it is not enough as a moisturizer - in the winter i top it with a night cream or aquaphor, but it is more than sufficient in the summer. My skin looks calmer when i use it, and when i use it regularly I need less makeup. I make a point to keep up the habit of applying this when I am stressed, as it really helps my skin most then.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.06.2013

Skin looks moist and healthy in the morning.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Lois k.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.405 7/30/2015 3:23:01 PM