06.10.2015
28
4691
Face + Neck Face Factor 30 Broad Spectrum SPF 30
Rating
2 fl. oz. for $12.95
Category:Skin Care > Sensitive Skin Products > Sun Products > SPF 30-49 Sunscreen
Last Updated:06.10.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Face Factor Face + Neck SPF 30 is a truly outstanding product in the Kiss My Face line! This in-part zinc oxide sunscreen for normal to dry skin contains a very good array of antioxidants, soothing agents, emollients, and the cell-communicating ingredients. Well done, and it’s fragrance-free, too! That is a great change of pace! This formula should be suitable for those struggling with dry skin and occasional breakouts; however, as with any skin-care product, it takes experimentation to discover what works best for you.

The amount of zinc oxide does not leave a white cast on skin, and the formula is also water-resistant for 40 minutes.

Note: Because this product is regulated in the United States as an over-the-counter drug, its inactive ingredients are listed in alphabetical order rather than in descending order of content. Although this may be allowed by law, we have more respect for companies that choose instead to list their inactive ingredients in descending order of concentration, so you know more about what you are putting on your face, just like with any other skincare or makeup product.

Claims

Face Factor Sunscreen SPF 30 is the ultimate in natural sun protection for your face and neck and is enriched with Hydresia to be ultra-moisturizing. This formula offers broad spectrum protection and is rich in antioxidant Green Tea and Licorice extracts to help fight damaging free radicals. Anti-aging peptides help reduce the appearance of wrinkles and a remarkably effective Linoleic Acid help decrease sensitivity to sunscreens, naturally. Natural Hyaluronic acid, Hydresia olesomes, and Aloe and Cucumber extracts hydrate and soothe for beautiful skin every day. Hydresia is nature’s moisturizer nurtured from safflower seeds. Hydresia olesomes are little “capsules” of oil that collapse at varying rates on your skin, providing controlled release of ultra-moisturizing properties. This fragrance free formula is water resistant and works great as a base under make-up. What’s more, Kiss My Face procures non-nano minerals for use in our sunscreen.

Ingredients

Active: Octinoxate (7.5%), Octisalate (3%), Zinc Oxide (3%). Inactive: Acetyl Hexapeptide 8, Acrylates Copolymer, Alpha Lipoic Acid, Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) Leaf Juice, Ascorbyl Palmitate (Vitamin C), Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Caprylic/Capric Triglycerides, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Oleosomes, Cetearyl Olivate,Cetyl Alcohol, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Dimethicone, Ethylhexylglycerin, Glycerin, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Glycrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Extract, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Linoleic Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Polysorbate 20, Sodium Hyaluronate, Sodium Hydroxide, Sorbitan Olivate, Stearyl Alcohol, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Water

Brand Overview

Kiss My Face At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive; generous sizes; some very good sunscreens, occasional use of antioxidants without troublesome plant extracts; some fragrance-free products.

Weaknesses: Nearly all products contain one or more problematic plant extracts or volatile plant oils; the Obsessively Organic line is a dud; no products to treat acne or lighten skin discolorations; several bar soaps; no reliable AHA or BHA products; irritating toners; problematic self-tanner.

Lining the shelves of many health food stores and the "natural" skin-care aisles of quite a few national grocery store chains is this sweetly named line of skin-care products. Similar to competitor Burt's Bees (where Burt himself sold handmade products out of the back of his pickup truck), the owners of Kiss My Face are also vegetarians. (What does dietary preference have to do with skin care? We don't know, but it's mentioned several times in the information about this company.) Also similar to Burt's Bees, the founders of Kiss My Face started on a farm and took their products and concept to the big city, where it was well received.

Of course, the farm setting juxtaposed with the urban success speaks to the company's desire to maintain their natural image, despite using several ingredients that aren't natural in the least. If anything, many of the natural ingredients Kiss My Face chooses are a problem for skin because they cause irritation. Even more upsetting is that they do so without exerting a benefit. The company claims to use the latest scientific research mixed with the best nature has to offer, saying that doesn't leave any room for "unnecessary chemical additives," but there is a lot of research about all kinds of ingredients, natural and synthetic, that indicates they are excellent for skin. Kiss My Face must be doing some inadequate or extremely limited research.

What Kiss My Face lacks is a product range that keeps up with state-of-the-art options from neighboring lines in the mass market. We are leery of any skin-care company that claims to be using the latest research and yet sells sunscreens without reliable UVA protection, toners with irritants, and far more bar soaps, which are also a problem for skin, than water-soluble cleansers. Again, what research are they using? Although the natural slant here is more a front than factual, there are some winning products to consider, and the price point is very attractive, as is the simple packaging. Shopping Kiss My Face carefully can result in some great beauty bargains.

For more information about Kiss My Face, call 845-360-2060 or visit www.kissmyface.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
Next »
06.09.2015
Broke me out :(

I really liked this at first -it felt really good and moisturizing going on. It also had no white cast, as promised. Ultimately I had to stop using it, though, as it made me break out.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
06.08.2015
Just Checking

According to previous commenters, the ingredients for this sunscreen have changed. A member of the PC Research Team stated that they would look into the possible ingredient change and revise the sunscreen review as necessary. I was wondering if the current review as posted reflects the new ingredient changes or the old formula that has yet to be updated. Thanks!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
06.10.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hello there!  The review has since been updated.  There were no major reformulations, so it still earns our highest rating :)

—Admin
06.05.2015
Change in Ingredients

Just like other reviewers before, I've noticed this product no longer has the same ingredients as it did before. The store where I usually purchase this only has this product with the new formula now. Please update this review since it no longer applies to the current product.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Desiree
06.10.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hello there!  We have since updated the review.  For the most part, the ingredients are exactly the same -- Kiss My Face has just changed their packaging labeling convention to alphabetical instead of being listed by concentration.  The only change was from sodium chloride to sodium hydroxide and this still earns our highest rating :)

—Admin
05.30.2015
sunscreen smell

I bought this sunscreen today,and should've smelled it at the store. Unfortunately it does have a sunscreen smell. I'm not too excited about putting this on my face now, as my original intent was to use it as a daily moisturizer/sunscreen

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.06.2015
Non-sensitizing

This is the only sunscreen I've ever found that contains "chemical" sunscreens that I can use without irritation or redness, even around the eyes.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Sean A.
04.18.2015
Great Sunscreen

Love this natural broad spectrum sunscreen for my fair, sensitive skin. No problem wearing it under makeup and have not had a white cast in person or photos either. Use daily on face, neck, and chest.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
michelle c.
04.04.2015
Same product, SPF 30 vs 50, different rating?

Why is the SPF 50 such a low rating vs SPF 30?

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Sarah
01.22.2015
Changed Ingredients?

I really like this sunscreen! It doesn't leave a white cast and makes my skin feel so soft. I purchased another tube recently and noticed it smelled different. Upon looking at the original ingredients I saw that they have been changed. Should this still be on the "best" list if the ingredients have changed?

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
01.23.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hello, and thanks for the information! We'll check it out and revise the review if needed.

—Paula's Choice Research Team
12.21.2014
Where to buy "Kiss My Face" Face Factor Broad Spectrum SPF 30 Sunscreen

This wonderful sunscreen can be found at Whole Foods stores in Washington. It's the only #30 facial sunscreen I have found that I like. All the others leave a whitish or shiny cast on my skin that I'm not comfortable with. This one's a keeper!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Joyce M.
11.06.2014
Great moisturizer sunscreen, but?

I love this, it's a great price and feels great too. But I have a question, it's sold without a seal of any kind? Will the antioxidants remain potent? Why would they sell it without a seal? I was going to pick up a tube from my local Publix but didn't because it wasn't sealed sitting on the shelf. I emailed kmf to see if the tubes directly from their site come sealed.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Amy R
10.23.2014
lavender oil in it

This sunscreen/moisturizer seemed like a great idea, but my sensitive skin (mild rosacea) reacted immediately. I'm wondering whether the botanical oils in it caused this reaction.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Martha
08.20.2014
I don't get it....

As for the product, I think it feels great for being a partial-zinc sunscreen. It has great antioxiants and skin-caring ingredients. What I DON'T get, however, is how come this is considered "broad spectrum" when the Cerave AM Lotion has almost the identical mix of sun protection ingredients, yet Paula states in her review that the Cerave isn't necessarily "broad spectrum"? I ask because I interchange these two products depending on my skin, weather, (and mood!). Strange!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Beth S.
08.21.2014
Beautypedia Team Response

Thanks for your comments! We know this can be confusing and wish it were easier to understand. The issue between these two products is that Kiss My Face did the additional FDA testing required to prove and earn the use of the “broad spectrum” label on their product. CeraVe likely did the same testing, but their product, despite having similar active ingredients, did not pass the broad spectrum test. That’s why they aren’t currently making that claim (they’re not allowed to) while Kiss My Face is. With any sunscreen formula, it’s not just the active ingredients at play, it’s the base formula and what steps, if any, were taken to ensure proper dispersion and stability of the active ingredients in and out of UV light.

—Admin
08.11.2014
Enough protection?

I love the texture and the fact that it just melts into the skin, without looking greasy during the day. I set my makeup with powder in the morning, but any other sunscreen just seems to turn my face into an oil slick by noon. However, I have serious doubts regarding its UVA protection with only 3% zinc oxide. I am used to European sunscreens like Bioderma, which have a very high PPD, but are, unfortunately, way too heavy for my complexion. Does the 3% offer enough protection?

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Simone
08.11.2014
Beautypedia Team Response

Hello,

Thanks for your comments! This product now states “broad spectrum protection”, which means it was retested based on the U.S. Food & Drug Administration’s new SPF standards, and it passed the revised critical wavelength testing for UVA protection. Zinc oxide provides the broadest range of UVA protection in this product, but both of the other actives provide some amount of UVA screening, too. If 3% zinc oxide was the only active, we’d be concerned; however, as is, we have every reason to believe the company’s broad spectrum claim.

—Admin
08.02.2014
Different Formulation?

I love this sunscreen! It actually feels good on my face, and I find that the consistency works for both summer and winter. However, I think the ingredients have changed. Like a previous reviewer, I'm wondering if the original Beautypedia review still applies.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Devon S
08.04.2014
Beautypedia Team Response

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback. We do not have any record of the formula for this product changing, but we will look into it. Thanks again!

—Admin
04.26.2014
Lucy's Mom

This moisturizing sunscreen is the best for the price I have found. Love the feel, no fragrance, no white cast. I found it at a store called Sprouts. My skin type is normal/dry. Thank you for this amazing website.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.10.2014
Best Sunscreen

This is the very best sunscreen out there and I use it every single day. It applies smoothly and dries down clear and not white, which is the single biggest gripe I have with mineral cunscreens. It's also loaded with antioxidants, so I don't feel like I need lots of extra products in the morning when time is a factor. I buy it on Amazon and usually get 3 tubes at a time - you can save a bit that way. Although I don't think the price is out of line, considering the performance.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Dawn P.
04.02.2014
YES FINALLY

YES! A sunscreen I feed good about putting on my face. Great texture, moisturizing, great SPF! Also, it's a sunscreen recommended by the Environmental Working Group, so you don't have to worry about toxins. Great pick Paula!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Carly H
03.29.2014
Great for Dark Skin

This sunscreen is excellent. It is difficult to find sunscreens with physical ingredients that do not leave a white film on the skin. I am African American with caramel skin and this blends right in and doesn't feel heavy. I paid $12 for this at the Vitamin Shoppe which I believe is a great value considering that it performs better than many products from more high end brands.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Gracie
03.27.2014
Great for dry sensitive skin!

I like to have one face moisturizer for day and evening. So in the morning, I apply this product after my moisturizer I find that it doesn't dry my skin and it isn't greasy at all! It absorbs quickly and doesn't leave a white film. Additionally, my make up goes on quite well. I have sensitive skin. If a product doesn't agree with me, I can break out. No break outs with this product! p.s. I live in Florida and have to use this product daily.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
christine d.
03.24.2014
Kiss My Face

I am 56 years old with very dry skin, and I can often wear this sunscreen without additional moisturizer, which is great! It goes on smoothly, doesn't leave a whitish cast, and I believe it's protecting my skin. It's gloomy winter in Mi., so I'll know more come summer. The only downside for me is I have to order it on line because no one in my area is carrying it at the moment. Perhaps that will change once summer rolls around as well.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Maureen
03.18.2014
New Formula

I've been using the new formula for this product without octinoxate. This would be for the old 2012 formula, so I'm interested in what would be said about the new one :)

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Ellie A
02.28.2014
Kiss My Face

I am a 56 year old who is complimented regularly on my skin. I wear sunscreen everyday, and this has been my favorite thus far. It goes on evenly, is unscented, and there is no white cast. It is a bit pricey for the amount, but for everything it does, it's worth the splurge. And not tested on animals which is a must!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.22.2014
Moisturizer is growing on me

I bought this product on Vitacost.com for about $8, which is a good value, though probably at not at full price as it's a pretty small tube. Feels tacky on my face after I put it on, so have to wait to put on makeup. I prefer something that makes my skin feels softer after. Still, I think it's doing a good job. It feels rich and goes into my skin well, and has a decent amount of sunscreen that does not leave my skin white (though I have olive skin). I will keep using it.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
10.21.2013
Fabulous

This is an excellent product. I love Paula's Choice products but the SPF moisturisers really dry out my skin so I turned to this recommendation and I'm glad I did. I have a very sensitive combination skin with very dry areas and fine lines and this cream suits it very well.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Roch
06.05.2013
No Irritation

I have used this moisturizer with sunscreen for three months. It doesn't irritate my sensitive skin and it wears well under makeup. My only issue is when it is really hot outside like 80 degrees or hotter, it makes me sweat and drips off my skin. It was a good buy off of Walgreens.com for under $10.00.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
LRL
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to drugstore.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.401 7/1/2015 6:40:12 PM