Face + Neck Face Factor 30 Broad Spectrum SPF 30

Price:
$12.95 - 2 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Skin Care > Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime) > Moisturizer with Sunscreen
Last Updated:
11/26/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

Face Factor Face + Neck SPF 30 is a truly outstanding product in the Kiss My Face line! This in-part zinc oxide sunscreen for normal to dry skin contains a very good array of antioxidants, soothing agents, emollients, and the cell-communicating ingredients. Well done, and it’s fragrance-free, too! That is a great change of pace! This formula should be suitable for those struggling with dry skin and occasional breakouts; however, as with any skin-care product, it takes experimentation to discover what works best for you.

The amount of zinc oxide does not leave a white cast on skin, and the formula is also water-resistant for 40 minutes.

Take extra special care to protect and help reduce wrinkles on the overexposed, yet fragile skin of the face and neck. Our formula is rich in the patented Zoe, which is a remarkably effective Linoleic ester that decreases sensitivity to sunscreens naturally.

Active: Octinoxate (7.5%), Octisalate (3%), Zinc Oxide (3%) Water, Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) Leaf Juice, Glycerin, Acrylates Copolymer, Polysorbate 20, Stearyl Alcohol, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Dimethicone, Caprylic/Capric Triglycerides, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Oleosomes, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Cetyl Alcohol, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Cetearyl Olivate, Sorbitan Olivate, Acetyl Hexapeptide 8, Alpha Lipoic Acid, Sodium Hyaluronate, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Glycrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Extract, Ascorbyl Palmitate (Vitamin C), Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Sodium Chloride, Linoleic Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin

Lining the shelves of many health food stores and the "natural" skin-care aisles of quite a few national grocery store chains is this sweetly named line of skin-care products. Similar to competitor Burt's Bees (where Burt himself sold handmade products out of the back of his pickup truck), the owners of Kiss My Face are also vegetarians. (What does dietary preference have to do with skin care? We don't know, but it's mentioned several times in the information about this company.) Also similar to Burt's Bees, the founders of Kiss My Face started on a farm and took their products and concept to the big city, where it was well received.

Of course, the farm setting juxtaposed with the urban success speaks to the company's desire to maintain their natural image, despite using several ingredients that aren't natural in the least. If anything, many of the natural ingredients Kiss My Face chooses are a problem for skin because they cause irritation. Even more upsetting is that they do so without exerting a benefit. The company claims to use the latest scientific research mixed with the best nature has to offer, saying that doesn't leave any room for "unnecessary chemical additives," but there is a lot of research about all kinds of ingredients, natural and synthetic, that indicates they are excellent for skin. Kiss My Face must be doing some inadequate or extremely limited research.

What Kiss My Face lacks is a product range that keeps up with state-of-the-art options from neighboring lines in the mass market. We are leery of any skin-care company that claims to be using the latest research and yet sells sunscreens without reliable UVA protection, toners with irritants, and far more bar soaps, which are also a problem for skin, than water-soluble cleansers. Again, what research are they using? Although the natural slant here is more a front than factual, there are some winning products to consider, and the price point is very attractive, as is the simple packaging. Shopping Kiss My Face carefully can result in some great beauty bargains.

For more information about Kiss My Face, call 845-360-2060 or visit www.kissmyface.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Amy R
    Reviewed on Thursday, November 06, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Great moisturizer sunscreen, but?
    • I love this, it's a great price and feels great too. But I have a question, it's sold without a seal of any kind? Will the antioxidants remain potent? Why would they sell it without a seal? I was going to pick up a tube from my local Publix but didn't because it wasn't sealed sitting on the shelf. I emailed kmf to see if the tubes directly from their site come sealed.

  2. Martha
    Reviewed on Thursday, October 23, 2014
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    lavender oil in it
    • This sunscreen/moisturizer seemed like a great idea, but my sensitive skin (mild rosacea) reacted immediately. I'm wondering whether the botanical oils in it caused this reaction.

  3. Beth S.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, August 20, 2014
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    I don't get it....
    • As for the product, I think it feels great for being a partial-zinc sunscreen. It has great antioxiants and skin-caring ingredients. What I DON'T get, however, is how come this is considered "broad spectrum" when the Cerave AM Lotion has almost the identical mix of sun protection ingredients, yet Paula states in her review that the Cerave isn't necessarily "broad spectrum"? I ask because I interchange these two products depending on my skin, weather, (and mood!). Strange!

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Thursday, August 21, 2014

    Thanks for your comments! We know this can be confusing and wish it were easier to understand. The issue between these two products is that Kiss My Face did the additional FDA testing required to prove and earn the use of the “broad spectrum” label on their product. CeraVe likely did the same testing, but their product, despite having similar active ingredients, did not pass the broad spectrum test. That’s why they aren’t currently making that claim (they’re not allowed to) while Kiss My Face is. With any sunscreen formula, it’s not just the active ingredients at play, it’s the base formula and what steps, if any, were taken to ensure proper dispersion and stability of the active ingredients in and out of UV light.

    —Admin
  4. Simone
    Reviewed on Monday, August 11, 2014
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Enough protection?
    • I love the texture and the fact that it just melts into the skin, without looking greasy during the day. I set my makeup with powder in the morning, but any other sunscreen just seems to turn my face into an oil slick by noon. However, I have serious doubts regarding its UVA protection with only 3% zinc oxide. I am used to European sunscreens like Bioderma, which have a very high PPD, but are, unfortunately, way too heavy for my complexion. Does the 3% offer enough protection?

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Monday, August 11, 2014

    Hello,

    Thanks for your comments! This product now states “broad spectrum protection”, which means it was retested based on the U.S. Food & Drug Administration’s new SPF standards, and it passed the revised critical wavelength testing for UVA protection. Zinc oxide provides the broadest range of UVA protection in this product, but both of the other actives provide some amount of UVA screening, too. If 3% zinc oxide was the only active, we’d be concerned; however, as is, we have every reason to believe the company’s broad spectrum claim.

    —Admin
  5. Devon S
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 02, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Different Formulation?
    • I love this sunscreen! It actually feels good on my face, and I find that the consistency works for both summer and winter. However, I think the ingredients have changed. Like a previous reviewer, I'm wondering if the original Beautypedia review still applies.

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Monday, August 04, 2014

    Hello,

    Thank you for your feedback. We do not have any record of the formula for this product changing, but we will look into it. Thanks again!

    —Admin
  6. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 26, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Lucy's Mom
    • This moisturizing sunscreen is the best for the price I have found. Love the feel, no fragrance, no white cast. I found it at a store called Sprouts. My skin type is normal/dry. Thank you for this amazing website.

  7. Dawn P.
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 10, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Best Sunscreen
    • This is the very best sunscreen out there and I use it every single day. It applies smoothly and dries down clear and not white, which is the single biggest gripe I have with mineral cunscreens. It's also loaded with antioxidants, so I don't feel like I need lots of extra products in the morning when time is a factor. I buy it on Amazon and usually get 3 tubes at a time - you can save a bit that way. Although I don't think the price is out of line, considering the performance.

  8. Carly H
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 02, 2014
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    YES FINALLY
    • YES! A sunscreen I feed good about putting on my face. Great texture, moisturizing, great SPF! Also, it's a sunscreen recommended by the Environmental Working Group, so you don't have to worry about toxins. Great pick Paula!

  9. Gracie
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 29, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Great for Dark Skin
    • This sunscreen is excellent. It is difficult to find sunscreens with physical ingredients that do not leave a white film on the skin. I am African American with caramel skin and this blends right in and doesn't feel heavy. I paid $12 for this at the Vitamin Shoppe which I believe is a great value considering that it performs better than many products from more high end brands.

  10. christine d.
    Reviewed on Thursday, March 27, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Great for dry sensitive skin!
    • I like to have one face moisturizer for day and evening. So in the morning, I apply this product after my moisturizer I find that it doesn't dry my skin and it isn't greasy at all! It absorbs quickly and doesn't leave a white film. Additionally, my make up goes on quite well. I have sensitive skin. If a product doesn't agree with me, I can break out. No break outs with this product! p.s. I live in Florida and have to use this product daily.

  11. Maureen
    Reviewed on Monday, March 24, 2014
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Kiss My Face
    • I am 56 years old with very dry skin, and I can often wear this sunscreen without additional moisturizer, which is great! It goes on smoothly, doesn't leave a whitish cast, and I believe it's protecting my skin. It's gloomy winter in Mi., so I'll know more come summer. The only downside for me is I have to order it on line because no one in my area is carrying it at the moment. Perhaps that will change once summer rolls around as well.

  12. Ellie A
    Reviewed on Tuesday, March 18, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    New Formula
    • I've been using the new formula for this product without octinoxate. This would be for the old 2012 formula, so I'm interested in what would be said about the new one :)

  13. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, February 28, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Kiss My Face
    • I am a 56 year old who is complimented regularly on my skin. I wear sunscreen everyday, and this has been my favorite thus far. It goes on evenly, is unscented, and there is no white cast. It is a bit pricey for the amount, but for everything it does, it's worth the splurge. And not tested on animals which is a must!

  14. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 22, 2014
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Moisturizer is growing on me
    • I bought this product on Vitacost.com for about $8, which is a good value, though probably at not at full price as it's a pretty small tube. Feels tacky on my face after I put it on, so have to wait to put on makeup. I prefer something that makes my skin feels softer after. Still, I think it's doing a good job. It feels rich and goes into my skin well, and has a decent amount of sunscreen that does not leave my skin white (though I have olive skin). I will keep using it.

  15. Roch
    Reviewed on Monday, October 21, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Fabulous
    • This is an excellent product. I love Paula's Choice products but the SPF moisturisers really dry out my skin so I turned to this recommendation and I'm glad I did. I have a very sensitive combination skin with very dry areas and fine lines and this cream suits it very well.

  16. LRL
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 05, 2013
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    No Irritation
    • I have used this moisturizer with sunscreen for three months. It doesn't irritate my sensitive skin and it wears well under makeup. My only issue is when it is really hot outside like 80 degrees or hotter, it makes me sweat and drips off my skin. It was a good buy off of Walgreens.com for under $10.00.

  17. Liz B
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 20, 2013
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Ok
    • I need this product since I use a prescription for acne. I hated the price for less than 2 oz. I only use a dime sized amount on my face and it's just enough. It doesn't really smell and it absorbs right away. I notice a slight shine and for oily/combo skin, this is not something that I like, but the benefits are too good to pass this up. I need to try it with makeup over to see how well it lasts, but so far it does the job. (Too expensive!)

  18. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, April 05, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Excellent daytime moiusturize for dry skin
    • This product works great on my dry skin. I live in a humid climate, and it does not feel heavy, but provides good moisture. Goes on light, absorbs quickly, no odor, and no white cast on skin. I highly recommend!

  19. JENNIFER M.
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 27, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Great Nonirritating Sunblock
    • I struggle to find a mineral based sunscreen for the face that doesn't leave a white caste, or applies tacky. This sunblock applies smoothly, with no white caste, and gives just enough moisture.

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.358 12/21/2014 7:25:15 PM
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off Retinol Products | FREE Shipping on Everything | FREE Eyeshadow Palette on $65+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.